DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06 February 2024 and 06 August 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; System architecture for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (Release 17)” (3GPP TS 23.501) in view of “Network Slice Admission Control Function (NSACF) services and procedures” (TS23.502 KI#2).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “a method for selecting (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) a network slice admission control function (NSACF), comprising: selecting an NSACF for a network slice based on service area information of the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 13-17: “The following factors may be considered by the NF consumer for NSACF selection: NSACF Serving Area information. The NSACF service area is related to the location of the NF consumer”), wherein the NSACF selected is used to monitor a number of created protocol data unit (PDU) sessions of the network slice” (Pg. 226; Section 5.15.11.0, lines 23-25: “The Network Slice Admission Control Function (NSACF) monitors and controls the number of registered UEs per network slice and the number of PDU Sessions per network slice for the network slices that are subject to Network Slice Admission Control (NSAC)”; Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 23-24: “Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”).
However, 3GPP TS 23.501 does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claim. To that end, TS23.502 KI#2 discloses: “performed by a first session management function (SMF) (Pg. 1, Section 4.2.11.x: “the SMF selects the target NSACF and triggers the procedures towards the target NSACF”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine 3GPP TS 23.501 with the invention of TS23.502 KI#2 in order to provide a session management function (e.g., see TS23.502 KI#2 a Section 4.2.11.x).
With respect to claim 2, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “the service area information comprises any one or more of: a tracking area identity list; service area information (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, line 17: “NSACF Serving Area information. The NSACF service area is related to the location of the NF consumer”); or service area information of one or more user plane functions (UPFs) controlled by the SMF”.
In addition, TS23.502 KI#2 discloses: “the SMF” (Pg. 1, Section 4.2.11.x: “the SMF selects the target NSACF and triggers the procedures towards the target NSACF”).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “selecting the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) for the network slice comprises: maintaining the NSACF selected to be selected for the network slice in case an NSACF has been selected for the network slice and the service area information of the NSACF indicates that the NSACF selected is capable of being used for the network slice” (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 21-27: “NSACF service capabilities: Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”; “Support monitoring and controlling the number of established PDU Sessions per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”).
With respect to claim 4, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “selecting the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) for the network slice comprises: selecting an NSACF for the network slice from a plurality of NSACFs selected (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 1-2: “Multiple instances of NSACF may be deployed in a network. One NSACF may be responsible for one or more SNSSAis in a service area”) in case the plurality of NSACFs have been selected for the network slice and service area information of the plurality of NSACFs indicates that the plurality of the NSACFs selected are capable of being used for the network slice” (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 23-24: “NSACF service capabilities: Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”).
With respect to claim 5, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “selecting the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) for the network slice from the plurality of the NSACFs selected comprises: selecting an NSACF for the network slice from the plurality of the NSACFs selected based on service capability of the NSACF; wherein the service capability comprises at least one of: a first service capability that supports monitoring a number of registered user equipments (UEs) of the network slice, and/or a second service capability that supports monitoring a number of the created PDU sessions of the network slice” (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 21-27: “NSACF service capabilities: Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”; “Support monitoring and controlling the number of established PDU Sessions per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”).
With respect to claim 6, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: selecting an NSACF not belonging to one or more NSACFs selected for the network slice in case the one or more NSACFs have been selected for the network slice and service area information of the one or more NSACFs indicates that the one or more NSACFs selected are not used for the network slice” (Pg. 226; Section 5.15.11.0, lines 23-25: “The Network Slice Admission Control Function (NSACF) monitors and controls the number of registered UEs per network slice and the number of PDU Sessions per network slice for the network slices that are subject to Network Slice Admission Control (NSAC)”; Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 23-24: “Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “in case an operator service area policy exists, selecting the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) for the network slice comprises: selecting an NSACF for the network slice based on the service area information of the NSACF and the operator service area policy; wherein the operator service area policy comprises a specific rule formulated by an operator to perform NSACF selection based on the service area information” (Pg. 226; Section 5.15.11.0, lines 32-35: “Subject to operator policy and national/regional regulations, the AMF may exempt from NSAC the network slices that the AMF has determined to include Emergency, Critical and Priority services (e.g. MCS, MPS). When the Registration Type indicates Emergency Registration or the establishment cause is associated with priority services (e.g. MPS, MCS), for the S-NSSAI to be subject to NSAC, or has been included in the Allowed NSSAI and is subject to NSAC, if the SNSSAI is included in the Emergency Configuration Data, the AMF decides that the S-NSSAI may be exempt from NSAC”).
