DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The rejections from the Office Action of 4/23/2026 are hereby withdrawn. New grounds for rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al., Application of Digital Twin and Hologram Technology to Achieve Distribution Network Reliability Forecast, IEEE, 2022 [hereinafter “Chai”], Marquez et al. (US 20230393443 A1)[hereinafter “Marquez”], and Shin et al. (US 20170176966 A1)[hereinafter “Shin”].
Regarding Claim 1, Chai discloses a method for tracing power supply paths in important locations based on digital twins [Abstract – “This paper presents a reliability evaluation method of distribution network, which is based on the digital twin and hologram technology. The conventional method, which is based on the power outage information of distribution stations, just realizes the ex-post evaluation. However, the application of digital twin technology can not only archive real-time computing but also accurately forecast the reliability of a distribution network. In this paper, a successful application case is illustrated, which proves the feasibility of the application of digital twin technology in power grid.”Page 784, second column – “For the distribution network modeling schematic diagram based on digital twin technology, different colors represent different feeder lines, which is very convenient for power supply path and transfer analyzing.”], comprising the following steps:
S1: hierarchically establishing, according to actual regional scenarios, a two-dimensional digital twin scenario [See Fig. 3.Page 784, second column – “For the distribution network modeling schematic diagram based on digital twin technology, different colors represent different feeder lines, which is very convenient for power supply path and transfer analyzing.”].
Chai fails to disclose a corresponding three-dimensional digital twin scenario.
However, Marquez discloses the creation, updating, and use of a three-dimensional digital twin [Paragraph [0010] – “According to some aspects, disadvantages of the prior art are overcome using a traveler (e.g., field service engineer or robot such as a drone) to recognize an identity of the target device (e.g., asset) according to its identification code(s) along with its location in the facility (e.g., in real time), and automatically update this information in a digital twin of the enclosure (e.g., virtual three-dimensional model of an enclosure) and/or the BIM for automatic update to form an updated BIM (e.g., Revit® file). In some embodiments, the updated BIM will be compared with a prior version (e.g., the original) BIM for any discrepancies, which may be reported or otherwise addressed.”Paragraph [0185] – “A digital twin (e.g., Interconnect drawings or other sources of architectural information) of the facility may include location information for various network components. For example, devices (e.g., windows) may have their physical location coordinates listed in x, y, and z dimensions, with the technology prescribed accuracy; e.g., to within at least about 1 centimeter. Files or documents derived from such digital twin (e.g., comprising drawings), such as network configuration files, may contain accurate physical locations of network components.”See Figs. 18 and 19.] in conjunction with a power delivery network [See Paragraphs [0116] and [0166].].
It would have been obvious to commission the two-dimensional digital twin scenario along with a three-dimensional digital twin [Paragraph [0094] of Marquez – “Commissioning logic may associate the device images with locations in a two-dimensional or three-dimensional format of a digital twin of the enclosure, and thereby identify the locations of the one or more devices in the region.”] because doing so would have allowed for more accurate representation of the power supply system that more closely corresponds to the real-world operating environment.
