Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not presented on a separate sheet and is included as part of the WIPO publication front page containing bibliographic information and a drawing. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degrenne et al. (US 2024/0055981 A1 – hereafter “Degrenne”) in view of Kotani et al. (US 2005/0259450 A1 – hereafter “Kotani”).
As per claim 1, Degrenne teaches:
A method of measuring a junction temperature of a semiconductor switching element in real-time (see para [0064]), the method comprising: taking a plurality of measurements of a first temperature-sensitive parameter of the semiconductor switching element while recording other quantities determining a semiconductor switching element operating point (see para [0060], [0079], [0091]);
taking a plurality of measurements of at least one second temperature- sensitive parameter of the semiconductor switching element while recording other quantities determining the semiconductor switching element operating point, wherein the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter is different from the first temperature-sensitive parameter (see para [0135]);
and comparing the first calculated junction temperature value and the at least one second calculated junction temperature value values to determine an actual junction temperature, wherein each measurement of the plurality of measurements of the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the plurality of measurements of the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter is synchronized with a switching event of the semiconductor switching element (see para [0127]).
Degrenne does not teach calculating a first junction temperature value based on the measured-values plurality of measurements of the first temperature-sensitive parameter and calculating at least one second junction temperature value based on the plurality of measurements of the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter.
However, Kotani teaches calculating junction temperature values of semiconductor elements using measured parameters, including calculating a junction temperature value Tj of a semiconductor device using a junction temperature calculator (see para [0159]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani to calculate a first junction temperature value based on measurements of a first temperature sensitive parameter and to calculate at least one second junction temperature value based on measurements of at least one second temperature sensitive parameter in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of determining the actual junction temperature of a semiconductor switching element.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter is independent of the first temperature-sensitive parameter.”
Degrenne teaches the measurement of multiple different temperature sensitive parameters of the semiconductor switching element (see para [0133] – [0135]).
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the calculating of the junction temperature comprises correlating the plurality of measurements the first temperature-sensitive parameter and correlating the plurality of measurements of the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter to determine a single value for the first temperature-sensitive parameter and a single value for the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter.”
Degrenne fails to teach calculating of the junction temperature comprises correlating the plurality of measurements the first temperature-sensitive parameter and correlating the plurality of measurements of the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter to determine a single value for the first temperature-sensitive parameter and a single value for the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter.
Kotani teaches calculating a junction temperature value from measured parameters and determining the junction temperature based on measured data (see para [0159], [0186], [0190]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani to calculate a junction temperature value by correlating measured temperature sensitive parameters in order to determine a junction temperature of the semiconductor switching element based on the measured parameters.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter are measured at operational voltage and current.”
Degrenne teaches performing measurements during operation of the semiconductor switching element, which necessarily involves the device operating under voltage and current conditions (see para [0127]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein a set of a plurality of different temperature-sensitive parameters are used to determine the junction temperature of the semiconductor switching element.”
Degrenne explicitly teaches measuring multiple temperature sensitive parameters (see para [0133] – [0135]).
As per claim 16, Degrenne teaches:
A device configured to measure a junction temperature of a semiconductor switching element in real-time, the device comprising:
a first data acquisition channel configured to take a plurality of measurements of a first temperature-sensitive parameter of a semiconductor switching element while recording other quantities determining a semiconductor switching element operating point (see para [0133] – [0135]);
at least one second data acquisition channel configured to take a plurality of measurements of at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter of a semiconductor switching element while recording other quantities determining the semiconductor switching element operating point, wherein the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter is different from the first temperature-sensitive parameter (see para [0133] – [0135]);
and a processing subsystem (see para [0134]) configured to:
receive inputs from the first data acquisition channel and the at least one second data acquisition channel and further inputs indicating an auxiliary temperature, current, and voltage of the semiconductor switching element (see para [0134]);
wherein each measurement of the plurality of measurements of the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the plurality of measurements of the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter is synchronized with a switching event of the semiconductor switching element (see para [0127]).
Degrenne does not teach calculating a first junction temperature value based on the plurality of measurements of the first temperature-sensitive parameter and calculate at least one second junction temperature value based on the plurality of measurements of the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter;
and comparing the first calculated junction temperature value and the at least one second calculated junction temperature value to determine an actual junction temperature.
Kotani teaches calculating junction temperature values of semiconductor devices using a junction temperature calculator, including calculating a junction temperature value Tj and comparing calculated junction temperature set values (see para [0159], [0186], [0190]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani to
configure the processing subsystem to calculate a first junction temperature value based on the plurality of measurements of the first temperature sensitive parameter and calculate at least one second junction temperature value based on the plurality of measurements of the at least one second temperature sensitive parameter, and compare the calculated junction temperature values in order to determine an actual junction temperature of the semiconductor switching element with improved accuracy and reliability.
Claims 4 – 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero et al. (US 2024/0102953 A1 – hereafter “Brandelero”).
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first temperature-sensitive parameter is measured in a first dedicated time slot, and wherein the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter is measured in a second dedicated time slot.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach the first temperature-sensitive parameter is measured in a first dedicated time slot, and wherein the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter is measured in a second dedicated time slot.