With respect to claim 8, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “the operator service area policy is pre-configured in at least one of the first SMF and a network repository function (NRF)” (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 10-11: “selects an NSACF instance based on the available NSACF instances, which are obtained from the NRF”).
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “selecting the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) for the network slice comprises: selecting an NSACF for the network slice from registered NSACFs of the NRF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 10-11: “selects an NSACF instance based on the available NSACF instances, which are obtained from the NRF”), wherein the NRF stores configuration information of the registered NSACFs, and the configuration information comprises single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and service area information of the registered NSACFs” (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 13-17: “for NSACF selection: S-NSSAI(s). NSACF Serving Area information. The NSACF service area is related to the location of the NF consumer”).
With respect to claim 10, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “selecting the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) for the network slice comprises: the configuration information comprises single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and service area information of the pre-configured registered NSACFs”. (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines 13-17: “for NSACF selection: S-NSSAI(s). NSACF Serving Area information. The NSACF service area is related to the location of the NF consumer”).
In addition, TS23.502 KI#2 discloses: “selecting an NSACF for the network slice from pre-configured NSACFs of the first SMF, wherein the first SMF stores configuration information of the pre-configured NSACFs ) (Pg. 1, Section 4.2.11.x: “the SMF selects the target NSACF and triggers the procedures towards the target NSACF”).
Regarding claim 11, TS23.502 KI#2 discloses: “selecting the NSACF for the network slice comprises: selecting the NSACF for the network slice after receiving a PDU session creation request or a PDU session update request from a UE via an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the PDU session creation request and the a PDU session update request carry S-NSSAIs” (Pg. 1, Section 4.2.11.x: “PDU Session Establishment procedure or indicates that the number of PDU Sessions on S-NSSAI is to be decresed if the procedure is triggered at the end of PDU Sessions Release procedure”) .
With respect to claim 12, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “selecting the NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”).
In addition, TS23.502 KI#2 discloses: “sending a session number availability check and update request to the NSACF selected, wherein the session number availability check and update request comprises the S-NSSAIs and an update marker, and the update marker indicates to increase the number of the created PDU sessions (Pg. 3, Section 4.2.11.x; 2. Figure 4.2.x.2_1: Nnsacf_NumberOfPDUsPerSliceAvailabilityCheckAndUpdate_Request; l [2.]: “The SMF includes in the message the S-NSSAI for which the number of PDU Sessions per network slice update is required and update flag which indicates that number of PDUs established on the S-NSSAI is to be increased if the procedure is triggered at the beginning of PDU Session Establishment procedure of indicates that number of PDU Sessions on the S-NSSAI is to be decreased if the procedure is triggered at the end of PDU Sessions Release procedure”); and receiving a session number availability check and update response message from the NSACF selected, and performing PDU session creation or PDU session update according to the session number availability check and update response message” (Pg. 3, Section 4.2.11.x; 2. Figure 4.2.x.2_1: Nnsacf_NumberOfPDUsPerSliceAvailabilityCheckAndUpdate_Response; lines: [4.]: “The NSACF acknowledges the update to the SMF with Nnsacf_NumberOfPDUsPerSliceAvailabilityCheckAndUpdate_Response message. If the NSACF returned maximum number of PDU Sessions per network slice reached result, the SMF rejects the PDU Session establishment request with maximum number of PDU Sessions per network slice reached reject cause”).
