Detailed Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naganuma et al. (JP 02082212 A; “Naganuma”) in view of Berger et al. (6,360,032; “Berger”), further in view of Levin, Piotr Anatolij (2014/0241668; “Levin”), and further in view of Jian; Benjamin B. (2013/0163930; “Jian”).
Regarding claim 1, Naganuma discloses in figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, embodiments of ferrule rotation engagement units comprising: a first ferrule in which core centers of one or a plurality of single-core fibers are disposed on the same circumference from a center in a ferrule cross section; a second ferrule in which core centers of a plurality of single-core fibers are disposed on a circumference having the same diameter as the circumference on which the core centers of the single-core fibers are disposed in the first ferrule from the center in the ferrule cross section; a cylindrical sleeve having a hollow portion into which one end of the first ferrule and one end of the second ferrule are inserted so that center axes of the first ferrule and the second ferrule are aligned. Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text.
Naganuma – Figures 1-2 and 4-6
Naganuma – Selected Text
Abstract
PURPOSE: To eliminate the need for costly optical parts such as lenses and prisms by providing a means of switching an optical path by turning one of two ferrules with respect to the other.
CONSTITUTION: Multicore optical fibers 13, 14 are inserted and fixed respectively into the ferrules 15, 16 which are made into the circular cylindrical shape near the ends thereof. The means 18 of switching the optical path by turning one of the ferrules 15, 16 which respect to the other is provided. Optical coupling is executed by butting the ends of the ferrules 15, 16 inserted and fixed to the optical fibers 13, 14 against each other in a sleeve in this way and, therefore, the need for the optical parts such as lenses and prisms is eliminated and the constitution is simplified.
Further regarding claim 1, Naganuma does not explicitly disclose: a first flange having a circular collar attached to the other end of the first ferrule and having a center axis coaxial with the first ferrule; a second flange having a circular collar attached to the other end of the second ferrule and having a center axis coaxial with the second ferrule; a spring configured to press the first flange or the second flange in a direction in which the first ferrule and the second ferrule abut against each other; and a holder configured to hold the first ferrule, the second ferrule, the sleeve, the first flange, and the second flange so that the center axes of the first ferrule and the second ferrule are aligned.
However, Berger discloses in figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text, embodiments of fiber rotating devices having two rotating flanges. Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text
Berger – Figures 1 and 4
Berger – Selected Text
Column 5, line 59 – column 5, line 14
3) Base and Beam Construction
(4) The fiber optic switch 10 has a base 16 used as a frame to maintain the proper relationship between the input 12 and output 14 beams or beam arms and to provide a mounting location for the drive motors 30 and 32. The base 16 also provides a physical end stop for the travel of each beam 12 and 14. The end stop forms the home position to which all fiber locations can be referenced.
(5) The base 16 is constructed of a rigid, stable material, preferably such as stainless steel 303 to provide mechanical and environmental stability. As shown in FIGS. 1 and 4, the base 16 is a channel having upright side walls 16A and 16B that extend the length of the base and create a U-shaped cross section. The space between the walls 16A and 16B creates a cavity or chamber in which the beams 12 and 14 can move freely during switch operation. The drive motors 30 and 32 are mounted on one end of the base 16 in a known manner with drive pinions 38 and 40 on the motor output shafts. The motor shafts extend through provided openings in the base so the pinions are in the chamber and the motors pilot into machined recesses and are held in place with cap screws.
Column 9, lines 7-41
(23) Beam Pivotal Mounting
(24) The beams 12 and 14 are pivotally mounted on the opposite end of the base 16 from the motors 30 and 32. As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, first and second V-grooves 62, 64 are machined into walls 16A and 16B of base 16. These V-grooves pivotally receive the first and second rotational or pivot pins 58, 60, respectively. Radial pin springs 66 are preferably stainless steel and are fastened to base 16 by screws 68. Radial pin springs 66 provide a force to hold rotational pins 58, 60 in V-grooves 62, 64 while allowing rotational pins 58, 60 to rotate therein. FIG. 7 shows a cutaway view of the relationship between the two rotational pins and the respective V-grooves.
