DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the operation member in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: an insertion unit in claims 1, 15-17, and 19; an adhesive member in claim 7; an operation member in claim 9; a stopper member in claim 9; a locking unit/body in claim 10; and an elastic member in claim 13.
Prong 1: “unit”, “member”, and “body” are generic placeholders. See MPEP 2181 §I, subsection A, ¶1.
Prong 2: the transition words “to” and “by” are used, followed by functional language:
“an insertion unit… to move a sensor unit”;
“coupled… by an adhesive member”;
“an operation member… to be operated by the user”;
“a stopper member… to operate the insertion unit in association with the operation member”;
“a locking unit including a locking body installed to the applicator body to be engaged with the stopper member or disengaged from the stopper member”; and
“an elastic member configured to apply elastic force to the locking body in a direction of being away from the stopper member”.
Prong 3: there is not sufficient structure to modify the generic placeholders.
The examiner interprets the structure including the column member 410, the shuttle 441, the carrier 462, and the needle 485 (see specification ¶[00123]-[00125]; Fig. 15) to cover the corresponding structure, materials, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof for the insertion unit.
The examiner interprets the double sided tape (see specification ¶[0095]) to cover the corresponding structure, materials, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof for the adhesive member.
The examiner interprets the structure including the stopper member body 510, the rail portion 515, the stopper member opening 512, the supporting pad 516, and the bracket portion 514 (see specification ¶[00170]-[00174]; Fig. 12) to cover the corresponding structure, materials, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof for the stopper member.
The examiner interprets the structure including the body portion 340, the hook portion 341, and the leg portion 342 (see specification ¶[00113]-[00114]; Fig. 14) to cover the corresponding structure, materials, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof for the locking unit/body.
The examiner interprets the coil spring 491 (see specification ¶[00148]; Fig. 15) to cover the corresponding structure, materials, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof for the elastic member.
There is no structure disclosed for the operation member in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 11, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 9, line 7: “the moving tab is configured to” should be inserted before “release”;
in claim 11, line 2: “composing” should be “composes”; and
in claim 19, line 10: “is” should be inserted before “coupled”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. What follows are but some of such errors.
Claim 1 recites “which includes the sensor” in lines 4-5; however, it is not clear which element includes the sensor: the insertion unit, the applicator body, or the sensor unit. It appears as if the sensor unit should include the sensor. Amending the recitation to “wherein the sensor unit includes the sensor” would overcome the present rejection. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 1 recites “an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing, and a protective sheet covering an adhesive layer, from a first position spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user” in lines 5-8, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. First, it is not clear whether the recitations of “an adhesive layer” in lines 5 and 6 are the same as, related to, or different from one another. The similar phraseology suggests that they are the same, but the indefinite article “an” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the recitation of line 6 should read “the adhesive layer”. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). The recitations are being read as the same for the purposes of examination.
Furthermore, it is not clear how the portion of the recitation relating to the adhesive and protective layers relates to the portion with the first and second positions, which appear to be linked via “from”. It is not clear what is spaced apart from the skin in the first position. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites “and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer” in lines 9-12, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear which structures are supposed to be performing the various actions as recited in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 2-14 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “a direction” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a direction” in claim 1, lines 10-11. The similar phraseology and context of the claim (i.e., the direction of movement of the moving tab) suggest that the recitations are the same, but the indefinite article “a” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be clarified that the direction of movement of the moving tab intersects a movable direction of the sensor unit. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). The recitations are being read as the same for the purposes of examination.
Claim 3 recites “a direction” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a direction” in claim 1, lines 10-11. The similar phraseology and context of the claim (i.e., the direction of movement of the moving tab) suggest that the recitations are the same, but the indefinite article “a” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be clarified that the direction of movement of the moving tab is perpendicular to a movable direction of the sensor unit. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). The recitations are being read as the same for the purposes of examination.
Claim 4 recites “a direction” in line 3, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from the recitation “a direction” in claim 1, lines 10-11. The similar phraseology and context of the claim (i.e., the direction of movement of the moving tab) suggest that the recitations are the same, but the indefinite article “a” suggests that they are different. If the recitations are the same, the present recitation should be clarified that the direction of movement of the moving tab intersects a movable direction of the sensor unit. If the recitations are different, the relationship between these recitations should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements). The recitations are being read as the same for the purposes of examination.
Claims 5-6 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 4.
