DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders in view of Potyrailo et al. (US 2018/0080890 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Potyrailo”) (cited in IDS dated February 6, 2024) in view of Bastianini et al. (US 2010/0238027 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Bastianini”) (cited in IDS dated February 6, 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Potyrailo teaches an ultra-low-power (para. [0073]: Beginning at 402, the controller circuit 210 of the sensor node 102 may enter a sleep mode (e.g., low power mode, hibernation mode, stand-by mode)) wireless (FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a wireless sensor network (WSN) 100) impedance measurement system (para. [0078]: At 408, the controller circuit 210 measures an impedance response of the sensor 202) comprising:
a sensor group, the sensor group (para. [0043]: the WSN 100 includes a remote system 108 and one or more sensor nodes 102 ) including:
a sensor (para. [0043]: the WSN 100 includes a remote system 108 and one or more sensor nodes 102 );
a measurement module (para. [0059]: the sensor 202 includes at least one pair of electrodes 208-209 and a sensing material 214),
the measurement module (para. [0059]: the sensor 202 includes at least one pair of electrodes 208-209 and a sensing material 214) including:
an impedance analyzer configured to receive frequency data from the sensor and generate impedance data (Fig. 2, 210 and para. [0054]: the controller circuit 210 is configured to acquire an impedance response of the sensor 202 in response to the stimulation waveform. The controller circuit 210 may be embodied in hardware, such as a processor, controller, or other logic-based device, that performs functions or operations based on one or more sets of instructions (e.g., software));
a wireless protocol processor configured to receive the impedance data from the impedance analyzer (para. [0054]: see above ) and to format the received data for wireless transmission (para. [0055]: The RF circuit 216 may be configured to handle and/or manage the bi-directional communication links between the sensor node 102 and the remote system 108, the WSN Gateway 106, and/or the like. The RF circuit 216 is controlled by the controller circuit 210 and may support one or more wireless communication protocols); and
a wireless transceiver (Fig. 2: 216, 218 works as wireless transceiver) configured to receive the formatted data and transmit the data via wireless transmission (para. [0083]: At 414, the controller circuit 210 instruct the RF circuit 216 to transmit the impedance response and the one or more ambient parameters. For example, the controller circuit 210 may form a data packet based on the wireless protocol stored in the memory 204. The data packet includes information associated with the impedance response (e.g., impedance response 600, 650 of FIGS. 6A, 6B) that includes a real portion (e.g., real portions 602, 652) of the impedance response corresponding to the real impedance, Zre(f) of the impedance responses, and an imaginary portion (e.g., imaginary portion 604, 654) of an imaginary impedance, Zim(f))
Potyrailo does not specifically teach a piezoelectric sensor.
However, Bastianini teaches a piezoelectric sensor (para. [0045]: he sensor(s) (7b) could be chosen into a wide range of transducer technologies suitable for measuring structurally relevant parameters such as …electrical impedance…piezoelectric sensors).
Potyrailo and Bastianini are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of structural health monitoring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the piezoelectric sensor such as is described in Bastianini into Potyrailo, in order to allow all the sensor(s) to be chosen into a wide range of transducer technologies suitable for measuring structurally relevant parameters such as displacement, inclination, stress, strain, force, torque, acceleration, corrosion, acoustic emission, ultrasonic time of flight, electrical impedance, temperature, moisture, presence of specific ions, etc (Bastianini, para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Potyrailo teaches that the wireless transceiver is an LTE transceiver (para. [0041]: a wireless communication unit (10); para. [0051]: the wireless communication unit (10) is typically a cellular network modem compatible with one of the diffused cellular telecommunication standards, note since Potyrailo teaches a cellular network modem compatible with one of the diffused cellular telecommunication standards, the wireless transceiver that is an LTE is obvious variation of such results).
