DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 7/29/2024 and 1/27/2025 are accepted.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 2/6/2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-16, 20, 26, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoryaev et al. (US-2022/0110085 hereinafter, Khoryaev).
Regarding claim 1, Khoryaev teaches an activation method of an Uplink (UL) positioning reference signal, performed by a terminal (Abstract, Page 1 [0004] “The UE includes one or more processors configured to provide a positioning request to a node while the UE is in a radio resource control idle (RRC_IDLE) or inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state” and [0007] “the requested type of positioning procedure comprises a downlink (DL) only positioning technique, an uplink (UL) only positioning technique, or a DL and UL positioning technique”), comprising:
sending a first request message (Fig. 1 [102]) to a network side (Fig. 1 [gNB]) when the terminal is in an RRC_idle state or an RRC_inactive state (Page 4 [0057]), wherein the first request message is configured to request to activate the UL positioning reference signal. (Fig. 3 [302-304] and Page 5 [0061])
Regarding claim 2, Khoryaev teaches wherein sending the first request message to the network side comprises:
sending the first request message to a location management function (LMF) entity (Fig. 4 [Location Function, 406 and 408]), wherein the first request message is a Location and Positioning Protocol (LPP) activation request message; (Fig. 4A [406] and Page 5 [0063]) and/or
sending the first request message to a base station, wherein the first request message is a preamble that is dedicated to activating the UL positioning reference signal and/or an activation request signal. (Fig. 2 [202])
Regarding claim 3, Khoryaev teaches wherein before sending the first request message to the network side, the method further comprises:
detecting, by the terminal, that a UL positioning trigger condition is satisfied. (Page 3 [0050] “all of the procedures have in common positioning request and positioning response that can be triggered by UE or gNB/NW/LMF”)
Regarding claim 4, Khoryaev teaches wherein the first request message carries one or more of [the] following:
indication information of requesting to activate a UL positioning reference signal; (Page 3 [0051] “In case of UE-initiated positioning, MsgA can be considered as a positioning request”)
an index of a UL positioning reference signal requested to be activated;
information of a current serving cell; or
beam information.
Regarding claim 5, Khoryaev teaches wherein after sending the first request message to the network side, the method further comprises:
receiving an activation command sent by the network side; (Fig. 3 [308])
transmitting the UL positioning reference signal. (Fig. 3 [310])
Regarding claim 6, Khoryaev teaches wherein receiving the activation command sent by the network side comprises:
receiving the activation command sent by a base station; (Page 4 [0058] “The payload can also contain a request for additional allocation of reference signals or their activation if preconfigured (e.g., request for UL SRS/PRS resource allocation” and Page 6 [0070] “Activation or deactivation of UE UL reference signals transmission for positioning.”) and/or
receiving an LPP activation command sent by the LMF.
Regarding claim 8, Khoryaev teaches wherein the activation command carries one or more of following:
an indication of confirming activation of the UL positioning reference signal; (Fig. 6 [610] and [0074] “At 610, the gNB configures or activates the set of DL PRS/DL CSI-RS signals for positioning measurements and triggers UE measurements of signal location parameters (e.g., FAP timing corresponding to each configured DL PRS/CSI-RS resource)”) or
an index of the activated UL positioning reference signal.
