Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pocovi et al. (US 2024/0250994 as supported by the corresponding drawings and passages of U.S. Provisional application No. 63/186,948) in view of Yokomakura et al. (US 2020/0358540), El Hamss et al. (US 2021/0377912), Lee et al. (US 2015/0289211) and Marinier et al. (US 2015/0358111). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 1, Pocovi discloses a method of transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 3, step 325) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a configuration related to CSI reporting (step 300; figs. 4A-4B; note: CQI is part of CSI; paras. 31 and 40); receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (figs. 1-3); determining an uplink resource for the CSI report based on the configuration (step 325; paras. 34-35); and transmitting the CSI report in the uplink resource (step 325), wherein transmitting the CSI report in the uplink resource includes transmitting the CSI report including one of a plurality of entry values based on i) the PDSCH and ii) a modulation coding scheme (MCS) offset (step 325; note: delta-CQI/MCS; paras. 17 (third sentence), 19 and 33).
However, Pocovi fails to disclose receiving a higher layer parameter configuration related to CSI reporting; receiving scheduling information including resource allocation information for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); receiving the PDSCH based on the scheduling information; and determining an uplink resource for the CSI report based on the higher layer parameter configuration and the scheduling information. Yokomakura discloses RRC-configured CSI reporting (para. 170) and PDSCH resource assignment for receiving a PDSCH (fig. 4(d) and paras. 52-53 and 122; note: PDSCH in a time resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have receiving a higher layer parameter configuration related to CSI reporting, receiving scheduling information including resource allocation information for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), receiving the PDSCH based on the scheduling information, and determining an uplink resource for the CSI report based on the higher layer parameter configuration and the scheduling information in the invention of Pocovi. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, provide control signaling and provide resources for a PDSCH, respectively, as is known in the art (Yokomakura, fig. 4(d) and pars. 52-53, 122 and 170; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Further, Pocovi in view of Yokomakura fails to teach and make obvious the CSI report including one of a plurality of entry values based on i) the PDSCH and ii) a modulation coding scheme (MCS) offset table including the plurality of entry values, and wherein the plurality of entry values includes first values representing a plurality of MCS offset values, and a second value that is reserved without being mapped to any MCS offset.
However, El Hamss discloses a table used to change an MCS level (paras. 214 and 219; note: offset for increasing or decreasing to a MCS level from a MCS previous level), and Lee (para. 133) and Marinier (para. 62) each disclose an MCS table having reserved values not mapped to an MCS. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the CSI report including one of a plurality of entry values based on i) the PDSCH and ii) a modulation coding scheme (MCS) offset table including the plurality of entry values, and wherein the plurality of entry values includes first values representing a plurality of MCS offset values, and a second value that is reserved without being mapped to any MCS offset in the invention of Pocovi in view of Yokomakura. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, using an index to indicate a set of values and having index values reserved for future use, respectively, as is known in the art (El Hamss, paras. 214 and 219; Lee, para. 133; Marinier, para. 62; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 7, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 1. In addition, Pocovi discloses a user equipment (UE) (fig. 3) for transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising (fig. 5B and para. 65): at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that when executed causes the at least one processor to perform operations (paras. 67-69, 73-74 and 78-82) of the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 1 from the perspective of the base station. In addition, Pocovi discloses a base station (BS) (fig. 3, network node) for receiving a channel state information (CSI) report in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising (fig. 5A and para. 53): at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that when executed causes the at least one processor to perform reciprocal operations (paras. 55-59; paras. 29 and 35; note: timing provided by a base station) of the method of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462