DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 05/27/2026.
Claims 1-4, 11-15, 22-25, 32-36 are pending of which claims 1, 12 and 22 are the base independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant alleged that the system of “Wu’420” fails to show or merely suggest “a fourth transceiving mechanism representing a wake-up signal (WUS)” as recited by applicant on page “39 of 43 ”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the system of “Wu’420” explicitly teaches the above limitation.
Wu’420 teaches, see para.0142, the network-side device can configure whether the terminal performs the default behavior through RRC information. In this way, after the terminal receives the RRC information configured by the network-side device, it can determine the specific behavior based on the RRC information, see para.0143, the default behavior mentioned above can include all or some of the send and receive operations…, thus send and receiving operations include at least fourth transceiving mechanism (i.e. fourth transceiving mechanism), see para.0004, Network-side devices can use power-saving control information to notify the terminal to send or receive during a DRX cycle, or to notify the terminal to skip the DRX cycle, i.e., not to send or receive during the DRX Onduration (discontinuous reception duration), see para.0036, the network-side device 12 can transmit control information to the terminal 11 through the control channel...If terminal 11 detects the control information, or if terminal 11 detects the control information and instructs the terminal to perform PDCCH listening during the DRX Onduration of the DRX cycle, then terminal 11 may start the discontinuous reception duration timer DRX OnDurationTimer, or perform PDCCH listening during the DRX OnDuration of the DRX cycle.
Otherwise, if terminal 11 does not start DRX OndurationTimer, or does not listen to PDCCH during DRX OnDuration in the DRX cycle, the control information that transmits the above information can be considered a wake-up signal, which is a type of energy-saving control information, thus the control information as wake-up is used for indicating sending/receiving(transceiving) operation/mechanisnm (i.e. representing a wake-up signal (WUS)). Thus, the claimed limitation is met.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant alleged that the system of “Wu’420” fails to show or merely suggest In the present application, the configuration information transmitted from the network device to the terminal includes information corresponding to at least two transceiving mechanisms. Wu fails to disclose information corresponding to at least two transceiving mechanisms of CSI measurement and/or reporting, DRX, and WUS in a single message. Therefore, Wu fails to disclose the amended claim 1 of the present application” as recited by applicant on page “40 of 43 ”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the system of “Wu’420” explicitly teaches the above limitation.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., information corresponding to at least two transceiving mechanisms of CSI measurement and/or reporting, DRX, and WUS in a single message) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Wu’420 teaches, see para.0142, the network-side device can configure whether the terminal performs the default behavior through RRC information. In this way, after the terminal receives the RRC information configured by the network-side device, it can determine the specific behavior based on the RRC information, see para.0143, the default behavior mentioned above can include all or some of the send and receive operations…, these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous SRS transmission according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement, thus send and receiving operations include at least two transceiving mechanism (i.e. configuration information corresponding to at least two transceiving mechanisms of CSI measurement and/or reporting), see para.0004, Network-side devices can use power-saving control information to notify the terminal to send or receive during a DRX cycle, or to notify the terminal to skip the DRX cycle, i.e., not to send or receive during the DRX Onduration (discontinuous reception duration), see para.0036, the network-side device 12 can transmit control information to the terminal 11 through the control channel...If terminal 11 detects the control information, or if terminal 11 detects the control information and instructs the terminal to perform PDCCH listening during the DRX Onduration of the DRX cycle, then terminal 11 may start the discontinuous reception duration timer DRX OnDurationTimer, or perform PDCCH listening during the DRX OnDuration of the DRX cycle.
Otherwise, if terminal 11 does not start DRX OndurationTimer, or does not listen to PDCCH during DRX OnDuration in the DRX cycle, the control information that transmits the above information can be considered a wake-up signal, which is a type of energy-saving control information, thus the control information as wake-up is used for indicating sending/receiving(transceiving) operation/mechanisnm (i.e. DRX, a wake-up signal (WUS)). Thus, the claimed limitation is met.
The Applicant argues, see page 41 of 43, that “the distinguishing features at least give rise to the technical effect that: the network device configures the transceiving mechanisms for at least two of: the CSI measurement and/or CSI reporting, DRX, or WUS, which solves a problem of coexistence of multiple mechanisms, allows the CSI measurement and/or CSI reporting to be performed timely, improves user throughput, and reduces transmission latency, to improve system performance”.