Regarding claim 11, Khoryaev teaches an activation method of an Uplink (UL) positioning reference signal (Abstract, Page 1 [0004] “The UE includes one or more processors configured to provide a positioning request to a node while the UE is in a radio resource control idle (RRC_IDLE) or inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state” and [0007] “the requested type of positioning procedure comprises a downlink (DL) only positioning technique, an uplink (UL) only positioning technique, or a DL and UL positioning technique”), performed by a base station (Fig. 2 [Serving gNB]), comprising:
receiving a first request message (Fig. 2 [202]) sent by a terminal (Fig. 2 [UE]) in an RRC_idle state or an RRC_inactive state (Page 4 [0057]), wherein the first request message is configured to request to activate the UL positioning reference signal. (Fig. 3 [302-304] and Page 5 [0061])
Regarding claim 12, Khoryaev teaches sending an activation command to the terminal. (Fig. 3 [308])
Regarding claim 13, Khoryaev teaches wherein the first request message is a preamble that is dedicated to activating the UL positioning reference signal, and/or an activation request signal. (Fig. 3 [302])
Regarding claim 14, Khoryaev teaches wherein before sending the activation command to the terminal (Fig. 3 [308]), the method further comprises:
sending a second request message to a location management function (LMF) (Fig. 3 [304]), wherein the second request message is configured to request the LMF to activate the UL positioning reference signal; (Page 5 [0061])
wherein the second request message comprises one or more of following:
an index of a UL positioning reference signal that is requested to be activated; (Page 5 [0061] “UL SRS/PRS resource set configuration for a UE requested positioning procedure (e.g., Information on UL SRS/PRS transmission resources (resource ID), their type (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic) and/or UL PRS/SRS sequence initialization information (sequence ID)); UL SRS/PRS measurement data (e.g., Information on timestamps of UL SRS/PRS signal reception as well as other SLP measured by each TRP/gNB and/or Information on geolocation coordinates of TRPs/gNBs that measured SLPs); Timestamp of MsgB transmission.”)
an indication of requesting activation of a UL positioning reference signal; or
configuration information of a pre-configured UL positioning reference signal.
Regarding claim 15, the additional limitations of claim 15 are not applicable to the selected Markush group listed in claim 11. i.e. RRC_idle See footnote1 regarding “when”
Regarding claim 16, the additional limitations of claim 16 are not applicable to the selected Markush group listed in claim 11.
Regarding claim 20, Khyoryaev teaches an activation method of an Uplink (UL) positioning reference signal (Abstract, Page 1 [0004] “The UE includes one or more processors configured to provide a positioning request to a node while the UE is in a radio resource control idle (RRC_IDLE) or inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state” and [0007] “the requested type of positioning procedure comprises a downlink (DL) only positioning technique, an uplink (UL) only positioning technique, or a DL and UL positioning technique”), performed by a location management function (LMF) entity (Fig. 3 [Location Function]), comprising:
receiving a first request message sent by a terminal in a RRC_idle state or a RRC_inactive state (Fig. 3 [304]), wherein the first request message is configured to request to activate the UL positioning reference signal. (Page 5 [0061] “At 304, the serving gNB can request the gNB/Location Function entity to provide UL PRS configuration for the UE, and at 306, the location function entity can provide the configuration to the serving gNB”)
Regarding claim 26, Khoryaev teaches a terminal device (Fig. 2 [UE] and Fig. 12 [1200]), comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 12 [1215 & 1210]), a memory (Fig. 12 [1220]), a processor (Fig. 12 [1205]), and a computer program stored on the memory (Page 36 [Claim 16]) and executable by the processor (Page 36 [Claim 16]); wherein the transceiver is configured for sending or receiving information under control of the processor (Page 36 [Claim 16]),
the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1. (Page 36 [Claim 16] and ee the specific citations of claim 1 above)
Regarding claim 36, Khoryaev teaches a network-side device (Fig. 11 [1100]), comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 11 [1115 & 1110]), a memory (Fig. 11 [1120]), a processor (Fig. 11 [1105]), and a computer program stored on the memory (Pages 14-15 [0134] “The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 1105 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the system 1100”) and executable on the processor; wherein the transceiver is configured for sending or receiving information under control of the processor (Page 14 [0132-0133]), the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement the steps of the method according to claim 11. (See mapping above with respect to claim 11)
Regarding claim 37, Khoryaev teaches a network-side device (Fig. 3 [Location Function] and Page 14 [0132]), comprising:
a transceiver(Fig. 11 [1115 & 1110]), a memory (Fig. 11 [1120]), a processor (Fig. 11 [1105]), and a computer program stored on the memory (Pages 14-15 [0134] “The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 1105 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the system 1100”) and executable on the processor; wherein the transceiver is configured for sending or receiving information under control of the processor (Page 14 [0132-0133]), the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement the steps of the method according to claim 20. (See mapping above with respect to claim 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Shreevastav et al. (US-12,381,686 hereinafter, Shreevastav).