The combination would disclose S2: acquiring equipment information comprising IP addresses uploaded by all network distribution equipment, from control centers in the corresponding areas; and assigning, according to the monitored equipment information, the network distribution equipment to corresponding spatial positions in the two-dimensional digital twin scenario and the three-dimensional digital twin scenario [Paragraph [0092] of Marquez – “In some embodiments, commissioning comprises associating physical devices, within a building, with identifying data (e.g., network IDs) that allows the physical devices to be accounted for, tracked, and/or electrically reachable (when they are coupled to a network). Commissioned devices that are operatively (e.g., communicatively) coupled to the network, may be accessed via a network. Commissioned devices at locations known through the commissioning process, may be controlled via commands sent to network addresses associated with the devices via commissioning. Commissioning may ensure that tint commands, sensor readings, etc. that are provided by or to control logic are associated with the correct physical devices, which have known locations and/or connectivity (e.g., connectivity point, hub, and/or address) to the network.” Network ID disclosing “IP address,” see Pages 1-2 of Unknown Author, How Does IP Addressing Work, WhatIsMyIPAddress.com, 2016, available at: https://whatismyipaddress.com/ip-addressing, (2016 version accessed by the Examiner using the Wayback Machine on 4/20/2026.) – “Every IP address (even though it looks to be in four parts) is broken down into two segments…but those segments aren’t equal. Part of the IP address is used for “network ID, and the rest of the address is used for the “host ID.””Paragraph [0094] of Marquez – “Commissioning logic may associate the device images with locations in a two-dimensional or three-dimensional format of a digital twin of the enclosure, and thereby identify the locations of the one or more devices in the region.”];
S3: connecting, according to an existing topology diagram, all the network distribution equipment to form preliminary power supply paths [Figs. 2-8 of Chai], controlling the network distribution equipment to send marking commands to upstream network distribution equipment respectively, allowing the network distribution equipment to send feedback on markers to control centers, and optimizing and correcting the preliminary power supply paths [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez – “FIG. 10 shows a process 1000 in which the commissioning logic generates the network topology portion of a network configuration file. Window devices (or other network-connected devices) are installed at a site 1001 and network components self-determine the hierarchical structure of the network by communicating with each other 1002. The hieratical structure of a network may be determined when each component self-reports to the network component above it reporting its network ID (or other ID) information as well the network ID (or other ID) information of any devices below it in the hierarchy. For example, a device (e.g., a sensor or an IGU) may report to a local controller (e.g., WC), which may report to an NC, which may report to a MC. When this pattern is repeated for every component on the network, then the system hierarchy may be self-determined. Thus, a network may avoid network topology errors that may easily be introduced by deviations from an interconnect drawing that occur during installation. This self-determined structure is then passed to commissioning logic 1004 which may use the measured positions 1003 of devices when creating a network configuration file 1005.”], so as to form a plurality of equipment power supply paths [As applied to the power distribution system of Chai.]; and
S4: when there is an abnormality in the network distribution equipment, tracing according to the power supply path where the network distribution equipment is located, so as to determine a faulty path and faulty equipment [See Figs. 5-7.Page 784-785 – “For the distribution network modeling schematic diagram based on digital twin technology, different colors represent different feeder lines, which is very convenient for power supply path and transfer analyzing. Generally, five colors are used in the figure to distinguish different health states of power reliability. The green region represents the region with strong reliability, and the blue region takes the second place. The red area is the weak link of power supply reliability, which needs to be paid attention to in daily production operation and maintenance. Reliability improvement projects should be arranged in this area in power development planning. Yellow marks are related distribution transformers and switch stations that supply power to the user.”Page 786, second column – “In view of the weak area of power supply reliability in this region, it is considered to improve power supply reliability accurately by adding contact switches and adjusting operation modes. It is the fact that the power supply reliability index of ZG30 feeder in AA Town and KD26 feeder in the south of KD Road is low.By adding a contact switch at point A shown in figure 5 o adjust the operation mode, the power supply reliability rate of ZG30 feeder increase from 0.997875 shown in figure 6 o 0.999155 shown in figure 7 which is 0.128%.”].
Regarding step S3, the combination would disclose that connection objects are determined according to the network distribution equipment that sends command markers, and obtaining corresponding topological connection relationships [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez (as applied to the network of Chai) – “FIG. 10 shows a process 1000 in which the commissioning logic generates the network topology portion of a network configuration file. Window devices (or other network-connected devices) are installed at a site 1001 and network components self-determine the hierarchical structure of the network by communicating with each other 1002. The hieratical structure of a network may be determined when each component self-reports to the network component above it reporting its network ID (or other ID) information as well the network ID (or other ID) information of any devices below it in the hierarchy. For example, a device (e.g., a sensor or an IGU) may report to a local controller (e.g., WC), which may report to an NC, which may report to a MC. When this pattern is repeated for every component on the network, then the system hierarchy may be self-determined. Thus, a network may avoid network topology errors that may easily be introduced by deviations from an interconnect drawing that occur during installation. This self-determined structure is then passed to commissioning logic 1004 which may use the measured positions 1003 of devices when creating a network configuration file 1005.”], but would fail to disclose that the feedback on the markers with unique codes for same terminal equipment is classified into one category, and that connection objects are determined for the network distribution equipment with same values in the same category.
