DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 2/6/2024. Claims 4-5, 7, 16-17, 20, 38 have been amended. Claims 6, 8, 12, 18-19, 25-37, 39-62 and 64-76 have been cancelled. No clams have been added. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 13-17, 20-24, 38 and 63 are pending and an action is as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 depends upon canceled Claim 6 rendering claim 7 indefinite.
Examiner Note: The Examiner has considered claim 7 and believes that claim 7 should depend upon claim 5. For expedited prosecution the Examiner will use this perspective for examination.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the terminal" in the first claim limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner Note: The instant claim 9 recites the term “second indication information” however, none the claims that claim 9 depends upon (such as claim 5) or its base claim (claim 1) recites “first indication information”, instead claim 4 recites the term “first indication information”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-16, 38 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE et al. US 2023/0276458 (hereinafter LEE)
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a data transmission method, comprising:
([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶210] The PDSCH carrying Multicast Traffic Channel (MTCH) transport block (TB) data from the Base station (BS, but also shown in Fig. 8 as a gNB) to the UE)
generating first Downlink Control Information (DCI) by a network-side device, wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a first service;
([LEE, Figs. 8-9 and 11, ¶128 and ¶200-¶201 and ¶208-¶210] The Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries DCI scrambled with a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) that generated and transmitted by the gNB to the UE, wherein the DCI with the G-RNTI is used to schedule a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS service) over the PDSCH with the MTCH TB data on the PDSCH; ([LEE, ¶225-¶226] The G-RNTI is associated with the specific multicast service that the UE desires to receive.)
sending the first DCI by the network-side device in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) On duration and/or a DRX Off duration.
([LEE, Figs. 8, 11 and 16, ¶200, ¶222 and ¶258] The PDCCH comprising the DCI is sent to the UE during the DRX On duration.)
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a data transmission method, comprising:
([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶210] The PDSCH carrying Multicast Traffic Channel (MTCH) data from the Base station (BS, but also shown in Fig. 8 as a gNB) to the UE)
receiving first Downlink Control Information (DCI) sent by a network-side device in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) On duration and/or a DRX Off duration by a terminal;
[LEE, Figs. 11 and 16, ¶220-¶222] The UE receives DCI generated and sent by the network base station (BS), as a result of monitoring the PDCCH which occurs during a DRX On duration
wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a first service;
([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶200-¶201 and ¶208-¶210] The Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries DCI scrambled with a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) that generated and transmitted by the gNB to the UE, wherein the DCI with the G-RNTI is used to schedule a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS service) over the PDSCH with the MTCH TB data on the PDSCH; ([LEE, ¶225-¶226] The G-RNTI is associated with the specific multicast service that the UE desires to receive.)
monitoring the first DCI in the DRX On duration and/or the DRX Off duration by the terminal.
([LEE, Figs. 8, 11 and 16, ¶200, ¶222 and ¶258] The PDCCH comprising the DCI is received by the UE as a result of the UE monitoring the PDCCH during the DRX On duration.)
Regarding claim 63, LEE teaches a terminal, comprising:
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] wireless device 100)
a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program;
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] Memory 204, Transceiver 206 and Processor 202, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor; and
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶247] Transceiver 106 is controlled by the processor to transmit and receive data and Processor 102, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform following operations:
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶245-¶246] The Processor is connected to Memory to execute the programed functions and procedures.)
receiving first Downlink Control Information (DCI) sent by a network-side device in a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) On duration and/or a DRX Off duration;
[LEE, Figs. 11 and 16, ¶220-¶222] The UE receives DCI generated and sent by the network base station (BS), as a result of monitoring the PDCCH which occurs during a DRX On duration
wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a first service; ([LEE, Figs. 8-9, ¶128 and ¶200-¶201 and ¶208-¶210] The Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carries DCI scrambled with a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) that generated and transmitted by the gNB to the UE, wherein the DCI with the G-RNTI is used to schedule a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS service) over the PDSCH with the MTCH TB data on the PDSCH; ([LEE, ¶225-¶226] The G-RNTI is associated with the specific multicast service that the UE desires to receive.)
monitoring the first DCI in the DRX On duration and/or the DRX Off duration.
([LEE, Figs. 8, 11 and 16, ¶200, ¶222 and ¶258] The PDCCH comprising the DCI is received by the UE as a result of the UE monitoring the PDCCH during the DRX On duration.)
Regarding claim 2, LEE teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first DCI is scrambled by using a dedicated identifier related to the first service. [LEE. Fig, 8, ¶17 and ¶200 DCI scrambled with the G-RNTI associated with the specific multicast service that the UE/terminal is to receive.)]
Regarding claim 3, LEE teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising: configuring, by the network-side device for the first DCI, a first search space set in the DRX On duration and/or a second search space set in the DRX Off duration; wherein the first search space set and the second search space set are same or different.
([LEE, Figs. 5, 11 and 16, ¶222 and ¶258] The base station may generate and transmit a PDCCH Search Space (SS) configurations including information about the configurations for more than one PDCCH Search Spaces (SSs), which the UE will monitor during the DRX On duration to receive the DCI. [LEE, ¶110-¶111] Each SS set may be UE specific Search Space (USS) set or a Cell Specific Search Space (CSS) set which are considered as being the same search spaces (if all SSs are either USS or CSS) or different search space sets (if all the SSs comprise both USS and CSS).)
Regarding claim 4, LEE teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending first indication information to a terminal by the network-side device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate at least one of following:
that the terminal skips Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX On duration; and
that the terminal skips PDCCH monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX Off duration.
([LEE, Figs. 5 and 16, ¶258-¶259] The DRX configuration information is received by the UE and the UE performs PDCCH monitoring discontinuously, such that the UE transitions to a sleep state after the On Duration to achieve a sleep state during the Off Duration of the DRX cycle.)
