DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 6/16/2026. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 16, 24 and 63 have been amended. Claims 3, 6, 8, 12, 15, 18-19, 21, 25-37, 39-62, 64-76 have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 13-14, 16-17, 20, 22-24, 38 and 63 are pending and an action is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 13-14, 16-17, 20, 22-24, 38 and 63 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9, 13-14, 16, 38 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. US 2023/0276458 (hereinafter LEE) and YE et al US 2022/0182938 (hereinafter YE)
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a data transmission method, comprising:
([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶210] The PDSCH carrying Multicast Traffic Channel (MTCH) transport block (TB) data from the Base station (BS, but also shown in Fig. 8 as a gNB) to the UE)
generating first Downlink Control Information (DCI) by a network-side device, wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a first service;
([LEE, Figs. 8-9 and 11, ¶128 and ¶200-¶201 and ¶208-¶210] The Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries DCI scrambled with a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) that generated and transmitted by the gNB to the UE, wherein the DCI with the G-RNTI is used to schedule a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS service) over the PDSCH with the MTCH TB data on the PDSCH; ([LEE, ¶225-¶226] The G-RNTI is associated with the specific multicast service that the UE desires to receive.)
sending the first DCI by the network-side device in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) On duration.
([LEE, Figs. 8, 11 and 16, ¶200, ¶222 and ¶258] The PDCCH comprising the DCI is sent to the UE during the DRX On duration.)
Though LEE does not teach wherein the first DCI is sent in the DRX Off duration.
However, YE teaches wherein the first DCI is sent in a DRX Off duration and the method further comprises configuring, by the network-side device for the first DCI, a second search space set in the DRX Off duration. ([YE, Fig. 6, Step 616, ¶16, ¶100, ¶113-¶114 and ¶119] Wake Up Signal (WUS) Downlink Control Information (DCI) is sent in the DRX Off period. The network explicitly indicates DCI, ¶113-¶119 indicates that using configured Search Space (SS) the PDCCH carries DCI associated with the WUS sent by the network to the UE in the DRX Off period, wherein the UE monitors for the DCI in the DRX Off period. Additionally, it is noted that according to ¶70 of YE that the Common SS (CSS) or Group SS (GSS) is used to monitor the PDCCH WUS during the DRX On cycle.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE, indicating a network and UE for monitoring for DCI during the DRX On period of DRX cycle, with the teachings of LEE, indicating that DCI may be monitored during the DRX Off period of a DRX cycle. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to reduce power consumption be allowing the UE to still receive WUS DCI during a low power state (DRX Off period) to allow the UE to power up and exit the low power state when needed for increased power savings.
The Examiner Notes: The claims recite optional claim limitations (using “or”) which fails to necessitate that all alternative/optional claim limitations are required. This issue is present in claims 1, 13 and 63.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a data transmission method, comprising:
([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶210] The PDSCH carrying Multicast Traffic Channel (MTCH) data from the Base station (BS, but also shown in Fig. 8 as a gNB) to the UE)
receiving first Downlink Control Information (DCI) sent by a network-side device, the first DCI being sent in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) On duration;
[LEE, Figs. 11 and 16, ¶220-¶222] The UE receives DCI generated and sent by the network base station (BS), as a result of monitoring the PDCCH which occurs during a DRX On duration
wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a first service;
([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶200-¶201 and ¶208-¶210] The Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries DCI scrambled with a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) that generated and transmitted by the gNB to the UE, wherein the DCI with the G-RNTI is used to schedule a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS service) over the PDSCH with the MTCH TB data on the PDSCH; ([LEE, ¶225-¶226] The G-RNTI is associated with the specific multicast service that the UE desires to receive.)
monitoring the first DCI in the DRX On duration.
([LEE, Figs. 8, 11 and 16, ¶200, ¶222 and ¶258] The PDCCH comprising the DCI is received by the UE as a result of the UE monitoring the PDCCH during the DRX On duration.)
Though LEE does not teach wherein the first DCI is sent in the DRX Off duration.
However, YE teaches wherein the first DCI being sent in a DRX Off duration and monitoring the first DCI in the DRX Off duration by the terminal according to a second search space set configured by the network-side device, the second search space set being for the first DCI in the DRX Off duration. ([YE, Fig. 6, Step 616, ¶16, ¶100, ¶113-¶114 and ¶119] Wake Up Signal (WUS) Downlink Control Information (DCI) is sent in the DRX Off period. The network explicitly indicates DCI, ¶113-¶119 indicates that using configured Search Space (SS) the PDCCH carries DCI associated with the WUS sent by the network to the UE in the DRX Off period, wherein the UE monitors for the DCI in the DRX Off period. Additionally, it is noted that according to ¶70 of YE that the Common SS (CSS) or Group SS (GSS) is used to monitor the PDCCH WUS during the DRX On cycle.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE, indicating a network and UE for monitoring for DCI during the DRX On period of DRX cycle, with the teachings of LEE, indicating that DCI may be monitored during the DRX Off period of a DRX cycle. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to reduce power consumption be allowing the UE to still receive WUS DCI during a low power state (DRX Off period) to allow the UE to power up and exit the low power state when needed for increased power savings.
