DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitations:
“the decay heat power"
“the calorimeter shaft”
“the introduction”
“the coolant inlet”
“the coolant outlet”
“the input side”
“the temperature”
“the negative pressure”
“the environment”
Claim 12 recites the limitation:
“the suctioning of coolant”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2016/0372220 (“Bodi”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2003/0139894 (“Ryan”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2020/0273589 (“Kang”).
Claim 1
Bodi discloses a device for calorimetric determination of the decay heat power of fuel elements, having: a calorimeter container for arrangement in a coolant pool, having a vertical calorimeter shaft for receiving a fuel element (Fig. 1, nuclear reactor 2 holding fuel rods 11), having at least one coolant inlet for supplying coolant to the calorimeter shaft (Fig. 1, coolant channels supplying coolant away and returning to heat exchanger 20), and having at least one coolant outlet for removing coolant from the calorimeter shaft, wherein the calorimeter shaft has at an upper end an upper shaft opening for the introduction and removal of the fuel element into and from the calorimeter shaft (Fig. 1, paragraph [0049], away and returning from heat exchanger 20); a line system having at least one coolant removal line connected to the coolant outlet, and preferably a coolant supply line connected to the coolant inlet (Fig. 1, paragraph [0049], away and returning from heat exchanger 20); a feed pump, connected on the input side to the coolant removal line, for generating a flow of coolant through the calorimeter shaft (Fig. 1, blower 34, paragraph [0049]); along the fuel element and for removing coolant from the calorimeter shaft via the coolant outlet and the coolant removal line (Fig. 1).
Bodi does not appear to explicitly disclose a flow measuring device at the coolant outlet or in the coolant removal line for determining the amount of coolant removed from the calorimeter shaft during operation; a first temperature measuring device at the coolant or - where present - in the coolant supply line for determining the temperature of the coolant supplied to the calorimeter shaft during operation; a second temperature measuring device at the coolant outlet or in the coolant removal line for determining the temperature of the coolant removed from the calorimeter shaft during operation;
Ryan discloses a coolant monitoring and recirculation system including a flow measuring device at a coolant removal line and first and second temperature measuring devices (paragraph [0037-0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated flow measuring device and first and second temperature measuring devices, as disclosed by Ryan, into the device of Bodi, such that a flow measuring device at the coolant outlet or in the coolant removal line for determining the amount of coolant removed from the calorimeter shaft during operation; a first temperature measuring device at the coolant or - where present - in the coolant supply line for determining the temperature of the coolant supplied to the calorimeter shaft during operation; a second temperature measuring device at the coolant outlet or in the coolant removal line for determining the temperature of the coolant removed from the calorimeter shaft during operation, for the purpose of maintaining a desired heat range including by triggering an alarm and adjusting flow (Ryan, paragraphs [0037-0041]).
Bodi in view of Ryan does not appear to explicitly disclose a closing cover for reversibly closing the upper shaft opening, wherein the closing cover is maintained in a sealing manner on the upper shaft opening during operation by the negative pressure relative to the environment that is generated in the calorimeter shaft by the feed pump.
Kang discloses a closing cover sealing a space between the cooling system (paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a closing cover for reversibly closing the upper shaft opening, as disclosed by Kang, into the device of Bodi in view of Ryan, such that the closing cover is maintained in a sealing manner on the upper shaft opening during operation by the negative pressure relative to the environment that is generated in the calorimeter shaft by the feed pump, for the purpose of maintaining pressure and heat within the system (Kang, paragraphs [0060-0070]).
Claim 2
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1.
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses a sealing device 140 but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the mean density of the closing cover is less than 990 kg/m3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the mean density of the closing cover is less than 990 kg/m3, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One would have been motivated to optimize the density of the sealing member for the purpose of providing desired switchable sealing of the coolant system (Kang, paragraph [0060]).
Claim 3
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the coolant outlet is arranged at the upper end of the calorimeter shaft below the upper shaft opening (Bodi, Fig. 1).
Claim 4
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein, for implementing the coolant outlet, the calorimeter shaft preferably has an outlet opening, especially an outlet port, at the upper end of the calorimeter shaft below the upper shaft opening (Bodi, Fig. 1).
Claim 5
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein, for implementing the at least one coolant inlet, the calorimeter shaft is open at a lower end (Bodi, Fig. 1).
Claim 6
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the calorimeter shaft has a closed base at a lower end and the calorimeter container, for implementing the at least one coolant inlet, has an upper inlet opening, especially an upper inlet port, at the upper end of the calorimeter shaft below the coolant outlet and/or a lower inlet opening, especially a lower inlet port, at a lower end of the calorimeter shaft, especially at the closed base (Bodi, Fig. 1, steel container).
