DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: these claims use the abbreviation SN before spelling it out. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: these claims use the abbreviation SN before spelling it out. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 22 lacks a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites ‘…wherein the second base station delays the transmitting of the coordination parameters for all of the one or more candidate secondary cells until the connection is established…’ It is unclear what ‘the coordination parameters’ is referring to. Are you referring to Resource Coordination info, coordination information or some other information? Appropriate action is required.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites ‘…wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a DRX parameter…’ It is unclear what ‘the coordination parameters’ is referring to. Are you referring to Resource Coordination info, coordination information or some other information? Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.)
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a method in a first base station for supporting a conditional procedure for a user equipment (UE) operating in a primary cell of the first base station, the method comprising: (See Yan fig. 6; UE operating with Master node (e.g. first base station) (which has at least one cell), step 5, conditional connectivity to secondary nodes; see also para. 241; master node, MN, with serving cell)
receiving, by the first base station from a second base station, an indication of one or more candidate secondary cells to which the UE can connect, subject to a condition, to communicate in dual connectivity (DC); (See Yan fig. 6, para. 252; SN (e.g. second base station) sends configuration information to the master node (e.g. first base station receives); para. 250; SN’s have cells which a UE can connect to; step 5 this connection is subject to a condition; para. 8; dual connectivity; para. 197, fig. 2; MR-DC)
receiving, by the first base station, subsequently to the UE connecting to a secondary cell among the one or more candidate secondary cells for which the condition is satisfied, (See Yan fig. 6; MN receives at step 6 notify the SN satisfying the connectivity condition after the UE at step 6 has already performed a random access process with SNs (e.g. subsequent to UE connecting); this random access process is performed based upon step 5 upon which a UE determines which SN(s) satisfy the connectivity condition; see also para. 282-285, 271-275)
Yan does not explicitly disclose a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) for the secondary cell, the Resource Coordination Info information element IE including coordination parameters being usable for coordinating usage of radio resources with the second base station while the UE communicates in DC; and applying, by the first base station, the coordination parameters to coordinate the
usage of radio resources with the second base station. However, 3GPP TS 38.423 does disclose a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) for the secondary cell, the Resource Coordination Info information element IE including coordination parameters being usable for coordinating usage of radio resources with the second base station while the UE communicates in DC; and applying, by the first base station, the coordination parameters to coordinate the usage of radio resources with the second base station. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 49; M-NG-RAN node (e.g. first base station) uses the MR-DC Resource coordination IE (e.g. Resource Coordination information element (IE)) to coordinate resources and S-NG-RAN node (e.g. secondary base station) including UL, DL and other parameters (e.g. applying); see also pg. 205-206) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan to include the teaching of a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) for the secondary cell, the Resource Coordination Info information element IE including coordination parameters being usable for coordinating usage of radio resources with the second base station while the UE communicates in DC; and applying, by the first base station, the coordination parameters to coordinate the usage of radio resources with the second base station of 3GPP TS 38.423 with the motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources.
Regarding claim 2, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the Resource Coordination Info IE includes receiving, from the second base station, an interface message including the Resource Coordination Info IE. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 84; XnAP communication (e.g. control plane signaling protocol for the Xn interface for communication between base stations) including the MR-DC Resource Coordination IE from S-NG-RAN node; pg. 205) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money
Regarding claim 3, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 2, wherein:
the interface message further includes secondary node (SN) restriction information for the second base station; and (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 208-210; NR Resource Coordination information which is in MR-DC Resource Coordination IE includes resources which are not available (e.g. restricted))
the method further comprises:
determining, by the first base station, based on the SN restriction information, master node (MN) restriction information for the first base station; and
applying, by first base station, the MN restriction information. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 208-210; NR Resource Coordination information which is in MR-DC Resource Coordination IE includes resources which are not available (e.g. restricted) and this information is used for coordination (e.g. master node reads the IE (e.g. determines which resources can or should be used (e.g. restricting the first base station from using all resources)) and applies it) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money.
Regarding claim 6, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the conditional procedure to which the indication of the one or more candidate secondary cells pertains is conditional SN addition or conditional SN change. (See Yan fig. 6; SN addition/change based upon condition; see also para. 282-285, 271-275)
Regarding claim 7, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first base station communicates with the UE using a first radio access technology (RAT), which is different from a second RAT used by the second base station to communicate with the UE. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 205-210; 9.2.2.33-35; NR coordination with E-UTRA (LTE) (e.g. two different RATs)) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money and further to increase connectivity by using legacy (e.g. LTE) to increase range, bandwidth or decrease latency.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.) and further in view of Sharma (2021/0298120).
Regarding claim 4, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, subsequently to receiving the interface message the UE parameters are updated based upon applying of the coordination parameters by the first base station. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 52-53; after IE is received UE parameters are updated) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money.
Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the UE, updated configuration parameters. However, Sharma does disclose transmitting, to the UE, updated configuration parameters. (See Sharma fig. 4, box 402) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 to include the teaching of transmitting, to the UE, updated configuration parameters of Sharma with the motivation being prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.) and further in view of Jha (2015/0215912).
