DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and response filed on March 06, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuda et al. (US Pub 2019/0161587).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda discloses a thermosetting resin composition comprising a thermosetting resin [0019] and resin particles which contain a polyamide resin and polyolefin resin [0048]. The content of the polyamide in the resin particles is greater than 50% by weight [0048].
Claim 1 has been amended to include a Markush group for (a) the polyolefin resin and (b) the polyamide resin. With respect to (a), the claimed polyolefin Markush group consists of the most commonly known olefin monomers in the art; thus, it is deemed that Matsuda’s generic disclosure of a polyolefin [0048] anticipates the claimed Markush group because one skilled in the art would at once envisage members in the claimed Markush, i.e., ethylene, propylene, etc. See MPEP 2131.02. With respect to (b), the examples of Matsuda use alicyclic polyamide (Example 1) and polyamide 12 (Example 3).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda discloses that the polyamide and polyolefin can contain functional groups ([0025], [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuda discloses that the polyolefin can contain an epoxy functional group [0048].
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda discloses that the thermosetting resin can be an epoxy resin [0019].
Regarding claim 5, Matsuda discloses that the resin particles can be present within the presently claimed range [0078].
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda discloses that the specific gravity of the resin particles can be varied but is generally approximately 1.0 [0044].
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda discloses that the polyamide can be an alicyclic polyamide resin [0025].
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda discloses a cured product obtained be thermally curing the thermosetting composition containing the polyamide/polyolefin particles (claim 15, [0121]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (US Pub 2019/0161587) in view of WO2009/069725. The English language translation of WO ‘725 provided in the IDS of March 23, 2026 is relied upon in the below rejection. This is an alternative rejection to the above anticipation rejection over Matsuda.
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda discloses a thermosetting resin composition comprising a thermosetting resin [0019] and resin particles which contain a polyamide resin, such as an alicyclic polyamide (Example 1) and polyamide 12 (Example 3), and polyolefin resin [0048]. The content of the polyamide in the resin particles is greater than 50% by weight [0048].
Matsuda does not specifically disclose that the polyolefin resin contains at least one monomer selected from the group consisting of propylene, 1-butene, ethylene, 2-butene, isoprene, and 2-pentene. However, Matsuda does disclose the desirability to include a polyolefin-based impact modifier to the resin particle composition [0048]. WO ‘725 discloses that it is known in the art to form a blend of polyamide, which can be an alicyclic polyamide [0014] or polyamide 12 [0015], with a polyolefin that includes an olefin monomer, which can include propylene, 1-butene, and/or ethylene [0020]. WO ‘725 discloses that such a polymer blend provides for a composition having excellent thermal aging resistance and toughness [0001]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have prepared the resin particles of Matsuda wherein the polyolefin includes an olefin monomer selected from propylene, 1-butene, and ethylene, motivated by the desire to obtain a resin particle that exhibits excellent thermal aging resistance and toughness, as taught by WO ‘725.
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda discloses that the polyamide and polyolefin can contain functional groups ([0025], [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuda discloses that the polyolefin can contain an epoxy functional group [0048].
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda discloses that the thermosetting resin can be an epoxy resin [0019].
Regarding claim 5, Matsuda discloses that the resin particles can be present within the presently claimed range [0078].
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda discloses that the specific gravity of the resin particles can be varied but is generally approximately 1.0 [0044].
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda discloses that the polyamide can be an alicyclic polyamide resin [0025].
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda discloses a cured product obtained be thermally curing the thermosetting composition containing the polyamide/polyolefin particles (claim 15, [0121]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 06, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Matsuda does not teach or suggest the combination of a polyolefin resin having monomers selected from the Markush group of claim 1 and a polyamide resin selected from the Markush group of claim 1. These Markush groups were added in the latest claim amendments and fully addressed above in paragraphs 7, 17, and 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781