DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending, and claims 1-17 are currently under review.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the shared technical feature is not taught by the prior art. This is not found persuasive because the shared technical feature is taught by the prior art as shown in the below 103 rejections.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kefferstein et al. (US 2001/0042393) in view of either one of Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0050378) or Mitsuyoshi et al. (JP2005131668, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Kefferstein et al. discloses a method for manufacturing steel parts with good mechanical properties, which one of ordinary skill would understand to apply to vehicle parts because vehicle parts require good mechanical properties [abstract, 0001]. The method of Kefferstein et al. includes steps of cold stamping (ie. stamping before heating), followed by subsequent heat treatment and quenching [0034-0035, 0041]. Although Kefferstein et al. does not expressly teach a press, one of ordinary skill would readily recognize that stamping naturally requires some kind of pressing apparatus to perform said stamping.
Kefferstein et al. does not expressly teach that heating and quenching are performed in the press as claimed. However, this feature would have been obvious in view of the prior art. Gonzalez et al. discloses that it is known to utilize a single press system for multiple stamping/heating/cooling steps such that multiple parts can be processed in a single stroke and performance of the system can be increased [abstract, 0011, fig.1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Kefferstein et al. by performing stamping, heating, and cooling in the same press to increase performance as taught by Gonzalez et al. Alternatively, Mitsuyoshi et al. discloses a method of stamping, heat treating, and quenching steel wherein the aforementioned processes all occur in a single press system such that efficient processing can be achieved without special heating units [0001-0011, fig.1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Kefferstein et al. by performing stamping, heating, and cooling in the same press to achieve efficient processing as taught by Mitsuyoshi et al.
Regarding claim 14, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The disclosed systems of Gonzalez et al. and Mitsuyoshi et al. are considered to be conventional as they are already disclosed in the prior art, and further depict transfer of the component from one area/station to another [fig.1 of each reference respectively]. Therefore, the systems of Gonzalez et al. and Mitsuyoshi et al. are reasonably considered to be conventional transfer presses.
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kefferstein et al. (US 2001/0042393) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daudi (US 5,388,330).
Regarding claims 2-5, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach piercing, trimming, and/or drawing as claimed. Daudi discloses that performing these steps of drawing in a stamp with subsequent trimming and piercing in separate stations is well known in forming vehicle parts at high production rates [col.3 ln.5-40]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Kefferstein et al. by performing the aforementioned steps because these are well known and conventional to satisfy the need for high production as taught by Daudi.
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Daudi teaches sequential drawing, trimming, and piercing as stated above. Daudi does not expressly teach repeating the trimming step as claimed. However, Daudi further teaches subsequent piercing steps after trimming, and one of ordinary skill would readily understand that piercing and trimming both serve to the achieve a desired shape through removal of material from a particular region, such that one of the subsequent piercing steps of Daudi can be considered to be a trimming step. Alternatively, the examiner notes that the instant claim merely pertains to a duplication of said trimming step, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill absent new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05(VI)(B). One of ordinary skill would readily understand that trimming can be repeated to further achieve a desired shape for example.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kefferstein et al. (US 2001/0042393) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2010/0086002).
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kefferstein et al. further teaches heating up to between 700 to 1200 degrees C [0035]. However, Kefferstein et al. does not expressly teach that heating is performed in separate stations in a stepwise manner as claimed. Hwang et al. discloses a heating furnace system for austenitizing steel sheets [abstract, 0008]; wherein said furnace includes several heating zones (ie. stations) that heat the steel to a range of 25 to 450 degrees C, 450 to 750 degrees C, and then up to an austenitizing temperature, respectively [0041-0045, fig.2]. The system of Hwang et al. saves space while avoiding sharp increases in temperature [abstract, 0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing heating in a stepwise manner for the aforementioned benefits as taught by Hwang et al. above.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kefferstein et al. (US 2001/0042393) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2019, Partial strengthening method for cold stamped B-pillar with minimal shape change).
Regarding claims 8-9, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kefferstein et al. teaches quenching as stated above; however, the aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach water cooling parameters as claimed. Kim et al. disclose heat treatment of cold stamped parts [title, abstract]; wherein quenching is performed with water cooling to achieve martensite strengthening with minimal shape change [title, abstract, p.4254]. The examiner notes that the water cooling parameters disclosed by Kim et al. overlap with the claimed ranges and resulting durations [fig.1-2]. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing the water cooling disclosed by Kim et al. for the aforementioned benefits.