Claim 6 recites “a moving tab arm configured to be engageable with an applicator body detent provided at the applicator body is provided to be elastically deformable at one side of the moving tab body, and the moving tab arm is configured to, when a force greater than a preset amount is applied to the moving tab, be disengaged from the applicator body detent to be withdrawn from the opening” in lines 2-7, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear which components are provided where (i.e., at the applicator body and at one side of the moving tab body), and which component is to be elastically deformable. It is not clear what is to be withdrawn from the opening when the moving tab arm is disengaged. These inconsistencies render claim 6 indefinite. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 8 recites “is coupled with the protective sheet in a way that…” in line 7; however, it is not clear what is coupled in such a way. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 9 limitation “an operation member” in line 2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification only indicates that an applicator may comprise an operation member installed so as to be operated by the user (see specification ¶[0021]), but provides no additional details/structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 11 recites “an angle of the body portion is changeable” in lines 3-4; however, it is not clear what this angle represents. The angle of the body portion relative to what? Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 12 is rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 11.
Claim 13 recites “contact the moving tab to be biased in a direction of being engaged with the stopper member” in lines 6-7 and “deviate from the moving tab to be biased in a direction of being released from the stopper member by the elastic force of the elastic member” in lines 7-9. However, it is not clear how the moving tab is biased in a direction equated to engagement with the stopper member. Does the direction indicate the positioned but actual engagement not required? Does only engagement matter, and the specific direction is not important. These inconsistencies render claim 13 indefinite. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites “an applicator body to which a base unit including a base unit housing, and an adhesive portion provided at the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separably coupled” in lines 2-4, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear what action/relation the base unit has to the applicator body (in which a base unit what?). It is not clear element is “to be attached to the skin of the user”. It is not clear which elements are separably coupled. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the sensor unit” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the recitation to recite “a sensor unit” would overcome this recitation. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 15 recites “which includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing” in lines 5-6; however, it is not clear which element includes the sensor and the sensor unit housing: the insertion unit, the applicator body, or the sensor unit. It appears as if the sensor unit should include the sensor and the sensor unit housing. Amending the recitation to “wherein the sensor unit includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing” would overcome the present rejection. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 15 recites “from a first position which is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled with the base unit to insert the sensor into the skin of the user” in lines 8-10, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear how the portion of the recitation relating to the adhesive and protective layers relates to the portion with the first and second positions, which appear to be linked via “from”. It is not clear what is spaced apart from the base unit in the first position. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites “and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer” in lines 11-14, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear which structures are supposed to be performing the various actions as recited in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites “an applicator body to which a base unit including a base unit housing… and an adhesive portion provided at another side of the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separably coupled” in lines 2-5, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear what action/relation the base unit has to the applicator body (in which a base unit what?). It is not clear element is “to be attached to the skin of the user”. It is not clear which elements are separably coupled. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the sensor unit” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the recitation to recite “a sensor unit” would overcome this recitation. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 16 recites “which includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing” in lines 6-7; however, it is not clear which element includes the sensor and the sensor unit housing: the insertion unit, the applicator body, or the sensor unit. It appears as if the sensor unit should include the sensor and the sensor unit housing. Amending the recitation to “wherein the sensor unit includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing” would overcome the present rejection. The claim is being read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 16 recites “which is configured to be attachable to the base unit housing by the adhesive layer and the sensor is mounted to” in lines 7-8, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear which specific element is configured to be attachable to the base unit housing. It is not clear to what “the sensor is mounted to” is referring to. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites “from a first position which is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled with the base unit to insert the sensor into the skin of the user” in lines 8-10, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear how the portion of the recitation relating to the adhesive and protective layers relates to the portion with the first and second positions, which appear to be linked via “from”. It is not clear what is spaced apart from the base unit in the first position. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites “and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer” in lines 11-14, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear which structures are supposed to be performing the various actions as recited in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 17 recites “and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer” in lines 9-12, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear which structures are supposed to be performing the various actions as recited in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 18 is rejected by virtue of its dependence from claim 17.
Claim 18 recites “spaced apart from the sensor unit and separably coupled to the applicator body” in line 4, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear what is spaced apart from the sensor unit. It is not clear what is separably coupled to the applicator body. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 19 recites “and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer” in lines 9-12, which is grammatically awkward and generally unclear. It is not clear which structures are supposed to be performing the various actions as recited in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Double Patenting
The succeeding non-statutory double-patenting rejections to the claims under below are made with the claims as best understood and interpreted in light of the preceding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 above.
Claims 1-13 and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/727,686 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claims 1-13 and 15-19, copending claims 1-13 and 16-17 correspond to and include all of the elements of the present claims 1-13 and 15-19.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 16-17 of copending Application No. 18/727,686 in view of Lanigan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0289748 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Lanigan.
Regarding Claim 14, copending claims 1-13 and 16-17 correspond to and include all of the elements of the present claim 14, except that the insertion unit includes a needle which is movable from the first position to the second position to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor, and
wherein the moving tab includes a cover portion arranged between the protective sheet and the needle to prevent the needle from contacting the protective sheet.