Regarding claim 63, LEE teaches a terminal, comprising:
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] wireless device 100)
a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program;
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] Memory 204, Transceiver 206 and Processor 202, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor; and ([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶247] Transceiver 106 is controlled by the processor to transmit and receive data and Processor 102, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform following operations:
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶245-¶246] The Processor is connected to Memory to execute the programed functions and procedures.)
receiving first Downlink Control Information (DCI) sent by a network-side device in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) On duration; [LEE, Figs. 11 and 16, ¶220-¶222] The UE receives DCI generated and sent by the network base station (BS), as a result of monitoring the PDCCH which occurs during a DRX On duration
wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a first service; ([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶200-¶201 and ¶208-¶210] The Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries DCI scrambled with a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) that generated and transmitted by the gNB to the UE, wherein the DCI with the G-RNTI is used to schedule a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS service) over the PDSCH with the MTCH TB data on the PDSCH; ([LEE, ¶225-¶226] The G-RNTI is associated with the specific multicast service that the UE desires to receive.)
monitoring the first DCI in the DRX On duration.
([LEE, Figs. 8, 11 and 16, ¶200, ¶222 and ¶258] The PDCCH comprising the DCI is received by the UE as a result of the UE monitoring the PDCCH during the DRX On duration.)
Though LEE does not teach wherein the first DCI is sent in the DRX Off duration.
However, YE teaches wherein the first DCI is sent in a DRX Off duration and the monitoring the first DCI, wherein the monitoring the first DCI comprises:
Monitoring the first DCI in the DRX Off duration according to a second search space set configured by the network-side device, the second search space set being for the first DCI in the DRX Off duration. ([YE, Fig. 6, Step 616, ¶16, ¶100, ¶113-¶114 and ¶119] Wake Up Signal (WUS) Downlink Control Information (DCI) is sent in the DRX Off period. The network explicitly indicates DCI, ¶113-¶119 indicates that using configured Search Space (SS) the PDCCH carries DCI associated with the WUS sent by the network to the UE in the DRX Off period, wherein the UE monitors for the DCI in the DRX Off period. Additionally, it is noted that according to ¶70 of YE that the Common SS (CSS) or Group SS (GSS) is used to monitor the PDCCH WUS during the DRX On cycle.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE, indicating a network and UE for monitoring for DCI during the DRX On period of DRX cycle, with the teachings of LEE, indicating that DCI may be monitored during the DRX Off period of a DRX cycle. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to reduce power consumption be allowing the UE to still receive WUS DCI during a low power state (DRX Off period) to allow the UE to power up and exit the low power state when needed for increased power savings.
Regarding claim 2, LEE, in view of YE teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first DCI is scrambled by using a dedicated identifier related to the first service. [LEE. Fig, 8, ¶17 and ¶200 DCI scrambled with the G-RNTI associated with the specific multicast service that the UE/terminal is to receive.)]
Regarding claim 4, LEE, in view of YE teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending first indication information to a terminal by the network-side device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate at least one of following:
that the terminal skips Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX On duration; or
that the terminal skips PDCCH monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX Off duration.
([LEE, Figs. 5 and 16, ¶258-¶259] The DRX configuration information is received by the UE and the UE performs PDCCH monitoring discontinuously, such that the UE transitions to a sleep state after the On Duration to achieve a sleep state during the Off Duration of the DRX cycle.)
Regarding claim 9, LEE, in view of YE teaches the method according to claim 4, further comprising: sending second indication information to the terminal by the network-side device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate the first service.
([LEE, ¶173-¶174 and ¶181] The base station (BS or otherwise referred to as the network-side device) may provide a list of service IDs which is received by the UE, this is done for the BS to inform the UE of the services transmitted by the BS .)
Regarding claim 14, LEE, in view of YE teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the first DCI is scrambled by using a dedicated identifier related to the first service. [LEE. ¶17 and ¶200, Similar to claim 2 above, the DCI scrambled with the G-RNTI associated with the specific multicast service that the UE/terminal is to receive.)]
monitoring the first DCI in the DRX Off duration by the terminal according to a second search space set configured by the network-side device,
wherein the first search space set and the second search space set are same or different.
