DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the network slice of the network slice resource” on lines 1-2. There is no antecedence for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the network slice of the network slice resource” on lines 1-2. There is no antecedence for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19, 24, 27, 32, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (USPN 20230054991).
Regarding claim 24, Zhu discloses
an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication, the AMF entity comprising: (AMF, FIG. 3 #30, comprising [0087]
a transceiver (communication unit, FIG. 3 #320, that transmits and receives signals [0087]
at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to: (processor, FIG. 3 #300, coupled to communication unit [0087]
identify that a protocol data unit (PDU) session is associated with a first network slice and that the first network slice is unavailable (AMF identifies current network slice (e.g. network slice S#1) associated with PDU is not supported by target RAN node RAN2 [0122-0125], FIGs. 6A, 6B
determine to replace the first network slice with a second network slice for the PDU session based on the identification (AMF determines to replace current network slice (e.g. network slice S#1) with network slice S#2 [0125]
transmit, to a session management function (SMF), a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) of the second network slice based on the determination (transmits to SMF new S-NSSAI for network slice S#2 [0129, 0130], FIGs. 6A, 6B
Claim 16 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided by rejection of claim 24.
Regarding claim 33, Zhu discloses
a session management function (SMF) entity in a wireless communication, the SMF entity comprising: (SMF, FIG. 3 #30, comprising [0087]
a transceiver (communication unit, FIG. 3 #320, that transmits and receives signals [0087]
at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to: (processor, FIG. 3 #300, coupled to communication unit [0087]
receive, from an access and mobility function (AMF), a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) of a second network slice (receives from AMF new S-NSSAI for network slice S#2 due to network slice replacement [0129, 0130], FIGs. 6A, 6B
wherein a first network slice associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session is unavailable and is to be replaced with the second network slice for the PDU session (AMF identifies current network slice (e.g. network slice S#1) associated with PDU is not supported by target RAN node RAN2 [0122-0125], FIGs. 6A, 6B
perform a PDU session modification procedure for the PDU session based on the S-NSSAI of the second network slice (SMF modifies/updates network slice information of PDU session [0143-0144], FIGs. 6A, 6B
Claim 32 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided by rejection of claim 33.
Regarding claims 19, 27, Zhu discloses “transmit, to a base station, a second message including second information related to remapping a network slice resource, wherein the second information related to remapping the network slice resource includes at least one of: information for indicating an single network slice selection assistance information(S-NSSAI corresponding to the available resource allocated to the PDU session or QoS flows in the PDU session, information for indicating a resource type corresponding to the available resource allocated to the PDU session or QoS flows in the PDU session” AMF sends a handover request to target RAN node RAN2 including N2 MM information which carries S-NSSAI/Qos info [0131, 0113-0116, 0177, 0178], FIGs. 6A, 6B
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 18, 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Tamura et al (USPN 20220264295).
Regarding claims 17, 25, Zhu discloses “AMF receives from a third node, a first message including first information related to a usage of a network slice resource” AMF receives NG setup request messages to AMF which provide information on which network slice(s) are supported [0092, 0094]
“for restricting a location a location used for a network slice” location of RAN node RAN1 does not support network slice S#2 [0080, 0092, 0094]
Zhu does not expressly disclose “first information related to a usage of a network slice resource for the PDU session”
Tamura discloses “first information related to a usage of a network slice resource for the PDU session” AMF receives notification from AUSF related to S-NSSAI and PDU sessions [0097, 0141, 0142]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “first information related to a usage of a network slice resource for the PDU session” as taught by Tamura into Zhu’s system with the motivation to restrict use of certain network slice, e.g. Slice #2, and the network slice’s services/capability to a location of a certain cell to target certain groups of users.
Regarding claims 18, 26, Zhu discloses “the network slice of the network slice resource for the PDU session is not supported by the third node” RAN node RAN2 does not support current S-NSSAI of the PDU session [0125, 0170]
Zhu does not expressly disclose “and rejected by the third network”
Tamura discloses “and rejected by the third network” AMF places S-NSSAI #1 into the Rejected NSSAI [0083-0086]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “and rejected by the third network” as taught by Tamura into Zhu’s system with the motivation to restrict use of certain network slice, e.g. Slice #2, and the network slice’s services/capability to a location of a certain cell to target certain groups of users.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al (USPN 20200287800) FIG. 4
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469