DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1a. Claims 2-7 and 11-16 are objected to as dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Canceled Claims
1b. Claims 9, 18, 20-27 and 29-30 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1, 8, 10, 17, 19, 28 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (US 20220053367 A1) in view of Pan (US 20210352521 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Rao discloses a method for handling packet loss.
Pan discloses a method for serving QoS flow in a wireless network.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Rao discloses:
A data transmission method (Fig 12), wherein the method is applied to a terminal (Fig 16, Device 1605), and the method comprises:
Determining (Fig 12, Steps 1230-1240), at a user plane air interface protocol layer (Fig 3, User plane protocol stack, PDCP; see: [0161] …. the SDAP/PDCP/RLC/MAC layer may be referred to as higher than the PHY layer; see also: [0276] …. the UE 1215 may identify data traffic that is to be transmitted based on (e.g., according to) the uplink grant received at 1220, the downlink transmission (e.g., configuration information, control information) received at 1225, determining the first PDCP discard timer at 1230, or any combination thereof) a plurality of Internet protocol (IP) packets belonging to a same data frame;
if a quantity of an IP packet with transmission error in the plurality of IP packets is greater than or equal to a quantity threshold, at the user plane air interface protocol layer (Fig 3, User plane protocol stack, PDCP), (see: [0194] …. the timer associated with discarding PDCP SDUs is more likely to be exceeded in high-BLER scenarios; and see: [0238] … the determination component 908 may determine the modified timer value based at least in part on a plurality of thresholds for a BLER, Block Error Rate; Examiner’s Note: Rao discloses PDCP packets error rate exceeds BLER threshold);
stopping a transmission of a remaining IP packet (see: [0041] … In some aspects, the timer is disabled based at least in part on the BLER satisfying a threshold; see also: [0194] …. the timer associated with discarding PDCP SDUs is more likely to be exceeded in high-BLER scenarios; [0248] … may inhibit transmission of the data traffic and cause the first PDCP discard timer to discard data units) in the plurality of IP packets,
or lowering a transmission priority of the remaining IP packet to prioritize a transmission of other data frames on a quality of service (QoS) flow where the data frame is located or prioritize a transmission of a data frame on other QoS flows.
Rao does not disclose IP packet belong to a same PDCP data frame.
However, Pan discloses IP packet belong to a same PDCP data frame:
determining, at a user plane air interface protocol layer (Fig 5, PDCP), a plurality of Internet protocol (IP) packets belonging to a same data frame (Fig 5, PDCP SN and IP packet; see: [0124] … UE and network side can determine the position of the IP packet inside each PDCP PDU; see also: [0188] …send PDCP SDUs belonging to the IP flow as uncompressed packet; Examiner’s Note: Pan discloses PDCP SDU associated with IP flow);
if a quantity of an IP packet (Fig 5, PDCP SN and IP packet; see: [0124] … UE and network side can determine the position of the IP packet inside each PDCP PDU; see also: [0188] … send PDCP SDUs belonging to the IP flow as uncompressed packet; Examiner’s Note: Pan discloses PDCP SDU associated with IP flow) with transmission error in the plurality of IP packets is greater than or equal to a quantity threshold, at the user plane air interface protocol layer;
stopping a transmission of a remaining IP packet in the plurality of IP packets (Fig 5, PDCP SN and IP packet; see: [0124] … UE and network side can determine the position of the IP packet inside each PDCP PDU; see also: [0188] … send PDCP SDUs belonging to the IP flow as uncompressed packet; Examiner’s Note: Pan discloses PDCP SDU associated with IP flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Rao’s method for handling packet loss with Pan’s method for serving QoS flow in a wireless network with the motivation being to improve scheduling in a wireless communication system (Pan, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, Rao discloses:
wherein the quantity threshold is equal to 1,
or the quantity threshold is pre-configured by a network device for the terminal for each DRB or each QoS flow,
or the quantity threshold is specified by a protocol (Fig 3, User plane protocol stack, PDCP; see: [0194] …. the timer associated with discarding PDCP SDUs is more likely to be exceeded in high-BLER scenarios; and see: [0238] … the determination component 908 may determine the modified timer value based at least in part on a plurality of thresholds for a BLER, Block Error Rate; Examiner’s Note: Rao discloses packets error rate exceeds BLER threshold specified by PDCP protocol), wherein the data transmission method (Fig 12) further comprises:
receiving configuration information from a network device (Fig 12, Configuration/Control Information 1225; see: [0274] At 1225, the base station 1205 may transmit a downlink transmission to the UE 1215, where the downlink transmission includes control information, configuration information, or both);
wherein the configuration information (Fig 12, Configuration/Control Information 1225) comprises at least one of the following:
whether to allow stopping a transmission (see: [0041] … In some aspects, the timer is disabled based at least in part on the BLER satisfying a threshold; see also: [0194] …. the timer associated with discarding PDCP SDUs is more likely to be exceeded in high-BLER scenarios; [0248] … may inhibit transmission of the data traffic and cause the first PDCP discard timer to discard data units) of an IP packet at the user plane air interface protocol layer (Fig 3, User plane protocol stack, PDCP; see: [0161] …. the SDAP/PDCP/RLC/MAC layer may be referred to as higher than the PHY layer),
or whether to allow lowering a transmission priority of an IP packet at the user plane air interface protocol layer;
or a manner of determining an IP packet transmission error, or the quantity threshold.
Rao does not disclose IP packet at the user plane air interface protocol layer.
However, Pan discloses IP packet at the PDCP layer:
whether to allow stopping a transmission of an IP packet at the user plane air interface protocol layer (Fig 5, PDCP SN and IP packet; see: [0124] … UE and network side can determine the position of the IP packet inside each PDCP PDU; see also: [0188] … send PDCP SDUs belonging to the IP flow as uncompressed packet; Examiner’s Note: Pan discloses PDCP SDU associated with IP flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Rao’s method for handling packet loss with Pan’s method for serving QoS flow in a wireless network with the motivation being to improve scheduling in a wireless communication system (Pan, [0002]).
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, the claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1 and 8, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 19, the apparatus claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly. Further, Rao discloses about apparatus in Fig 16.
Regarding Claim 28, the apparatus claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly. Further, Rao discloses about apparatus in Fig 16.
Regarding Claim 31, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 32, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473