DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 02/19/2025.
Claims 6 and 15 are canceled.
Claims 16-21 are added.
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-21 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 7, 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 of claim 7 should be amended to recite “a radio access node (RAN) managing multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS)…”
Line 1 of claim 17 should be amended to recite “further configured to,…”
Line 1 of claim 14 should be amended to recite “a radio access node (RAN)…”
Line 2 of claim 14 should be amended to recite “a multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS) session identifier…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Babaei (US 2024/0260134 A1) hereinafter “Babaei.”
Regarding Claim 1, Babaei teaches A method in a core network (CN) (Babaei: paragraph 0037 & Fig. 1, core network (5GC)) for managing multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS) (Babaei: paragraphs 0004-0005 & 0187, multicast broadcast services) with a radio access network (RAN) (Babaei: paragraph 0037 & Fig. 1, NG-RAN), the method comprising:
receiving, from an MBS network (Babaei: paragraph 0209 & Fig. 18, MBS server), an interface message associated with an MBS session identifier (Babaei: paragraph 0198, session start/end or MBS configuration change); and
in response to the receiving, performing one of:
transmitting, to the RAN, a first CN-to-BS message to request activation notification (Babaei: paragraph 0198, MBS notification sent by the core to the RAN) for a multicast session corresponding to the MBS session identifier (Babaei: paragraph 0187, MBS delivery mode 1 used for multicast sessions), or
transmitting, to the RAN, a second CN-to-BS message to request activation notification (Babaei: paragraph 0198, MBS notification sent by the core to the RAN) for a broadcast session corresponding to the MBS session identifier (Babaei: paragraph 0187, MBS delivery mode 2 used for broadcast sessions).
Regarding Claim 2, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first CN-to-BS message a new next generation application protocol (NGAP) message (Babaei: paragraph 0041, implementing NGAP for transmitting or signaling messages).
Regarding Claim 3, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the second CN-to-BS message is an NGAP message (Babaei: paragraph 0041, implementing NGAP for transmitting or signaling messages).
Regarding Claim 4, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the second CN-to-BS message includes a QoS profile (Babaei: paragraph 0187, information of the MBS services including QoS requirements of an MBS service provided to RAN).
Regarding Claim 5, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the MBS session identifier includes a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (Babaei: paragraph 0187, information of the MBS services including TMGI provided to RAN).
Regarding Claim 7, Babaei teaches A method in a RAN node (Babaei: paragraph 0037 & Fig. 1, NG-RAN) for managing MBS (Babaei: paragraphs 0004-0005 & 0187, multicast broadcast services), the method comprising:
receiving, from a CN (Babaei: paragraph 0037 & Fig. 1, core network (5GC)), a CN-to-BS message (Babaei: paragraph 0198, MBS notification sent by the core to the RAN) including an MBS session identifier (Babaei: paragraph 0198, session start/end or MBS configuration change);
in a first instance, when the CN-to-BS message requests transmission of an MBS activation notification message for a multicast session corresponding to the MBS session identifier (Babaei: paragraph 0187, MBS delivery mode 1 used for multicast sessions), performing one or more procedures to transition a plurality of user equipment units (UEs) (Babaei: paragraphs 0197-0198, number of UEs in the MBS group) to a connected state (Babaei: paragraphs 0205 & 216, transitioning from a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or RRC idle state to an RRC connected state in response to reception of the MBS related notification); and
in a second instance, when the CN-to-BS message requests transmission of an MBS activation notification message for a broadcast session corresponding to the MBS session identifier, broadcasting MBS resource configuration to the plurality of UEs (Babaei: paragraph 0187, MBS delivery mode 2 used for broadcast sessions), including refraining from transitioning the plurality of UEs to the connected state (Babaei: paragraph 0187, delivery mode 2 where the UE may also receive data in INACTIVE/IDLE state, therefore teaching no transition to a connected state).
Regarding Claim 8, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the broadcasting the MBS resource configuration includes using a multicast control channel (MCCH) (Babaei: paragraph 0190, MCCH may be used for the MBS delivery).
Regarding Claim 9, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches when the CN-to-BS message requests transmission of an MBS activation notification message for the broadcast session (Babaei: paragraph 0187, said delivery for MBS session):
transmitting MBS data associated with the MBS session to the plurality of UEs, using the MCCH (Babaei: paragraph 0190, MCCH change notification mechanism may be used to notify the changes of MCCH configuration due to session start for delivery mode 2 of NR MBS).
