DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/681511 filed on 05/18/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over GAN et al. (U.S 20240314523, Sep. 19, 2024) in view of Shi et al. (US 20260012757, Jan. 8, 2026).
Regarding Claim 1, GAN discloses the method comprising receiving, from a radio access network (RAN), a paging message including an MBS session identifier (ID), the MBS session ID including a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (page 8, par (0172), line 1-10, receive a paging message a session activation notification comprising a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) from a multicast session further comprises a finding module configured to find one user equipment (UE) that joined a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identified by the TMGI);
and initiating reception of MBS in response to the paging message(page 3, par (0080), line 1-10, sending a MBS session notification response comprising a list of the UEs in the connection management connected state to the SMF when UEs of at least one UE are in a connection management connected state further comprises sending a paging request message to a radio access network node to paging the UEs in the connection management idle state(determining an access category) when UEs of one UE are in a connection management idle state(wherein management idle state is an access category by using the paging message)), including determining an access category using the paging message, and performing, subsequently to receiving the paging message and in accordance with the category(page 3, par (0081-0082), line 1-10, receiving a service request from an idle UE of the UEs in the connection management idle state further comprises sending a PDU session update session management context request for the PDU session associated to the MBS session of the idle UE to be activated to the SMF based on the respective identifier of respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE(performing the access barring check according with the category of management idle state)),
an access barring check to determine whether the UE is allowed to attempt accessing the RAN (page 6, par (0121), line 1-10, After receiving the MBS session notification request, for each UE in the list, the AMF determines connection management state of the UE, If the UE involved in the MBS Session is in CM-CONNECTED state, the AMF responds the list of the UE(s) involved in the MBS Session and in CM-CONNECTED state, AMF figures out the paging area considering all the UE(s), which need be paged. The AMF sends a paging request message to the NG-RAN node(s)(allowed to attempt accessing the RAN) belonging to this Paging Area with the TMGI as the identifier to be paged if the related NG-RAN node(s) support the MBS session).
GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a UE for managing reception of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) data.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches a UE for managing reception of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) data (page 7, par (0072), line 1-5, A multicast-broadcast service (MBS) provided by a wireless communication network, the MBS include a point-to-multipoint service in which data transmitted from a (e.g., single) source entity such as a network node to multiple recipients such as WTRUs (wherein UE managing reception of MBS)).
GAN and Shi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UE for managing reception of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) data the teaching of GAN to include the MBS include a point-to-multipoint service in which data transmitted from a source entity such as a network node to multiple recipients such as WTRUs teaching of Shi because it is providing communication and various types of services to terminal devices to facilitate the terminal devices' access to use of the services provided by via the communication system.
Regarding Claim 2, GAN discloses determining the access category includes determining the access category for MBS (page 6, par (0119), line 5-10, respective user plane for respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE is not activated if SMF determines the user plane of the associated PDU session(s) of one or more UEs of the at least one UE with respect to TMGI).
Regarding Claim 3, GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the determining the access category includes using a configuration including a mapping of the MBS and the access category, stored in the UE.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches the determining the access category includes using a configuration including a mapping of the MBS and the access category, stored in the UE (page 10, par (0089), line 5-10, The network relay perform a mapping between the one or more QoS requirements associated with the MBS traffic associated with the PCS interface based on the mapping between the PCS QoS parameters and the MBS QoS parameters).
Regarding Claim 4, GAN discloses the determining the access category includes using a configuration received from a core network (CN) (page 1, par (0004), line 5-10, a PDU Session associated to a multicast session that is used for core network individual MBS traffic delivery method and for signaling related to a user's participation in a multicast session such as join and leave requests).
Regarding Claim 5, GAN discloses the determining the access category includes using a configuration received from a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE (page 5, par (0114), line 1-10, the communication system provide communication and various types of services to one or more terminal devices to facilitate the terminal devices' access to use of the services provided by, or via, the communication system).