With respect to claim 14, TS23.502 KI#2 discloses: “receiving a PDU session release request from a UE via an AMF, wherein the PDU session release request carries S-NSSAIs (Pg. 1, Section 4.2.11.x: “PDU Session Establishment procedure or indicates that the number of PDU Sessions on S-NSSAI is to be decresed if the procedure is triggered at the end of PDU Sessions Release procedure”); sending a session number availability check and update request to the NSACF selected for the network slice identified by the S-NSSAIs in response to the PDU session release request, wherein the session number availability check and update request comprises the S-NSSAIs and an update marker, and the update marker indicates to reduce the number of the created PDU sessions (Pg. 3, Section 4.2.11.x; 2. Figure 4.2.x.2_1: Nnsacf_NumberOfPDUsPerSliceAvailabilityCheckAndUpdate_Request;
[2]: “The SMF includes in the message the S-NSSAI for which the number of PDU Sessions per network slice update is required and update flag which indicates that number of PDUs established on the S-NSSAI is to be increased if the procedure is triggered at the beginning of PDU Session Establishment procedure of indicates that number of PDU Sessions on the S-NSSAI is to be decreased if the procedure is triggered at the end of PDU Sessions Release procedure”); and receiving a session number availability check and update response message from the NSACF selected, and performing PDU session release according to the session number availability check and update response message” (Pg. 3, Section 4.2.11.x; 2. Figure 4.2.x.2_1: Nnsacf_NumberOfPDUsPerSliceAvailabilityCheckAndUpdate_Response; lines: [4]: “The NSACF acknowledges the update to the SMF with Nnsacf_NumberOfPDUsPerSliceAvailabilityCheckAndUpdate_Response message. If the NSACF returned maximum number of PDU Sessions per network slice reached result, the SMF rejects the PDU Session establishment request with maximum number of PDU Sessions per network slice reached reject cause”).
Claims 29 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20240349218 (Atarius et al.) in view of 3GPP TS 23.501.
Regarding claim 29, Atarius et al. discloses: “a communication device ([0107]: “FIG. 7 depicts a UE apparatus 700 that may be used for registering to a congested network slice”), comprising: a transceiver (FIG. 7: 725); a memory (FIG. 7: 710); and a processor (FIG. 7: 705), respectively connected to the transceiver and the memory ([0107]: “Furthermore, the UE apparatus 700 may include a processor 705, a memory 710, an input device 715, an output device 720, and a transceiver 725”) and configured, by executing computer-executable instructions on the memory, to control wireless signal transmission and reception of the transceiver” ([0110]: “the processor 705 executes instructions stored in the memory 710 to perform the methods and routines described herein. The processor 705 is communicatively coupled to the memory 710, the input device 715, the output device 720, and the transceiver 725”).
However, Atarius et al. does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claim. To that end, 3GPP TS 23.501. discloses: select an NSACF for a network slice based on service area information of the NSACF, wherein the NSACF selected is used to monitor a number of created protocol data unit (PDU) sessions of the network slice” (Pg. 226; Section 5.15.11.0, lines X-Y: “The Network Slice Admission Control Function (NSACF) monitors and controls the number of registered UEs per network slice and the number of PDU Sessions per network slice for the network slices that are subject to Network Slice Admission Control (NSAC)”; Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines X-Y: “Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Atarius et al. with the invention of 3GPP TS 23.501 in order to provide a session management function (e.g., see 3GPP TS 23.501. @ Section 5.15.11.0).
Regarding claim 31, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “the service area information comprises any one or more of: a tracking area identity list; service area information of a session management function (SMF) (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines X-Y: “NSACF Serving Area information. The NSACF service area is related to the location of the NF consumer”); or service area information of one or more user plane functions (UPFs) controlled by the SMF”.
With respect to claim 32, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “the processor is further configured to: maintain the NSACF selected to be selected for the network slice in case an NSACF has
been selected for the network slice and the service area information of the NSACF indicates that the NSACF selected is capable of being used for the network slice” (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines X-Y: “NSACF service capabilities: Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”; “Support monitoring and controlling the number of established PDU Sessions per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”).
Regarding claim 33, 3GPP TS 23.501 discloses: “the processor is further configured to:
select an NSACF (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22: “NSACF discovery and selection”) for the network slice from a plurality of NSACFs selected in case the plurality of NSACFs have been selected for the network slice and service area information of the plurality of NSACFs indicates that the plurality of the NSACFs selected are capable of being used for the network slice” . (Pg. 440; Section 6.3.22, lines X-Y: “NSACF service capabilities: Support monitoring and controlling the number of registered UEs per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”; “Support monitoring and controlling the number of established PDU Sessions per network slice for the network slice that is subject to NSAC”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 34 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Myron Wyche/ 06 March 2026
Primary Examiner AU2644