Lanigan teaches an inserter assembly with a first unit with a skin contact face, and a second unit with an infusion set base (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B). Lanigan teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (¶[0201] the exterior housing 116, ¶[0329] the exterior housing 116 and the retainer cap 406 together form the first unit; Fig. 1A and 70A-71B);
an insertion unit (¶[0203] the interior housing 120 and/or ¶[0206] the sharp holder 130 for holding the sharp 132; Fig. 1A) installed to the applicator body to move a sensor unit, which includes the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002, Figs. 1A and 70A-71B),
an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place; Figs. 1A-3), and
a protective sheet covering an adhesive layer (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3),
from a first position spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user (see generally abstract, ¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0014]-[0018], ¶[0036]-[0037], and ¶[0329]-[0330], the first unit and second unit, movable relative to one another, to insert the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B; see generally also ¶[0276], ¶[0281], ¶[0283], Figs. 39A-44B); and
a moving tab to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer, alternatively and/or additionally, ¶[0208], ¶[0215], and ¶[0218] the lock member 146 including the arms 228/230 inserted through the side hole of the exterior housing 116, facilitated removal via the flange 152, in which the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C);
the insertion unit includes a needle which is movable from the first position to the second position to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor (¶[0206] the insertion sharp 132, such as a needle; see generally Figs. 1A-3 and 40A-44B), and
wherein the moving tab includes a cover portion arranged between the protective sheet and the needle to prevent the needle from contacting the protective sheet (¶[0273] the portion of the set base 106 that acts as a protective barrier for the sharp 32, see Figs. 24A-24B, the adhesive 374 remains in both figures, but the protective portion of the set base 106 is removed from therebetween in Fig. 24B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the needle of Lanigan as the insertion portion of the copending claims 1-13 and 16-17 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the copending claims 1-13 and 16-17 require an insertion portion and Lanigan teaches one such insertion portion.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the protective barrier of Lanigan for the insertion portion of the modified copending claims 1-13 and 16-17 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the protective barrier would help to protect the insertion portion and other elements from the sharp end of the insertion portion (see for example Lanigan ¶[0273]).
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/681,479 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 15-19, copending claims 1-15 correspond to and include all of the elements of the present claims 1-6, 9-13, and 15-19.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/681,479 in view of Chae et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0178899), hereinafter Chae.
Regarding Claim 7, copending claims 1-15 correspond to and include all of the elements of the present claim 7, except that the moving tab is coupled to the protective sheet by an adhesive member.
Chae teaches a sensor applicator assembly for a continuous glucose monitoring system (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which adhesive tape 560 is attached to a body contact surface of the sensor module 20 so that the sensor module 20 may be attached to the human body (see ¶[0065]) and Figs. 2a-2b), in which a release paper 561 may be attached to the adhesive tape 560 to protect the adhesive tape 560 (see ¶[0065]), in which the release paper 561 may be attached to a removable protective cap 200 via separate adhesive member 562 (see ¶[0065]-[0066] and ¶[0076]; Figs. 9A-9B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the adhesive member 562 of Chae as the engagement of the moving tab to the protective sheet of the copending claims 1-15 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the copending claims 1-15 require an bond engagement of the moving tab to the protective sheet and Chae teaches one such engagement; and/or (3) the adhesive would enable the user to remove the protective sheet when removing the moving tab, thus simplifying the operating procedure (see Chae ¶[0065]-[0066] and ¶[0076]; Figs. 9A-9B).
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/681,479 in view of Larson et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0227358), hereinafter Larson.
Regarding Claim 8, copending claims 1-15 correspond to and include all of the elements of the present claim 8, except that the protective sheet comprises a wing portion extended from an edge of the protective portion, and a protective sheet hole formed at one side of the wing portion, and wherein the moving tab has a grip portion corresponding to the protective sheet hole, and is coupled with the protective sheet in a way that the grip portion is inserted into the protective sheet hole.
Larson teaches of a sealed glucose sensor so as to maintain the sterility of the glucose sensor while allowing gaseous manufacturing by-products to be vented (see abstract and Figs. 1-2), in which the glucose sensor may have an assembly 104 comprising a glucose sensor 200, a sensor base 202 coupled to the glucose sensor 200, a sensor introducer 204 that cooperates with the sensor base 202, a mounting base 206 for the sensor base 202, a liner 207, a sensor mounting pedestal 208, and an adhesive disk 209 (see ¶[0025] and Figs. 3-4), in which the liner 207 is a temporary structure used during the shipping and handling of the assembly 100 (see ¶[0029]), in which the liner 207 is held and separated from sensor portion before usage via liner holder 211, such as the hook, that engages an edge, a hole, tabs, or any cooperating feature of the liner 207 (see ¶[0031]; Figs. 3 and 6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the liner holder 211 (i.e., the grip portion) for engaging the hole of the liner 207 of Larson as the engagement of the moving tab to the protective sheet of the copending claims 1-15 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the copending claims require an engagement of the moving tab to the protective sheet and Larson teaches one such bond; and/or (3) the liner holder would enable the user to remove the protective sheet when removing the moving tab, thus simplifying the operating procedure (see Larson ¶[0031]).
