Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 12, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly CN 116671079 in view of Sun US 20040252725.
Regarding claims 1, 14, 16, Ly teaches a method for transmitting an uplink channel performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (2nd paragraph before Description of figures: “The apparatus sends an indication to the UE to bundle the configuration of the DMRS”), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network, information related to a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) bundling for an uplink channel (2nd paragraph before Description of figures: “The apparatus sends an indication to the UE to bundle the configuration of the DMRS”);
receiving, from the network, downlink control information (DCI) including at least one field indicating a transmission or reception parameter (see paragraph: In the first example: “For example, the configuration may include one or more bits indicating that the UE transmits the DMRS in each time slot repeated on the PUCCH with the same MCS”); and
transmitting, to the network, the uplink channel based on a number of repetitions with applying the DMRS bundling during a time domain window (see paragraph: At 806, the UE determines the bundling window: “Therefore, the UE can determine the duration of the DMRS bundling window 508 as K repetitions or time slots 502”),
wherein a size of the time domain window is based on a value of the at least one field (see paragraph: At 806, the UE determines the bundling window: “Therefore, the UE can determine the duration of the DMRS bundling window 508 as K repetitions or time slots 502”).
Although Ly teaches wherein a size of the time domain window is based on a value of the at least one field, the reference is silent on:
wherein a size of the time domain window is based on a value of the at least one field;
wherein the at least one field includes at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)-related field, or a transmission power-related field.
Sun teaches wherein a size of the time domain window is based on a value of the at least one field (the data stream including a unique word and a physical layer signaling header specifying modulation and coding information, claim 32);
wherein the at least one field includes at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)-related field (setting the search window length according to the determined modulation
scheme, claim 44).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ly by wherein a size of the time domain window is based on a value of the at least one field; wherein the at least one field includes at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)-related field, as shown by Sun. This modification would benefit the system by setting an optimal time domain window size.
Regarding claim 6, the DCI is:
DCI which is received first after a reception time point of information related to the DMRS bundling;
DCI which is received first after a time point indicated by the information related to the
DMRS bundling; or
DCI which is recently received before the uplink channel transmission (Ly: see paragraph: In a fourth example, the UE may be dynamically instructed to transmit uplink control information in the PUCCH in a plurality of time slots after receiving the DCI).
Regarding claim 7, the DMRS bundling includes maintaining some or all of at least one transmission parameter
applied to a transmission of the uplink channel based on the number of repetitions during the time domain window (Ly: see paragraph starting: In a third example, when the base station indicates the number of repetitions via the RRC message: For example, K may be the number of repetitions of the values 2, 4, 8 or other configurations. when the UE receives the repeated number K, The UE may determine that the DMRS bundling window 508 has a start time 510 corresponding to a first physical or available time slot or symbol of an initial repeat (repeat 1) and an end time 512 corresponding to a last physical or available time slot or symbol of a last repeat (repeat K). Therefore, the UE can determine the duration of the DMRS bundling window 508 as K repetitions or time slots 502. After determining the DMRS binding window, the UE may use the same MCS, the same TDD or FDD duplex scheme in each continuous or adjacent time slot. The DMRS 504 is bundled in the time slot 502 in the window, either in consecutive time-domain resources or with the same transmission power, so as to maintain power consistency and phase continuity between the DMRSs).
Regarding claim 8, the at least one transmission parameter includes at least one of a transmission power (Ly: see paragraph starting: In a third example, when the base station indicates the number of repetitions via the RRC message: For example, K may be the number of repetitions of the values 2, 4, 8 or other configurations. when the UE receives the repeated number K, The UE may determine that the DMRS bundling window 508 has a start time 510 corresponding to a first physical or available time slot or symbol of an initial repeat (repeat 1) and an end time 512 corresponding to a last physical or available time slot or symbol of a last repeat (repeat K). Therefore, the UE can determine the duration of the DMRS bundling window 508 as K repetitions or time slots 502. After determining the DMRS binding window, the UE may use the same MCS, the same TDD or FDD duplex scheme in each continuous or adjacent time slot. The DMRS 504 is bundled in the time slot 502 in the window, either in consecutive time-domain resources or with the same transmission power, so as to maintain power consistency and phase continuity between the DMRSs), a phase, a MCS, a frequency position, or a bandwidth.
