DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ arguments and amendments filed 4/21/2026 with respect to claims 1, 6 and 18 have been considered but they are mooted in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 12, 15, 16, 18, 20, 24, 27, 28, 30, 32, 34 and 53 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 15, 18, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0045826; hereinafter Huang) in view of Meylan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0124781; hereinafter Meylan).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a dynamic data transmission method, applied to a terminal (see Fig. 5, UE 104), comprising: determining dynamic resource indication information associated with semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmitted from a network side device, wherein the dynamic resource indication information is downlink control information (DCI) signaling associated with SPS, and resource allocation information is carried through the DCI signaling (see para. 0038,… require a DCI message (e.g., SPS activation DCI) to dynamically indicate a resource (e.g., Resource A or first resource) for the first SPS message…para. 0040, 0063 – 0064, the base station 102 may transmit an activation message 210 (ex: DCI message) to activate SPS PDSCH transmissions to the UE 104…The activation message 210 may include one or more parameters for the UE 104 to respond to the activation message 210 and to receive SPS transmissions 220. For example, the parameters may include one or more of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a DL transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a DL SPS time/frequency allocation…).
Huang does not disclose the following claimed features: regarding claim 1, receiving dynamic data based on the dynamic resource indication information during a discontinuous reception (DRX)-off period.
Regarding claim 1, Meylan discloses receiving dynamic data based on the dynamic resource indication information during a discontinuous reception (DRX)-off period (see para. 0092, When dynamic scheduling is used, a base station 105 may dynamically schedule sets of communication resources using corresponding DCI messages and may schedule communication resources that occur in the DRX-Off interval to support an amount of data to be transmitted to/from a UE 115).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang, and have the features, as taught by Meylan, in order to use HARQ technique to improve reliability of communications between wireless devices, as discussed by Meylan (para. 0093).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses a dynamic data transmission method, applied to a network side device (see Fig. 7, base station 102), comprising: configuring dynamic resource indication information associated with semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) for a terminal, wherein the dynamic resource indication information is downlink control information (DCI) signaling associated with SPS, and resource allocation information is carried through the DCI signaling (see para. 0038,… require a DCI message (e.g., SPS activation DCI) to dynamically indicate a resource (e.g., Resource A or first resource) for the first SPS message…para. 0040, 0063 – 0064, the base station 102 may transmit an activation message 210 (ex: DCI message) to activate SPS PDSCH transmissions to the UE 104…The activation message 210 may include one or more parameters for the UE 104 to respond to the activation message 210 and to receive SPS transmissions 220. For example, the parameters may include one or more of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a DL transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a DL SPS time/frequency allocation…).
Huang does not disclose the following claimed features: regarding claim 6, indicating dynamic data transmission by using the dynamic resource indication information during a discontinuous reception (DRX)-off period.
Regarding claim 6, Meylan discloses indicating dynamic data transmission by using the dynamic resource indication information during a discontinuous reception (DRX)-off period (see para. 0092, When dynamic scheduling is used, a base station 105 may dynamically schedule sets of communication resources using corresponding DCI messages and may schedule communication resources that occur in the DRX-Off interval to support an amount of data to be transmitted to/from a UE 115).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang, and have the features, as taught by Meylan, in order to use HARQ technique to improve reliability of communications between wireless devices, as discussed by Meylan (para. 0093).
Huang does not disclose the claimed features of claim 15.
Regarding claim 15, Meylan discloses further comprising: transmitting a dynamic transmission indicator to the terminal, wherein the dynamic transmission indicator is configured for indicating the terminal that the network side device performs dynamic data transmission (see para. 0087, a base station 105 may dynamically schedule a UE 115 using DCI signaling… the base station 105 may allocate a quantity of uplink resources having a capacity that matches (or nearly matches) a size of data to be transmitted from the UE 115).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang, and have the features, as taught by Meylan, in order to use HARQ technique to improve reliability of communications between wireless devices, as discussed by Meylan (para. 0093).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses a network side device, comprising a memory storing a computer program, a processor, a transceiver for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor, where the computer program, when executed by the processor of the network side device, causes the network side device to perform the following operations (see Fig. 7, base station 102 includes processor(s) 712, transceiver 702, and memory 716 for storing application(s) 775 to be executed…) of: configuring dynamic resource indication information associated with semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) for a terminal, wherein the dynamic resource indication information is downlink control information (DCI) signaling associated with SPS, and resource allocation information is carried through the DCI signaling (see para. 0038,… require a DCI message (e.g., SPS activation DCI) to dynamically indicate a resource (e.g., Resource A or first resource) for the first SPS message…para. 0040, 0063 – 0064, the base station 102 may transmit an activation message 210 (ex: DCI message) to activate SPS PDSCH transmissions to the UE 104…The activation message 210 may include one or more parameters for the UE 104 to respond to the activation message 210 and to receive SPS transmissions 220. For example, the parameters may include one or more of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a DL transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, a DL SPS time/frequency allocation…).
Huang does not disclose the following claimed features: regarding claim 18, indicating dynamic data transmission by using the dynamic resource indication information during a discontinuous reception (DRX)-off period.
