DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim states “when the effective surfaces of the preforming tool and the effective surface of the sizing tool are compared”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if the limitations following this are required or not. Specifically, the method lacks any step of comparing and the phase “are compared” does not positively recite a comparing step. Additionally, the use of the term “when” implies that the limitations following the term are contingent on performing a comparison of the tools and therefore is optional. For examination purposes the limitation is being interpreted as required when only when a comparing scenario is present.
The claim states “a torsion angle difference of at least 0.2° exists as the differential angle between the two main axes of inertia- said axes being oriented the same way with respect to the respective cross-sectional shape – through the centroids of two parallel cross-sectional areas…of a tool gap enclosed by the respective effective surfaces” this renders the claim indefinite since there appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the two main axes of inertia” and “the centroids” Additionally, it is unclear if what “two parallel cross-sectional areas” is referring to, i.e. is it cross-sectional areas of the preforming tool and sizing tool. The phrase “a tool gap by the respective effective surfaces” renders the claim indefinite since it appears that this phrase is comparing either the preforming tool or the sizing tool since the effective surface of these tools combine would not create a tool gap yet the limitation previously sets forth the comparison is between the preforming tool and the sizing tool. Clarification and/or correction is required.
The claim states “a curvature in the longitudinal extent of the sheet metal preform that deviates by at least 1% from a curvature in the longitudinal extent of the sheet metal component”, this renders the claim indefinite since the claim fails to positively recite the formation of a curvature within either the preform or the component. Additionally, it is unclear how it is to be established that the preform deviates from the component when the preform and component are never present simultaneously since the preform is formed into the component, i.e. when the preform is present the component has yet to be formed and when the component is formed the preform is no longer present. Clarification and/or correction is required.
In reference to claim 2, the claim states “in comparison”, it is unclear if this is intending to set forth a step of comparing or if it is intending to set forth a scenario in which the tools can be compared. It is noted that the claim only sets forth two active steps of preforming and final forming, therefore it is unclear where within the steps a comparison is to occur.
With regards to claims 5-6 and 8, the claims state “the sizing tool”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if the limitation is intending to further define the “at least one sizing tool” recited in claim 4 to be a single sizing tool, or if the limitation is intending to refer to the “at least one sizing tool” of claim 4. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claims 6, 10, 12 and 13, the claim states “the element”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if the limitation is intending to further define the “at least one element” previously recited to be a single sizing tool, or if the limitation is intending to refer to the previously recited “at least one element”. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (EP 3088093).
In reference to claim 1, Tanaka discloses a method for producing a sheet metal component, wherein the method comprises at least two steps,
preforming a metal sheet to form a sheet metal preform having, in cross section, a base, at least one body, at least one transition between the base and the body, at least in some region a flange, and at least in some region a transition between the body and the flange with a preforming tool (500) which acts by means of its effective surfaces on the metal sheet, wherein the sheet metal preform has excess sheet metal material in at least some region of the sheet metal preform [see figure 24] and
final forming of the sheet metal preform to form a sheet metal component with a sizing tool which acts by means of its effective surfaces on the sheet metal preform, and in which the excess sheet metal material is compressed in the sheet plane [see figure 31A],
wherein the effective surfaces of the preforming tool are configured relative to the effective surfaces of the sizing tool such that a curvature in the longitudinal extend of the sheet metal preform that deviates by at least 1% from a curvature in the longitudinal extent of the sheet metal component is established at least in some regions of the preform as configured in the preforming tool relative to the corresponding curvature of the sheet metal component as configured in the sizing tool [see figure 26A and 27; curvature change is greater than 1% between these elements].
In reference to claim 2, the effective surfaces of the preforming tool are configured in comparison with the effective surfaces of the sizing tool that a body opening angle difference of at least 0.5° is established at the same location in the sheet metal preform as configured in the preforming tool in comparison with the corresponding location in the sheet metal component as configured in the sizing tool.
In reference to claim 3, Tanaka discloses the metal sheet is a steel sheet with a yield strength of at least 400MPa [see figure 35].
In reference to claim 4, Tanaka discloses a device for producing a sheet metal component comprising
at least one preforming tool for preforming a metal sheet to form a sheet metal preform having, in cross section, a base, at least one body, at least one transition between the base and the body, at least in some region a flange, and at least in some region a transition between the body and the flange [see figure 24], which preforming tool acts by means of its effective surfaces on the metal sheet, wherein the metal sheet preform has excess sheet metal material, at least in some region, and
at least one sizing tool (820) for compressing the sheet metal preform to form a fully formed sheet metal component, which sizing tool acts by means of its effective surface on the sheet metal preform, and in which the excess sheet metal material is compressed in the sheet plane,
wherein the effective surfaces of the preforming tool are configured relative to the effective surfaces of the sizing tool such that a curvature in the longitudinal extend of the effective surfaces of the preforming tool that deviates by at least 1% from a curvature in the longitudinal extent of the effective surfaces of the sizing tool is established in at least one region of the effective surfaces of the preforming tool in comparison with the corresponding effective surfaces of the sizing tool [26A and 27; curvature change is greater than 1% between these elements inherently would be from differences between the two tools].
In reference to claim 5, the effective surfaces of the preforming tool are configured in comparison with the effective surfaces of at least one sizing tool that a body opening angle difference of at least 0.5° is established at the same location as between the effective surfaces of the preforming tool and the effective surfaces of the sizing tool.
In reference to claim 6, the sizing tool has a sizing punch (826), a sizing die (822) and at least one element (832) wherein the at least one element is arranged in the sizing die and can be moved relative to the sizing die, as seen in figure 32A.
In reference to claim 7, Tanaka further discloses the sizing punch is arranged on the bottom and the sizing die at the top of the sizing tool, as seen in figure 32A.
In reference to claim 8, the sizing tool has a sizing punch (826), a sizing die (822) and at least one element (828), wherein the at least one element is arranged in the sizing punch and can be moved relative to the sizing punch, as seen in figure 32A.
In reference to claim 10, the at least one element (832) is arranged in the sizing die is moved in a controlled manner by at least one means of the ram stroke in such a way that a defined distance is obtained between the element and the sizing punch during the closure of the sizing tool, as seen in figures 32A-32D [see paragraphs 0096-0097].
In reference to claim 11, the at least one element ends substantially flush with the effective surface of the sizing die during closure, before a lower end position is reached, as seen in figure 32C.
In reference to claim 12, the at least one element arranged in the sizing punch is moved in a controlled manner by at least one of means of the ram stroke in such a way that a defined distance is obtained between the element and the sizing die during the closure of the sizing tool.
In reference to claim 13, the element ends substantially flush with the effective surface of the sizing punch during closure, before the lower end position is reached as seen in figure 32D.
In reference to claim 14, the device is integrated in a compound progressive press.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka.
In reference to claim 9, Tanaka discloses the sizing punch is arranged on the bottom and the sizing die is arranged at the top. Tanaka discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the sizing punch is arranged on the top and the sizing die is arranged on the bottom.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the sizing punch and sizing die, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves routine skill in the art [see In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725