Regarding claim 3, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Potyrailo teaches further comprising a temperature sensor for producing temperature data (para. [0056]: The environmental sensor (e.g., environmental sensor suite) 212 may be configured to acquire ambient parameters (e.g., temperature, humidity, and/or the like), and wherein the wireless protocol processor is further configured to receive temperature data from the temperature sensor (para. [0056]: The environmental sensor (e.g., environmental sensor suite) 212 may be configured to acquire ambient parameters (e.g., temperature, humidity, and/or the like); para. [0082]: At 412, the controller circuit 210 may calculate one or more ambient parameters (e.g., temperature, humidity, and/or the like) based on the sensor measurement signal).
Regarding claim 4, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Potyrailo teaches that the wireless transceiver (para. [0058]: The RF circuit 216 may be configured to handle and/or manage the bi-directional communication links between the sensor node 102 and the remote system 108) is a short-range wireless transceiver (para. [0055]: the wireless communication protocols may include Bluetooth low energy, Bluetooth, ZigBee, WiFi, 802.11, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 5, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Potyrailo teaches that the temperature sensor is a thermocouple device (para. [0056]: The environmental sensor 212 includes a thermistor, a thermocouple, a humidity sensor, a photosensor, an anemometer, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 6, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Potyrailo teaches that the short-range wireless transceiver is a BLE/LoRa transceiver (para. [0055]: The RF circuit 216 is controlled by the controller circuit 210 and may support one or more wireless communication protocols. For example, the wireless communication protocols may include Bluetooth low energy, Bluetooth, ZigBee, WiFi, 802.11, and/or the like, note since Potyrailo teaches that the wireless communication protocols may include Bluetooth low energy, Bluetooth, ZigBee, WiFi, 802.11, and/or the like, the BLE/LoRa transceiver is an obvious variation of such results).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders in view of Potyrailo in view of Bastianini and Gordi et al. (WO 2021/150957 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Gordi”) (cited in IDS dated February 6, 2024).
Regarding claim 7, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 4. Potyrailo and Bastianini do not specifically teach that the short-range wireless transceiver is integrated with another component of the system.
However, Gordi teaches that the short-range wireless transceiver is integrated with another component of the system (para. [0040]: the sensor of the invention is present in a single housing along with the controller; para. [0026]: the controller comprises the following elements inside a controller case: an antenna, a plug to connect to the sensor, battery, and related electronics that enable receiving and transmitting the information from the sensor).
Potyrailo and Gordi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of measuring and reporting at least one property of concrete (or structure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the short-range wireless transceiver such as is described in Gordi into Potyrailo, in order to measure at least one property of concrete, said system comprising: a housing having an inner cavity, said housing being embeddable into concrete upon deployment of said system in the field (Gordi, para. [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 4. Potyrailo and Bastianini do not specifically teach that the short-range wireless transceiver is a stand-alone component.
However, Gordi teaches that the short-range wireless transceiver is a stand-alone component (para. [0042]: The controller according to the invention transmits the sensor data through LoRa WAN, SigFOx, Wi-Fi or any other wireless short range or long-range connection to a remote server for data processing and transmission to the end-user device) is a stand-alone component (para. [0042]: Where prolonged supervision of concrete structures is not required, the controller may be unplugged from the sensor and removed from the housing to be reused. The controller according to the invention transmits the sensor data through LoRa WAN, SigFOx, Wi-Fi or any other wireless short range or long-range connection to a remote server for data processing and transmission to the end-user device).
Potyrailo and Gordi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of measuring and reporting at least one property of concrete (or structure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the short-range wireless transceiver such as is described in Gordi into Potyrailo, in order to allow a controller to have form that fits inside said cavity, said controller being retrievable from said cavity after said system is deployed (Gordi, para. [0016]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potyrailo in view of Bastianini, and Ghods et al. (US 2018/0238820 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Ghods”) (cited in IDS dated February 6, 2024).
Regarding claim 9, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 4, in addition, Potyrailo teaches temperature data (para. [0056]: The environmental sensor (e.g., environmental sensor suite) 212 may be configured to acquire ambient parameters (e.g., temperature, humidity, and/or the like) and impedance data (Fig. 2, 210 and para. [0054]: the controller circuit 210 is configured to acquire an impedance response of the sensor 202 in response to the stimulation waveform).
