DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on September 3, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-5, 14, 17-18 and 27 have been amended. Claims 6-8, 12-13, 19-21, 25-26, 29-39 and 42-79 were previously canceled. Claims 2-3, 9, 15-16, 22, 28 and 41 are newly canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1, 4-5, 10-11, 14, 17-18, 23-24, 27 and 40 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 14, 27 and 40 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 10-11, 14, 17-18, 23-24, 27 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0333460), hereinafter referred to as Xiao in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0207731), hereinafter referred to as Park.
Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches a resource indication method, comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (the UE may receive the configuration information of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set from the BS; See [0073]), the DCI comprising multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) fields (first and second SRI fields; See [0074]);
determining the bit width of the first SRI field based on the number of resources comprised in an SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (the UE may determine that a first bit width of an SRI field in DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and a second bit width of an SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit. It is assumed that two SRS resource sets are configured for a UE for CB based PUSCH transmission, and the first SRS resource set contains two SRS resources and the second SRS resource set contains one SRS resource. In the case that the first SRI field is associated with the first SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.m,SRS, and the second SRI field is associated with the second SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.2,SRS, the first SRI field is 1 bit and the second SRI field is 0 bit; See [0144] and [0151]); or in case that numbers of resources comprised in the multiple SRS resource sets are the same, determining the bit width of the first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields based on the number of resources comprised in one SRS resource set among the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers; or determining a bit width of a first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields based on a maximum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of multiple SRS resource sets and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission lavers.
While Xiao teaches of having SRS resources and resource sets (See [0072]), it fails to explicitly teach of determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets.
Park teaches determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field (the UE transmits an uplink to the base station by applying precoding indicated by the precoding indication on an antenna port of an SRS transmitted in an SRS resource selected by the SRI, suggesting that the resource is determined before the transmitting occurs; See [0450]) and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (In the case of the codebook-based UL, multiple SRS resource sets may be configured in the UE. Only one SRS resource may be configured in each SRS resource set; See [0634]-[0635]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Xiao to include determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets taught by Park in order to enhance uplink transmission throughput.
Regarding claim 4, Xiao further teaches the resource indication method of claim 1, wherein determining the bit width of the first SRI field based on the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets comprises:
determining the bit width of the first SRI field based on the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers; or
wherein determining the bit width of the first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields based on the number of resources comprised in at least one SRS resource set among multiple SRS resource sets comprises: determining the bit width of the first SRI field based on a maximum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets (the BS and the UE may determine the first bit width of the first SRI field based on a maximum number of SRS resource(s) configured in the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, N.sub.m,SRS. That is, N.sub.m,SRS=max(N.sub.1,SRS, N.sub.2,SRS), wherein N.sub.1,SRS is the number of SRS resource(s) in the first SRS resource set and N.sub.2,SRS is the number of SRS resource(s) in the second SRS resource set; See [0096]); or
wherein determining the bit width of the first SRI field based on the maximum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets comprises: determining the bit width of the first SRI field based on the maximum value among the numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers.
Regarding claim 5, Xiao fails to teach the resource indication method of claim 1, wherein among the multiple SRI fields comprised in the DCI, a second SRI field indicates the number of transmission layers and SRS resources corresponding to the second SRI field, and SRI fields other than the second SRI field among the multiple SRI fields indicate SRS resources corresponding to the number of transmission layers; and the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets.
Park teaches wherein among the multiple SRI fields comprised in the DCI, a second SRI field indicates the number of transmission layers and SRS resources corresponding to the second SRI field, and SRI fields other than the second SRI field among the multiple SRI fields indicate SRS resources corresponding to the number of transmission layers (a bit width of an SRI field carrying the SRI may be determined based on a number of SRS resources in an SRS resource set configured to the UE and a maximum number of layers supported for uplink transmission; See [0019]); and the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (In the case of the codebook-based UL, multiple SRS resource sets may be configured in the UE. Only one SRS resource may be configured in each SRS resource set; See [0634]-[0635]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Xiao to include wherein among the multiple SRI fields comprised in the DCI, a second SRI field indicates the number of transmission layers and SRS resources corresponding to the second SRI field, and SRI fields other than the second SRI field among the multiple SRI fields indicate SRS resources corresponding to the number of transmission layers; and the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets taught by Park in order to enhance uplink transmission throughput.
Regarding claim 10, Xiao further teaches the resource indication method of claim 1, wherein a bit width of a third SRI field other than the first SRI field among the multiple SRI fields is determined based on at least one of the number of resources comprised in an SRS resource set corresponding to the third SRI field (the UE may determine that a first bit width of an SRI field in DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and a second bit width of an SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit. It is assumed that two SRS resource sets are configured for a UE for CB based PUSCH transmission, and the first SRS resource set contains two SRS resources and the second SRS resource set contains one SRS resource. In the case that the first SRI field is associated with the first SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.m,SRS, and the second SRI field is associated with the second SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.2,SRS, the first SRI field is 1 bit and the second SRI field is 0 bit; See [0144] and [0151]), a minimum value among the numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets, and a maximum number of transmission layers.
