DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Troegel US-20190177171-A1.
Regarding claim 1, Troegel teaches an anode material comprising a composite, wherein
the composite comprises a carbon matrix (Troegel, (0109), "carbon matrix") and
an active material ((0109), "Si/C composite particles in which the silicon particles and the carbon additive") located in the carbon matrix ((0109), "Si/C composite particles in which the silicon particles and the carbon additive are embedded in an amorphous carbon matrix"), and
the active material comprises
primary particles ((0128), "unaggregated, microscale Si/C composite particles" and/or
agglomerates ((the Examiner will arbitrarily divide the agglomerates of Troegel into agglomerates and aggregates of the present disclosure since the current set of claims provide for definitions of agglomerates and aggregates with broad interpretations (0127), "Si/conductive carbon black/PAN powder mixture in the form of agglomerates"), and
aggregates (the Examiner will arbitrarily divide the agglomerates of Troegel into agglomerates and aggregates of the present disclosure since the current set of claims provide for definitions of agglomerates and aggregates with broad interpretations (0127), "Si/conductive carbon black/PAN powder mixture in the form of agglomerates")); and
a proportion of the aggregates in a total number of the primary particles, the agglomerates, and the aggregates is smaller than or equal to 30% ((0128), "degree of aggregation 7%". The Examiner notes that a degree of aggregation corresponds to a proportion of aggregates of smaller than or equal to 30%).
Regarding claim 2, Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1, wherein
the active material comprises at least one of Li, K, Sn, Si, Fe, Ti, Al, ... and a silicon alloy ((0032), "Silicon particles may consist of elemental silicon, a silicon oxide, or a binary, ternary or multinary silicon/metal alloy (with, for example, Li ... K, Sn ... Co ... Cu ... Ti, Al, Fe)"),
where 0<x≤2 ((0034), "the stoichiometry of the oxide SiOx is preferably in the 0<x<1.3 range").
Regarding claim 3, Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1, wherein
the active material comprises a silicon-based active material ((0032), "Silicon particles may consist of elemental silicon, a silicon oxide, or a binary, ternary or multinary silicon/metal alloy (with, for example, Li ... K, Sn ... Co ... Cu ... Ti, Al, Fe)"), and
the silicon-based active material comprises at least one a silicon alloy ((0032), "Silicon particles may consist of … silicon/metal alloy").
Regarding claim 4, the Examiner notes that claim 4 requires the features of (1) or (2). For the purposes of this Examination, the Examiner will treat feature (1) as optional, and therefore only an analysis of feature (2) will be provided here.
Regarding claim 4, feature (2), Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1, comprising
(2) a proportion of the a total number of the agglomerates and the primary particles among a total number of the primary particles, the agglomerates and the aggregates is greater than or equal to 70% ((0128), "degree of aggregation 7%". The Examiner notes that a degree of aggregation of 7% corresponds to a proportion of primary particles greater than 70% (up to 100-7 = up to 93%)).
Regarding claim 5, Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1, wherein
the aggregates comprise the primary particles connected in a second connection manner (Troegel, see Fig. 2), and
the second connection manner comprises at least one of an embedding connection (see annotated Fig. 2).
Annotated FIG. 2 of Troegel
Regarding claim 6, Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1, further comprising
a coating layer (Troegel, (0102), "one or more coatings")
located on at least a part of a surface of the composite ((0102), "The surface of the Si/C composite particles can also be modified, by application ... of one or more coatings").
Regarding claim 7, the Examiner notes that claim 7 requires the features of (1) or (2). For the purposes of this Examination, the Examiner will treat feature (2) as optional, and therefore only an analysis of feature (1) will be provided here.
Regarding claim 7, feature (1), Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1, comprising
the coating layer comprises at least one of the following features:
the coating layer comprises at least one of a carbon layer (Troegel, (0102), "carbon coating").
Regarding claim 9, the Examiner notes that claim 9 requires the features of (1), (2), (3), or (4). For the purposes of this Examination, the Examiner will treat features (1), (2), and (4) as optional, and therefore only an analysis of feature (3) will be provided here.
Regarding claim 9, feature (3), Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1, comprising
at least one of following features (3)
(3) a porosity of the anode material is smaller than or equal to 10% (Troegel, (0103), "The resulting carbon coating on the Si/C composite particles preferably has a porosity of ≤2%").
Regarding claim 10, Troegel teaches a lithium ion battery ((0063), "lithium-ion batteries"), comprising
an anode material according to claim 1 ((0063), "Si/C composite particles which, used in anode active materials of lithium-ion batteries").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troegel.
Regarding claim 8, Troegel teaches the anode material according to claim 1.
Troegel is silent on precomposite particle size. However, Troegel discloses Si/C composite particles (understood to be agglomerated/aggregated) have “volume-weighted particle size distributions with diameter percentiles d.sub.50 of preferably ≥0.5 μm” [0091]. The lowest point of the range is therefore 500 nm. However, the composite Si/C can be understood to be secondary particles of the primary (precomposite particiles) and therefore the precomposite particles would include sizes smaller than 500 nm.
The Examiner notes that “the precomposite particles” of Troegel are considered to be the “primary particles” of the instant disclosure. See Troegel, [0067], “The precomposite particles are preferably in the form of core-shell particles. Polyacrylonitrile preferably forms the core. The shell is formed preferably by silicon particles and/or C additive”. See further [0073]-[0074], which teaches that the precomposite particles of Troegel are produced by mixing/milling proportions of silicon particles, PAN (polyacrylonitrile), and C additives.
Conclusion
/E.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752