DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuzaki (US 2017/0352886 A1).
Regarding claims 1-12, Matsuzaki teaches a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode comprising a current collector and an electrode mixture layer disposed on a surface of the current collector, wherein the electrode mixture layer is formed from a composition including an active material such as lithium iron phosphate, a conductive aid and a binder comprising a polymer which is a lithium salt of carboxyl-group containing polymer ([0094]-[0100] & [0123]-[0129]); wherein the polymer has a neutralization degree of 70 mol% or higher ([0064]); a relative amount of a structural unit derived from a crosslinkable monomer in the polymer with respect to an entire amount of a structural unit derived from a monomer other than the crosslinkable monomer is 0.001 mol% to 2.5 mol% ([0056]); and a relative amount of a structural unit derived from an ethylenically unsaturated monomer having a carboxyl group in the polymer with respect to all the structural units of the polymer is 50 mass% or more ([0029]-[0035]). Matsuzaki further teaches a 1 mass% aqueous solution of the polymer has a viscosity of 1 mPa.s to 500 mPa.s at 25°C and a 3 mass% aqueous solution of the polymer has a viscosity of 50,000 mPa.s to 1,000,000 mPa.s at 25°C ([0065]-[0067]) but does not explicitly teach a 5 mass% aqueous solution of the polymer having a viscosity of 10,000 mPa.s or more at 25°C. However, since Matsuzaki teaches a binder polymer having the presently claimed composition, as noted above, the claimed property would be expected to be inherent in Matsuzaki’s binder. While Matsuzaki is silent as to the lithium ion secondary battery comprising a polymer solid electrolyte, “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)”. See MPEP 2112.02 II. Accordingly, the limitation in the preamble of “of a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a polymer solid electrolyte” is found to be a purpose or intended use recitation which does not further limit the structure or the composition of the claimed electrode binder and is thus not considered a claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuzaki (US 2017/0352886 A1) in view of Kim (US 2019/0280332 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuzaki teaches the lithium ion secondary battery of claim 13, wherein the electrolyte is a liquid non-aqueous electrolyte ([0128]) but is silent as to a polymer solid electrolyte. Kim teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising a solid polymer electrolyte comprising a polymer such as polyethylene carbonate ([0015]-[0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use a solid polymer electrolyte comprising a polymer such as polyethylene carbonate as a suitable alternative to liquid non-aqueous electrolytes since polymer solid electrolytes including polyethylene carbonate are environmental-friendly without problems such as liquid leakage while being able to be formed as thin film and can achieve an ionic conductivity as high as 10-3 S/cm which is on the order of liquid electrolytes as taught by Kim ([0004]-[0007]).
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727