Regarding claim 5, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 1. Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 do not explicitly disclose wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. However, Jha does disclose wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. (See Jha fig. 5) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 to include the teaching of wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter of Jha with the motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money and further to optimize power parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.)
Regarding claim 8, Yan discloses a method in a second base station for supporting a conditional procedure for a user equipment (UE) operating in a primary cell of a first base station, the method comprising: (See Yan fig. 6; UE operating with Master node (e.g. first base station) (which has at least one cell), step 5, conditional connectivity to secondary nodes (e.g. second base stations); see also para. 241; master node, MN, with primary cell)
transmitting, by the second base station to the first base station, an indication of one or more candidate secondary cells to which the UE can connect, subject to a condition, to communicate in dual connectivity (DC); (See Yan fig. 6, para. 252; SN (e.g. second base station) sends configuration information to the master node (e.g. first base station receives); para. 250; SN’s have cells which a UE can connect to; step 5 this connection is subject to a condition; para. 8; dual connectivity; para. 197, fig. 2; MR-DC)
establishing, by the second base station, a connection between the UE and a secondary cell among the one or more candidate secondary cells; and after the establishing is successfully completed, transmitting, by the second base station to the first base station, (See Yan fig. 6; MN receives at step 6 notify the SN satisfying the connectivity condition after the UE at step 6 has already performed a random access process with SNs (e.g. after the establishing is successfully completed); this random access process is performed based upon step 5 upon which a UE determines which SN(s) satisfy the connectivity condition; see also para. 282-285, 271-275)
Yan does not explicitly disclose a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) including coordination information for coordinating usage of radio resources between the first base station and the second base station while the UE communicates in DC. However, 3GPP TS 38.423 does disclose a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) including coordination information for coordinating usage of radio resources between the first base station and the second base station while the UE communicates in DC. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 49; M-NG-RAN node (e.g. first base station) uses the MR-DC Resource coordination IE (e.g. Resource Coordination information element (IE)) to coordinate resources and S-NG-RAN node (e.g. secondary base station) including UL, DL and other parameters (e.g. applying); see also pg. 205-206) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan to include the teaching of a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) including coordination information for coordinating usage of radio resources between the first base station and the second base station while the UE communicates in DC of 3GPP TS 38.423 with the motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources.
Regarding claim 9, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the second base station delays the transmitting of the coordination parameters for all of the one or more candidate secondary cells until the connection is established. (See Yan fig. 6; MN receives at step 6 notify the SN satisfying the connectivity condition after the UE at step 6 has already performed a random access process with SNs (e.g. after the establishing is successfully completed); this random access process is performed based upon step 5 upon which a UE determines which SN(s) satisfy the connectivity condition; see also para. 282-285, 271-275)
Regarding claim 10, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the transmitting of the indication occurs during a procedure for configuring the second base station as a
candidate secondary node (C-SN). (See Yan fig. 6, para. 252; SN (e.g. second base station) sends configuration information to the master node (e.g. first base station receives); para. 250; SN’s have cells which a UE can connect to; step 5 this connection is subject to a condition; para. 8; dual connectivity; para. 197, fig. 2; MR-DC; all of fig. 6 is a procedure for configuring a second base station as a candidate secondary node)
Regarding claim 12, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 8, wherein:
the conditional procedure to which the indication of the one or more candidate
secondary cells pertains is conditional SN addition. (See Yan fig. 6, para. 252; SN (e.g. second base station) sends configuration information to the master node (e.g. first base station receives); para. 250; SN’s have cells which a UE can connect to; step 5 this connection is subject to a condition; para. 8; dual connectivity; para. 197, fig. 2; MR-DC;)
Regarding claim 13, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 8, wherein:
the conditional procedure to which the indication of the one or more candidate
secondary cells pertains is conditional SN cell change. (See Yan fig. 6, para. 252; SN (e.g. second base station) sends configuration information to the master node (e.g. first base station receives); para. 250; SN’s have cells which a UE can connect to; step 5 this connection is subject to a condition; para. 8; dual connectivity; para. 197, fig. 2; MR-DC; para. 297; SN change)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.) and further in view of Jha (2015/0215912).
Regarding claim 11, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the method of claim 8. Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 do not explicitly disclose wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. However, Jha does disclose wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. (See Jha fig. 5) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 to include the teaching of wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter of Jha with the motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money and further to optimize power parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 17, 18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.)