Regarding claim 9, the information related to the DMRS bundling is provided through a higher layer signaling (Ly: see paragraph starting: The base station may indicate the configuration of the DMRS bundling window in the system information (e.g., in the SIB), in the Media Access Control (MAC) control element (CE), in the DCI or in the RRC message),
or is indicated through a DMRS-related information included in information scheduling a transmission of the uplink channel.
Regarding claim 12, the uplink channel includes at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUCCH) (Ly: PUCCH, abstract) or a
physical uplink control channel (PUSCH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ly and Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hasegawa US 20240163011.
Ly is silent on a mapping relationship between the value of the at least one field and the size of the time
domain window is preconfigured or predefined.
Hasegawa teaches a mapping relationship between the value of the at least one field and the size of the time
domain window is preconfigured or predefined (Alternatively, the WTRU may determine reduction in transmission power depending on the length of the bundling window configured by the gNB, [0231], The WTRU may determine reduction of transmission power based on the modulation coding schemes (MCS) used for the PUSCH in the DMRS bundling window, [0232]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination of Ly and Sun by a mapping relationship between the value of the at least one field and the size of the time domain window is preconfigured or predefined, as shown by Hasegawa. This modification would benefit the system by optimally setting the size of the time domain window.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ly and Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHEN US 20200389267.
Ly is silent on the DCI includes a scheduling information of the uplink channel, and
a transmission parameter indicated by the at least one field is applied to the uplink channel.
Chen teaches the DCI includes a scheduling information of the uplink channel, and
a transmission parameter indicated by the at least one field is applied to the uplink channel (correspondence of each of the multiple SRIs acquired by the terminal device from the DCI scheduling the uplink data to at least one power control parameter, [0129]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination of Ly and Sun by the DCI includes a scheduling information of the uplink channel, and a transmission parameter indicated by the at least one field is applied to the uplink channel, as shown by Chen. This modification would benefit the system by optimally setting the uplink power.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ly and Sun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cui US 20190052380.
Ly is silent on the DCI includes a scheduling information of a downlink channel, and
a reception parameter indicated by the at least one field is applied to the downlink channel.
MATSUMURA teaches the DCI includes a scheduling information of a downlink channel, and
a reception parameter indicated by the at least one field is applied to the downlink channel.
Cui teaches the DCI includes a scheduling information of a downlink channel, and
a reception parameter indicated by the at least one field is applied to the downlink channel (In some embodiments, hypothetical PDCCH transmission parameters may be based on typical scheduling parameters for IN/OOS conditions, including parameters such as downlink control information (DCI) format, aggregation level, and power boost, [0029]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination of Ly and Sun by the DCI includes a scheduling information of the downlink channel, and a transmission parameter indicated by the at least one field is applied to the uplink channel, as shown by Chen. This modification would benefit the system by optimally setting the downlink power.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ly and Sun as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Manolakos US 20190159181.
Regarding claim 10, Ly is silent on the DMRS-related information includes at least one of a number of ports of the DMRS, or a
scrambling identification information related to the DMRS.
Manolakos teaches the DMRS-related information a
scrambling identification information related to the DMRS (instructions for determining one or more scrambling identifiers used for pseudo-random sequence initializing for the plurality of DMRSs based at least in part on determining that the DMRS sharing or the DMRS bundling may be enabled, wherein determining the parameter may be based at least in part on determining the one or more scrambling identifiers, [0018]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination of Ly and Sun by the DMRS-related information a scrambling identification information related to the DMRS, as shown by Manolakos. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for scrambling the DMRS.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476