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/681,479 in view of Lanigan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0289748 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Lanigan.
Regarding Claim 14, copending claims 1-15 correspond to and include all of the elements of the present claim 14, except that the insertion unit includes a needle which is movable from the first position to the second position to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor, and
wherein the moving tab includes a cover portion arranged between the protective sheet and the needle to prevent the needle from contacting the protective sheet.
Lanigan teaches an inserter assembly with a first unit with a skin contact face, and a second unit with an infusion set base (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B). Lanigan teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (¶[0201] the exterior housing 116, ¶[0329] the exterior housing 116 and the retainer cap 406 together form the first unit; Fig. 1A and 70A-71B);
an insertion unit (¶[0203] the interior housing 120 and/or ¶[0206] the sharp holder 130 for holding the sharp 132; Fig. 1A) installed to the applicator body to move a sensor unit, which includes the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002, Figs. 1A and 70A-71B),
an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place; Figs. 1A-3), and
a protective sheet covering an adhesive layer (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3),
from a first position spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user (see generally abstract, ¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0014]-[0018], ¶[0036]-[0037], and ¶[0329]-[0330], the first unit and second unit, movable relative to one another, to insert the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B; see generally also ¶[0276], ¶[0281], ¶[0283], Figs. 39A-44B); and
a moving tab to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer, alternatively and/or additionally, ¶[0208], ¶[0215], and ¶[0218] the lock member 146 including the arms 228/230 inserted through the side hole of the exterior housing 116, facilitated removal via the flange 152, in which the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C);
the insertion unit includes a needle which is movable from the first position to the second position to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor (¶[0206] the insertion sharp 132, such as a needle; see generally Figs. 1A-3 and 40A-44B), and
wherein the moving tab includes a cover portion arranged between the protective sheet and the needle to prevent the needle from contacting the protective sheet (¶[0273] the portion of the set base 106 that acts as a protective barrier for the sharp 32, see Figs. 24A-24B, the adhesive 374 remains in both figures, but the protective portion of the set base 106 is removed from therebetween in Fig. 24B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the needle of Lanigan as the sensor inserter of the copending claims 1-15 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the copending claims 1-15 require an insertion portion and Lanigan teaches one such insertion portion.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the protective barrier of Lanigan for the sensor inserter of the modified copending claims 1-15 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the protective barrier would help to protect the insertion portion and other elements from the sharp end of the insertion portion (see for example Lanigan ¶[0273]).
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The succeeding art rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 below are made with the claims as best understood and interpreted in light of the preceding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 above.
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Lanigan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0289748 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Lanigan.
Regarding Claim 1, Lanigan teaches an inserter assembly with a first unit with a skin contact face, and a second unit with an infusion set base (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B). Lanigan teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (¶[0201] the exterior housing 116, ¶[0329] the exterior housing 116 and the retainer cap 406 together form the first unit; Fig. 1A and 70A-71B);
an insertion unit (¶[0203] the interior housing 120 and/or ¶[0206] the sharp holder 130 for holding the sharp 132; Fig. 1A) installed to the applicator body to move a sensor unit, which includes the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002, Figs. 1A and 70A-71B),
an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place; Figs. 1A-3), and
a protective sheet covering an adhesive layer (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3),
from a first position spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user (see generally abstract, ¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0014]-[0018], ¶[0036]-[0037], and ¶[0329]-[0330], the first unit and second unit, movable relative to one another, to insert the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B; see generally also ¶[0276], ¶[0281], ¶[0283], Figs. 39A-44B); and
a moving tab to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer, alternatively and/or additionally, ¶[0208], ¶[0215], and ¶[0218] the lock member 146 including the arms 228/230 inserted through the side hole of the exterior housing 116, facilitated removal via the flange 152, in which the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C).
Regarding Claim 2, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches the moving tab is installed to the applicator body to be movable in a direction of
intersecting a movable direction of the sensor unit (see Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C, the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224 and/or the lock member 146 are perpendicular/intersecting from the direction of the sensor unit, shown for example by the insertion sharp 132).
Regarding Claim 3, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches the moving tab is installed to the applicator body to move in a direction perpendicular to a movable direction of the sensor unit (see Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B, the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224 and/or the lock member 146 are perpendicular/intersecting from the direction of the sensor unit, shown for example by the insertion sharp 132).