([LEE, ¶110-¶111] Wherein, each SS set may be UE specific Search Space (USS) set or a Cell Specific Search Space (CSS) set which are considered as being the same search spaces (if all SSs are either USS or CSS) or different search space sets (if all the SSs comprise both USS and CSS).)
Regarding claim 16, LEE, in view of YE teaches the method according to claim 13, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal, first indication information sent by the network-side device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate at least one of following: that the terminal skips Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX On duration: that the terminal skips PDCCH monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX Off duration.
([LEE, Figs. 5 and 16, ¶258-¶259] Similar to claim 4 above, the DRX configuration information is received by the UE and the UE performs PDCCH monitoring discontinuously, such that the UE transitions to a sleep state after the On Duration to achieve a sleep state during the Off Duration of the DRX cycle.)
Regarding claim 38, LEE, in view of YE teaches a network-side device, comprising:
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] base station (BS) 200)
a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program;
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] Memory 204, Transceiver 206 and Processor 202, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor; and
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶247] Transceiver 206 is controlled by the processor to transmit and receive data and Processor 202, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and execute steps of the method according to claim 1.
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶245-¶246] The Processor is connected to Memory to execute the programed functions and procedures.)
Claim(s) 10 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of YE as applied to claims 2 and 13 above, and further in view of ADJAKPLE et al. US 2023/0362960 (hereinafter ADJA).
Regarding claim 10, LEE, in view of YE teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein there is the utilization of a dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the claimed dedicated identifier) related to the first service ([LEE, ¶200] The base station may provide a service dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the dedicated identifier) mapped to a MBMS services that the UE desires to receive).
But it does not teach wherein the dedicated identifier comprises at least one of the following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service;
a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service.
However, ADJA teaches wherein the dedicated identifier related to the first service comprises at least one of following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service; a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service. ([ADJA, ¶219 and ¶356] ADJA teaches wherein a specific RNTI which is per service type may be a RNTI dedicated to announcing Multicast Control Channel (MCCH) information change notification is used to scramble the PDCCH transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE, in view of YE, indicating the ability for a base station to provide service dedicated RNTI identifiers mapped to broadcast multicast services (MBMS services) that the UE desires to receive, with the teachings of ADJA, indicating that a specific RNTI (identifier) per service type may be used to indicate multicast control channel changes, wherein the service types may be mMTC service type, URRLC service type, or eMBB service type [ADJA, ¶354]. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to offer different service types via a single network to better optimize solutions to different scenarios and demand requirements [ADJA, ¶91].
Regarding claim 23, LEE, in view of YE teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein there is the utilization of a dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the claimed dedicated identifier) related to the first service ([LEE, ¶200] The base station may provide a service dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the dedicated identifier) mapped to a MBMS services that the UE desires to receive).
But it does not teach wherein the dedicated identifier comprises at least one of the following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service;
a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service.
However, ADJA teaches wherein the dedicated identifier related to the first service comprises at least one of following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service; a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service. ([ADJA, ¶219 and ¶356] ADJA teaches wherein a specific RNTI which is per service type may be a RNTI dedicated to announcing Multicast Control Channel (MCCH) information change notification is used to scramble the PDCCH transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE, in view of YE, indicating the ability for a base station to provide service dedicated RNTI identifiers mapped to broadcast multicast services (MBMS services) that the UE desires to receive, with the teachings of ADJA, indicating that a specific RNTI (identifier) per service type may be used to indicate multicast control channel changes, wherein the service types may be mMTC service type, URRLC service type, or eMBB service type [ADJA, ¶354]. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to offer different service types via a single network to better optimize solutions to different scenarios and demand requirements [ADJA, ¶91].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, 17, 20, 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The Examiner has conducted an updated search of the available Prior Art and was unable to find any Prior Art which teaches either solely or in combination with another reference the claim limitations of methods according to claim 1 or claim 13, further comprising: configuring monitoring position information of the first DCI by the network-side device, wherein the monitoring position information of the first DCI comprises at least one of following: first monitoring position information of the first DCI in the DRX On duration; or second monitoring position information of the first DCI in the DRX Off duration, wherein configuring the monitoring position information of the first DCI by the network-side device comprises at least one of following: semi-statically configuring the monitoring position information through high-layer signaling by the network-side device; dynamically configuring the monitoring position information through first information by the network-side device, or the methods of claims 11 or 24 according to claim 1 or claim 13, further comprising: sending third indication information to a terminal by the network-side device, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal monitors the first DCI in the DRX On duration and/or the DRX Off duration, in combination with all the claim limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467