(25) Referring to FIG. 7, it can be seen the assembly of rotational pins 58 and 60 and beams 12 and 14 is maintained in axial relationship by axial pin spring 70, which is a leaf spring fastened to base 16A with a screw 74. The spring 70 bears against an end of first rotational pin 58. Since input pin 58 is rigidly attached to input beam 12 with set screws 76, the inner side surface or face 13 of input beam 12 is in turn urged against the inner side surface or face 15 of output beam 14. Since output beam 14 is rigidly attached to output rotational pin 60 with set screws 78, output rotational pin 60 is in turn urged against pin stop 72. Pin stop 72 is a hard, rigid material such as stainless steel and is rigidly attached to base 16B with a screw 74. The resulting arrangement provides a controlled force that urges the beams together to maintain a constant gap between the fiber bundle endfaces.
(26) Gears, Motors, and Drive Electronics
(27) FIG. 5 shows the stepper motors 30 and 32 with attached pinion gears that are used to drive the beams to their desired positions for proper input and output fiber alignment. Each motor is wired to its motor controller 26 and 28 that receives commands from a control interface 24.
(28) Motors 30 and 32 are preferably commonly available stepper motors. Input motor 30 and output motor 32 are attached to base 16 using input motor mount 34 and output motor mount 36, respectively. An input pinion 38 on the shaft of motor 30 drives input gear teeth 82 on beam 12. An output pinion 40 on the shaft of output motor 32 drives output beam gear teeth 88 on output beam 14.
(29) When the pinions 38 and 40 rotate, input beam 12 or output beam 14 rotate or pivot about the axis of the respective rotational pin 58 or 60. The gear ratios between the input pinions and the beam teeth deamplify rotational movement. An input bias spring 84 is attached on its ends to anchor pins 86 embedded in input beam 12 and base 16 and provides a force to urge input beam teeth 82 and pinion 38 together, which results in an anti-backlash engagement of the teeth. An output bias spring 90 is attached on its ends to anchor pins 92 embedded in output beam 14 and base 16 and urges teeth 88 and 40 together.
Column 12, lines 10-38
(45) Operation of Preferred Embodiment
(46) When input pinion 38 rotates, input beam 12 rotates about the axis of input rotational pin 58. Similarly, when output pinion 40 rotates, output beam 14 rotates about the axis of output rotational pin 60. A relatively large rotational movement of input pinion 38 translates to a relatively small rotational movement of input beam 12. The deamplification provided by the gear ratio is further increased by the long distance from the beam pivot to the gear and the short distance from the pivots to the fiber bundles. The combination provides a method for precisely translating input fiber bundle 18 in an arc. The arc traced out by the translation of input fiber bundle 18 is substantially perpendicular to the arc traced out by the translation of output fiber bundle 20. This relationship provides two degrees of freedom for positioning or mispositioning any pair of fibers in the two fiber bundles 18 and 20 with respect to each other.
(47) Optimum beam coordinates for all fiber pairs are stored in memory of the controller interface 24. Controller interface 24 receives an input command to optically couple a specific fiber pair and recalls the coordinates of that fiber pair. The command is translated into the electrical drive signals required to step the motors 30 and 32 to move the beams. Controller interface 24 outputs the information to motor controllers 26, 28 using the motor controller protocol and the motors are stepped as needed to reach the desired position. In this fashion, any optical fiber in input fiber bundle 18 may be selectively optically aligned with any optical fiber in output fiber bundle 20.
Consequently, in light of Berger’s disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Naganuma’s embodiments to disclose to disclose: a first flange having a circular collar attached to the other end of the first ferrule and having a center axis coaxial with the first ferrule; a second flange having a circular collar attached to the other end of the second ferrule and having a center axis coaxial with the second ferrule; a spring configured to press the first flange or the second flange in a direction in which the first ferrule and the second ferrule abut against each other; and a holder configured to hold the first ferrule, the second ferrule, the sleeve, the first flange, and the second flange so that the center axes of the first ferrule and the second ferrule are aligned; Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; because the resultant configuration would facilitate aligning input and output fibers. Berger – Selected Text
Further regarding claim 1, Naganuma in view of Berger does not explicitly disclose: a predetermined gap being provided between an outer diameter of each of the first ferrule and the second ferrule and an inner diameter of the hollow portion so that the first ferrule or the second ferrule is able to rotate.
However, Levin discloses in figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text, embodiments of coupled optical ferrules configured such that optical fibers are positioned away from the ferrules’ region of closest contact – with separation between corresponding perimeters of the ferrules. Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text.