Regarding claim 14, Yan discloses a first base station including processing hardware and a transceiver, and configured to support a conditional procedure for a user equipment (UE) operating in a primary cell of the first base station, including: (See Yan fig. 6; UE operating with Master node (e.g. first base station) (which has at least one cell), step 5, conditional connectivity to secondary nodes; see also para. 241; master node, MN, with serving cell; para. 398, fig. 13; processor executing an algorithm stored in memory along with a transceiver)
receive, from a second base station, an indication of one or more candidate secondary cells to which the UE can connect, subject to a condition, to communicate in dual connectivity (DC); (See Yan fig. 6, para. 252; SN (e.g. second base station) sends configuration information to the master node (e.g. first base station receives); para. 250; SN’s have cells which a UE can connect to; step 5 this connection is subject to a condition; para. 8; dual connectivity; para. 197, fig. 2; MR-DC)
receive, subsequently to the UE connecting to a secondary cell among the one or more candidate secondary cells for which the condition is satisfied, (See Yan fig. 6; MN receives at step 6 notify the SN satisfying the connectivity condition after the UE at step 6 has already performed a random access process with SNs (e.g. subsequent to UE connecting); this random access process is performed based upon step 5 upon which a UE determines which SN(s) satisfy the connectivity condition; see also para. 282-285, 271-275)
Yan does not explicitly disclose a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) for the secondary cell, the Resource Coordination Info information element IE including coordination parameters being usable for coordinating usage of radio resources with the second base station while the UE communicates in DC; and apply the coordination parameters to coordinate the usage of radio resources with the second base station implement a method according to any one of the preceding claims. However, 3GPP TS 38.423 does disclose a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) for the secondary cell, the Resource Coordination Info information element IE including coordination parameters being usable for coordinating usage of radio resources with the second base station while the UE communicates in DC; and apply the coordination parameters to coordinate the usage of radio resources with the second base station implement a method according to any one of the preceding claims. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 49; M-NG-RAN node (e.g. first base station) uses the MR-DC Resource coordination IE (e.g. Resource Coordination information element (IE)) to coordinate resources and S-NG-RAN node (e.g. secondary base station) including UL, DL and other parameters (e.g. applying); see also pg. 205-206) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan to include the teaching of a Resource Coordination Info information element (IE) for the secondary cell, the Resource Coordination Info information element IE including coordination parameters being usable for coordinating usage of radio resources with the second base station while the UE communicates in DC; and apply the coordination parameters to coordinate the usage of radio resources with the second base station implement a method according to any one of the preceding claims of 3GPP TS 38.423 with the motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources.
Regarding claim 17, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the first base station of claim 14, wherein to receive the Resource Coordination Info IE, the first base station is configured to receive, from the second base station, an interface message including the Resource Coordination Info IE. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 84; XnAP communication (e.g. control plane signaling protocol for the Xn interface for communication between base stations) including the MR-DC Resource Coordination IE from S-NG-RAN node; pg. 205) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money
Regarding claim 18, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the first base station of claim 14, wherein:
the interface message further includes secondary node (SN) restriction information for the second base station; and (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 208-210; NR Resource Coordination information which is in MR-DC Resource Coordination IE includes resources which are not available (e.g. restricted))
the first base station is configured to:
determine, based on the SN restriction information, master node (MN) restriction
information for the first base station; and
apply the MN restriction information. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 208-210; NR Resource Coordination information which is in MR-DC Resource Coordination IE includes resources which are not available (e.g. restricted) and this information is used for coordination (e.g. master node reads the IE (e.g. determines which resources can or should be used (e.g. restricting the first base station from using all resources)) and applies it) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money.
Regarding claim 21, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the first base station of claim 14, wherein the conditional procedure to which the indication of the one or more candidate secondary cells pertains is conditional SN addition or conditional SN change. (See Yan fig. 6; SN addition/change based upon condition; see also para. 282-285, 271-275)
Regarding claim 22, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the first base station of claim 14, wherein the first base station communicates with the UE using a first radio access technology (RAT), which is different from a second RAT used by the second base station to communicate with the UE. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 205-210; 9.2.2.33-35; NR coordination with E-UTRA (LTE) (e.g. two different RATs)) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money and further to increase connectivity by using legacy (e.g. LTE) to increase range, bandwidth or decrease latency.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.) and further in view of Sharma (2021/0298120).
Regarding claim 19, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the first base station of claim 14, further comprising, subsequently to receiving the interface message the UE parameters are updated based upon applying of the coordination parameters by the first base station. (See 3GPP TS 38.423 pg. 52-53; after IE is received UE parameters are updated) The motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money.
Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the UE, updated configuration parameters. However, Sharma does disclose transmitting, to the UE, updated configuration parameters. (See Sharma fig. 4, box 402) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 to include the teaching of transmitting, to the UE, updated configuration parameters of Sharma with the motivation being prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (2022/0116803) and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 (3GPP TS 38.423 v16.0.0; 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NG-RAN; Xn application protocol (XnAP) (Release 16)”; July 2021.) and further in view of Jha (2015/0215912).
Regarding claim 20, Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 discloses the first base station of claim 14. Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 do not explicitly disclose wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. However, Jha does disclose wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter. (See Jha fig. 5) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Yan in view of 3GPP TS 38.423 to include the teaching of wherein the coordination parameters include at least one of a power coordination parameter or a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter of Jha with the motivation being to prevent interference which wastes limited wireless resources and further to improve reliability and further to reduce power consumption and further to reduce latency and further to efficiently share resources and further to provide compatibility with the 3GPP suite of standards and to save time and money and further to optimize power parameters.
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461