Potyrailo and Bastianini do not specifically teach further comprising a short-range wireless hub configured to receive the data transmitted by the short-range wireless transceiver of the sensor group, the short-range wireless hub comprising:
a short-range wireless transceiver; a small computing device configured to receive and process an output of the short- range wireless transceiver to produce processed temperature and impedance data; and an internet connection configured to receive the processed data and transmit the processed data to a server, whereby the processed data are conveyed to a user via a website.
However, Ghods teaches further comprising a short-range wireless hub configured to receive the data transmitted by the short-range wireless transceiver of the sensor group (para. [0216]: Within the embodiments of the invention described supra the electrical measurement may be made using disposable and/or reusable wireless sensors deployed upon the infrastructure and pulled/pushed via a network and/or PED/FED to an application or applications for storage and analysis. For example, a disposable sensor may exploit Bluetooth connectivity for short range low power communications and ad-hoc network protocols so communicate electrical measurement data to a node or nodes wherein it is pushed to remote servers, what is commonly referred to today as “the cloud”, through one or more different network interfaces and/or network protocols),
the short-range wireless hub (Fig. 26; para. [0216]: see above; para. [0273]: accordingly, in step 2750 the SMAK(s) acquire data from activation onwards which is subsequently acquired in step 2765 from the SMAK(s) through a device such as PED executing a SMAK software application (SSA) which can communicate with the SMAK(s) directly, through a hub such as depicted in FIG. 24, or accesses a hub which consolidates data from a plurality of hub(s)) comprising a short-range wireless transceiver (para. [0216]: see above);
a small computing device (Fig. 24; para. [0267]: Referring to FIG. 24 there is depicted a ruggedized hub according to an embodiment of the invention established by the inventors. The hub can communicate with SMAKs and other environmental and/or monitoring sensors as well as coupling to one or more local wireless networks in order to access remote storage, e.g. cloud-based storage on remote servers) configured to receive and process an output of the short- range wireless transceiver (Fig. 26 and para. [0273]: accordingly, in step 2750 the SMAK(s) acquire data from activation onwards which is subsequently acquired in step 2765 from the SMAK(s) through a device such as PED executing a SMAK software application (SSA) which can communicate with the SMAK(s) directly, through a hub such as depicted in FIG. 24, or accesses a hub which consolidates data from a plurality of hub(s)) to produce processed data (para. [0267]: Referring to FIG. 24 there is depicted a ruggedized hub according to an embodiment of the invention established by the inventors. The hub can communicate with SMAKs and other environmental and/or monitoring sensors as well as coupling to one or more local wireless networks in order to access remote storage, e.g. cloud-based storage on remote servers); and
an internet connection configured to receive the processed data and transmit the processed temperature and impedance data to a server (para. [0267]: see above), whereby the processed data are conveyed to a user via a website (para. [0151]: A “fixed electronic device” (FED) as used herein and throughout this disclosure, refers to a wired and/or wireless device used which is dependent upon a form of energy for power provided through a fixed network, e.g. an electrical mains outlet coupled to an electrical utilities network. This includes devices including, but not limited to, portable computer, desktop computer, computer server, Internet enabled display, mainframe, and server cluster. Such PEDs and FEDs supporting one or more functions and/or applications including, but not limited to, data acquisition, data storage, data analysis, communications, and Internet/Web interface).
Potyrailo and Ghods are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of measuring an electrical characteristic of a concrete structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the a short-range wireless hub such as is described in Ghods into Potyrailo, in order to establish cured concrete performance from measurements of wet concrete, automated methods and systems for periodic and/or continuous characterization of concrete structures (Ghods, para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Potyrailo teaches temperature data (para. [0056]: The environmental sensor (e.g., environmental sensor suite) 212 may be configured to acquire ambient parameters (e.g., temperature, humidity, and/or the like) and impedance data (Fig. 2, 210 and para. [0054]: the controller circuit 210 is configured to acquire an impedance response of the sensor 202 in response to the stimulation waveform).
Potyrailo and Bastianini do not specifically teach the wireless transceiver is configured to transmit the formatted data to a server, whereby the processed data are conveyed to a user via a website.
