DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This action is responsive to national-stage application filed 02/06/2024. Following entry of the preliminary amendment filed on 02/13/2024, original claim 1, amended claims 2-10, and new claims 11-20 are currently pending and under examination herein.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . However, in the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Objection – Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Referring to page 1, the cross-reference data should be updated to reflect the intervening international application number and filing date, consistent with the Application Data Sheet accompanying the original application papers.
Referring to pages 12-13, the description under “Experimental Example” states that the “concrete mixing ratio is C30”. It is unclear from the description what “C30” signifies in relation to said mixing ratio. Further as to Table 1, it is not apparent what the terms “3d”, “7d” and “28d” under the “Strength/MPa” header are intended to represent/signify. Clarification, at least by way of explanation, is required.
Appropriate correction of the specification is required.
Objection – Claim(s)
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: referring to line 2, “comprise” should read –comprises-- (i.e., “monomer comprise[s] one of or a mixture of more of …”; cf., claim 15, line 2). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the term “small monomer” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, and while the specification states that, in step (2), the carboxylic acid small monomer comprises one of or a mixture of more of acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, maleic acid, or itaconic acid (see page 4, ninth para), it is unclear whether this list is intended to delimit the scope of “small,” or is merely exemplary of specific, narrower embodiment(s). However, since a corresponding monomer list is recited in dependent claim 14 as a further limitation of “the carboxylic acid small monomer,” it is presumed the latter interpretation applies. As such, there is uncertainty regarding the extent to which the carbon atom number of a given carboxylic acid monomer can exceed that of a C5 carboxylic acid like itaconic acid and still qualify as “small” in the context of the invention. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Dependent claims 2-13 and 15-20 inherit the indefiniteness ascribed to parent claim 1 supra.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim provides the limitation to “the reactor vessel” in lines 10, 15 and 21. There is no proper and sufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim nor in any claim(s) upon which it depends (currently, claim 1). In order to cure this antecedent basis problem, it is suggested that claim 1 be amended to recite –in a reactor vessel-- after “solution system” in line 8. Claims 17-19 are subsumed in this ground of rejection, in view of their dependency upon claim 8/1.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim also provides the limitation to “adding the solution containing the oxidized lignin, an alkenyl polyethylene glycol ether, and an initiator into the basic material …” (see lines 8-9). This creates an indefiniteness issue because the claim earlier refers to the solution system containing the oxidized lignin as “the basic material” (cf., lines 4-5); therefore, the claim literally calls for adding the solution containing the oxidized lignin, an alkenyl polyethylene glycol ether, and an initiator into the same solution containing the oxidized lignin (as “basic material”), which is not understood. Is the second occurrence of “the basic material” intended to refer to a second portion of the solution containing the oxidized lignin? Clarification, at least by way of explanation, is required.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claim 5, insofar as the recited weight ratio includes zero as an endpoint value for the proportion of carboxylic acid small monomer and alkenyl polyethylene glycol – i.e., 1: (0-20):(0-200) (see line 3) – the claim literally reads on embodiments wherein one or both of said small monomer and alkenyl polyethylene glycol are absent from the copolymerization of step (2); whereas, claim 1 positively recites both raw materials as essential reactants in the same copolymerization step. Therefore, claim 5 is properly rejected as being of improper dependent form for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends (viz., claim 1).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Common Ownership Notice
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102936110A (‘CN ‘110’, citing infra to corresponding machine translation, of record) in view of Kalliola et al (US 2016/0244364 A1) (‘Kalliola’).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 9: CN ‘110 is directed to a lignosulfonate-polycarboxylic acid copolymer composite high-performance water-reducer for concrete (see Abs. and Technical Field section). As broadly disclosed the composite comprises lignosulfonate [i.e., a lignin sulfonate salt, per claim 2], methylallyl polyoxyethylene ether (HPEG), acrylic acid, ammonium persulfate (APS) and sodium hydroxide (NaOH), wherein the weight parts of each component are:
5 to 30 parts of lignosulfonate,
20 to 30 parts of methylallyl polyoxyethylene ether (HPEG),
2 to 5 parts of acrylic acid (C₃H₄O₂),
1 to 5 parts of ammonium persulfate (APS), and
4 to 15 parts of sodium hydroxide (NaOH) (see section 2. Technical Solutions).
