DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of restriction requirement in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the embodiments outlined do not share the same or corresponding technical feature. This is found persuasive because the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
A proximity sensor and a control unit (claims 3 and 5)
a step of detecting the position of the first valve and a step of stopping the driving of the driving source so as to locate the first valve upward to the rotational axis of the spindle. (claims 4 and 6-8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill, US Patent 3,199,311 in view of Kim, KR100665304.
Regarding claim 1, Hill discloses a driving force transmission mechanism (see fig 1) for transmitting power of a driving source (10) to a work roll (120,124) through a spindle (46), wherein the driving force transmission mechanism (as described above) comprises a first gear part (56) provided on one end of the spindle (46); a second gear part (28) provided on the driving source (10) or the work roll (120,124) to fit into the first gear part (28); and an oil chamber (connected with 114,118) for supplying lubricating oil (oil) to the first gear part (56) and the second gear part (28). Hill does not specify that the oil chamber is provided with a first valve for discharging inner air in the oil chamber out of the oil chamber and a second valve for introducing outer air into the oil chamber.
Kim teaches a similar coupling device (see fig 5) the oil chamber is provided with valve (170) which may be replace plugs (118) in Hill for discharging inner air in the oil chamber out of the oil chamber and introducing outer air into the oil chamber. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the valve described by Kim to the system disclosed by Hill in order to prevent excess pressure generation within the oil chamber and prevents leakage and scattering of internal oil.
Regarding claim 2, Hill in view of Kim disclose the driving force transmission mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the first valve (170 – Kim) is provided at a position more circumferentially outward than the first gear part (56) and the second gear part (28) in the radial direction of the oil chamber (as described above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 3, 5, and 7-8 are patentable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not show or render obvious the combination set forth in claims 3 and 5, including every structural element recited in the claims, especially, the configuration of the driving force transmission mechanism is provided with a proximity sensor for detecting the position of the first valve and a control unit for stopping the driving of the driving source such that the first valve is positioned upward with respect to a rotational axis of the spindle.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the lubrication system as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Claims 4 and 6 are patentable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not show or render obvious the combination set forth in claims 4 and 6, including every structural element recited in the claims, especially, the configuration the driving force transmission mechanism comprising a method step of detecting the position of the first valve and a step of stopping the driving of the driving source so as to locate the first valve upward to the rotational axis of the spindle.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the lubrication method as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the method in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654