Regarding Claim 4, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches an opening is provided at one side of the applicator body (see Figs. 1A-3, the opening on the bottom side of the retainer base 140 and/or the opening on the bottom side of the exterior housing 116 and/or the opening on the side of the exterior housing 116 for the lock member 146), and
the moving tab is configured to move in a direction of intersecting a movable direction of the sensor unit such that at least a portion of the moving tab is drawn out from an inside of the applicator body to an outside of the applicator body through the opening (see Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B, the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224 and/or the lock member 146 are perpendicular/intersecting from the direction of the sensor unit, shown for example by the insertion sharp 132, which is removed from the opening).
Regarding Claim 5, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 4 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches wherein the moving tab comprises: a moving tab body located inside the applicator body and coupled with the protective sheet (see Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B, the portion inside the device connected to the adhesive backing 111), and
a handle portion extending from one side of the moving tab body and exposed to the outside of the applicator body for the user to be able to hold the handle portion with a hand (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B).
Regarding Claim 6, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 5 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches a moving tab arm configured to be engageable with an applicator body detent provided at the applicator body is provided to be elastically deformable at one side of the moving tab body (¶[0249] the arms 228/230 that interface with the exterior housing 116 and the interior housing 120; Figs. 18A-18C), and
the moving tab arm is configured to, when a force greater than a preset amount is applied to the moving tab, be disengaged from the applicator body detent to be withdrawn from the opening (¶[0249] the arms 228/230 are configured such that some force may be required to remove the lock member 146 from the inserter assembly and may inhibit the lock member 146 from being inadvertently dislodged; Figs. 18A-18C).
Regarding Claim 9, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches an operation member installed to the applicator body to be operated by the user (not clear what the operation member is, see above 112(f) interpretation and 112(b) rejection); and
a stopper member movably installed to the applicator body to operate the insertion unit in association with the operation member (¶[0264] the catch 306 that the ledge 302 rests on; Figs. 24A-24B), and
wherein the moving tab is configured to restrain movement of the stopper member in an initial position where the protective sheet is coupled with the adhesive layer to cover the adhesive layer, and release restraint on the stopper member in a removal position where the protective sheet is separated from the adhesive layer (¶[0208] the lock member 146 mechanically prevents displacement of one or more components of the inserter assembly 100, see generally Figs. 17A-21).
Regarding Claim 10, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 9 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches a locking unit (¶[0261] the sharp holder 130; Figs. 24A-29) including a locking body (¶[0261]-[0262] the cantilevered arms 296; Figs. 24A-29) installed to the applicator body to be engaged with the stopper member or disengaged from the stopper member (¶[0261]-[0264] the cantilevered arms 296 comprise the ledge 302 that engages with the catch 306; Figs. 24A-29), and
wherein the moving tab is configured to bias the locking body to be engaged with the stopper member by contacting the locking body in the initial position (¶[0208] the lock member 146 mechanically prevents displacement of one or more components of the inserter assembly 100, see generally Figs. 17A-21), and
wherein the locking body is configured to, when the moving tab moves to the removal position, be disengaged from the stopper member (¶[0264] the finger 308 may disengage the ledge 302 from the catch 306, allowing release of energy stored in the spring 136, only possible after the lock member 146 has been disengaged; Figs. 24A-24B).
Regarding Claim 11, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 10 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches the locking body composing: a body portion connected to the applicator body (¶[0261] the sharp holder 130 movably connected within the exterior housing 116; Figs. 24A-24B), wherein an angle of the body portion is changeable (¶[0262] the cantilevered arms 296 would have a changeable angle; Figs. 24A-24B),
a hook portion connected to one side of the body portion to be engaged with the stopper member (¶[0261]-[0264] the cantilevered arms 296 comprise the ledge 302 that engages with the catch 306; Figs. 24A-29), and
a leg portion connected to another side of the body portion to contact the moving tab (¶[0208] the lock member 146 mechanically prevents displacement of one or more components of the inserter assembly 100, the connection of the backside of the cantilevered arm 296 and/or the ledge 302 to the locking member 146, see generally Figs. 17A-21), and
wherein the locking body is configured to, when the moving tab is located in the initial position, be biased in a direction in which the hook portion is engaged with the stopper member by contact of the leg portion with the moving tab (¶[0208] the lock member 146 mechanically prevents displacement of one or more components of the inserter assembly 100, the engagement of the ledge 302 to the catch 306, see generally Figs. 17A-21 and 24A-24B), and
the leg portion is configured to, when the moving tab moves to the removal position, move away from the moving tab and be biased in a direction in which the hook portion is disengaged from the stopper member (¶[0264] the finger 308 may disengage the ledge 302 from the catch 306, allowing release of energy stored in the spring 136, only possible after the lock member 146 has been disengaged and thus disengaged from the backside of the cantilevered arm 296 and/or the ledge 302 to the locking member 146; see generally Figs. 17A-21 and 24A-24B).
Regarding Claim 12, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 11 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches the applicator body includes a stage which movably supports the stopper member, and the body portion is arranged in a through hole formed at one side of the stage to penetrate the stage (see generally ¶[0206] and Figs. 1A-3 and 24A-24B, the portion of the sharp retractor 134 that the cantilevered arm 296 extends through and supporting the catch 306).