In response, the examiner respectfully agrees because in this case due to at least two language, the Examiner only considers two of them. The additional ones are addressed to help Applicant the prior also include additional features. Please, see above, the above response is still applied.
Furthermore, the Examiner appreciates Applicant’s explanation related to the reason that at least two of them are configured are for reducing transmission latency(see page 41 of 43). However, without including the features in the claimed invention, they are not given patentable weight.
The Applicant argues, see page 41 of 43, that “Wu fails to disclose the above distinguishing technical features, Wu cannot solve the technical problems to be solved by this application, nor can Wu achieve the technical effects achieved by the present application. The RRC information sent by the network side device of Wu only instructs the terminal to begin performing the default behavior, without considering the transmission latency issues caused by the coexistence of at least two of the following transceiving mechanisms: the CSI measurement and/or CSI reporting transceiver mechanism, the DRX transceiver mechanism, and the WUS transceiver mechanism. It would be difficult for a person skilled in the art to arrive at the solution of the present application based on the disclosure of Wu.
There is no textbook or reference book to prove that the above distinguishing technical features are common general knowledge and customary means in the art. The amended claim 1 of the present application is not obvious to those skilled in the art”.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees because in this case, the system of “Wu’420” explicitly teaches the above limitation.
The above response is still applied. According to, para.0142, the network-side device can configure whether the terminal performs the default behavior through RRC information…, see para.0143, the default behavior… include all or some of the send and receive operations as transceiving mechanisms…Thus, the claimed invention is met.
Regarding claims 12 and 22, the same argument as claim 1 is also applied to claims 12 and 22 since claims 12 and 22 recited similar features as claim 1.
Regarding claims 18-21 and 23, the same argument as independent claims 17 is also applied to claims 18-21 and 23 since claims 18-21 and 23 are each depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 17 as discussed above.
In view of the above, it is clear the previously cited prior arts still disclose the applicant claim invention as set detailed in the rejection below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 14-15, 24-25, 35-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-13, 22-23 and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (WO 2021052420 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu’420 discloses a signal transceiving method(see para.0143, which discuses sending and receiving as transceiving method), applied to a network device(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receiving…according to configuration of the network side, thus applied to network device), comprising:
generating configuration information used(see para.0143, which discusses according to the configuration of the network-side device, thus network generating configuration) for signal transceiving(see para.0143, which discusses signal transmit and receiving as signal transceiving), wherein the configuration information comprises information(see para.0143, which discusses according to the configuration of the network-side device) corresponding to at least two transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations), and the at least two(due to at least two language, only two of them is being considered) transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms) comprise a first transceiving mechanism representing channel state information (CSI) measurement and/or (see due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) reporting(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations include:.. performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement, see para.0122-0123);
a third transceiving mechanism(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) representing a discontinuous reception (DRX) (see para.0143, which discusses send and receive operations within the DRX onduration or DRX active time…these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device, thus represent DRX);
a fourth transceiving mechanism(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) representing a wake-up signal (WUS) (see para.0143, see para.0036, which discusses the control information that transmits the above information can be considered a wake-up signal, which is a type of energy-saving control information, see para.0004, which discusses Network-side devices can use power-saving control information to notify the terminal to send or receive during a DRX cycle, or to notify the terminal to skip the DRX cycle, i.e., not to send or receive during the DRX Onduration (discontinuous reception duration), thus represent wake up signal); and
transmitting the configuration information to a terminal(see para.0036, which discusses the network-side device 12 can transmit control information to the terminal 11 through the control channel, see para.0037, see para.0143, which discusses configuration of the network device, see para.0037, which discusses the network-side device 12 can notify the terminal 11 to send or receive, see para.0129, which discusses the terminal can perform transmit and receive operations according to the instructions of the energy-saving control channel, see para.0230, see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to /based on the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous SRS transmission according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement).
Regarding claim 2, Wu’420 discloses wherein the at least two transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) further comprise one or(see due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a second transceiving mechanism representing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring window or opportunity for a dedicated service; a fifth transceiving mechanism representing a PDCCH skipping; and a sixth transceiving mechanism representing a search space switching(see para.0143, which discusses send and receive operations within the DRX onduration or DRX active time…these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device, see para.0144, which discusses the terminal performs PDCCH monitoring…, thus represent physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring window).