Regarding claim 11, Xiao further teaches the resource indication method of claim 1, wherein a coding scheme of the first SRI field is determined based on the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set to which the SRS resource indicated by the first SRI field belongs and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers; or wherein the multiple SRI fields in the DCI are in one-to-one correspondence with the multiple SRS resource sets; or
wherein the multiple SRI fields in the DCI are in one-to-one correspondence with the multiple SRS resource sets (the UE may determine that a first bit width of an SRI field in DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and a second bit width of an SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit; See [0144]); or
wherein usage types of the multiple SRS resource sets are consistent; or
uplink transmission schemes corresponding to the multiple SRS resource sets are consistent.
Regarding claim 14, Xiao teaches a resource indication method, comprising:
determining downlink control information (DCI) (implied by the fact that the base station transmits the DCI with the SRI fields; See [0072], [0075] and [0144]), wherein the DCI comprises multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) fields (DCI comprises first and second SRI fields; See [0075]), wherein a bit width of a first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields is determined based on the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (The BS may also determine that the first bit width of the SRI field in the DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and the second bit width of the SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit. In the case that the first SRI field is associated with the first SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.m,SRS, and the second SRI field is associated with the second SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.2,SRS, the first SRI field is 1 bit and the second SRI field is 0 bit; See [0144] and [0151]); or in case that numbers of resources comprised in the multiple SRS resource sets are the same, a bit width of a first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields is determined based on a number of resources comprised in one SRS resource set among the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers; or a bit width of a first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields is determined based on a maximum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of multiple SRS resource sets and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission lavers; and
transmitting the DCI (the BS may transmit configuration information of a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set for a codebook or a non-codebook based PUSCH transmission to the UE; See [0072]).
While Xiao teaches of having SRS resources and resource sets (See [0072]), it fails to explicitly teach of determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets.
Park teaches determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field (the UE transmits an uplink to the base station by applying precoding indicated by the precoding indication on an antenna port of an SRS transmitted in an SRS resource selected by the SRI, suggesting that the resource is determined before the transmitting occurs; See [0450]) and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (In the case of the codebook-based UL, multiple SRS resource sets may be configured in the UE. Only one SRS resource may be configured in each SRS resource set; See [0634]-[0635]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Xiao to include determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets taught by Park in order to enhance uplink transmission throughput.
Regarding claim 17, Xiao further teaches the resource indication method of claim 14, wherein the bit width of the first SRI field is determined based on the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers; or
wherein the bit width of the first SRI field is determined based on a maximum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets (the BS and the UE may determine the first bit width of the first SRI field based on a maximum number of SRS resource(s) configured in the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, N.sub.m,SRS. That is, N.sub.m,SRS=max(N.sub.1,SRS, N.sub.2,SRS), wherein N.sub.1,SRS is the number of SRS resource(s) in the first SRS resource set and N.sub.2,SRS is the number of SRS resource(s) in the second SRS resource set; See [0096]); or
wherein the bit width of the first SRI field is determined based on the maximum value among the numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers.
Regarding claim 18, Xiao fails to teach the resource indication method of claim 14, wherein among the multiple SRI fields comprised in the DCI, a second SRI field indicates the number of transmission layers and SRS resources corresponding to the second SRI field, and SRI fields other than the second SRI field among the multiple SRI fields indicate SRS resources corresponding to the number of transmission layers; and the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets.
Park teaches wherein among the multiple SRI fields comprised in the DCI, a second SRI field indicates the number of transmission layers and SRS resources corresponding to the second SRI field, and SRI fields other than the second SRI field among the multiple SRI fields indicate SRS resources corresponding to the number of transmission layers (a bit width of an SRI field carrying the SRI may be determined based on a number of SRS resources in an SRS resource set configured to the UE and a maximum number of layers supported for uplink transmission; See [0019]); and the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (In the case of the codebook-based UL, multiple SRS resource sets may be configured in the UE. Only one SRS resource may be configured in each SRS resource set; See [0634]-[0635]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Xiao to include wherein among the multiple SRI fields comprised in the DCI, a second SRI field indicates the number of transmission layers and SRS resources corresponding to the second SRI field, and SRI fields other than the second SRI field among the multiple SRI fields indicate SRS resources corresponding to the number of transmission layers; and the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the second SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets taught by Park in order to enhance uplink transmission throughput.
