DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Spenner et al. (US 2019/0359118).
Regarding claim 1, Spenner discloses a cornering light device for a vehicle projection module (Figs. 4-7, 29), the cornering light device comprising a light source for emitting a light beam (600; Paragraph [075]); at least one narrowing device for narrowing the light beam (68a, 68b; Paragraph [0078]); a guide element having a light emitting section at a first end and an output section at a second end, the guide element guiding the light beam from the light emitting section in the direction of the output section (61; Paragraph [0080]), wherein the second end comprises a deflection surface for at least partly deflecting the light beam guided by the guide element (Paragraph [0080]); and an output surface through which the light beam can exit the cornering light device (52; Paragraph [0073]), wherein the cornering light device is configured for attachment to a control unit configured to control at least one characteristic of the light beam, and wherein the cornering light device is configured for attachment to the control unit that controls at least one main vehicle headlight in addition to the at least one characteristic of the light beam (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Spenner further discloses wherein the control unit comprises at least one printed circuit board (74; Paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Spenner further discloses wherein the light source comprises at least one light emitting diode (600; Paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Spenner further discloses wherein the least one narrowing device comprises at least one convex lens surface and/or a collimator (Paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Spenner further discloses wherein the light source is arranged at the first end of the guide element and that the output surface is arranged at the second end of the guide element (Fig. 7, 600 & 622; Paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 6, Spenner further discloses wherein the guide element is a tube-shaped element (61; Paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 7, Spenner further discloses wherein the deflection surface is a chamfer (61; Paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Spenner further discloses wherein the deflection surface is arranged with an angle relative to a main axis of the guide element (61; Paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Spenner further discloses wherein the deflection surface is a flat surface or that the deflection surface is an at least partially curved surface (61; Paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Spenner further discloses wherein the output surface comprises outcoupling optics (52; Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Spenner further discloses the control unit (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0076]); and the at least one main vehicle headlight module (12; Paragraph [0070]); wherein the control unit is configured for controlling to control the at least one characteristic of the light beam projected by the cornering light device and at least one characteristic of a second light beam projected by the at least one main vehicle headlight (Paragraph [0076]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, the prior art fails to teach or disclose the requirement of claim 11 that the outcoupling optics comprise one or more micro structures.
Specifically, the prior art fails to teach or disclose the requirement of claim 12 that the outcoupling optics comprise outcoupling pillows.
Specifically, the prior art fails to teach or disclose the requirement of claim 14 that the at least one characteristic of the light beam of the cornering light device and the at least one characteristic of the second light beam of the at least one main vehicle headlight are controlled by the same control unit.
Claim 15 is objected to based on its dependence from claim 14.
/Anne M Hines/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2879