However, the wireless transceiver is configured to transmit the formatted data to a server, whereby the processed are conveyed to a user via a website.
However, Ghods teaches that the wireless transceiver is configured to transmit the formatted data to a server, whereby the processed data are conveyed to a user via a website (para. [0267]: see claim 9 above; para. [0151]: A “fixed electronic device” (FED) as used herein and throughout this disclosure, refers to a wired and/or wireless device used which is dependent upon a form of energy for power provided through a fixed network, e.g. an electrical mains outlet coupled to an electrical utilities network. This includes devices including, but not limited to, portable computer, desktop computer, computer server, Internet enabled display, mainframe, and server cluster. Such PEDs and FEDs supporting one or more functions and/or applications including, but not limited to, data acquisition, data storage, data analysis, communications, and Internet/Web interface).
Potyrailo and Ghods are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of measuring an electrical characteristic of a concrete structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the wireless transceiver such as is described in Ghods into Potyrailo, in order to establish cured concrete performance from measurements of wet concrete, automated methods and systems for periodic and/or continuous characterization of concrete structures (Ghods, para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Potyrailo in view of Bastianini teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Potyrailo teaches temperature data (para. [0056]: The environmental sensor (e.g., environmental sensor suite) 212 may be configured to acquire ambient parameters (e.g., temperature, humidity, and/or the like) and impedance data (Fig. 2, 210 and para. [0054]: the controller circuit 210 is configured to acquire an impedance response of the sensor 202 in response to the stimulation waveform).
Potyrailo and Bastianini do not specifically teach that the server is configured convey the processed data to the user via the website by first storing the processed data in a database and configuring the processed data for display via the website.
However, Ghods teaches that the server is configured convey the processed data to the user via the website by first storing the processed data in a database and configuring the processed data for display via the website (para. [0267]: see claim 9 above; para. [0151]: A “fixed electronic device” (FED) as used herein and throughout this disclosure, refers to a wired and/or wireless device used which is dependent upon a form of energy for power provided through a fixed network, e.g. an electrical mains outlet coupled to an electrical utilities network. This includes devices including, but not limited to, portable computer, desktop computer, computer server, Internet enabled display, mainframe, and server cluster. Such PEDs and FEDs supporting one or more functions and/or applications including, but not limited to, data acquisition, data storage, data analysis, communications, and Internet/Web interface).
Potyrailo and Ghods are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of measuring an electrical characteristic of a concrete structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the the server such as is described in Ghods into Potyrailo, in order to establish cured concrete performance from measurements of wet concrete, automated methods and systems for periodic and/or continuous characterization of concrete structures (Ghods, para. [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hyre (US 9,569,649 B1) teaches that a method for embedded failure detection includes embedding radio frequency identification (RFID) tags at varying depths within a composite material including a polymer, an epoxy or an aggregate bonded with a fluid. Each RFID tag is attached with an insulated wire loop and a sensor and configured to communicate tag identification and resistance on each insulated wire loop upon being energized by an RFID reader.
Maddi et al. (US 2022/0026383 A1) teaches that embodiments are described herein for a sensor device created for determining and monitoring quality and strength developments in concrete and other materials using temperature and electrical resistivity parameters. The embodiments described herein may be utilized in the construction industry for real-time monitoring of concrete and cement structures or for monitoring the strength and quality of soils, polymers, and liquid additives as well.
Alizadeh et al. (US 2020/0408707 A1) teaches that concrete can be one of the most durable building materials and structures made of concrete can have a long service life. Consumption is projected to reach approximately 40 billion tons in 2017. Despite this the testing of concrete at all stages of its life cycle is still in its early stages although testing for corrosion is well established.
Radjy et al. (US 10,184,928 B2) teaches that a measuring device is embedded in a section of concrete at a location at a construction site, the measuring device being adapted to obtain a measurement of a first characteristic of the section of concrete and transmit the measurement via wireless transmission. The first characteristic may include temperature, humidity, conductivity, impedance, salinity, etc.
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858