Regarding Claim 6, GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating mobile terminating (MT) access.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches determining a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating mobile terminating (MT) access (page 6, par (0065), line 5-10, The AMF connected to one or more of the gNBs in the RAN via an N2 interface and serve as a control node, the AMF responsible for authenticating users of the WTRUs, support for network slicing, selecting a particular SMF management of the registration area, termination of NAS signaling, mobility management, and the like.).
Regarding Claim 7, GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating reception of MBS.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches determining a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating reception of MBS (page 7, par (0072), line 1-5, A multicast-broadcast service (MBS) provided by a wireless communication network, the MBS include a point-to-multipoint service in which data transmitted from a (e.g., single) source entity such as a network node to multiple recipients such as WTRUs (wherein UE managing reception of MBS)).
Regarding Claim 8, GAN discloses configuring resources for the MBS in accordance with the cause (page 3, par (0080), line 1-10, sending a MBS session notification response comprising a list of the UEs in the connection management connected state to the SMF when UEs of at least one UE are in a connection management connected state).
Regarding Claim 9, GAN discloses performing a join procedure for an MBS session corresponding to the MBS session ID (page 8, par (0172), line 1-10, receive a session activation notification comprising a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) from a multicast session).
Regarding Claim 10, GAN discloses determining, subsequent to receiving the paging message, that the UE has an MB context for an MBS session corresponding to the MBS session ID(page 8, par (0172), line 1-10, receive a session activation notification comprising a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) from a multicast session further comprises a finding module configured to find one user equipment (UE) that joined a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identified by the TMGI);
GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except in response to the determining, initiating a radio resources controls (RRC) procedure with the RAN.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches in response to the determining, initiating a radio resources controls (RRC) procedure with the RAN (page 6, par (0065), line 5-10, The AMF connected to one or more of the gNBs in the RAN via an N2 interface and serve as a control node, the AMF responsible for authenticating users of the WTRUs).
Regarding Claim 11, GAN discloses determining, subsequent to receiving the paging message, that the UE does not have an MB context for an MBS session corresponding to the MBS session ID(page 8, par (0172), line 1-10, receive a session activation notification comprising a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) from a multicast session further comprises a finding module configured to find one user equipment (UE) that joined a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identified by the TMGI);
and in response to the determining, initiating a join procedure for an MBS session corresponding to the MBS session ID(page 3, par (0081-0082), line 1-10, receiving a service request from an idle UE of the UEs in the connection management idle state further comprises sending a PDU session update session management context request for the PDU session associated to the MBS session of the idle UE to be activated to the SMF based on the respective identifier of respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE(performing the access barring check according with the category of management idle state)).
Regarding Claim 12, GAN discloses operating in a connected RRC state when the paging message is received (page 3, par (0080), line 1-10, sending a MBS session notification response comprising a list of the UEs in the connection management connected state to the SMF when UEs of at least one UE are in a connection management connected state further comprises sending a paging request message).
Regarding Claim 13, GAN discloses operating in an inactive RRC state when the paging message is received(page 3, par (0080), line 1-10, sending a MBS session notification response comprising a list of the UEs in the connection management connected state to the SMF when UEs of at least one UE are in a connection management connected state further comprises sending a paging request message to a radio access network node to paging the UEs in the connection management idle state(determining an access category) when UEs of one UE are in a connection management idle state(wherein management idle state is an access category by using the paging message)).
Regarding Claim 14, GAN discloses the method comprising receiving, from a radio access network (RAN), a paging message including an MBS session identifier (ID), the MBS session ID including a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (page 8, par (0172), line 1-10, receive a paging message a session activation notification comprising a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) from a multicast session further comprises a finding module configured to find one user equipment (UE) that joined a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identified by the TMGI);
and initiating reception of MBS in response to the paging message(page 3, par (0080), line 1-10, sending a MBS session notification response comprising a list of the UEs in the connection management connected state to the SMF when UEs of at least one UE are in a connection management connected state further comprises sending a paging request message to a radio access network node to paging the UEs in the connection management idle state(determining an access category) when UEs of one UE are in a connection management idle state(wherein management idle state is an access category by using the paging message)), including determining an access category using the paging message, and performing, subsequently to receiving the paging message and in accordance with the category(page 3, par (0081-0082), line 1-10, receiving a service request from an idle UE of the UEs in the connection management idle state further comprises sending a PDU session update session management context request for the PDU session associated to the MBS session of the idle UE to be activated to the SMF based on the respective identifier of respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE(performing the access barring check according with the category of management idle state)),
an access barring check to determine whether the UE is allowed to attempt accessing the RAN (page 6, par (0121), line 1-10, After receiving the MBS session notification request, for each UE in the list, the AMF determines connection management state of the UE, If the UE involved in the MBS Session is in CM-CONNECTED state, the AMF responds the list of the UE(s) involved in the MBS Session and in CM-CONNECTED state, AMF figures out the paging area considering all the UE(s), which need be paged. The AMF sends a paging request message to the NG-RAN node(s)(allowed to attempt accessing the RAN) belonging to this Paging Area with the TMGI as the identifier to be paged if the related NG-RAN node(s) support the MBS session).
GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a UE for managing reception of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) data.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches a UE for managing reception of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) data (page 7, par (0072), line 1-5, A multicast-broadcast service (MBS) provided by a wireless communication network, the MBS include a point-to-multipoint service in which data transmitted from a (e.g., single) source entity such as a network node to multiple recipients such as WTRUs (wherein UE managing reception of MBS)).
GAN and Shi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the UE for managing reception of Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) data the teaching of GAN to include the MBS include a point-to-multipoint service in which data transmitted from a source entity such as a network node to multiple recipients such as WTRUs teaching of Shi because it is providing communication and various types of services to terminal devices to facilitate the terminal devices' access to use of the services provided by via the communication system.
15. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 16, GAN discloses to determine the access category, the UE is configured to determine the access category for MBS (page 6, par (0119), line 5-10, respective user plane for respective PDU session associated to the MBS session of the at least one UE is not activated if SMF determines the user plane of the associated PDU session(s) of one or more UEs of the at least one UE with respect to TMGI).
Regarding Claim 17, GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to determine the access category, the UE is configured to use a configuration including a mapping of the MBS and the access category, stored in the UE.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches to determine the access category, the UE is configured to use a configuration including a mapping of the MBS and the access category, stored in the UE (page 10, par (0089), line 5-10, The network relay perform a mapping between the one or more QoS requirements associated
with the MBS traffic associated with the PCS interface based on the mapping between the PCS QoS parameters and the MBS QoS parameters).
Regarding Claim 18, GAN discloses to determine the access category, the UE is configured to use a configuration received from a core network (CN) (page 1, par (0004), line 5-10, a PDU Session associated to a multicast session that is used for core network individual MBS traffic delivery method and for signaling related to a user's participation in a multicast session such as join and leave requests).
Regarding Claim 19, GAN discloses to determine the access category, the UE is configured to use a configuration received from a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE (page 5, par (0114), line 1-10, the communication system provide communication and various types of services to one or more terminal devices to facilitate the terminal devices' access to use of the services provided by, or via, the communication system).
Regarding Claim 20, GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to determine a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating mobile terminating (MT) access.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches to determine a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating mobile terminating (MT) access (page 6, par (0065), line 5-10, The AMF connected to one or more of the gNBs in the RAN via an N2 interface and serve as a control node, the AMF responsible for authenticating users of the WTRUs, support for network slicing, selecting a particular SMF management of the registration area, termination of NAS signaling, mobility management, and the like.).
Regarding Claim 21, GAN discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to determine a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating reception of MBS.
Shi is the same field of invention teaches to determine a cause in accordance with the access category, the cause indicating reception of MBS (page 7, par (0072), line 1-5, A multicast-broadcast service (MBS) provided by a wireless communication network, the MBS include a point-to-multipoint service in which data transmitted from a (e.g., single) source entity such as a network node to multiple recipients such as WTRUs (wherein UE managing reception of MBS)).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-14 and 16-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over GAN et al. (U.S 20240314523, Sep. 19, 2024) in view of Shi et al. (US 20260012757, Jan. 8, 2026).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) both claims 10 and 11 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 14 would be allowable if (i) both claims 10 and 11 are incorporated into the independent claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464