Claim 7
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the calorimeter container, the coolant removal line – at least between the coolant outlet and the second temperature measuring device – and, where present, the coolant supply line – at least between the coolant inlet and the first temperature measuring device – are thermally insulated, preferably by means of vacuum insulation (Bodi, Fig. 1, steel container and concrete shield provide thermal insulation from environment).
Claim 8
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the calorimeter container, the coolant removal line – at least between the coolant outlet and the second temperature measuring device – and, where present, the coolant supply line – at least between the coolant inlet and the first temperature – measuring device – have an insulation or, for implementing the vacuum insulation, are of double-walled form with an inner wall and an outer wall surrounding the inner wall, wherein an evacuable intermediate space is formed between the inner wall and the other wall (Bodi, Fig. 1, steel container and concrete shield provide thermal insulation from environment).
Claim 9
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 8, further having a first vacuum pump device for generating a vacuum in the evacuable intermediate space (Kang, paragraph [0064], pump).
Claim 10
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the line system further has a coolant recycling line, wherein an upstream end of the coolant recycling line is connected on the output side to the feed pump, and wherein a downstream end of the coolant recycling line can be arranged in the coolant pool for the recycling of coolant (Bodi, Fig. 1, recycling in heat exchanger 20).
Claim 11
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, further having a coolant temperature regulation device for regulating the temperature of the coolant to be supplied to the calorimeter shaft, wherein the coolant temperature regulation device has a mixing container or a mixing section, which is connected to an upstream end of the coolant supply line, and, if required, a recirculation pump for recirculating coolant in the mixing container or in the mixing section (Bodi, Fig. 3, paragraph [0049], subsystem 3).
Claim 12
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the line system further has a coolant intake line, wherein a downstream end of the coolant intake line opens into the mixing container or the mixing section, and wherein an upstream end of the coolant intake line can be arranged in the coolant pool for the suctioning of coolant (Bodi, Fig. 1, reactor chamber 10).
Claim 13
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to either claim 11 wherein the coolant temperature regulation device has at least a first temperature control device for heating or cooling the coolant to be supplied to the calorimeter shaft, wherein the first temperature control device is arranged in or around the coolant supply line in a portion between the mixing container or the mixing section and the first temperature measuring device (Bodi, Fig. 1, subsystem 3 with heat exchanger 20 flow path).
Claim 14
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 13.
Bodi discloses temperature control but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the coolant temperature regulation device has a second temperature control device for heating or cooling the coolant to be supplied to the calorimeter shaft, wherein the second temperature control device for heating or cooling is arranged in or around the coolant supply line in a portion between the first temperature control device for heating or cooling and the first temperature measuring device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to duplicate temperature control device, such that coolant temperature regulation device has a second temperature control device for heating or cooling the coolant to be supplied to the calorimeter shaft, wherein the second temperature control device for heating or cooling is arranged in or around the coolant supply line in a portion between the first temperature control device for heating or cooling and the first temperature measuring device, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would have been motivated to duplicate the temperature control devices for the purpose of maintaining a desired heat and pressure within the system (Kang, paragraphs [0060-0070]).
Claim 15
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1.
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang does not appear to explicitly disclose further having a second vacuum pump device for filling the line system and – where present – the mixing container or the mixing section with coolant under negative pressure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to duplicate a vacuum pump device, such that further having a second vacuum pump device for filling the line system and – where present – the mixing container or the mixing section with coolant under negative pressure, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). One would have been motivated to duplicate the vacuum pump devices for the purpose of maintaining a desired heat and pressure within the system (Kang, paragraphs [0060-0070]).
Claim 16
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the second vacuum pump device for generating a negative pressure in the mixing container or the mixing section and in the line system connected thereto is connected directly to the mixing container or the mixing section (Kang, paragraphs [0060-0070]).
Claim 17
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the line system has a connecting line between the coolant removal line and the coolant supply line that can be shut off (Kang, paragraph [0063], valve).
Claim 18
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the calorimeter container has a lead shielding surrounding the calorimeter shaft, which lead shielding preferably serves as a gamma radiation conversion means (Bodi, paragraph [0060], lead).
Claim 19
Bodi in view of Ryan, further in view of Kang discloses the device according to claim 18, wherein the calorimeter container has on the outer side of the lead shielding, for the passage of coolant, a coolant channel surrounding the lead shielding, which coolant channel forms at least part of a flow connection between the coolant inlet and the coolant outlet (Bodi, Fig. 1, paragraph [0060]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853