Regarding Claim 13, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 10 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches the locking unit comprises an elastic member configured to apply elastic force to the locking body in a direction of being away from the stopper member (¶[0264] the spring 136; Figs. 24A-24B), and
wherein the locking body is configured to, when the moving tab is located in the initial position, contact the moving tab to be biased in a direction of being engaged with the stopper member (¶[0208] the lock member 146 mechanically prevents displacement of one or more components of the inserter assembly 100, the engagement of the ledge 302 to the catch 306, see generally Figs. 17A-21 and 24A-24B), and,
when the moving tab moves to the removal position, deviate from the moving tab to be biased in a direction of being released from the stopper member by the elastic force of the elastic member (¶[0264] the finger 308 may disengage the ledge 302 from the catch 306, allowing release of energy stored in the spring 136, only possible after the lock member 146 has been disengaged and thus disengaged from the backside of the cantilevered arm 296 and/or the ledge 302 to the locking member 146; see generally Figs. 17A-21 and 24A-24B).
Regarding Claim 14, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches wherein the insertion unit includes a needle which is movable from the first position to the second position to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor (¶[0206] the insertion sharp 132, such as a needle; see generally Figs. 1A-3 and 40A-44B), and
wherein the moving tab includes a cover portion arranged between the protective sheet and the needle to prevent the needle from contacting the protective sheet (¶[0273] the portion of the set base 106 that acts as a protective barrier for the sharp 32, see Figs. 24A-24B, the adhesive 374 remains in both figures, but the protective portion of the set base 106 is removed from therebetween in Fig. 24B).
Regarding Claim 17, Lanigan teaches an inserter assembly with a first unit with a skin contact face, and a second unit with an infusion set base (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B). Lanigan teaches an applicator assembly (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B) comprising:
an applicator body (¶[0201] the exterior housing 116, ¶[0329] the exterior housing 116 and the retainer cap 406 together form the first unit; Fig. 1A and 70A-71B);
a sensor unit, including a sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002, Figs. 1A and 70A-71B),
an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place; Figs. 1A-3), and
a protective sheet covering an adhesive layer (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3),
an insertion unit (¶[0203] the interior housing 120 and/or ¶[0206] the sharp holder 130 for holding the sharp 132; Fig. 1A) installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002, Figs. 1A and 70A-71B),
from a first position spaced away from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user (see generally abstract, ¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0014]-[0018], ¶[0036]-[0037], and ¶[0329]-[0330], the first unit and second unit, movable relative to one another, to insert the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B; see generally also ¶[0276], ¶[0281], ¶[0283], Figs. 39A-44B); and
a moving tab to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer, alternatively and/or additionally, ¶[0208], ¶[0215], and ¶[0218] the lock member 146 including the arms 228/230 inserted through the side hole of the exterior housing 116, facilitated removal via the flange 152, in which the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The succeeding art rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 below are made with the claims as best understood and interpreted in light of the preceding rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 above.
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanigan.
Regarding Claim 15, Lanigan teaches an inserter assembly with a first unit with a skin contact face, and a second unit with an infusion set base (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B). Lanigan teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor into skin of a user (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (¶[0201] the exterior housing 116, ¶[0329] the exterior housing 116 and the retainer cap 406 together form the first unit; Fig. 1A and 70A-71B) to which a base unit including a base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided, ¶[0206] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive; Figs. 1A-3), and an adhesive portion provided at the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separably coupled (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided; Figs. 1A-3),
a protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3);
an insertion unit (¶[0203] the interior housing 120 and/or ¶[0206] the sharp holder 130 for holding the sharp 132; Fig. 1A) installed to the applicator body to move a sensor unit, which includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002, Figs. 1A and 70A-71B),
an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing to be attachable to the base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place, and/or ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81), and
from a first position which is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled with the base unit to insert the sensor into the skin of the user (see generally abstract, ¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0014]-[0018], ¶[0036]-[0037], and ¶[0329]-[0330], the first unit and second unit, movable relative to one another, to insert the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B; see generally also ¶[0276], ¶[0281], ¶[0283], Figs. 39A-44B and 80-81); and
a moving tab to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the sensor unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive portion (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer, alternatively and/or additionally, ¶[0208], ¶[0215], and ¶[0218] the lock member 146 including the arms 228/230 inserted through the side hole of the exterior housing 116, facilitated removal via the flange 152, in which the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C).
Lanigan teaches that a protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3), and that lock members 141 may be utilized (see ¶[0290]-[0291]; Figs. 45-47), but not specifically that such a sheet covers the adhesive layer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the adhesive backing 111 of the adhesive portion with the adhesive of the retainer before the device is readied (i.e., in the relax state before the lock members are removed) because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the adhesive backing would help to protect the adhesive, such as to ensure that the adhesive does not dry out.