However, Shin discloses classifying duplicate identification numbers for electric power equipment into a category of being potentially erroneous for purposes of correction [See Fig. 3 and Paragraphs [0050]-[0056]]. It would have been obvious to perform such a process to properly identify and correct the topology diagram based on the actual marking commands in order to produce a more accurate topology diagram that, logically, should not include duplicate ID numbers.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination would disclose that the two-dimensional digital twin scenario is a two-dimensional regional scenario; and the two-dimensional regional scenario comprises relative positions of various locations within a region, and the corresponding network distribution equipment in various locations [See Figs. 5-7 of Chai.Page 784-785 of Chai – “For the distribution network modeling schematic diagram based on digital twin technology, different colors represent different feeder lines, which is very convenient for power supply path and transfer analyzing. Generally, five colors are used in the figure to distinguish different health states of power reliability. The green region represents the region with strong reliability, and the blue region takes the second place. The red area is the weak link of power supply reliability, which needs to be paid attention to in daily production operation and maintenance. Reliability improvement projects should be arranged in this area in power development planning. Yellow marks are related distribution transformers and switch stations that supply power to the user.”]; and
the three-dimensional digital twin scenario is a three-dimensional location scenario; and the three-dimensional location scenario comprises spatial position distribution [Paragraph [0185] of Marquez – “A digital twin (e.g., Interconnect drawings or other sources of architectural information) of the facility may include location information for various network components. For example, devices (e.g., windows) may have their physical location coordinates listed in x, y, and z dimensions, with the technology prescribed accuracy; e.g., to within at least about 1 centimeter. Files or documents derived from such digital twin (e.g., comprising drawings), such as network configuration files, may contain accurate physical locations of network components.”] of the corresponding network distribution equipment in various locations [As applied to Chai].
Regarding Claim 3, the combination would disclose that the step S2 comprises the following process: S201: acquiring the equipment information uploaded by the network distribution equipment from control centers in the areas; S202: assigning, according to IP addresses in the equipment information of the network distribution equipment, the network distribution equipment to corresponding locations [Paragraph [0092] of Marquez – “In some embodiments, commissioning comprises associating physical devices, within a building, with identifying data (e.g., network IDs) that allows the physical devices to be accounted for, tracked, and/or electrically reachable (when they are coupled to a network). Commissioned devices that are operatively (e.g., communicatively) coupled to the network, may be accessed via a network. Commissioned devices at locations known through the commissioning process, may be controlled via commands sent to network addresses associated with the devices via commissioning. Commissioning may ensure that tint commands, sensor readings, etc. that are provided by or to control logic are associated with the correct physical devices, which have known locations and/or connectivity (e.g., connectivity point, hub, and/or address) to the network.”] in the two-dimensional digital scenario [Per Chai, but also Paragraph [0094] of Marquez – “Commissioning logic may associate the device images with locations in a two-dimensional or three-dimensional format of a digital twin of the enclosure, and thereby identify the locations of the one or more devices in the region.”]; and
S203: matching, according to equipment types and numbers in the equipment information, the network distribution equipment in various locations with the network distribution equipment in the three-dimensional digital scenario, so as to match the equipment information to corresponding spatial positions [Paragraph [0188] of Marquez – “In addition to the controller's network ID, other stored device information may include the controller's ID (not its network ID), the device component ID (e.g., a serial number for the lite), device type, device (e.g., window) dimensions, manufacturing date, bus bar length, zone membership, current firmware, and various other device details (e.g., layer makeup of an electrochromic device and their (e.g., relative) dimensionality). Regardless of which information is stored, at least part of this information (e.g., all the information) may be accessed during device use and/or during the commissioning process. Permission to access the information may comprise security layers. Once accessed, any or all portions of such information may be linked to the physical location information obtained from the digital twin (e.g., interconnect drawing), partially completed network configuration file, or other source.”Paragraph [0213] of Marquez – “In some embodiments, a target device present in a real facility may have a corresponding virtual graphic representation in the digital twin. The digital twin may include corresponding data records for the target device with unique identifying information (e.g., ID code or serial number, MAC address, and/or location) and generic information (type of device, manufacturer, and any other device characteristics, feature and/or attribute, e.g., as disclosed herein). By linking the identification code, location of target device, and the digital twin, functions such as building management, maintenance, servicing, and/or repair can be greatly improved (e.g., in efficiency).”].
