DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) Regarding claim 6:
Lines 4-5 recite “the message including downlink data for a UE”; the examiner suggests changing to “the first message including downlink data for the UE”.
(2) Regarding claim 7:
Line 2 recites “indication of voice call”; the examiner suggests changing to “indication of the voice call”.
(3) Regarding claim 8:
Line 2 recites “indication of voice call”; the examiner suggests changing to “indication of the voice call”.
(4) Regarding claim 9:
Line 2 recites “indication of voice call”; the examiner suggests changing to “indication of the voice call”.
(5) Regarding claim 10:
Line 2 recites “indication of voice call”; the examiner suggests changing to “indication of the voice call”.
(6) Regarding claim 11:
Line 4 recites “indication of voice call”; the examiner suggests changing to “indication of the voice call”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 2018/0302878 A1) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2024/0064682 A1 with priority date of JP 2021-079080 of 5/7/2021).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Byun discloses a method, implemented in a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station, for paging a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a central unit (CU) of the distributed base station (step 1008 , the CU transmits to the DU the Paging Transfer or new message including the UE_ID or the paging message generated by the RRC layer, and the paging transmission information, para. 0119) and when the UE is not operating in a connected state of a protocol associated with controlling radio resources, a CU-to-DU message related to the UE and indicating a voice call (step S1002, the UE is in RRC-Idle state, para. 0116); and
transmitting, to the UE via a radio interface, a paging message (Step S1010, upon receipt of the message from the CU, the DU pages the UE based on the paging transmission information, para. 0127).
Byun discloses a communication service comprises voice over internet protocol (VoIP) (para. 0036), but fails to explicitly disclose the paging message including an indication of the voice call.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses a Radio Resource Control (RRC) processor configured to execute processing for receiving, from a base station of the second network, a paging massage including a list of paging records and the paging cause associated with each of the paging records; wherein the paging cause indicates whether or not a cause of the paging message is a voice call (claims 4/1).
It is desirable to have the paging message including an indication of the voice call because it provides capability of appropriate control by a mobility management apparatus that controls notification of paging (para. 0021). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Yamamoto in the method of Byun for the benefit of providing capability of appropriate control by a mobility management apparatus that controls notification of paging.
(2) Regarding claim 6:
Byun discloses a method for paging a UE, implemented in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station operating in a radio access network (RAN), the CU defining a first node in the RAN (flowchart as shown in figure 10, para. 0114), the method comprising:
receiving a first message from a core network or another base station, the message including downlink data for a UE (step S1004 in figure 10, the AMF sends the paging message to the CU, para. 0117), when the UE is not operating in a connected state of a protocol associated with controlling radio resources (S1002 RRC-Idle as shown in figure 10, para. 0116);
determining, based on the first message, whether to include an indication in a CU-to-DU message addressed to a distributed (DU) of the distributed base station (The paging information may include at least one of UE Identity Index Value, UE Paging Identity, Paging Discontinuous Reception (DRX), List of tracking area identities (TAIs), Paging Priority, UE Radio Capability for Paging, Assistance Data for Paging, Paging eDRX Information and Extended UE Identity Index Value, para. 0017) and related to the UE (S1006 determine when the paging is broadcast or how frequently the paging is repeated as shown in figure 10, para. 0118); and
transmitting, to the DU, the CU-to-DU message (S1008 paging transfer as shown in figure 10, para. 0119).
Byun fails to disclose an indication of a voice call in a CU-DU message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses a Radio Resource Control (RRC) processor configured to execute processing for receiving, from a base station of the second network, a paging massage including a list of paging records and the paging cause associated with each of the paging records; wherein the paging cause indicates whether or not a cause of the paging message is a voice call (claims 4/1).
It is desirable to have the paging message including an indication of the voice call because it provides capability of appropriate control by a mobility management apparatus that controls notification of paging (para. 0021). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Yamamoto in the method of Byun for the benefit of providing capability of appropriate control by a mobility management apparatus that controls notification of paging.
(3) Regarding claim 15:
Byun discloses a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station (DU as shown in figure 10), the DU including one or more processors and configured to page a user equipment (UE), the DU configured to:
receive, from a central unit (CU) of the distributed base station and when the UE is not operating in a connected state of a protocol associated with controlling radio resources (S1002 RRC-Idle as shown in figure 10, para. 0116), a CU-to-DU message related to the UE with an indicator (S1008 paging transfer as shown in figure 10, para. 0119) (The paging information may include at least one of UE Identity Index Value, UE Paging Identity, Paging Discontinuous Reception (DRX), List of tracking area identities (TAIs), Paging Priority, UE Radio Capability for Paging, Assistance Data for Paging, Paging eDRX Information and Extended UE Identity Index Value, para. 0017); and
transmit, to the UE via a radio interface, a paging message including an indication (S1008 paging transfer as shown in figure 10, para. 0119).
Byun fails to disclose the indication comprises an indication of a voice call.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses a Radio Resource Control (RRC) processor configured to execute processing for receiving, from a base station of the second network, a paging massage including a list of paging records and the paging cause associated with each of the paging records; wherein the paging cause indicates whether or not a cause of the paging message is a voice call (claims 4/1).
It is desirable to have the paging message including an indication of the voice call because it provides capability of appropriate control by a mobility management apparatus that controls notification of paging (para. 0021). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Yamamoto in the method of Byun for the benefit of providing capability of appropriate control by a mobility management apparatus that controls notification of paging.
(4) Regarding claims 2 and 16:
Byun and Yamamoto together disclose all subject matter of claims 1 and 15, and Byun further discloses generating the paging message at the DU, based on the CU-to-DU message (Step S1008, the CU transmits to the DU the Paging Transfer or new message including the UE_ID or the paging message generated by the RRC layer, and the paging transmission information. The paging transmission information may contain the followings: [0120] Paging Frame (PF) [0121] Paging Occasion (PO) [0122] Paging Time Window (PTW) [0123] Paging repetition/attempt number. Paging transmission power level [0125] System Frame Number (SFN). The paging message may be piggybacked by a container to the DU. Step S1010, upon receipt of the message from the CU, the DU pages the UE based on the paging transmission information, para. 0126-0127).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-11, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (EP 4024975 A1) discloses paging method and apparatus that if data or a voice needs to be sent from a network side to the terminal device, the terminal device is found by using a paging message. After receiving the paging message, the terminal device establishes the link to the base station, to transmit the data or the voice.
Liu (WO/2021/026704 A1) discloses wireless communication method and device.
Luo (WO/2019/137434 A1) discloses communication method and device, and system thereof.
Geng (WO/2019/029520 A1) discloses paging message sending method and related.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 8/15/2026