DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merit for claims 1 – 2 and 4 – 12 . Claim 3 is cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 4 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knutson et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0049288 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Knutson teaches a self-mobile device (machine, 10), comprising: a main body (main cowling, 40; Fig. 4A), comprising a fluid storage apparatus (tank, 70; Fig. 4A) that is configured to store a fluid (Paragraph [0022]); a cleaning fluid supply system (liquid cleaning system as disclosed in Paragraph [0022]), disposed on the main body (40; Paragraph [0022]) and configured to supply a to-be-cleaned surface with a cleaning fluid (Paragraph [0022]); a sewage recycling system (recovery system; Paragraphs [0010] and [0022]), disposed on the main body (40) and configured to recycle sewage (Paragraphs [0010] and [0022]); a chassis (chassis, 24; Fig. 4A), disposed under the main body (40) and configured to support the main body (40; Fig. 4A) and a sensing portion (sensor, 44A), comprises an orientation sensor and a position sensor (optical sensors and camaras detect both orientation and a position; Paragraphs [0035] and [0024]) disposed on the chassis (24; Paragraphs [0033] – [0034]).
Knutson does not teach an orientation sensor and a position sensor disposed directly on the chassis; however; Examiner, however, notes that the applicant fails to provide any criticality in having an orientation sensor and a position sensor disposed directly on the chassis any unexpected result as Applicants own disclosure provides the orientation sensor is detachably secured on the chassis (Paragraph [0008] of the Specification) and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed by the prior art discovering the optimum location of an element involves only routine experimentation to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ, 233.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify self-mobile device of Knutson to explicitly teach an orientation sensor and a position sensor disposed directly on the chassis since it has been held that
rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 2, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein
the sensing portion (44A) is mounted on the chassis (24) in an angle-adjustable manner (frame, 65 can be mounted in an adjustable manner (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]).
Regarding Claim 4, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the orientation sensor (44A) is detachably secured on the chassis (24; Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 6, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the sensing portion (44A) comprises a position sensor (camera as discussed in Paragraph [0035]) mounted on the chassis in an angle-adjustable manner (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]).
Regarding Claim 5, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device according to claim 3, as discussed above.
Knutson does not explicitly teach the orientation sensor is disposed on an upper surface of the chassis; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the orientation sensor is disposed on an upper surface of the chassis, as claimed, since it has been held that
rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 7, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device according to claim 6, as discussed above.
Knutson further teaches the front side of the chassis (24) is a portion of the chassis that first enters a to-be-operated region along a travel direction of the self- mobile device in a case that the self-mobile device works normally (Fig. 4A).
Knutson does not explicitly the position sensor is disposed on a front side of the chassis; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the position sensor is disposed on a front side of the chassis, as claimed, since it has been held that
rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the self-mobile (10) device further comprises a connecting rack (10) and an angle adjusting portion (frame, 65 can be mounted in an adjustable manner (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]); and the position sensor (44A as a camera; Paragraph [0035]) is connected to the connecting rack (65) through the angle adjusting portion (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]).
Knutson does not explicitly teach the connecting rack is connected to the front side of the chassis; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the position sensor is disposed on a front side of the chassis, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 9, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the self-mobile (10) wherein the connecting rack (65) comprises a connecting plate (Fig. 4A); an opening is formed in the connecting plate (opening formed to hold sensor, 44A as shown in Fig. 4A); a connecting portion (connecting portion of sensor, 44A) is disposed on a periphery of the position sensor (44A); the position sensor partially penetrates through the opening (Fig. 4A).
Knutson does not explicitly teach the connecting portion is connected to the connecting plate through the angle adjusting portion; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the connecting portion is connected to the connecting plate through the angle adjusting portion, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 10, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the angle adjusting portion (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]) comprises an adjusting bolt (bolts are provided in frame, 65 as shown in Fig. 4A).
Knutson does not explicitly teach the connecting portion is provided with a first threaded hole, the connecting plate is provided with a second threaded hole, and the adjusting bolt is in threaded connection with the first threaded hole and the second threaded hole, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the connecting portion is provided with a first threaded hole, the connecting plate is provided with a second threaded hole, and the adjusting bolt is in threaded connection with the first threaded hole and the second threaded hole, respectively, as claimed, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 11, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the connecting rack (65) is detachably connected to the front side of the chassis (24; Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 12, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device according to claim 8, as discussed above.
Knutson does not explicitly teach wherein the connecting rack and the front side of the chassis are formed integrally.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further the connecting rack and the front side of the chassis are formed integrally, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated May 11, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues Knutson fails to teach sensors directly disposed on the chassis.
Examiner, however, notes that the applicant fails to provide any criticality in having an orientation sensor and a position sensor disposed directly on the chassis provide any unexpected result as Applicants own disclosure provides the orientation and position sensor is detachably secured on the chassis (Paragraph [0008] of the Specification) and where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed by the prior art discovering the optimum location of an element involves only routine experimentation to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ, 233.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify self-mobile device of Knutson to explicitly teach an orientation sensor and a position sensor disposed directly on the chassis since it has been held that
rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.06).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723