Regarding Claim 16, Lanigan teaches an inserter assembly with a first unit with a skin contact face, and a second unit with an infusion set base (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B). Lanigan teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor into skin of a user (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body (¶[0201] the exterior housing 116, ¶[0329] the exterior housing 116 and the retainer cap 406 together form the first unit; Fig. 1A and 70A-71B) to which a base unit including a base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided, ¶[0206] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive; Figs. 1A-3),
an adhesive layer provided at one side of the base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place, and/or ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81), and
an adhesive portion provided at another side of the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separably coupled (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided; Figs. 1A-3),
a protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3);
an insertion unit (¶[0203] the interior housing 120 and/or ¶[0206] the sharp holder 130 for holding the sharp 132; Fig. 1A) installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit, which includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002; Figs. 1A-3 and 70A-71B),
which is configured to be attachable to the base unit housing by the adhesive layer and the sensor is mounted to (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place, and/or ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81),
from a first position which is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled with the base unit to insert the sensor into the skin of the user (see generally abstract, ¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0014]-[0018], ¶[0036]-[0037], and ¶[0329]-[0330], the first unit and second unit, movable relative to one another, to insert the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B; see generally also ¶[0276], ¶[0281], ¶[0283], Figs. 39A-44B and 80-81); and
a moving tab to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the base unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive portion (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer, alternatively and/or additionally, ¶[0208], ¶[0215], and ¶[0218] the lock member 146 including the arms 228/230 inserted through the side hole of the exterior housing 116, facilitated removal via the flange 152, in which the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C).
Lanigan teaches that a protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3), and that lock members 141 may be utilized (see ¶[0290]-[0291]; Figs. 45-47), but not specifically that such a sheet covers the adhesive layer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the adhesive backing 111 of the adhesive portion with the adhesive of the retainer before the device is readied (i.e., in the relax state before the lock members are removed) because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the adhesive backing would help to protect the adhesive, such as to ensure that the adhesive does not dry out.
Regarding Claim 18, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 17 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches a base unit including a base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided, ¶[0206] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive; Figs. 1A-3), to which the sensor unit housing is coupled (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place, and/or ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81), and
an adhesive portion provided at the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user, and spaced apart from the sensor unit and separably coupled to the applicator body (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided; Figs. 1A-3),
the protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3),
wherein the sensor unit housing is configured to be attachable to the base unit housing by the adhesive layer in the second position (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place, and/or ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81).
Lanigan teaches that a protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3), and that lock members 141 may be utilized (see ¶[0290]-[0291]; Figs. 45-47), but not specifically that such a sheet covers the adhesive layer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the adhesive backing 111 of the adhesive portion with the adhesive of the retainer before the device is readied (i.e., in the relax state before the lock members are removed) because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the adhesive backing would help to protect the adhesive, such as to ensure that the adhesive does not dry out.
Regarding Claim 19, Lanigan teaches an inserter assembly with a first unit with a skin contact face, and a second unit with an infusion set base (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B). Lanigan teaches an applicator assembly (see abstract and Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-17B; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B) comprising:
a sensor unit including a sensor and a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002; Figs. 1A-3 and 70A-71B),
a base unit including a base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided, ¶[0206] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive; Figs. 1A-3),
an adhesive layer provided at one side of the base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place, and/or ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81)
to attach the sensor unit housing and the base unit housing (¶[0199] the base 106 may be provided with an adhesive (i.e., adhesive pad) which retains the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102 in place, and/or ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81), and
an adhesive portion provided at another side of the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user (¶[0199] the base 106 to which the adhesive (i.e., the adhesive pad) is provided; Figs. 1A-3),
a protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3);
an applicator body to which the base unit is separably coupled (¶[0201] the exterior housing 116, ¶[0329] the exterior housing 116 and the retainer cap 406 together form the first unit; Fig. 1A and 70A-71B);
an insertion unit (¶[0203] the interior housing 120 and/or ¶[0206] the sharp holder 130 for holding the sharp 132; Fig. 1A) mounted to the applicator body to insert the sensor into the skin of the user by moving the sensor unit (¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge 102/1002; Figs. 1A-3 and 70A-71B)
from a first position spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit coupled with the base unit (see generally abstract, ¶[0008]-[0009], ¶[0014]-[0018], ¶[0036]-[0037], and ¶[0329]-[0330], the first unit and second unit, movable relative to one another, to insert the infusion set/sensor cartridge 102; see also ¶[0196], ¶[0312], ¶[0316], and ¶[0326] the inserter may also be usable for inserting an analyte sensor as a sensor cartridge as the set cartridge, Figs. 70A-71B; see additionally ¶[0206], ¶[0348]-[0354], and ¶[0370]-[0371] the retainer base 140, which may use couplings such as adhesive to keep the internal components connected to one another, and that holds the members in a stressed state after the first unit has been pressed in and is in the ready state; Figs. 1A-3 and 80-81, see generally also ¶[0276], ¶[0281], ¶[0283], Figs. 39A-44B and 80-81); and
a moving tab to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is movably installed to the applicator body to be movable by the user to move the protective sheet in a direction of being away from the base unit housing to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive portion (¶[0199], ¶[0215], ¶[0218], and ¶[0247] the pull tabs 410 and/or the gripping region 224, such as a tab, so as to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111 from the adhesive layer, alternatively and/or additionally, ¶[0208], ¶[0215], and ¶[0218] the lock member 146 including the arms 228/230 inserted through the side hole of the exterior housing 116, facilitated removal via the flange 152, in which the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3 and 17A-18C).