Further, CN ’110 details a preparation method for preparing the lignosulfonate-polycarboxylic acid copolymer composite high-performance water-reducer, comprising following steps:
step 1: dissolving the methylallyl polyoxyethylene ether in water under normal pressure, adding it to the reaction kettle, heating to 30°C to 40°C, stirring and mixing for 30 minutes to 40 minutes;
step 2: adding ammonium persulfate [i.e., a persulfate salt, per claim 6] and stirring for 5 minutes to 20 minutes;
step 3: adding acrylic acid solution and lignosulfonate dropwise to the reaction kettle for 3.5~ 6 hours, gradually increasing the temperature, and controlling the temperature in 55°C to 65°C after the dropwise addition;
step 4: reacting at a constant temperature ranging from 55 °C to 65 °C for 2 hours to 4 hours;
step 5: adjusting the pH value to be 6-8 with sodium hydroxide after the material is cooled to a temperature ranging from 35°C to 45°C; wherein, in step (3), the gradually increasing the temperature is divided into three stages, and the initial reaction time is in a range from 1 hour to 1.5 hours, the temperature is controlled in a range from 40°C to 45°C, the intermediate reaction time is in a range from 1.5 hours to 2.5 hours, the temperature is controlled in a range from 45°C to 55°C, the late reaction time is in a range from 1 hour to 2 hours, and the temperature is controlled in a range from 55°C to 65°C (see id.).
The teachings of CN ‘110 differ from the present invention in that CN ‘110 utilizes a lignosulfonate reactant that is not oxidized, rather than an oxidized lignin obtained as per claimed step (1) to prepare an oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt.
However, in analogous art drawn to use of oxidized lignin as a dispersant in a concrete mixture, Kalliola teaches a method for manufacturing oxidized lignin at alkaline conditions (see Abs., ¶ [0002]). More specifically, the method involves reacting of a lignin starting material with an oxidizing agent in a solution, with the oxidizing agent preferably being selected from oxygen, air, ozone and hydrogen peroxide [per claim 4]. The reaction is performed under alkaline conditions at a pH within the range of 8-14 using an amount of oxidizing agent of 10-95 wt%, calculated on the basis of the weight of the lignin. An alkaline agent, NaOH, preferably in a content of 20-50 wt.% of lignin, is added to a lignin solution prior to addition of the oxidizing agent, as in claimed step (1) (see ¶¶ [0047]-[0059]). Kalliola further teaches that the oxidized lignin is superior to commercial lignosulphonate products as a plasticizer for reducing water content of concrete mixtures (see ¶¶ [0006], [0024], [0099]). In light of such teachings, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have reasonably expected an oxidized lignin to be a viable alternative to the lignosulfonate of CN ‘110 for the purpose of obtaining a high-performance water-reducer for concrete. Toward that end, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the method of CN ‘110 by replacing the lignin starting material with an oxidized lignin obtained as per Kalliola, such as an oxidized lignosulfonate, in the expectation of obtaining an oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt, as per present claim 9.
Regarding Claims 3 and 20, CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the method of preparing oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 1 and 2, respectively, as discussed above, and Kalliola further teaches wherein an alkaline substance in the alkaline solution comprises one or a mixture of more of alkali metal or alkali earth metal hydroxides, specifically NaOH (see ¶ [0072]).
Regarding Claim 5, CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the method of preparing oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 1 as discussed above. Further, CN ‘110 details in Example 1 a lignosulfonate-polycarboxylic acid copolymerized composite wherein the raw material composition (pts. by wt.) comprised: 5 parts of lignosulfonate, 20 parts of methallyl polyoxyethylene ether, 2 parts of acrylic acid, 1 part of ammonium persulfate and 4 parts of sodium hydroxide (see Detailed Description section). The described composition equates to a mass ratio of lignosulfonate, acrylic acid, and methallyl polyoxyethylene ether of 5:2:20, or 1:0.4:4. Hence, in the modified method of CN ‘110, the corresponding mass ratio of the oxidized lignin, acrylic acid, and methallyl polyoxyethylene ether would fall well within the claimed range for mass ratio of the corresponding raw materials in step (2).
Regarding Claim 7, CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the method of preparing oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Kalliola teaches wherein, in step (1), the oxidation modification treatment step is carried out at a temperature ranging from 30°C to 100°C for a reaction time period ranging from 10 minutes to 120 minutes (e.g., temperature in the oxidation experiments was 50-80oC; the O2 uptake during the reaction period (6 or 30 minutes), see ¶ [0070]); and/or, in step (2), the free radical copolymerization reaction is carried out at a temperature ranging
from 50°C to 100°C (viz., 55oC to 65oC; see CN ‘110, Technical Solutions: step 3).
Regarding Claim 10, CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 9 as discussed above. CN ‘100 further teaches the use of the high-efficiency water reducer in concrete for water reducing (see section 3. Beneficial effect). Accordingly, use of the oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt resulting from modification of CN ‘110 as proposed supra as a high-efficiency water reducer according to the claimed method would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12: CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the method of preparing oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claims 2 and 3, respectively, as discussed above. Further, Kalliola teaches wherein the solid mass of the lignin accounts for 5 wt% to 15wt% of the total amount of the
alkaline solution (viz., 12-32 wt-% of lignin dry solids, see ¶ [0070]); and wherein the amount of the alkaline substance in the alkaline solution accounts for 10 wt% to 60wt% of the solid mass of the lignin (viz., NaOH dosage used was 23-45 wt-% of lignin dry solids, see id.).