Regarding claim 11, Wu’420 discloses performing signal transcribing(see para.0230, which discusses receive and send signals during the sending and receiving of information or during a call, see para.0143) based on the configuration information(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous SRS transmission according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement, see para.0230).
Regarding claim 12, Wu’420 discloses a signal transceiving method(see para.0143), applied to a terminal device(see para.0008, which discuses applied to a terminal), comprising: receiving configuration information(see para.0036, which discusses the network-side device 12 can transmit control information to the terminal 11 through the control channel, see para.0037, see para.0143, which discusses configuration of the network device) used for signal transceiving(see para.0037, which discusses the network-side device 12 can notify the terminal 11 to send or receive, see para.0129, which discusses the terminal can perform transmit and receive operations according to the instructions of the energy-saving control channel, see para.0230), wherein the configuration information(see para.0143, which discusses according to the configuration of the network-side device) comprises information corresponding to at least two(due to at least two, only two of them is considered) transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations), and the at least two transceiving mechanisms (see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms) comprise a first transceiving mechanism representing channel state information (CSI) measurement and/or (see due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) reporting(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations include:.. performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement, see para.0122-0123);
a third transceiving mechanism(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) representing a discontinuous reception (DRX) (see para.0143, which discusses send and receive operations within the DRX onduration or DRX active time…these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device, thus represent DRX);
a fourth transceiving mechanism(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) representing a wake-up signal (WUS) (see para.0143, see para.0036, which discusses the control information that transmits the above information can be considered a wake-up signal, thus represent wake up signal); and
performing signal transceiving (see para.0230, which discusses receive and send signals during the sending and receiving of information or during a call, see para.0143) based on the configuration information(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous SRS transmission according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement, see para.0230).
Regarding claim 13, Wu’420 discloses wherein the at least two transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) further comprise one or(see due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a second transceiving mechanism representing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring window or opportunity for a dedicated service; a fifth transceiving mechanism representing a PDCCH skipping; and a sixth transceiving mechanism representing a search space switching(see para.0143, which discusses send and receive operations within the DRX onduration or DRX active time…these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device, see para.0144, which discusses the terminal performs PDCCH monitoring…, thus represent physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring window).
Regarding claim 22, Wu’420 discloses a network device(see para.0143, which discusses network side device, see para.0247, which discusses This computer software product is stored in a storage medium (such as ROM/RAM, magnetic disk, optical disk) and includes several instructions to cause a terminal (which may be a mobile phone, computer, server, air conditioner, or network device, etc.) to execute the methods described in the various embodiments of this disclosure), comprising a memory(see para.0020, which discusses memory, see fig.7), a transceiver(see para.0230, which discusses transceiver) and a processor(see para.0020, which discusses processor, see fig.7), wherein the memory is used for storing a computer program(see para.0020, which discusses a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, see fig.7); the transceiver is used for transmitting and receiving data(see para.0230, which discusses transceiver, see fig.7) under control of the processor(see para.0020, which discusses processor, see fig.7); and the processor is used for invoking the computer program stored in the memory and performing the following operations(see para.0020, which discusses a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, see fig.7):
generating configuration information used(see para.0143, which discusses according to the configuration of the network-side device, thus network generating configuration) for signal transceiving(see para.0143, which discusses signal transmit and receiving as signal transceiving), wherein the configuration information comprises information(see para.0143, which discusses according to the configuration of the network-side device) corresponding to at least two transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations), and the at least two transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms) comprise a first transceiving mechanism representing channel state information (CSI) measurement and/or (see due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) reporting(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations include:.. performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement, see para.0122-0123);
a third transceiving mechanism(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) representing a discontinuous reception (DRX) (see para.0143, which discusses send and receive operations within the DRX onduration or DRX active time…these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device, thus represent DRX);
a fourth transceiving mechanism(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) representing a wake-up signal (WUS) (see para.0143, see para.0036, which discusses the control information that transmits the above information can be considered a wake-up signal, thus represent wake up signal); and
transmitting the configuration information to a terminal(see para.0036, which discusses the network-side device 12 can transmit control information to the terminal 11 through the control channel, see para.0037, see para.0143, which discusses configuration of the network device, see para.0037, which discusses the network-side device 12 can notify the terminal 11 to send or receive, see para.0129, which discusses the terminal can perform transmit and receive operations according to the instructions of the energy-saving control channel, see para.0230, see para.0143, which discuses these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to /based on the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous SRS transmission according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement).