Levin – Figure 6A
Levin – Selected Text
Abstract. The present invention is a hybrid ferrule which is able to be connected to both, angle polished and flat polished, MPO connectors; a test device including the above mentioned hybrid ferrule; and a test kit, including the above mentioned test device with hybrid ferrule. The hybrid ferrule of the present invention includes first, second, and third surfaces which are designed in a special way to ensure the high quality connection with SM or MM type connectors. A hybrid fiber connector having an integrated end, a connection end, two sides, a flat center, and an optical fiber embedded in the flat center parallel to and halfway between the two sides. The connection end includes left and right edges and first, second, and third surfaces. The first surface angles upward from said left edge of said connection end to a first point, the second surface extends flat between the first point and a second point, and a third surface angles downward between the second point and the right edge of said connection end.
[0037] Referring first to FIG. 5, a top down view of hybrid ferrule (26) of the present invention is shown. Hybrid ferrule (26) has integrated end (27), connection end (29), right side (31), left side (25), flat center (23), left edge (28), right edge (30), and first point (34) and second point (38) are between left edge (28) and right edge (30). Connection end (29) is connected to another ferrule during testing. Integrated end (27) is the opposite end of connection end (29) and is incorporated into a test device. Flat center (23) is defined by connection end (29), integrated end (27), right side (31), and left side (25). First surface (32) angles up from left edge (28) on left side (25) to first point (34). Angle A, between first surface (32) and the dashed line on the left is approximately eight degrees (8.degree.). First surface (32) and angle A are means for mating with an angle polished connector (33) indicated in FIG. 7A. Second surface (36) is flat between first and second points (34, 38). Second surface (36) and its flat angle is means for mating with a flat polished connector (35). Third surface (40) angles down from second point (38) to right edge (30) on right side (31) at angle I, which in this depiction is also eight degrees (8.degree.), and is shown between the dashed line on the right and third surface (40). It is understood that angle I is at any angle that eliminates multiple reflections and is preferably between two degrees (2.degree.) and twelve degrees (12.degree.). Because third surface (40) is longer than first surface (32), even though both sides slope at angle A, left edge (28) is disposed higher on hybrid ferrule (26) than right edge (30). Third surface (40) and angle I are means for avoiding the measurement of unwanted light reflections (41), such as portion (2), shown in FIG. 4D.
[0038] Now referring to FIGS. 6A and 6B, hybrid ferrule (26) is shown being connected to flat polished ferrule (42). Optical fiber (52) is shown embedded in hybrid ferrule (26). Optical fiber (52) includes core (56), cladding (54), and fiber end (58). Cladding (54) has leftmost edge (55) and rightmost edge (57). Both first and second surfaces (32, 36) are disposed to the left of leftmost edge (55) of cladding (54). Core (56) is approximately 0.0625 mm. As shown in FIG. 6A, flat polished ferrule (42) also includes an embedded optical fiber (50). Optical fiber (50) includes core (46), cladding (44), and fiber end (48). Flat polished ferrule (42) meets hybrid ferrule (26) at second surface (36). As shown in FIG. 6B, light (0) passes from flat polished ferrule (42) through the end A of the ferrule (42). A portion (1) of light (0) passes through the end B of hybrid ferrule (26) and a portion (2) is reflected off end B. However, this light is not reflected back within the light acceptance cone and does not enter end B of hybrid ferrule (26).
Consequently, in light of Levin’s disclosures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Naganuma in view of Bergen’s embodiments to disclose: a predetermined gap being provided between an outer diameter of each of the first ferrule and the second ferrule and an inner diameter of the hollow portion so that the first ferrule or the second ferrule is able to rotate; the one end of the first ferrule includes an annular portion having a convex shape in a center axis direction, an end surface of the single-core fiber disposed in the first ferrule being exposed to the annular portion; and a tip portion present on an inner side relative to the annular portion and protruding in the center axis direction relative to the annular portion, the one end of the second ferrule includes an annular portion having a convex shape in the center axis direction, an end surface of the single-core fiber disposed in the second ferrule being exposed to the annular portion, and a tip portion present on an inner side relative to the annular portion and protruding in the center axis direction relative to the annular portion, and the tip portion of the first ferrule and the tip portion of the second ferrule abut against each other; Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text; because the resultant configuration would facilitate aligning input and output fibers; Berger – Selected Text; in configurations that ‘avoid physical wear’ of the optical fibers. Jian – Selected Text.