Regarding Claim 4, the combination would disclose that the step S3 comprises the following process:
S301: acquiring a corresponding network distribution topology diagram within a region [Per Figs. 5-7 of Chai.] from control centers in the areas [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez], and connecting, according to the network distribution topology diagram, all the network distribution equipment in the digital scenarios to obtain the preliminary power supply paths [Per Figs. 5-7 of Chai.];
S302: acquiring [Paragraph [0188] of Marquez – “In addition to the controller's network ID, other stored device information may include the controller's ID (not its network ID), the device component ID (e.g., a serial number for the lite), device type, device (e.g., window) dimensions, manufacturing date, bus bar length, zone membership, current firmware, and various other device details (e.g., layer makeup of an electrochromic device and their (e.g., relative) dimensionality). Regardless of which information is stored, at least part of this information (e.g., all the information) may be accessed during device use and/or during the commissioning process. Permission to access the information may comprise security layers. Once accessed, any or all portions of such information may be linked to the physical location information obtained from the digital twin (e.g., interconnect drawing), partially completed network configuration file, or other source.”Paragraph [0213] of Marquez – “In some embodiments, a target device present in a real facility may have a corresponding virtual graphic representation in the digital twin. The digital twin may include corresponding data records for the target device with unique identifying information (e.g., ID code or serial number, MAC address, and/or location) and generic information (type of device, manufacturer, and any other device characteristics, feature and/or attribute, e.g., as disclosed herein). By linking the identification code, location of target device, and the digital twin, functions such as building management, maintenance, servicing, and/or repair can be greatly improved (e.g., in efficiency).”] all terminal network distribution equipment in the preliminary power supply paths [Page 784-785 of Chai – “For the distribution network modeling schematic diagram based on digital twin technology, different colors represent different feeder lines, which is very convenient for power supply path and transfer analyzing. Generally, five colors are used in the figure to distinguish different health states of power reliability. The green region represents the region with strong reliability, and the blue region takes the second place. The red area is the weak link of power supply reliability, which needs to be paid attention to in daily production operation and maintenance. Reliability improvement projects should be arranged in this area in power development planning. Yellow marks are related distribution transformers and switch stations that supply power to the user.”], controlling all the network distribution equipment to send the marking commands to the upstream network distribution equipment respectively, and allowing the network distribution equipment to send the feedback on the markers to control centers upon receiving the marking commands [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez];
S303: instructing control centers to collect the feedback on the markers sent by all the network distribution equipment [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez], and forming, according to a content of the feedback on the markers, the topological connection relationships [Paragraph [0195] of Marquez – “When a new device is installed in the facility (e.g., in a room thereof) and is operatively coupled to the network, the new device may be detected (e.g., and included into the digital twin). The detection of the new device and/or inclusion of the new device into the digital twin may be done automatically and/or manually.”] between distribution networks [As applied to the network of Chai]; and
S304: comparing the topological connection relationships of the feedback on the markers with the network distribution topology diagram, and optimizing and supplementing the preliminary power supply paths, so as to form the plurality of equipment power supply paths [Paragraph [0195] of Marquez as applied to the network of Chai – “When a new device is installed in the facility (e.g., in a room thereof) and is operatively coupled to the network, the new device may be detected (e.g., and included into the digital twin). The detection of the new device and/or inclusion of the new device into the digital twin may be done automatically and/or manually.”].
Regarding Claim 5, Chai discloses that various locations in the two-dimensional digital scenario are treated as a node and connected according to a power topology diagram, so as to form a plurality of preliminary power supply paths [Fig. 6, “The topology of AA town before the change of operation mode”]; and
for each of the locations, each equipment in the scenario is connected according to the power topology diagram to perfect the power supply path [Fig. 7, “The topology of AA town after the change of operation mode”].