Regarding Claim 13, CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the method of preparing oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 4 as discussed above. Further, Kalliola teaches wherein the amount of the oxidant added is 20 wt% to 80 wt% of the solid mass of the lignin (viz., O2 dose 32 wt-%, see ¶ [0072]).
Regarding Claims 14 and 15: CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the method of preparing oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 5 as discussed above, and CN ‘110 further teaches wherein the carboxylic acid based small monomer comprises one of or a mixture of more of acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, maleic acid, or itaconic acid; and wherein the alkenyl polyethylene glycol ether comprises one of or a mixture of more of allyl polyethylene glycol ether, methyl allyl polyethylene glycol ether, isopentenyl polyethylene glycol ether, vinyl polyethylene glycol ether, and 4-hydroxybutyl vinyl polyethylene glycol ether (specifically, acrylic acid and methyl allyl polyethylene glycol ether, respectively, see CN ‘110, Examples 1-5).
Regarding Claim 16, CN ‘110 in view of Kalliola renders obvious the method of preparing oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 6 as discussed above, and CN ‘110 further teaches wherein the amount of the initiator added accounts for 0.05 wl% to 10wt% of the total mass of the
various monomers (e.g., 1 part by weight of ammonium persulfate, see CN ‘110, Example 1).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102/103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN 112646088A (‘CN ‘088’) (citing infra to corresponding machine translation, furnished herewith).
Claim 9 is drawn to an oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt, wherein the oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt is prepared by the method of claim 1.
Claim 10 is drawn to a method for preparing high-efficiency water reducer, comprising using the oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt of claim 9 in concrete for water reducing.
CN ‘088 discloses a high-efficiency retarding water-reducing agent for highway concrete, the agent being described as a polycarboxylate superplasticizer molecule obtained by reacting of four monomers -- isobutylene polyoxyethylene ether, maleic anhydride, α-methacrylic acid and allyltrimethylammonium chloride -- and calcium lignosulfate (see ¶¶ [0006]-[0012], [0024]). Isobutylene polyoxyethylene ether and α-methacrylic acid are specific species of, respectively, “alkenyl polyethylene glycol ether” and “carboxylic acid based small monomer,” the named co-monomers used in preparing the instant oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt; and maleic anhydride and allyltrimethylammonium chloride, though not named co-monomers, are nonetheless within the ambit of the recited method in view of the inclusive claim language (i.e., “method comprises the steps of …”; see claim 1, line 2). Further, CN ‘088 teaches to prepare the calcium lignosulfate reactant by a step 1) wherein an acidified solution of calcium lignin sulphate in distilled water (pH: 3.6-4.1) is reacted with added hydrogen peroxide solution at 74-78oC to obtain an oxidized modified calcium lignin sulphate solution (see ¶ [0018]). In addition, when describing the molecular design of the polycarboxylate superplasticizer molecule, CN ‘088 notes that α-methacrylic acid is used instead of acrylic acid to reduce the degree of monomer self-polymerization (see ¶ [0024]), thus implying that the final product is a polycarboxylate copolymer of the aforementioned monomers and oxidized modified calcium lignin sulphate.
It is acknowledged that CN ‘088 teaches to use an acid adjuster to adjust the pH of the oxidized modified calcium lignin sulphate solution to 3.6-4.1, whereas the oxidized lignin used to make the claimed product is prepared in an alkaline solution system. Nevertheless, CN ‘088 teaches to obtain the high-efficiency retarding water-reducing agent by adjusting the pH of an aqueous, cooled reaction product to 7.1 to 7.3 with an alkali adjuster (see ¶ [0019]); hence, one would expect the final product of CN ‘088 and the claimed oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt to possess the same or closely similar alkalinity. Moreover, it is firmly established that a difference in preparation, to be of patentable significance, must result in a substantially different product than that obtained by the prior art process. See MPEP § 2113. Instantly, the evidence of record (i.e., Specification working examples) does not purport to show that the claimed product (oxidized lignin polycarboxylate salt) necessarily differs substantially from the high-efficiency retarding water-reducing agent of CN ‘088 as a result of preparing the oxidized lignin solution in an alkaline solution system instead of under acidic conditions, per CN ‘088.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17-19, as best understood, are deemed free of the prior art. Accordingly, claim 8 (from which claims 17-19 depend) would be allowable if amended or rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this Office action and to include all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
The closest prior art to CN ‘110, Kalliola et al and CN ‘088, discussed above, does not describe the inventions of instant claims 8/17-19, especially the claimed alternative modes for feeding respective raw materials. Nor does the closest prior art provide proper rationale for modifying any of their respectively disclosed inventions into the invention of any of said claims.
Correspondence
/FRED M TESKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/FMTeskin/10-23-26