DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: HEAT DISSIPATION MEMBER COMPRISING COPPER-DIAMOND COMPOSITE AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE THEREOF
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-2, the limitation “JIS B 0601:2013” is not defined in the claims and therefore would render the claims indefinite. Claims 3-6, which depend from claim 1, are also rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/859,156 (corresponding US 2025/0261338 A1; hereinafter “Application 156”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter as claimed in the instant application is obvious variant(s) of the noted claim in Application 156.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, Application 156 teaches a heat dissipation member (a heat dissipation member) comprising: a copper-diamond composite (a copper-diamond composite body) where a plurality of diamond particles (a plurality of diamond particles) are dispersed in a metal matrix containing copper (a metal matrix containing copper); and a metal film (a metal film) that is joined to at least one face of the copper-diamond composite, wherein at a joint interface between the copper-diamond composite and the metal film, a ten-point average height Rz calculated according to JIS B 0601:2013 is 5 μm or more and 100 μm or less (a ten-point average height Rz in a boding surface of the copper-diamond composite body to the metal film is 20 μm) (See Application 156, claim 6, which depends from claim 1). Furthermore, claim 6 of Application 156 additionally teaches that the coper-diamond composite body has a course particle layer and a fine particle layer (Application 156, claim 6). As such, claim 6 of Application 156 has a narrower scope of claim compared to claim 1 of the instant application [underlying for clarity].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima et al. (US 2009/0057705 A1; hereinafter “Takashima”).
Regarding claim 1, Takashima teaches a heat dissipation member (a semiconductor element mounting substrate) comprising: a copper-diamond composite (a substrate body formed of a diamond composite material) where a plurality of diamond particles (a number of diamond particles) are dispersed in a metal matrix containing copper (a bonding material including Cu) (paragraphs 37-38); and a metal film (a coating layer including Cu) that is joined to at least one face of the copper-diamond composite (paragraphs 46-48), wherein at a joint interface between the copper-diamond composite and the metal film (paragraph 43, a connecting surface of the substrate body with the coating layer has a roughness including recesses and protrusions).
While Takashima does not explicitly teach a ten-point average height Rz value of 5 μm or more and 100 μm or less, Takashima teaches a maximum depth of recesses at the connecting surface of the substrate body is 40 μm and a maximum height of protrusions at the connecting surface of the substrate body is 40 μm (paragraph 43). Then, it would have been obvious to obtain the ten-point average height Rz by using approximation calculation (0.6-0.9)(the maximum peak/protrusion 40 μm + the maximum valley/recess 40 μm) = 48-72 μm, which is within the claimed Rz value of 5 μm or more and 100 μm or less, for obtaining the desired surface roughness characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, Takashima teaches wherein at the joint interface between the copper-diamond composite and the metal film, a maximum height Rmax calculated according to JIS B 0601:2013 is 180 μm or less (paragraph 43, since the maximum depth of recesses is 40 μm and the maximum height of protrusions is 40 μm, a maximum height/roughness at the connecting surface of the substrate body from the lowest recesses to the highest protrusions is 40 μm + 40 μm = 80 μm).
Regarding claim 3, Takashima teaches wherein a thermal conductivity of the copper-diamond composite is 600 W/mK or higher (paragraph 42, the substrate body having a thermal conductivity of 600 W/mK).
Regarding claim 5, Takashima teaches wherein when a particle size distribution of the diamond particles is measured using an image particle size distribution analyzer (See below), a particle diameter D50 corresponding to a cumulative value of 50% in a volume particle size distribution of particle diameter of the diamond particles is 300 μm or less (paragraph 40, an average particle diameter of the diamond particles is 5-40 μm).
It is noted that the limitation "when a particle size distribution of the diamond particles is measured using an image particle size distribution analyzer” specifies an intended use or field of use, and therefore is treated as non-limiting since it has been held that in device claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claims. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 6, Takashima teaches an electronic device comprising: the heat dissipation member according to claim 1; and an electronic component (a light emitting element) that is provided over the heat dissipation member (paragraph 36).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morikawa et al. (US 2017/0287810 A1; hereinafter “Morikawa”).
Regarding claim 4, Takashima does not teach a sphericity S50 corresponding to a cumulative value of 50% in a volume particle size distribution of sphericity of the diamond particles is 0.70 or more. Morikawa teaches a heat dissipation member (10), comprising: a copper-diamond composite (20) where a plurality of diamond particles (22 formed of diamond particles) are dispersed in a metal matrix containing copper (21 including Cu), wherein the plurality of diamond particles (22) have perfect sphere shape and would have sphericity of 0.7 or more as a desired shape of the diamond particles (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 67-73). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Takashima with that of Morikawa in order to provide the diamond particles in a spherical shape as a desired shape for the diamond particles without affecting thermally conductive characteristics of the diamond particles. For the limitation "when a particle size distribution of the diamond particles is measured using an image particle size distribution analyzer”, see the rejection of claim 5 above for reciting an intended use or field of use.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893