Lanigan teaches that a protective sheet covering the adhesive portion (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use; Figs. 1A-3), and that lock members 141 may be utilized (see ¶[0290]-[0291]; Figs. 45-47), but not specifically that such a sheet covers the adhesive layer.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the adhesive backing 111 of the adhesive portion with the adhesive of the retainer before the device is readied (i.e., in the relax state before the lock members are removed) because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the adhesive backing would help to protect the adhesive, such as to ensure that the adhesive does not dry out.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanigan as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Chae et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0178899), hereinafter Chae.
Regarding Claim 7, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Lanigan teaches that the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111 (see ¶[0215]), but does not teach any specific bonding including that the moving tab is coupled to the protective sheet by an adhesive member.
Chae teaches a sensor applicator assembly for a continuous glucose monitoring system (see abstract and Fig. 1), in which adhesive tape 560 is attached to a body contact surface of the sensor module 20 so that the sensor module 20 may be attached to the human body (see ¶[0065]) and Figs. 2a-2b), in which a release paper 561 may be attached to the adhesive tape 560 to protect the adhesive tape 560 (see ¶[0065]), in which the release paper 561 may be attached to a removable protective cap 200 via separate adhesive member 562 (see ¶[0065]-[0066] and ¶[0076]; Figs. 9A-9B).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the adhesive member 562 of Chae as the bond of the lock member 146 to the adhesive backing 111 of Lanigan because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Lanigan requires a bond between the lock member 146 and the adhesive backing 111 and Chae teaches one such bond; and/or (3) the adhesive would enable the user to remove the adhesive backing 111 when removing the lock member 146, thus simplifying the operating procedure (see Chae ¶[0065]-[0066] and ¶[0076]; Figs. 9A-9B).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanigan as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Larson et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0227358), hereinafter Larson.
Regarding Claim 8, Lanigan teaches the device of claim 1 as stated above. Lanigan further teaches that the protective sheet comprises a protective portion covering the adhesive layer (¶[0199] the adhesive may be covered by an adhesive backing 111 which is removed to expose the adhesive before use, the protective portion is the portion that specifically covers the adhesive backing 111; Figs. 1A-3).
Lanigan teaches that the lock member 146 may be bonded to the adhesive backing 111 (see ¶[0215]), but does not teach any specific bonding including that the protective sheet comprises a wing portion extended from an edge of the protective portion, and a protective sheet hole formed at one side of the wing portion, and wherein the moving tab has a grip portion corresponding to the protective sheet hole, and is coupled with the protective sheet in a way that the grip portion is inserted into the protective sheet hole.
Larson teaches of a sealed glucose sensor so as to maintain the sterility of the glucose sensor while allowing gaseous manufacturing by-products to be vented (see abstract and Figs. 1-2), in which the glucose sensor may have an assembly 104 comprising a glucose sensor 200, a sensor base 202 coupled to the glucose sensor 200, a sensor introducer 204 that cooperates with the sensor base 202, a mounting base 206 for the sensor base 202, a liner 207, a sensor mounting pedestal 208, and an adhesive disk 209 (see ¶[0025] and Figs. 3-4), in which the liner 207 is a temporary structure used during the shipping and handling of the assembly 100 (see ¶[0029]), in which the liner 207 is held and separated from sensor portion before usage via liner holder 211, such as the hook, that engages an edge, a hole, tabs, or any cooperating feature of the liner 207 (see ¶[0031]; Figs. 3 and 6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the liner holder 211 (i.e., the grip portion) for engaging the hole of the liner 207 of Larson as the bond of the lock member 146 to the adhesive backing 111 of Lanigan because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) Lanigan requires a bond between the lock member 146 and the adhesive backing 111 and Larson teaches one such bond; and/or (3) the liner holder would enable the user to remove the adhesive backing 111 when removing the lock member 146, thus simplifying the operating procedure (see Larson ¶[0031]).
Conclusion
/J.D.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791