Regarding claim 15, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. further teaches heating to austenitizing temperatures and cooling to form martensite [abstract, fig.1-2].
Regarding claim 16, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. further teaches Mn22B5 [table1, fig.1-2].
Regarding claim 17, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Kim et al. further teaches a B-pillar component [fig.3-4].
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kefferstein et al. (US 2001/0042393) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishii et al. (US 2014/0123721).
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach directly quenching with water from a bottom die and circulating water through an upper die as claimed. Ishii et al. discloses a hot press apparatus wherein die quenching is performed through quenching water that contacts the workpiece through a bottom die and is also flowing through (ie. circulated) an upper die to achieve a desired cooling rate [0004-0005, fig.3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing water die quenching for the aforementioned benefits as taught by Ishii et al.
Regarding claim 13, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Ishii et al. further expressly depicts cavities [fig.3].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kefferstein et al. (US 2001/0042393) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Misumi (2012, Press Dies Tutorial).
Regarding claim 11, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach floating upper and lower dies as claimed. Misumi discloses that a die structure with floating upper and lower components can be utilized to achieve for complex forming [p.1-2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing floating upper and lower dies for complex forming. One of ordinary skill would understand that the dies of the prior art perform a punching actuating action and can therefore be considered to be punches.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kefferstein et al. (US 2001/0042393) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Misumi (2012, Press Dies Tutorial) and Siegert et al. (2001, Controllable nitrogen cylinders for deep drawing dies).
Regarding claim 12, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach floating upper and lower dies with nitrogen cylinders as claimed. Misumi already provides obviousness of floating punch dies as explained previously. Siegert et al. further teaches that nitrogen cylinders are well known to be used for press systems to replace conventional springs [p.1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art and Misumi by utilizing nitrogen cylinders to replace the conventional springs shown in Misumi as taught by Siegert et al. The examiner further notes that die quenching naturally results in immediate cooling of the heated steel upon contact with cold dies, such that cooling of the steel material prior to BDC would have naturally flowed from the prior art.
Claim(s) 1 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobo et al. (US 2017/0253941) in view of either one of Gonzalez et al. (US 2018/0050378) or Mitsuyoshi et al. (JP2005131668, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Cobo et al. discloses a method for manufacturing steel vehicle parts [abstract, 0003]. The method of Cobo et al. includes steps of cold pre-stamping (ie. stamping before heating), followed by subsequent heat treatment and quenching [0002, 0045]. Although Cobo et al. does not expressly teach a press, one of ordinary skill would readily recognize that stamping naturally requires some kind of pressing apparatus to perform said stamping.
Cobo et al. does not expressly teach that heating and quenching are performed in the press as claimed. However, this feature would have been obvious in view of the prior art. Gonzalez et al. discloses that it is known to utilize a single press system for multiple stamping/heating/cooling steps such that multiple parts can be processed in a single stroke and performance of the system can be increased [abstract, 0011, fig.1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Cobo et al. by performing stamping, heating, and cooling in the same press to increase performance as taught by Gonzalez et al. Alternatively, Mitsuyoshi et al. discloses a method of stamping, heat treating, and quenching steel wherein the aforementioned processes all occur in a single press system such that efficient processing can be achieved without special heating units [0001-0011, fig.1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Cobo et al. by performing stamping, heating, and cooling in the same press to achieve efficient processing as taught by Mitsuyoshi et al.
Regarding claim 14, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The disclosed systems of Gonzalez et al. and Mitsuyoshi et al. are considered to be conventional as they are already disclosed in the prior art, and further depict transfer of the component from one area/station to another [fig.1 of each reference respectively]. Therefore, the systems of Gonzalez et al. and Mitsuyoshi et al. are reasonably considered to be conventional transfer presses.
Regarding claim 15, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Cobo et al. further teaches heating to form austenite and cooling to form martensite [0045].
Regarding claim 16, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Cobo et al. further teaches a steel composition that one of ordinary skill would understand to overlap with Mn22B5 [abstract]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Cobo et al. further teaches a bumper component, rail component, or pillar component [0003].