Regarding Claim 10, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the MBS session identifier includes a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (Babaei: paragraph 0187, information of the MBS services including TMGI provided to RAN).
Regarding Claim 11, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein CN-to-BS message includes a QoS profile (Babaei: paragraph 0187, information of the MBS services including QoS requirements of an MBS service provided to RAN).
Regarding Claim 12, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein:
the CN-to-BS message requesting activation notification for the multicast session is a first NGAP CN-to-BS message (Babaei: paragraph 0041, implementing NGAP for transmitting or signaling messages), and
the CN-to-BS message requesting activation notification for the broadcast session is a second NGAP CN-to-BS message (Babaei: paragraph 0041, implementing NGAP for transmitting or signaling messages).
Regarding Claim 13, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein:
the CN-to-BS message requesting activation notification for the broadcast session is a resource setup request message (Babaei: paragraph 0198, MBS notification or paging message to start or activate session).
Regarding Claim 14, Babaei teaches A RAN node (Babaei: paragraph 0037 & Fig. 1, NG-RAN) comprising one or more processors (Babaei: paragraph 0106 & Fig. 15, processor) and configured to:
receive, from a CN (Babaei: paragraph 0037 & Fig. 1, core network (5GC)), a CN-to-BS message (Babaei: paragraph 0198, MBS notification sent by the core to the RAN) including an MBS session identifier (Babaei: paragraph 0198, session start/end or MBS configuration change);
in a first instance, when the CN-to-BS message requests transmission of an MBS activation notification message for a multicast session corresponding to the MBS session identifier (Babaei: paragraph 0187, MBS delivery mode 1 used for multicast sessions), performing one or more procedures to transition a plurality of user equipment units (UEs) to a connected state (Babaei: paragraphs 0205 & 216, transitioning from a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or RRC idle state to an RRC connected state in response to reception of the MBS related notification); and
in a second instance, when the CN-to-BS message requests transmission of an MBS activation notification message for a broadcast session corresponding to the MBS session identifier, broadcasting MBS resource configuration to the plurality of UEs (Babaei: paragraph 0187, MBS delivery mode 2 used for broadcast sessions), including refraining from transitioning the plurality of UEs to the connected state (Babaei: paragraph 0187, delivery mode 2 where the UE may also receive data in INACTIVE/IDLE state, therefore teaching no transitioning to a connected state).
Regarding Claim 16, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the broadcasting the MBS resource 16. configuration includes using a multicast control channel (MCCH) (Babaei: paragraph 0190, MCCH may be used for the MBS delivery).
Regarding Claim 17, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches when the CN-to-BS 17 message requests transmission of an MBS activation notification message for the broadcast session (Babaei: paragraph 0187, said delivery for MBS session):
transmit MBS data associated with the MBS session to the plurality of UEs, using the MCCH (Babaei: paragraph 0190, MCCH change notification mechanism may be used to notify the changes of MCCH configuration due to session start for delivery mode 2 of NR MBS).
Regarding Claim 18, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches the MBS session identifier includes a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (Babaei: paragraph 0187, information of the MBS services including TMGI provided to RAN).
Regarding Claim 19, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein CN-to-BS message includes a QoS profile (Babaei: paragraph 0187, information of the MBS services including QoS requirements of an MBS service provided to RAN).
Regarding Claim 20, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein:
the CN-to-BS message requesting transmission of an MBS activation notification message for the multicast session is a first NGAP CN-to-BS message, (Babaei: paragraph 0041, implementing NGAP for transmitting or signaling messages), and
the CN-to-BS message requesting activation notification for the broadcast session is a second NGAP CN-to-BS message (Babaei: paragraph 0041, implementing NGAP for transmitting or signaling messages).
Regarding Claim 21, Babaei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein:
the CN-to-BS message requesting transmission of an MBS activation notification message for the broadcast session is a resource setup request message (Babaei: paragraph 0198, MBS notification or paging message to start or activate session).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu et al. (US 2025/0338090 A1) teaches an MBS session activation procedure (paragraph 0020).
Babaei (US 2025/0203623 A1) teaches group notification and confirmation for multicast broadcast services (paragraph 0004).
Kim et al. (US 2023/0379942 A1) teaches NG-RAN node performs communication related to a multicast (paragraph 0010).
Zhu et al. (US 2023/0188948 A1) teaches methods for managing multicast and broadcast services (paragraph 0004).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463