Regarding Claim 6, the combination would disclose that the marking commands comprise markers whose names contain unique numbers of the terminal network distribution equipment [per Chai]; and an initial value of the marking commands is 0 [Paragraph [0092] of Marquez – “In some embodiments, commissioning comprises associating physical devices, within a building, with identifying data (e.g., network IDs) that allows the physical devices to be accounted for, tracked, and/or electrically reachable (when they are coupled to a network).”Paragraph [0173] of Marquez – “As with the digital twin (e.g., an interconnect drawing), the network configuration file when initially rendered, does not include network IDs for controllers or other components (e.g., devices) on or operatively (e.g., communicatively) coupled to the network.”];
after receiving the command markers sent by downstream network distribution equipment, the network distribution equipment adds one to the values of the command markers to obtain corresponding feedback on the markers [Paragraph [0173] of Marquez – “When the digital twin (e.g., an interconnect drawing) has been created, or when the digital twin has been updated to account for a change in installation, a network configuration file may be created or updated. The configuration file may be further updated when commissioning takes place (e.g., in real time), or at a (e.g., designated) time thereafter.”];
the feedback on the markers comprises the markers whose names contain unique numbers of the corresponding terminal network distribution equipment [per Chai] and unique codes of the network distribution equipment that send the command markers [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez – “FIG. 10 shows a process 1000 in which the commissioning logic generates the network topology portion of a network configuration file. Window devices (or other network-connected devices) are installed at a site 1001 and network components self-determine the hierarchical structure of the network by communicating with each other 1002. The hieratical structure of a network may be determined when each component self-reports to the network component above it reporting its network ID (or other ID) information as well the network ID (or other ID) information of any devices below it in the hierarchy. For example, a device (e.g., a sensor or an IGU) may report to a local controller (e.g., WC), which may report to an NC, which may report to a MC. When this pattern is repeated for every component on the network, then the system hierarchy may be self-determined. Thus, a network may avoid network topology errors that may easily be introduced by deviations from an interconnect drawing that occur during installation. This self-determined structure is then passed to commissioning logic 1004 which may use the measured positions 1003 of devices when creating a network configuration file 1005.”]; and
the network distribution equipment forms a set of all feedback on the markers, and sends same to control centers [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez – “The hieratical structure of a network may be determined when each component self-reports to the network component above it reporting its network ID (or other ID) information as well the network ID (or other ID) information of any devices below it in the hierarchy. For example, a device (e.g., a sensor or an IGU) may report to a local controller (e.g., WC), which may report to an NC, which may report to a MC.”].
Regarding Claim 9, Chai discloses that wherein the step S4 comprises the following process:
S401: performing real-time collection and acquisition on the equipment information uploaded by all the network distribution equipment [Page 783, first column – “The digital twin technology leads to the real-time calculation and accurate prediction of the distribution network reliability.”], and comparing index parameters in the equipment information with corresponding threshold values, so as to determine whether the network distribution equipment is abnormal [Page 786, second column – “In view of the weak area of power supply reliability in this region, it is considered to improve power supply reliability accurately by adding contact switches and adjusting operation modes. It is the fact that the power supply reliability index of ZG30 feeder in AA Town and KD26 feeder in the south of KD Road is low.” The threshold being disclosed in the use of the different color-coding in section IV.];
S402: when there is the abnormality in the network distribution equipment, tracing upstream according to the equipment power supply path [See Figs. 5-7.], and determining a faulty power supply node based on statuses of the network distribution equipment at all power supply nodes in the equipment power supply paths [See Figs. 5-7.Page 785, first column – “Yellow marks are related distribution transformers and switch stations that supply power to the user.”]; and
S403: determining, according to all the equipment power supply paths associated with the faulty power supply node, a fault impact scope, and locating a spatial position of the faulty equipment to perform a power maintenance operation [See Figs. 5-7.Page 784-785 – “For the distribution network modeling schematic diagram based on digital twin technology, different colors represent different feeder lines, which is very convenient for power supply path and transfer analyzing. Generally, five colors are used in the figure to distinguish different health states of power reliability. The green region represents the region with strong reliability, and the blue region takes the second place. The red area is the weak link of power supply reliability, which needs to be paid attention to in daily production operation and maintenance. Reliability improvement projects should be arranged in this area in power development planning. Yellow marks are related distribution transformers and switch stations that supply power to the user.”Page 786, second column – “In view of the weak area of power supply reliability in this region, it is considered to improve power supply reliability accurately by adding contact switches and adjusting operation modes. It is the fact that the power supply reliability index of ZG30 feeder in AA Town and KD26 feeder in the south of KD Road is low.By adding a contact switch at point A shown in figure 5 o adjust the operation mode, the power supply reliability rate of ZG30 feeder increase from 0.997875 shown in figure 6 o 0.999155 shown in figure 7 which is 0.128%.”].