Regarding claim 18, Meylan discloses indicating dynamic data transmission by using the dynamic resource indication information during a discontinuous reception (DRX)-off period (see para. 0092, When dynamic scheduling is used, a base station 105 may dynamically schedule sets of communication resources using corresponding DCI messages and may schedule communication resources that occur in the DRX-Off interval to support an amount of data to be transmitted to/from a UE 115).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang, and have the features, as taught by Meylan, in order to use HARQ technique to improve reliability of communications between wireless devices, as discussed by Meylan (para. 0093).
Huang does not disclose the claimed features of claim 27.
Regarding claim 27, Meylan discloses wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor of the network side device, causes the network side device to further perform the following operation of: transmitting a dynamic transmission indicator to the terminal, wherein the dynamic transmission indicator is configured for indicating the terminal that the network side device performs dynamic data transmission (see para. 0087, a base station 105 may dynamically schedule a UE 115 using DCI signaling… the base station 105 may allocate a quantity of uplink resources having a capacity that matches (or nearly matches) a size of data to be transmitted from the UE 115).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang, and have the features, as taught by Meylan, in order to use HARQ technique to improve reliability of communications between wireless devices, as discussed by Meylan (para. 0093).
Regarding claim 30, Huang discloses a terminal, comprising a memory storing a computer program, a processor, and a transceiver receiving and transmitting data under control of the processor, where the computer program, when executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the terminal to perform the method of claim 1 (see Fig. 5, UE 104 includes processor(s) 512 coupled to transceiver 502 and memory 516 for storing application(s) 575 to be executed..).
Claims 3, 32 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0045826; hereinafter Huang) in view of Meylan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0124781; hereinafter Meylan) and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0397227; hereinafter Wang).
Huang and Meylan do not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 3, 32 and 53.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses further comprising: determining monitoring position information for the DCI signaling. wherein determining the monitoring position information for the DCI signaling comprises: determining a monitoring start time for the DCI signaling (see para. 0041, 0112, determine the time-domain start position for receiving the first DCI); or, determining a monitoring start time and a duration of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling; or, determining a monitoring start time and a monitoring end time of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling.
Regarding claim 32, Wang discloses wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the terminal to further perform the following operation of: determining monitoring position information for the DCI signaling, wherein the determining the monitoring position information for the DCI signaling comprises: determining a monitoring start time for the DCI signaling (see para. 0041, 0112, determine the time-domain start position for receiving the first DCI); or, determining a monitoring start time and a duration of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling; or, determining a monitoring start time and a monitoring end time of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling.
Regarding claim 53, Wang discloses wherein the monitoring position information further comprises one or more of the following information: a time point associated with SPS; and an independent time point (see para. 0112, time-domain start position), wherein the time point associated with SPS is one or more of the following: a time point associated with an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); a time point associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledge (ACK) for an SPS PDSCH; and a time point associated with expiring of an SPS PDSCH round trip time (RTT) timer.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and Meylan, and have the features, as taught by Wang, where the PUCCH resource identifier can be determined according to the higher-layer configuration information and the DCI, which can improve the accuracy of determining the PUCCH resource identifier, as discussed by Wang (para. 0151).
Claims 5, 16, 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0045826; hereinafter Huang) in view of Meylan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0124781; hereinafter Meylan) and further in view of Tseng et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0176471; hereinafter Tseng).
Huang and Meylan do not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 5, 16, 28 and 34.
Regarding claim 5, Tseng discloses further comprising: receiving a stop indicator transmitted from the network side device, wherein the stop indicator is configured for indicating the terminal that the network side device stops dynamic data transmission (see para. 0006, 0049, Stop MTCH values in a Dynamic Scheduling Information (DSI) MAC control element…The Stop MTCH field indicates the ordinal number of the subframe within the MCH scheduling period where the corresponding MTCH stops. The special Stop MTCH value 2047 indicates that the corresponding MTCH is not scheduled).
Regarding claim 16, Tseng discloses further comprising: transmitting a stop indicator to the terminal, wherein the stop indicator is configured for indicating the terminal that the network side device stops dynamic data transmission, wherein the stop indicator is carried through L1 signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (see para. 0006, 0049, Stop MTCH values in a Dynamic Scheduling Information (DSI) MAC control element…The Stop MTCH field indicates the ordinal number of the subframe within the MCH scheduling period where the corresponding MTCH stops. The special Stop MTCH value 2047 indicates that the corresponding MTCH is not scheduled), a power saving signal or higher layer signaling.
Regarding claim 28, Tseng discloses wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor of the network side device, causes the network side device to further perform the following operation of: transmitting a stop indicator to the terminal, wherein the stop indicator is configured for indicating the terminal that the network side device stops dynamic data transmission, wherein the stop indicator is carried through L1 signaling, media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling (see para. 0006, 0049, Stop MTCH values in a Dynamic Scheduling Information (DSI) MAC control element…The Stop MTCH field indicates the ordinal number of the subframe within the MCH scheduling period where the corresponding MTCH stops. The special Stop MTCH value 2047 indicates that the corresponding MTCH is not scheduled), a power saving signal or higher layer signaling.
