DETAILED ACTION
Claims 14-17 are currently pending and amendments to the claims filed on 06/08/2026 are acknowledged and those claims are being examined.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are allowable because there is no motivation to select such species of L-arginine analogs for the production of nitric acid (NO).
Withdrawn rejections:
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 06/08/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below are herein withdrawn.
The following rejection and/or objection are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejection and/or objection presently being applied to the instant application.
New Grounds of Rejection --- as necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As indicated above, the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., “Multifunctional L-arginine magnetic nanoparticles for multiple-synergistic tumor therapy”, Biomaterials Science, January 13, 2021, vol. 9, pages 2230-2243 (IDS of 02/06/2024) in view of Archer et al., “NG-monomethyl-L-arginine causes nitric oxide synthesis in isolated arterial rings: Trouble in paradise”, Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, vol. 188, issue 2, 1992-10-30, pp. 590-596 and/or Wu, “Nitric Oxide Synthesis and the Effect of Aminoguanidine and NG-monomethyl-L-Arginine on the Onset of Diabetes in the Spontaneously Diabetic BB Rat”, Diabetes, vol. 44, issue 3, 1995-03-01; and further in view of Wang et al., “Recent advances in porphyrin-based MOFs for cancer therapy and diagnosis therapy”, Coordination Chemistry Reviews, vol. 439, 2021-04-24 (on-line available), pp. 1-30.
Applicant claims instant clam 14 field on 06/08/2026:
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP 2141.01); Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Yang discloses multi-functional L-arginine (LA)-based magnetic nanoparticles for multiple-synergistic tumor therapy (title); in this respect, Yang teaches superparamagnetic-co-glycolide (PLGA) nanoparticles (Fe3O4@PLGA/LA NPs) for synergistic breast cancer therapy wherein the NPs contains LA as a core and contains Fe3O4 nanoparticles as a shell, and further indicates the LA spontaneously reacts with hydrogen peroxide in the tumor microenvironment to generate nitric oxide (see e.g., abstract and Fig. 3 on page 2236); and the Fe3O4@PLGA/LA NPs is administered to mouse having tumor to generate nitric oxide (see e.g., 2.4, Fig. 4 and 2.7 on page 2232) wherein the Fe (=iron) reads on the claimed transition metal and carrier material, and thus, the LA compound supported on the carrier (instant claim 14, in part).
Although Yang teaches L-arginine (LA), Yang does not expressly teach L-arginine analogue e.g., NG-monomethyl-L-arginine of instant claim 14. The deficiencies are cured by Archer and/or Wu.
Archer discloses administration of NG-monomethyl-L-arginine (NMMA) reading on the claimed L-arginine analog enhanced nitric oxide synthesis in pulmonary arterial and aortic rings (abstract).
Wu discloses administration of NG-monomethyl-L-arginine (NMMA) reading on the claimed L-arginine analog to diabetic rats produced in vivo NO production (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Yang with specific NMMA of Archer/Wu in order to produce NO in vivo. Please note that the claimed method does not require a method of treating certain disease and thus, within the viewpoint of NO production, Archer/Wu would be combinable with Yang to achieve the claimed invention.
However, Yang does not expressly teach Fe metal organic frameworks (MOFs) carrier containing porphyrin ligand of instant claim 14. The deficiencies are cured by Wang.
Wang discloses porphyrins and porphyrin derivatives are used for e.g., biomedical applications (e.g., biological application in the therapy and diagnosis of cancer) owing to their outstanding photophysical and electrochemical properties, and porphyrin-based metal organic frameworks (MOFs), a family of novel hybrid porous coordination polymers, have been developed and the porphyrin-based MOFs maintain the specific properties of porphyrins and can be loaded or modified with functional molecules or drugs to impart therapeutic and imaging abilities (e.g., abstract); and porous coordination networks (PCN)-222, PCN-224, Fe-MOF are porphyrin-based MOFs can be used for tumor therapy (Table 1 on page 11) (instant claim 14: iron-MOF/porphyrin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Yang/Archer/Wu with MOFs of Wang in order to enhance chemical and optical stability in biological application especially in the therapy and diagnosis of cancer as taught by Wang.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are moot in view of new references of Archer and/or Wu.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYUNG S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613