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobo et al. (US 2017/0253941) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Daudi (US 5,388,330).
Regarding claims 2-5, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach piercing, trimming, and/or drawing as claimed. Daudi discloses that performing these steps of drawing in a stamp with subsequent trimming and piercing in separate stations is well known in forming vehicle parts at high production rates [col.3 ln.5-40]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Cobo et al. by performing the aforementioned steps because these are well known and conventional to satisfy the need for high production as taught by Daudi.
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Daudi teaches sequential drawing, trimming, and piercing as stated above. Daudi does not expressly teach repeating the trimming step as claimed. However, Daudi further teaches subsequent piercing steps after trimming, and one of ordinary skill would readily understand that piercing and trimming both serve to the achieve a desired shape through removal of material from a particular region, such that one of the subsequent piercing steps of Daudi can be considered to be a trimming step. Alternatively, the examiner notes that the instant claim merely pertains to a duplication of said trimming step, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill absent new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05(VI)(B). One of ordinary skill would readily understand that trimming can be repeated to further achieve a desired shape for example.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobo et al. (US 2017/0253941) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2010/0086002).
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Cobo et al. further teaches heating up to between 810 to 950 degrees C [0045]. However, Cobo et al. does not expressly teach that heating is performed in separate stations in a stepwise manner as claimed. Hwang et al. discloses a heating furnace system for austenitizing steel sheets [abstract, 0008]; wherein said furnace includes several heating zones (ie. stations) that heat the steel to a range of 25 to 450 degrees C, 450 to 750 degrees C, and then up to an austenitizing temperature, respectively [0041-0045, fig.2]. The system of Hwang et al. saves space while avoiding sharp increases in temperature [abstract, 0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing heating in a stepwise manner for the aforementioned benefits as taught by Hwang et al. above.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobo et al. (US 2017/0253941) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2019, Partial strengthening method for cold stamped B-pillar with minimal shape change).
Regarding claims 8-9, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Cobo et al. teaches quenching as stated above; however, the aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach water cooling parameters as claimed. Kim et al. disclose heat treatment of cold stamped parts [title, abstract]; wherein quenching is performed with water cooling to achieve martensite strengthening with minimal shape change [title, abstract, p.4254]. The examiner notes that the water cooling parameters disclosed by Kim et al. overlap with the claimed ranges and resulting durations [fig.1-2]. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing the water cooling disclosed by Kim et al. for the aforementioned benefits.
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobo et al. (US 2017/0253941) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishii et al. (US 2014/0123721).
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach directly quenching with water from a bottom die and circulating water through an upper die as claimed. Ishii et al. discloses a hot press apparatus wherein die quenching is performed through quenching water that contacts the workpiece through a bottom die and is also flowing through (ie. circulated) an upper die to achieve a desired cooling rate [0004-0005, fig.3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing water die quenching for the aforementioned benefits as taught by Ishii et al.
Regarding claim 13, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Ishii et al. further expressly depicts cavities [fig.3].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobo et al. (US 2017/0253941) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Misumi (2012, Press Dies Tutorial).
Regarding claim 11, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach floating upper and lower dies as claimed. Misumi discloses that a die structure with floating upper and lower components can be utilized to achieve for complex forming [p.1-2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by utilizing floating upper and lower dies for complex forming. One of ordinary skill would understand that the dies of the prior art perform a punching actuating action and can therefore be considered to be punches.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobo et al. (US 2017/0253941) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Misumi (2012, Press Dies Tutorial) and Siegert et al. (2001, Controllable nitrogen cylinders for deep drawing dies).
Regarding claim 12, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach floating upper and lower dies with nitrogen cylinders as claimed. Misumi already provides obviousness of floating punch dies as explained previously. Siegert et al. further teaches that nitrogen cylinders are well known to be used for press systems to replace conventional springs [p.1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art and Misumi by utilizing nitrogen cylinders to replace the conventional springs shown in Misumi as taught by Siegert et al. The examiner further notes that die quenching naturally results in immediate cooling of the heated steel upon contact with cold dies, such that cooling of the steel material prior to BDC would have naturally flowed from the prior art.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734