Regarding claim 23, Wu’420 discloses wherein the at least two transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) further comprise one or(see due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a second transceiving mechanism representing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring window or opportunity for a dedicated service; a third transceiving mechanism representing a discontinuous reception (DRX); a fourth transceiving mechanism representing a wake-up signal (WUS); a fifth transceiving mechanism representing a PDCCH skipping; and a sixth transceiving mechanism representing a search space switching(see para.0143, which discusses send and receive operations within the DRX onduration or DRX active time…these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device, see para.0144, which discusses the terminal performs PDCCH monitoring…, thus represent physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring window).
Regarding claim 32, Wu’420 discloses performing signal transcribing(see para.0230, which discusses receive and send signals during the sending and receiving of information or during a call, see para.0143) based on the configuration information(see para.0143, which discusses transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous SRS transmission according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing periodic or semi-continuous CSI reporting according to the configuration of the network-side device; or, performing the SSB measurement or the CSI-RS measurement, see para.0230).
Regarding claim 33, Wu’420 discloses terminal device(see fig.7, para.0247, which discusses This computer software product is stored in a storage medium (such as ROM/RAM, magnetic disk, optical disk) and includes several instructions to cause a terminal (which may be a mobile phone, computer, server, air conditioner, or network device, etc.) to execute the methods described in the various embodiments of this disclosure)), comprising a memory (see para.0020, which discusses memory, see fig.7), a transceiver(see para.0230, which discusses transceiver) and a processor(see para.0020, which discusses processor, see fig.7), wherein the memory is used for storing a computer program(see para.0020, which discusses a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, see fig.7); the transceiver is used for transmitting and receiving data(see para.0230, which discusses transceiver, see fig.7) under control of the processor(see para.0020, which discusses processor, see fig.7); and the processor is used for invoking the computer program stored in the memory and performing the method of claim 12. (see para.0020, which discusses computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, it implements the steps in the channel monitoring control method provided in the first aspect of this disclosure, see fig.7, see para.0186-0187, see para.0244-0245)
Regarding claim 34, Wu’420 discloses wherein the at least two transceiving mechanisms(see para.0143, which discusses these transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms, thus includes transmit and receive operations/ mechanisms including at least two transceiving mechanisms/operations) further comprise one or(see due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) more of the following: a second transceiving mechanism representing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring window or opportunity for a dedicated service; a fifth transceiving mechanism representing a PDCCH skipping; and a sixth transceiving mechanism representing a search space switching(see para.0143, which discusses send and receive operations within the DRX onduration or DRX active time…these transmit and receive operations include: listening to the PDCCH according to the configuration of the network-side device, see para.0036, which discusses the control information that transmits the above information can be considered a wake-up signal).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Following prior arts are related to the present claimed invention:
Xie(WO 2022041284 A1) teaches, see page 31 , For example, the processing module 810 may be configured to perform all operations except the transceiving operations performed by the terminal device in any of the embodiments shown in FIG. 3 or FIG. 5 to FIG. 7, such as S103, S104, S203 and S204, and /or other processes for supporting the techniques described herein, such as generating messages, information, and/or signaling sent by transceiving module 820, and processing messages, information, and/or signaling received by transceiving module 820, Another example is activating and deactivating CSI measurement and /CS reporting configuration, and another example is performing CSI measurement according to the CSI configuration. The transceiver module 820 may be configured to perform all receiving and sending operations performed by the terminal device in any of the embodiments shown in FIG. 3 or FIG. 5 to FIG. 7 , such as S101, S102, S201, S202, S301, S402, and/ Or other procedures used to support the techniques described herein, such as sending CSI reports according to CSI reporting configuration, or not sending CSI reports.
Li et al (US 20190253973) teaches, see at least claim 5, wake-up transceiver.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474