Jian – Selected Text
Abstract - An optical fiber connector component that is useful for joining and connecting fiber cables, particularly in the field. A joinder component includes a fiber ferrule coaxially housing a short section of optical fiber with a rearward flanged sleeve that allows the fiber to extend through it. Rearwardly the flanged sleeve extends into a connector body where a fusion splice of the fiber section to the main fiber cable is hidden. Forwardly, the fiber facet and ferrule have anti-reflection coatings and are configured so that the fiber has an output facet recessed slightly relative to the forward polished end surface of the ferrule so that when two ferrule end surfaces are brought together in an adapter, respective fiber facets are slightly spaced apart thereby avoiding wear on fiber facets due to physical contact, yet having good optical communication.
[0013] Each such fiber terminates at an output facet. A tubular ferrule having an output end and a junction end coaxially surrounds the fiber. The fiber output facet has a concave offset relative to the surrounding endwise surface of the ferrule, such that when two aligned abutting ferrules of a fiber coupling device are mutually facing and in contact, a small gap of micron level is present between the fiber facets. The endwise surface of the ferrule is preferably convex. The gap is sufficiently small so as to allow the light to couple easily between the fiber cores for optical communication. To substantially eliminate the transmission loss at air-fiber interfaces, the fiber facets are coated with a durable anti-reflection ("AR") coating. The means for providing the concave offset can be either an indentation of the fiber relative to the endwise surface of the ferrule or, alternating, a built up spacer on the endwise surface of the ferrule relative to the fiber facet, such as by an annular metal deposit.
Claims
1. An optical fiber connector component used in joining optical fibers comprising: an optical fiber with a facet terminating a fiber optic cable segment; a fiber ferrule having an axial through hole housing said optical fiber up to an output surface; an anti-reflective coating on said fiber facet; and means for providing an offset in profile between the fiber facet relative to the endwise output surface of the ferrule, whereby a gap exists when the optical fiber facet is joined to another fiber for optical communication from fiber to fiber.
6. The optical fiber connector component of claim 1 wherein said fiber has an axis, with the fiber facet being substantially non-perpendicular to said fiber axis.
7. The optical fiber connector component of claim 1 wherein said output surface of the ferrule has a convex profile.
Regarding dependent claims 2-7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Naganuma in view of Berger, further in view of Levin and further in view of Jian’s embodiments, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, to disclose:
2. The ferrule rotation engagement unit according to claim 1, wherein the tip portion of the first ferrule and the tip portion of the second ferrule are flat surfaces. Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text; Jian – Selected Text, and related figures.
3. The ferrule rotation engagement unit according to claim 1, wherein in each of the first ferrule and the second ferrule, an angle formed by the tip portion and the annular portion is 5 degrees or more. Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text; Jian – Selected Text, and related figures.
4. The ferrule rotation engagement unit according to claim 1, wherein a gap between the end surface of the single-core fiber exposed to the annular portion of the first ferrule and the end surface of the single-core fiber exposed to the annular portion of the second ferrule whose optical axis coincides with the single-core fiber is 20 pm or less. Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text; Jian – Selected Text, and related figures.
5. The ferrule rotation engagement unit according to claim 1, wherein the collar of the first flange or the collar of the second flange has a groove on an outer edge thereof, and the holder has a projection portion shaped to engage with the groove, the projection portion engaging with the groove to prevent rotation about the center axis of the first flange or the second flange. Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text; Jian – Selected Text, and related figures.
6. An optical switch comprising: the ferrule rotation engagement unit according to claim 1; and a rotation mechanism configured to rotate any one of the first ferrule and the second ferrule of the ferrule rotation engagement unit around the center axis. Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text; Jian – Selected Text, and related figures.
7. An optical switch comprising: the ferrule rotation engagement unit according to claim 5; and a rotation mechanism configured to rotate rotatable one of the first flange and the second flange of the ferrule rotation engagement unit around the center axis. Naganuma, figures 1-2 and 4-6, and related figures and text, for example, Naganuma – Selected Text; Berger, figures 1 and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Berger – Selected Text; Levin, figure 6A, and related figures and text, for example, Levin – Selected Text; Jian – Selected Text, and related figures.
because the resultant configurations would facilitate aligning input and output fibers; Berger – Selected Text; in configurations that ‘avoid physical wear’ of the optical fibers. Jian – Selected Text.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER RADKOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-1613. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 9-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg, can be reached on (571) 270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874