Regarding claim 9, Khoryaev teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, but differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting wherein before sending the first request message to the network side, the method further comprises:
receiving an UL positioning trigger condition sent by an LMF;
wherein, the UL positioning trigger condition comprises one or more of following:
a time instant at which positioning is triggered;
a period that positioning is triggered;
a quantity of times for which positioning is triggered; or
an event that triggers positioning.
In an analogous art, Shreevastav teaches a method and system for signaling support in a wireless network (Abstract) that includes before sending the first request message to the network side (Fig. 2B [7]), the method further comprises:
receiving an UL positioning trigger condition sent by an LMF; (Fig. 2B [4, 5 & 6])
wherein, the UL positioning trigger condition comprises one or more of following:
a time instant at which positioning is triggered; (Col. 8 line 66 through Col. 9 line 22)
a period that positioning is triggered;
a quantity of times for which positioning is triggered; or
an event that triggers positioning.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Khoryaev after modifying it to incorporate the ability to send a UL positioning trigger condition of Shreevastav since it enables the network to know when to listen for UL SRS signals. (Shreevastav Col. 9 lines 18-22)
Regarding claim 10, Khoryaev teaches the limitations of claim 1 above including the ability to receive information from a base station via RRC messages (Fig. 3 [308]), but differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting wherein before sending the first request message to the network side, the method further comprises:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message sent by a base station, wherein the RRC message carries one or more of following:
configuration information of the UL positioning reference signal that is pre-configured for the terminal;
configuration information of the activation request signal that is pre-configured for the terminal and used for activating the UL positioning reference signal; or
a pre-configured preamble that is dedicated to activating the UL positioning reference signal.
In an analogous art, Shreevastav teaches a method and system for signaling support in a wireless network (Abstract) that includes before sending the first request message to the network side (Fig. 2B [7]), the method further comprises:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message sent by a base station (Col. 8 lines 11-16), wherein the RRC message carries one or more of following:
configuration information of the UL positioning reference signal that is pre-configured for the terminal; (Col. 8 lines 20-25 “the UE may be configured to start transmitting an uplink reference signal before a BS sends the UL configuration to LMF, for example, as soon as the UE has applied the UL signal configuration. A BS may control the time instance when UE should start transmitting UL reference signals (e.g. SRS)”)
configuration information of the activation request signal that is pre-configured for the terminal and used for activating the UL positioning reference signal; or
a pre-configured preamble that is dedicated to activating the UL positioning reference signal.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Khoryaev after modifying it to incorporate the ability to send configuration information for UL positioning reference signal of Shreevastav since it enables the network to know when to listen for UL SRS signals. (Shreevastav Col. 9 lines 18-22)
Regarding claim 19, the limitations of claim 19 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN115942450A to Fu et al. which discloses positioning in the non-connection state, however same filing date as the instant application and same inventor.
US-2021/0400734 to Zhang et al. which discloses pre-configuring SRS settings at a UE prior to entering idle/inactive mode
US-2022/0030544 to Zhou et al. which discloses positioning in RRC idle and inactive states
US-2023/0189198 to Dong which discloses paging a location request to a UE when it is in an RRC inactive state
/Matthew C Sams/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646
1 Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard for conditional “if language” or “when language”, the condition does not occur and the step or function claimed would never be realized, hence the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim does not require performing the step or function. See Ex parte Katz, 2011 WL 514314, at 4-5 (BPAI Jan. 27, 2011,2011 WL 1211248 at 2 (BPAI Mar. 25, 2011); see also In re Johnston, 435 f.3d 1381, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2006)("optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted”). If conditions are not limitations against which prior art must be found because the step or function only occurs “if the answer is positive” or “when the answer is positive”. Under the broadest scenario, the steps or functions dependent on the “if condition” or “when condition” would not be invoked, and such, the Examiner is not required to find these limitations in the prior art in order to render the claim anticipated. See In re Am. Acad. Of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 f.3d 1359, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2004).