Regarding Claim 12, the combination would disclose that the faulty power supply nodes and the fault impact scope of the faulty paths are shown in the two-dimensional digital scenario [See Figs. 5-7 of Chai.Page 784-785 of Chai – “For the distribution network modeling schematic diagram based on digital twin technology, different colors represent different feeder lines, which is very convenient for power supply path and transfer analyzing. Generally, five colors are used in the figure to distinguish different health states of power reliability. The green region represents the region with strong reliability, and the blue region takes the second place. The red area is the weak link of power supply reliability, which needs to be paid attention to in daily production operation and maintenance. Reliability improvement projects should be arranged in this area in power development planning. Yellow marks are related distribution transformers and switch stations that supply power to the user.”]; and
positions of the faulty equipment are shown in the three-dimensional digital scenario [per Marquez].
Regarding Claims 13-18, the combination would disclose a non-transitory readable storage medium wherein the readable storage medium stores one or more programs, and the one or more programs can be executed by one or more processors to implement steps of the method for tracing power supply paths in important locations based on digital twins [Abstract of Chai – “the application of digital twin technology can not only archive real-time computing but also accurately forecast the reliability of a distribution network.”].
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al., Application of Digital Twin and Hologram Technology to Achieve Distribution Network Reliability Forecast, IEEE, 2022 [hereinafter “Chai”], Marquez et al. (US 20230393443 A1)[hereinafter “Marquez”], Shin et al. (US 20170176966 A1)[hereinafter “Shin”], and Batcher et al. (US 20240104520 A1)[hereinafter “Batcher”].
Regarding Claim 7, the combination would disclose that a transmission method of the command markers is as follows:
instructing terminal network distribution equipment to send the command markers with an initial value of 0 [Paragraph [0173] of Marquez – “As with the digital twin (e.g., an interconnect drawing), the network configuration file when initially rendered, does not include network IDs for controllers or other components (e.g., devices) on or operatively (e.g., communicatively) coupled to the network.”] to the upstream network distribution equipment [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez – “FIG. 10 shows a process 1000 in which the commissioning logic generates the network topology portion of a network configuration file. Window devices (or other network-connected devices) are installed at a site 1001 and network components self-determine the hierarchical structure of the network by communicating with each other 1002. The hieratical structure of a network may be determined when each component self-reports to the network component above it reporting its network ID (or other ID) information as well the network ID (or other ID) information of any devices below it in the hierarchy. For example, a device (e.g., a sensor or an IGU) may report to a local controller (e.g., WC), which may report to an NC, which may report to a MC. When this pattern is repeated for every component on the network, then the system hierarchy may be self-determined. Thus, a network may avoid network topology errors that may easily be introduced by deviations from an interconnect drawing that occur during installation. This self-determined structure is then passed to commissioning logic 1004 which may use the measured positions 1003 of devices when creating a network configuration file 1005.”]; and
for the network distribution equipment that have received the command markers, adding one to the command markers to form feedback on the markers [Paragraph [0173] of Marquez – “When the digital twin (e.g., an interconnect drawing) has been created, or when the digital twin has been updated to account for a change in installation, a network configuration file may be created or updated. The configuration file may be further updated when commissioning takes place (e.g., in real time), or at a (e.g., designated) time thereafter.”], and transmitting the command markers after adding one to the values to the remaining network distribution equipment connected to the above network distribution equipment, wherein the command markers are not sent to the remaining network distribution equipment [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez – “FIG. 10 shows a process 1000 in which the commissioning logic generates the network topology portion of a network configuration file. Window devices (or other network-connected devices) are installed at a site 1001 and network components self-determine the hierarchical structure of the network by communicating with each other 1002. The hieratical structure of a network may be determined when each component self-reports to the network component above it reporting its network ID (or other ID) information as well the network ID (or other ID) information of any devices below it in the hierarchy. For example, a device (e.g., a sensor or an IGU) may report to a local controller (e.g., WC), which may report to an NC, which may report to a MC. When this pattern is repeated for every component on the network, then the system hierarchy may be self-determined. Thus, a network may avoid network topology errors that may easily be introduced by deviations from an interconnect drawing that occur during installation. This self-determined structure is then passed to commissioning logic 1004 which may use the measured positions 1003 of devices when creating a network configuration file 1005.”].
The combination would fail to disclose transmitting the command markers circularly until there is no object to which the command markers can be transmitted in all the network distribution equipment.