Regarding claim 23, Xiao further teaches the resource indication method of claim 14, wherein a bit width of a third SRI field other than the first SRI field among the multiple SRI fields is determined based on at least one of the number of resources comprised in an SRS resource set corresponding to the third SRI field (the UE may determine that a first bit width of an SRI field in DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and a second bit width of an SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit. It is assumed that two SRS resource sets are configured for a UE for CB based PUSCH transmission, and the first SRS resource set contains two SRS resources and the second SRS resource set contains one SRS resource. In the case that the first SRI field is associated with the first SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.m,SRS, and the second SRI field is associated with the second SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.2,SRS, the first SRI field is 1 bit and the second SRI field is 0 bit; See [0144] and [0151]), a minimum value among the numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets, and a maximum number of transmission layers.
Regarding claim 24, Xiao further teaches the resource indication method of claim 14, wherein a coding scheme of the first SRI field is determined based on the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set to which the SRS resource indicated by the first SRI field belongs and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers; or
wherein the multiple SRI fields in the DCI are in one-to-one correspondence with the multiple SRS resource sets (the UE may determine that a first bit width of an SRI field in DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and a second bit width of an SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit; See [0144]); or
wherein usage types of the multiple SRS resource sets are consistent; or
uplink transmission schemes corresponding to the multiple SRS resource sets are consistent.
Regarding claim 27, Xiao teaches a terminal (See Fig. 2 and 5), comprising:
a processor (processor; See Fig.5, #508 and [0169]), a memory storing a computer program (computer-readable medium; See Fig. 5, #502 and [0169]), a transceiver for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor (transmitting and receiving circuitry; See Fig. 5, #504 and #506 and [0169]), the computer program, in case that executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the processor to perform the following operations:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (the UE may receive the configuration information of the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set from the BS; See [0073]), the DCI comprising multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) fields (first and second SRI fields; See [0074]); and
determining the bit width of the first SRI field based on the number of resources comprised in an SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (the UE may determine that a first bit width of an SRI field in DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and a second bit width of an SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit. It is assumed that two SRS resource sets are configured for a UE for CB based PUSCH transmission, and the first SRS resource set contains two SRS resources and the second SRS resource set contains one SRS resource. In the case that the first SRI field is associated with the first SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.m,SRS, and the second SRI field is associated with the second SRS resource set and has a bit width determined based on N.sub.2,SRS, the first SRI field is 1 bit and the second SRI field is 0 bit; See [0144] and [0151]); or in case that numbers of resources comprised in the multiple SRS resource sets are the same, determining the bit width of the first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields based on the number of resources comprised in one SRS resource set among the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission layers; or determining a bit width of a first SRI field in the multiple SRI fields based on a maximum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of multiple SRS resource sets and at least one of a minimum value among numbers of resources comprised in each of the multiple SRS resource sets and a maximum number of transmission lavers.
While Xiao teaches of having SRS resources and resource sets (See [0072]), it fails to explicitly teach of determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets.
Park teaches determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field (the UE transmits an uplink to the base station by applying precoding indicated by the precoding indication on an antenna port of an SRS transmitted in an SRS resource selected by the SRI, suggesting that the resource is determined before the transmitting occurs; See [0450]) and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets (In the case of the codebook-based UL, multiple SRS resource sets may be configured in the UE. Only one SRS resource may be configured in each SRS resource set; See [0634]-[0635]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Xiao to include determining an SRS resource corresponding to an uplink transmission based on the bit width of the first SRI field and wherein the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field is equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field among the multiple SRS resource sets taught by Park in order to enhance uplink transmission throughput.
Regarding claim 40, Xiao teaches a network side device (See Figs. 2, and 5 and [0172]), comprising a processor (processor; See Fig.5, #508 and [0169]), a memory storing a computer program (computer-readable medium; See Fig. 5, #502 and [0169]), a transceiver for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor (transmitting and receiving circuitry; See Fig. 5, #504 and #506 and [0169]), the computer program, in case that executed by the processor of the network side device, causes the processor to perform the resource indication method of claim 14 (determining the DCI implied by the fact that the base station transmits the DCI with the SRI fields. The BS also needs to determine the first bit width and the second bit width. That is, after transmitting the configuration information, in step 203, the BS may determine the first bit width of the first SRI field and the second bit width of the second SRI field in the DCI. The BS may also determine that the first bit width of the SRI field in the DCI associated with the one SRS resource set (which includes more than one SRS resource) is no less than 1 bit, and the second bit width of the SRI field in the DCI associated with the other SRS resource set (which includes only one SRS resource) is 0 bit. The BS may transmit configuration information of a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set for a codebook or a non-codebook based PUSCH transmission to the UE; See [0072], [0075] and [0144]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-12 of the Applicants’ Response, Applicants state that Xiao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0333460), hereinafter referred to as Xiao in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0207731), hereinafter referred to as Park fails to teach configuring the number of resources comprised in the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field equal to or greater than the number of resources comprised in each of SRS resource sets other than the SRS resource set corresponding to the first SRI field.
Examiner respectfully disagrees in that Park teaches that there can be one resource for each resource set. With this broadest reasonable interpretation taken, that would mean that regardless of the SRI field, all the resource sets would have the same number of resources. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 9/30/2026