Regarding claim 14, LEE teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the first DCI is scrambled by using a dedicated identifier related to the first service. [LEE. ¶17 and ¶200, Similar to claim 2 above, the DCI scrambled with the G-RNTI associated with the specific multicast service that the UE/terminal is to receive.)]
Regarding claim 15, LEE teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein monitoring the first DCI in the DRX On duration and/or the DRX Off duration by the terminal comprises:
monitoring the first DCI in the DRX On duration by the terminal according to a first search space set configured by the network-side device; and/or
([LEE, Figs. 5, 11 and 16, ¶222 and ¶258] Similar to claim 3 above, the base station may generate and transmit a PDCCH Search Space (SS) configurations including information about the configurations for more than one PDCCH Search Spaces (SSs), which the UE will monitor during the DRX On duration. The UE receives the DCI as a result of monitoring the PDDCH.)
monitoring the first DCI in the DRX Off duration by the terminal according to a second search space set configured by the network-side device,
wherein the first search space set and the second search space set are same or different.
([LEE, ¶110-¶111] Wherein, each SS set may be UE specific Search Space (USS) set or a Cell Specific Search Space (CSS) set which are considered as being the same search spaces (if all SSs are either USS or CSS) or different search space sets (if all the SSs comprise both USS and CSS).)
Regarding claim 16, LEE teaches the method according to claim 13, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal, first indication information sent by the network-side device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate at least one of following: that the terminal skips Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX On duration: that the terminal skips PDCCH monitoring and/or sleeps in the DRX Off duration.
([LEE, Figs. 5 and 16, ¶258-¶259] Similar to claim 4 above, the DRX configuration information is received by the UE and the UE performs PDCCH monitoring discontinuously, such that the UE transitions to a sleep state after the On Duration to achieve a sleep state during the Off Duration of the DRX cycle.)
Regarding claim 38, LEE teaches a network-side device, comprising:
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] base station (BS) 200)
a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program;
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶241 and ¶243-¶247] Memory 204, Transceiver 206 and Processor 202, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor; and
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶247] Transceiver 206 is controlled by the processor to transmit and receive data and Processor 202, wherein the memory stores the program.)
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and execute steps of the method according to claim 1.
([LEE, Fig. 13, ¶245-¶246] The Processor is connected to Memory to execute the programed functions and procedures.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE as applied to claims 2 and 13 above, and further in view of ADJAKPLE et al. US 2023/0362960 (hereinafter ADJA).
Regarding claim 10, LEE teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein there is the utilization of a dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the claimed dedicated identifier) related to the first service ([LEE, ¶200] The base station may provide a service dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the dedicated identifier) mapped to a MBMS services that the UE desires to receive).
But it does not teach wherein the dedicated identifier comprises at least one of the following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service;
a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service.
However, ADJA teaches wherein the dedicated identifier related to the first service comprises at least one of following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service; a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service. ([ADJA, ¶219 and ¶356] ADJA teaches wherein a specific RNTI which is per service type may be a RNTI dedicated to announcing Multicast Control Channel (MCCH) information change notification is used to scramble the PDCCH transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE, indicating the ability for a base station to provide service dedicated RNTI identifiers mapped to broadcast multicast services (MBMS services) that the UE desires to receive, with the teachings of ADJA, indicating that a specific RNTI (identifier) per service type may be used to indicate multicast control channel changes, wherein the service types may be mMTC service type, URRLC service type, or eMBB service type [ADJA, ¶354]. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to offer different service types via a single network to better optimize solutions to different scenarios and demand requirements [ADJA, ¶91].
Regarding claim 23, LEE teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein there is the utilization of a dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the claimed dedicated identifier) related to the first service ([LEE, ¶200] The base station may provide a service dedicated RNTI (interpreted as the dedicated identifier) mapped to a MBMS services that the UE desires to receive).
But it does not teach wherein the dedicated identifier comprises at least one of the following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service;
a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service.
However, ADJA teaches wherein the dedicated identifier related to the first service comprises at least one of following: a dedicated identifier corresponding to a service type of the first service; a dedicated identifier corresponding to a first data stream of the first service. ([ADJA, ¶219 and ¶356] ADJA teaches wherein a specific RNTI which is per service type may be a RNTI dedicated to announcing Multicast Control Channel (MCCH) information change notification is used to scramble the PDCCH transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE, indicating the ability for a base station to provide service dedicated RNTI identifiers mapped to broadcast multicast services (MBMS services) that the UE desires to receive, with the teachings of ADJA, indicating that a specific RNTI (identifier) per service type may be used to indicate multicast control channel changes, wherein the service types may be mMTC service type, URRLC service type, or eMBB service type [ADJA, ¶354]. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to offer different service types via a single network to better optimize solutions to different scenarios and demand requirements [ADJA, ¶91].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, 11, 17, 20, 22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The Examiner has conducted an updated search of the available Prior Art and was unable to find any Prior Art which teaches either solely or in combination with another reference the claim limitations of methods according to claim 1 or claim 13, further comprising: configuring monitoring position information of the first DCI by the network-side device, wherein the monitoring position information of the first DCI comprises at least one of following: first monitoring position information of the first DCI in the DRX On duration; or second monitoring position information of the first DCI in the DRX Off duration, wherein configuring the monitoring position information of the first DCI by the network-side device comprises at least one of following: semi-statically configuring the monitoring position information through high-layer signaling by the network-side device; dynamically configuring the monitoring position information through first information by the network-side device, or the methods of claims 11 or 24 according to claim 1 or claim 13, further comprising: sending third indication information to a terminal by the network-side device, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate whether the terminal monitors the first DCI in the DRX On duration and/or the DRX Off duration, in combination with all the claim limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467