However, Batcher discloses the use of a blockchain ledger to track equipment [Paragraph [0051] – “Thus, data representative of installation of authorized components can be stored to the industrial blockchain herein (e.g., via the blockchain component 212). Such data can comprise one or more unique identifiers associated with respective components of a given product. In this regard, the blockchain component 212 can write, to an industrial blockchain 226, data representative of installation of a first component (e.g., component 246), of a group of components (e.g., comprising component 246, component 250, etc.), in a product 244 manufactured using the blockchain-enabled industrial automation equipment described herein. Such data representative of installation can comprise one or more of an identity of a respective component, the type of the component, a serial number of the component, the date and time the component was added, the device, machine, or entity that installed the component, or other conditions or information applicable to the installation of the component.”] in which all ledger updates are transmitted to all participants as changes are made until all updates are tracked (i.e., “circulating” updates)[Paragraph [0083] – “A distributed ledger 1102 of all these changes is maintained by all entities 1106 (or nodes or participants) that participate in the platform. If all entities 1106 apply the changes to their own copy of the data, then the copies remain consistent across the entities 1106 without the need for a single golden copy. Each entity maintains a copy of the ledger 1102, which represents a continuous chain of transaction blocks 1104, hence the term “blockchain.” When a transaction is performed on the data by one of the entities 1106, all entities 1106 process the transaction and determine the validity of the transaction. If a consensus among the entities 1106 is reached regarding the transaction's validity, each entity updates its copy of the ledger 1102 accordingly.”].
It would have been obvious to use such a scheme to track equipment across an electrical distribution system because blockchain would have presented an effective manner for doing so.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination would disclose a non-transitory readable storage medium wherein the readable storage medium stores one or more programs, and the one or more programs can be executed by one or more processors to implement steps of the method for tracing power supply paths in important locations based on digital twins [Abstract of Chai – “the application of digital twin technology can not only archive real-time computing but also accurately forecast the reliability of a distribution network.”].
Claim(s) 8, 10, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al., Application of Digital Twin and Hologram Technology to Achieve Distribution Network Reliability Forecast, IEEE, 2022 [hereinafter “Chai”], Marquez et al. (US 20230393443 A1)[hereinafter “Marquez”], Shin et al. (US 20170176966 A1)[hereinafter “Shin”], and Bennett et al. (US 20170193029 A1)[hereinafter “Bennett”].
Regarding Claim 8, the combination would disclose that control centers in the areas will be classified according to an expression of the feedback on the markers, and arranged in a descending order of values; and a plurality of groups of the topological connection relationships are obtained [Paragraph [0193] of Marquez (as applied to the network of Chai) – “FIG. 10 shows a process 1000 in which the commissioning logic generates the network topology portion of a network configuration file. Window devices (or other network-connected devices) are installed at a site 1001 and network components self-determine the hierarchical structure of the network by communicating with each other 1002. The hieratical structure of a network may be determined when each component self-reports to the network component above it reporting its network ID (or other ID) information as well the network ID (or other ID) information of any devices below it in the hierarchy. For example, a device (e.g., a sensor or an IGU) may report to a local controller (e.g., WC), which may report to an NC, which may report to a MC. When this pattern is repeated for every component on the network, then the system hierarchy may be self-determined. Thus, a network may avoid network topology errors that may easily be introduced by deviations from an interconnect drawing that occur during installation. This self-determined structure is then passed to commissioning logic 1004 which may use the measured positions 1003 of devices when creating a network configuration file 1005.”], but would fail to disclose that:
all the topological connection relationships are traversed to determine whether there are same topological connection relationships in the preliminary power supply paths; if so, the corresponding topological connection relationships are removed; and otherwise, a next step of conflict resolution is proceeded; and
whether the topological connection relationships conflict with the existing preliminary power supply paths is determined; if so, the corresponding topological connection relationships are removed; and otherwise, the equipment power supply paths are formed according to the topological connection relationships.