Regarding claim 34, Tseng discloses wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the terminal to further perform the following operation of: receiving a stop indicator transmitted from the network side device, wherein the stop indicator is configured for indicating the terminal that the network side device stops dynamic data transmission (see para. 0006, 0049, Stop MTCH values in a Dynamic Scheduling Information (DSI) MAC control element…The Stop MTCH field indicates the ordinal number of the subframe within the MCH scheduling period where the corresponding MTCH stops. The special Stop MTCH value 2047 indicates that the corresponding MTCH is not scheduled).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and Meylan, and have the features, as taught by Tseng, in order to receive a MTCH associated to LCID field which is paired with a Stop MTCH field having a reserved value and to prevent UE malfunction or reduce power consumption, as discussed by Tseng (para. 0057).
Claims 8, 12, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0045826; hereinafter Huang) in view of Meylan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0124781; hereinafter Meylan) and further in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0328751; hereinafter Zhang).
Huang and Meylan do not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 8, 12, 20 and 24.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses further comprising: configuring monitoring position information for the DCI signaling for the terminal, wherein the monitoring position information comprises one or more of the following information: monitoring position information semi-statically configured through higher layer signaling (see para. 0008, 0123, 0156, the UE has to blindly detect any one or more of the DCIs that are usually semi-statically configured by the network, para. 0113, semi-static higher layer signaling may be included); and monitoring position information dynamically adjusted based on first information (see para. 0158 – 0159, 0165, A BS can dynamically schedule the PDCCH candidate to carry the first stage DCI message… The parameters and/or operation option configurations for the provided method can, for example, be transmitted to the UE using semi-static signalling, dynamic signaling); wherein in case that the monitoring position information comprises the monitoring position information configured semi-statically through the higher layer signaling, the configuring the monitoring position information for the DCI signaling for the terminal comprises: configuring a monitoring start time for the DCI signaling for the terminal (see para. 0156, the UE may be predefined or semi-statically (e.g., RRC) configured to monitor PDCCH channel for possible DCI message(s) in a time instant/occasion (e.g., at the beginning of a slot)); or, configuring a monitoring start time and a duration of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling for the terminal; or, configuring a monitoring start time and a monitoring end time of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling for the terminal, wherein the duration is determined by one or more of the following: carrying in L1 signaling; carrying in a media access control (MAC) layer signaling; carrying in higher layer signaling; and a monitoring timer.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the monitoring position information further comprises one or more of the following information: a time point associated with SPS; and an independent time point (see para. 0156, … in a time instant/occasion (e.g., at the beginning of a slot)), wherein the time point associated with SPS is one or more of the following: a time point associated with an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); a time point associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledge (ACK) for an SPS PDSCH; and a time point associated with expiring of an SPS PDSCH round trip time (RTT) timer, wherein a time unit of an offset value of the monitoring position information relative to the time point is a slot, a span, a symbol or millisecond.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor of the network side device, causes the network side device to further perform the following operation: configuring monitoring position information for the DCI signaling for the terminal, wherein the monitoring position information comprises one or more of the following information: monitoring position information semi-statically configured through higher layer signaling (see para. 0008, 0123, 0156, the UE has to blindly detect any one or more of the DCIs that are usually semi-statically configured by the network, para. 0113, semi-static higher layer signaling may be included); and monitoring position information dynamically adjusted based on first information (see para. 0158 – 0159, 0165, A BS can dynamically schedule the PDCCH candidate to carry the first stage DCI message… The parameters and/or operation option configurations for the provided method can, for example, be transmitted to the UE using semi-static signalling, dynamic signaling), wherein in case that the monitoring position information comprises the monitoring position information configured semi-statically through the higher layer signaling, configuring the monitoring position information for the DCI signaling for the terminal comprises: configuring a monitoring start time for the DCI signaling for the terminal (see para. 0156, the UE may be predefined or semi-statically (e.g., RRC) configured to monitor PDCCH channel for possible DCI message(s) in a time instant/occasion (e.g., at the beginning of a slot)); or, configuring a monitoring start time and a duration of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling for the terminal; or, configuring a monitoring start time and a monitoring end time of a monitoring window for the DCI signaling for the terminal, wherein the duration is determined by one or more of the following: carrying in L1 signaling; carrying in a media access control (MAC) layer signaling; carrying in higher layer signaling; and a monitoring timer.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang discloses wherein the monitoring position information further comprises one or more of the following information: a time point associated with SPS; and an independent time point (see para. 0156, … in a time instant/occasion (e.g., at the beginning of a slot)), wherein the time point associated with SPS is one or more of the following: a time point associated with an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); a time point associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledge (ACK) for an SPS PDSCH; and a time point associated with expiring of an SPS PDSCH round trip time (RTT) timer, wherein a time unit of an offset value of the monitoring position information relative to the time point is a slot, a span, a symbol or millisecond.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and Meylan, and have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to provide for significant energy/power saving as well as computational complexity saving for the UE, as discussed by Zhang (para. 0160).
Conclusion
/ANH NGOC M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473