DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 3, there is an article missing before “In-P based one.” It is recommended to add either “an” or “the” as appropriate. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The parentheses in claim 10 render in the claim indefinite as it is not clear if the limitations within the parentheses are required. For purposes of further examination the limitations within the parentheses are interpreted as being required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0407631).
Regarding Claims 1-2: Yang et al. teaches a method of producing a core-shell quantum dot comprising coating an InP based core with a coating compound in the presence of an amine such as hexylamine (monohexylamine) ([0048]-[0050], [0166], [0172]).
Regarding Claims 3-5: Yang et al. teaches the coating compound is compound from a zinc source including a zinc halide such as zinc fluoride ([0166]-[0169] and [0176).
Regarding Claim 6: Yang et al. teaches the coating compound as ZnSe (Fig. 1 and [0128]).
Regarding Claims 7-10: Claims 7-10 are product by process claims with regards to how the InP core was made in the method of claim 1. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [See MPEP 2113].
However, should Applicant amend the claims such that the production of the InP-based core is not product-by-process, the claims 7-10 are provisionally rejected as follows:
Yang et al. teaches the InP core is produced by reaction of tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphine (a compound of chemical formula 1 wherein R is methyl), indium acetate to form a precursor and further reacting the InP precursor with a GaCl3-trioctylphosphine solution (elemental source of Ga) (Example 1, [0280], and Fig. 1). Yang et al. teaches that the InP precursor is formed by a reaction at 120 °C and further reaction at greater than 180 °C and les than 280 °C ([0164] and Example 1, [0280]).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 June 1, 2026