Brandelero teaches measuring a first temperature sensitive parameter during a first measurement and measuring a second temperature sensitive parameter during a subsequent measurement, thereby performing measurements in separate measurement intervals or time slots (see para [0074], [0112] – [0115]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero to measure the first temperature sensitive parameter in a first dedicated time slot and measure the at least one second temperature sensitive parameter in a second dedicated time slot in order to separately acquire temperature sensitive measurements at different measurement intervals to improve the accuracy and reliability of junction temperature determination.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “The method of claim 4, wherein the first dedicated time slot and the second dedicated time slot are each individually determined by an optimum time for measuring a temperature-sensitive parameter after the switching event occurs.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach the first dedicated time slot and the second dedicated time slot are each individually determined by an optimum time for measuring a temperature-sensitive parameter after the switching event occurs.
Brandelero teaches determining a measurement time based on a selected time duration after a switching or heating event during which the device temperature rises to a measurable level (see para [0076] – [0077]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero to determine the first dedicated time slot and the second dedicated time slot based on an optimum time for measuring the temperature sensitive parameters after a switching event occurs in order to ensure that measurements are taken when the temperature sensitive parameters provide meaning and stable temperature information.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “The method of claim 4, wherein a duration of time for the first dedicated time slot and a duration of time for the second dedicated time slot are each individually determined by a behavior of the respective temperature-sensitive parameter after the switching event occurs.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach a duration of time for the first dedicated time slot and a duration of time for the second dedicated time slot are each individually determined by a behavior of the respective temperature-sensitive parameter after the switching event occurs.
Brandelero teaches selecting the duration of measurement intervals based on the thermal behavior of the device and adjusting the measurement interval depending on device thermal characteristics (see para [0076], [0121] – [0122]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero to determine the duration of the first dedicated time slot and the duration of the second dedicated time slot based on the behavior of the respective temperature sensitive parameters after a switching event occurs in order to adapt the measurement timing to the thermal response characteristics of the device.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, further comprising calibrating the first temperature-sensitive parameter and calibrating the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach calibrating the first temperature-sensitive parameter and calibrating the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter.
Brandelero teaches calibrating temperature sensitive parameters by establishing initial parameter values associated with temperature during initial calibration phase (see para [0127] – [0128]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero to calibrate the first temperature sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature sensitive parameter in order to establish reference parameter values associated with temperature for improved temperature estimation accuracy.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “The method of claim 7, wherein the calibrating takes place either in a thermostatic environment separate to a real-time measurement or using additional sensors during the real-time measurement.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach the calibrating takes place either in a thermostatic environment separate to a real-time measurement or using additional sensors during the real-time measurement.
Brandelero teaches performing calibration using temperature sensors during temperature measurement processes (see para [0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero to perform calibration using additional sensors during real time measurements in order to improve the accuracy of temperature determination by incorporating sensor-based calibration data.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, further comprising calibrating either the first temperature-sensitive parameter or the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter by reference to the other temperature-sensitive parameter of the first temperature-sensitive parameter or the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter during a real-time measurement.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach calibrating either the first temperature-sensitive parameter or the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter by reference to the other temperature-sensitive parameter of the first temperature-sensitive parameter or the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter during a real-time measurement.
Brandelero teaches determining temperature by comparing measured parameters with reference parameters established during calibration (see para [0119], [0127]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero to calibrate one temperature sensitive parameter by reference to another temperature sensitive parameter during real time measurement in order to improve temperature estimation accuracy through correlation between measured parameters.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter are determined at switching transients and each comprise a level, timing, or waveform of an input current of a transistor or p-n junction type control pin device.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter are determined at switching transients and each comprise a level, timing, or waveform of an input current of a transistor or p-n junction type control pin device.
Brandelero teaches injecting and measuring a step current waveform at device terminals for determining device parameters (see para [0098]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Brandelero to determine the temperature sensitive parameters using levels, timing, or waveforms of input current of a transistor device in order to derive temperature sensitive parameters from electrical switching behavior of the device.
Claims 10 and 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Akin et al. (US 2021/0396596 A1 – hereafter “Akin”).
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter are determined at switching transients and each comprise a level, timing, or waveform of a gate voltage or other input pin voltage.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter are determined at switching transients and each comprise a level, timing, or waveform of a gate voltage or other input pin voltage.
Akin teaches determining temperature sensitive electrical parameters during switching transients based on timing or waveform characteristics of device voltages (see para [0009], [0018], [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Akin to determine the first temperature sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature sensitive parameter during switching transients based on voltage timing or waveform characteristics in order to enable temperature estimation using switching transient behavior of semiconductor devices.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter are determined at a conduction phase of a switching operation, and each comprise a level, timing, or waveform of a drain voltage or collector voltage of semiconductor devices in a conduction period of switching.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter are determined at a conduction phase of a switching operation, and each comprise a level, timing, or waveform of a drain voltage or collector voltage of semiconductor devices in a conduction period of switching.
Akin teaches measuring waveform characteristics of drain-to-source voltage during switching operation of a semiconductor device (see para [0049], [0063], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Akin to determine the first temperature sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature sensitive parameter based on waveform characteristics of drain voltage during a conduction phase of a switching operation in order to determine junction temperature using measurable switching voltage characteristics of semiconductor devices.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter comprise characteristic switching times.”
Degrenne in view of Kotani fails to teach the first temperature-sensitive parameter and the at least one second temperature-sensitive parameter comprise characteristic switching times.
Akin teaches temperature sensitive electrical parameters comprising characteristics switching times such as turn-on delay time (see para [0036], [0039], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the instant application to modify Degrenne in view of Kotani in further view of Akin to use characteristic switching times as temperature sensitive parameters in order to improve determination of junction temperature using switching behavior of the semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/MANUEL SALVADOR CASTELLON JR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855