DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 12 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knutson et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0049288 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Knutson teaches a self-mobile device (machine, 10), comprising: a main body (main cowling, 40; Fig. 4A), comprising a fluid storage apparatus (tank, 70; Fig. 4A) that is configured to store a fluid (Paragraph [0022]); a cleaning fluid supply system (liquid cleaning system as disclosed in Paragraph [0022]), disposed on the main body (40; Paragraph [0022]) and configured to supply a to-be-cleaned surface with a cleaning fluid (Paragraph [0022]); a sewage recycling system (recovery system; Paragraphs [0010] and [0022]), disposed on the main body (40) and configured to recycle sewage (Paragraphs [0010] and [0022]); a chassis (chassis, 24; Fig. 4A), disposed under the main body (40) and configured to support the main body (40; Fig. 4A) and a sensing portion (sensor, 44A), directly disposed on the chassis (24; Paragraphs [0033] – [0034]).
Regarding Claim 2, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein
the sensing portion (44A) is mounted on the chassis (24) in an angle-adjustable manner (frame, 65 can be mounted in an adjustable manner (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]).
Regarding Claim 3, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein
the sensing portion (44A) comprises an orientation sensor (optical sensor; Paragraphs [0035] and [0024]) disposed on the chassis (24; Fig. 4A; Paragraphs [0033] and [0034])).
Regarding Claim 4, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the orientation sensor (44A) is detachably secured on the chassis (24; Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 6, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the sensing portion (44A) comprises a position sensor (camera as discussed in Paragraph [0035]) mounted on the chassis in an angle-adjustable manner (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knutson et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0049288 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device according to claim 3, as discussed above.
Knutson does not explicitly teach the orientation sensor is disposed on an upper surface of the chassis; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the orientation sensor is disposed on an upper surface of the chassis, as claimed, since it has been held that
rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 7, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device according to claim 6, as discussed above.
Knutson further teaches the front side of the chassis (24) is a portion of the chassis that first enters a to-be-operated region along a travel direction of the self- mobile device in a case that the self-mobile device works normally (Fig. 4A).
Knutson does not explicitly the position sensor is disposed on a front side of the chassis; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the position sensor is disposed on a front side of the chassis, as claimed, since it has been held that
rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the self-mobile (10) device further comprises a connecting rack (10) and an angle adjusting portion (frame, 65 can be mounted in an adjustable manner (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]); and the position sensor (44A as a camera; Paragraph [0035]) is connected to the connecting rack (65) through the angle adjusting portion (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]).
Knutson does not explicitly teach the connecting rack is connected to the front side of the chassis; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the position sensor is disposed on a front side of the chassis, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 9, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the self-mobile (10) wherein the connecting rack (65) comprises a connecting plate (Fig. 4A); an opening is formed in the connecting plate (opening formed to hold sensor, 44A as shown in Fig. 4A); a connecting portion (connecting portion of sensor, 44A) is disposed on a periphery of the position sensor (44A); the position sensor partially penetrates through the opening (Fig. 4A).
Knutson does not explicitly teach the connecting portion is connected to the connecting plate through the angle adjusting portion; however; it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the connecting portion is connected to the connecting plate through the angle adjusting portion, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 10, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the angle adjusting portion (Paragraphs [0033] and [0034]) comprises an adjusting bolt (bolts are provided in frame, 65 as shown in Fig. 4A).
Knutson does not explicitly teach the connecting portion is provided with a first threaded hole, the connecting plate is provided with a second threaded hole, and the adjusting bolt is in threaded connection with the first threaded hole and the second threaded hole, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further include the connecting portion is provided with a first threaded hole, the connecting plate is provided with a second threaded hole, and the adjusting bolt is in threaded connection with the first threaded hole and the second threaded hole, respectively, as claimed, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 11, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device (machine, 10), wherein the connecting rack (65) is detachably connected to the front side of the chassis (24; Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 12, Knutson teaches the self-mobile device according to claim 8, as discussed above.
Knutson does not explicitly teach wherein the connecting rack and the front side of the chassis are formed integrally.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Knutson to further the connecting rack and the front side of the chassis are formed integrally, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent No. 10,595,123 B1 to Jones et al. teaches Systems, apparatuses and methods are provided for tracking cleaning devices in a shopping space. A system for tracking cleaning devices comprises: a sound sensor array, a cleaning device database storing location information and sound profiles associated with a plurality of cleaning device identifiers, and a control circuit configured to: identify a cleaning device sound made by a movement of a cleaning device, determine a current location of the cleaning device based on the cleaning device sound, match the cleaning device to a cleaning device identifier in the cleaning device database, update the location information associated the cleaning device identifier in the cleaning device database based on the current location of the cleaning device, update the sound profile of the cleaning device identifier based on the cleaning device sound captured by the sound sensor array, and determine that a component of the cleaning device needs to be replaced.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723