However, Bennett discloses a conflict resolution scheme for maintaining an electrical distribution map [Abstract – “System and method for syncing and merging network changes to a distribution network are disclosed. In some embodiments, network changes made to a network outside of a Geographic Information System (GIS) can be synced to the GIS so that the GIS remains an enterprise's primary repository for network information. In some embodiments, the disclosed system enables comparing and merging of network states using a command-based technique that significantly reduces the number of possible merge conflicts.”Paragraph [0002] – “As used herein, a distribution network comprises of pipelines, cables, and/or other equipment to facilitate distribution of a utility to customers. For example, an electrical distribution network comprising of cables/overhead lines and sub-stations facilitates distribution of electricity from a transmission/sub-transmission network to customers.”] in which a comparison between map states is performed to determine changes to the topological map [See Fig. 4, particularly step 415].
It would have been obvious to update the topological map in such a manner because doing so would have been an effective manner of automatically producing an updated map when the distribution network changes in topology.
Regarding Claim 10, Chai discloses that the process of tracing upstream specifically comprises:
1) if there is only one abnormal power supply path in the same time period, the most upstream power supply node, at which the abnormal equipment exists, in the power supply path is determined as a faulty power supply node [See Figs. 6 and 7, ZG30 feeder];
2) if there is more than one abnormal power supply path in the same time period, it is determined whether the same power supply nodes exist in the abnormal power supply paths [Figs. 5-8, separate treatment of ZG30 feeder and KD26 feeder]; and
3) whether the abnormal equipment at the same power supply nodes in all the power supply paths are the same is determined; if so, the same abnormal equipment is extracted and determined as the abnormal equipment; and otherwise, each abnormal equipment is checked respectively, and a most upstream abnormal equipment in the power supply path is treated as the faulty equipment [Figs. 5-8, separate treatment of ZG30 feeder and KD26 feeder].
Regarding Claim 11, Chai discloses that if there are no same power supply nodes in the abnormal power supply paths, the upstream power supply nodes, at which the abnormal equipment exist, in the power supply paths are determined as the faulty power supply nodes, respectively [Figs. 5-8, separate treatment of ZG30 feeder and KD26 feeder]; and
Chai discloses the tracking of power supply equipment [Page 784, second column – “Distribution line equipment parameters are also required which include switch equipment, connecting line equipment, load point equipment.”], but fails to disclose that, if there are the same power supply nodes in the abnormal power supply paths, the same power supply nodes in the paths are extracted, and the equipment information of the abnormal equipment at the corresponding power supply nodes is fed back.
However, it would have been obvious to track all equipment tied to an underperforming path in order to help with providing maintenance on such a path [Page 785, first column – “The red area is the weak link of power supply reliability, which needs to be paid attention to in daily production operation and maintenance.”].
Regarding Claim 20, the combination would disclose a non-transitory readable storage medium wherein the readable storage medium stores one or more programs, and the one or more programs can be executed by one or more processors to implement steps of the method for tracing power supply paths in important locations based on digital twins [Abstract of Chai – “the application of digital twin technology can not only archive real-time computing but also accurately forecast the reliability of a distribution network.”].
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The corresponding rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The corresponding rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner agrees. The corresponding rejections are hereby withdrawn and new grounds for rejection are presented above.
Applicant argues:
…
Examiner’s Response:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., adding one to or incrementing a numerical value) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170293545 A1 – REDUNDANT CABLE ROUTING MANAGEMENT IN STORAGE SYSTEMS
US 20200193339 A1 – SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR VISUALIZATION OF FLOW DIRECTION IN A DISTRIBUTION NETWORK
US 20230069866 A1 – TECHNIQUES FOR GENERATING ONE OR MORE SCORES AND/OR ONE OR MORE CORRECTIONS FOR A DIGITAL TWIN REPRESENTING A UTILITY NETWORK
US 20170206292 A1 – SYSTEM AND METHODS FOR OPTIMIZING DISTRIBUTION NETWORK DESIGNS IN REAL-TIME
US 6141779 A – Method For Automatically Programming A Redundancy Map For A Redundant Circuit
US 20220052552 A1 – SYSTEM FOR DESIGNING A LOW-VOLTAGE DISTRIBUTION NETWORK AT A SECONDARY UNIT SUBSTATION
Qiao et al., Research and Application of Distribution Network Dispatching Operation Based on Digital Twinning Technology, IEEE, 4.1.2023
Qiao et al., Research and Implementation of Spatial Layout Algorithm and Optimization Technology for Digital Twin Objects of Distribution Network Facilities, IEEE, 7.31.2023
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857