DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 3-17 are currently amended. Claim 2 is original. Claims 1-17 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/072416, filed on 08/10/2022. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 21190962.7, filed on 08/12/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/07/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A rejection on this statutory basis (35 U.S.C. 102(g) as in force on March 15, 2013) is appropriate in an application or patent that is examined under the first to file provisions of the AIA if it also contains or contained at any time (1) a claim to an invention having an effective filing date as defined in 35 U.S.C. 100(i) that is before March 16, 2013 or (2) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time such a claim.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2).
Eggebert et al. discloses aqueous compositions comprising particles coated with at least one non-amphoteric, quaternizable polymer which is water soluble at 20°C, and at least one dispersing component, wherein the dispersing component comprises a dispersing agent selected from an amphiphilic graft polymer based on water-soluble polyalkylene oxides (A) as a graft base (or backbone) and side chains formed by polymerization of a vinyl ester component (B), said polymer having an average of ≤ 1 graft site per 50 alkylene oxide units and mean molar masses Mw of from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (abstract). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition relates to agrochemical compositions (column 3, lines 27 to 30). Eggebert et al. teaches that the amphiphilic graft polymer has (A) from 20 to 70 wt.-% of a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as a graft base, and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30 to 80 wt.-% of a vinyl ester component, composed of (B1) from 70 to 100 wt.-% of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate, and (B2) from 0 to 30 wt.-% of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer in the presence of (A) (column 2, lines 25-32). Eggebert et al. teaches that preferably, the composition comprises from 25% to 60 wt.-% of the graft base (A) and from 40 to 75 wt.-% of the polyvinyl ester component (B) (column 9, 48-50). Eggebert et al. teaches that the polyalkylene oxide backbone preferably contains units of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide and/or butylene oxide, with polyethylene oxide (known as PEG) being the most preferred polyalkylene oxide (column 10, lines 64-68). Eggebert teaches preparation of an agrochemical in claim 13 of Eggebert. Eggebert teaches “wherein the amphiphilic graft polymer has: (A) from 20 to 70 wt % of the water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as the graft base; and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30 to 80 wt % of the vinyl ester component, composed of: (B1) from 70 to 100% wt % of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate; and (B2) from 0 to 30 wt % of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer in the presence of (A) (claim 4 of Eggebert). Eggebert et al. teaches that a preferred dispersing agent of the present invention is an amphiphilic graft polymer obtained from the reaction of polyethylene oxide 6000 (equivalent to about 136 ethylene oxide units) with vinyl acetate with a weight ratio of PEG 6000 to vinyl acetate of 40 to 60, or about 3 parts by weight of vinyl acetate units per 1 part by weight of polyethylene oxide (column 11, lines 8-14). Eggebert teaches polymer backbone can be capped at one or both ends (column 9, lines 60-64 and column 10). In a single embodiment (column 22, table 1, inventive example IE1), Azoxystrobin was used as an active ingredient formulated with an example of the above dispersing agent (composed of said graft polymer: Pluriol® E 6000 (40 wt.-%) (PEG 6000, BASF SE)/Vinyl Acetate (60 wt.-%)) ––with Azoxystrobin being at 25% w/w, and the dispersing component being at 2.5% w/w, which gives them a ratio of 10:1, and thus overlaps with the claimed drug-to-graft polymer weight ratio of 1:1 to 30:1. The above embodiment (column 22, table 1, inventive example IE1) also inherently possesses the claimed function of biodegradation of the graft polymer to be at least 30 wt.-% by solids, within 28 days according to OECD 301 F, as it possesses all the limitation of its independent claim (see MPEP 2112). The formulation was also stated to be in the form of an aqueous suspension concentrate (column 21, lines 41-46). Eggebert teaches amphiphilic graft copolymer having a polydispersity of less than 3 (claim 2 of Eggebert).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2).
Eggebert et al. discloses aqueous compositions comprising particles coated with at least one non-amphoteric, quaternizable polymer which is water soluble at 20°C, and at least one dispersing component, wherein the dispersing component comprises a dispersing agent selected from an amphiphilic graft polymer based on water-soluble polyalkylene oxides (A) as a graft base (or backbone) and side chains formed by polymerization of a vinyl ester component (B), said polymer having an average of ≤ 1 graft site per 50 alkylene oxide units and mean molar masses Mw of from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (abstract). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition relates to agrochemical compositions (column 3, lines 27 to 30). Eggebert et al. teaches that the amphiphilic graft polymer has (A) from 20 to 70 wt.-% of a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as a graft base, and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30 to 80 wt.-% of a vinyl ester component, composed of (B1) from 70 to 100 wt.-% of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate, and (B2) from 0 to 30 wt.-% of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer in the presence of (A) (column 2, lines 25-30). Eggebert et al. teaches that the inventive graft polymers feature a narrow molar mass distribution and hence a polydispersity Mw/Mn of generally ≤3 (column 9, lines 9-13). Eggebert et al. teaches that the polyalkylene oxide backbone preferably contains units of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide and/or butylene oxide, with polyethylene oxide (known as PEG) being the most preferred polyalkylene oxide (column 10, lines 64-68). Eggebert et al. teaches that the especially preferred are graft polymers derived from polyethylene oxide (backbone) having a molecular weight 2,000 to 50,000 g/mol (column 11, lines 5-7), which presents an overlapping range of backbone molecular weight. Eggebert et al. teaches that the polyalkylene oxides (A) may be the corresponding polyalkylene glycols in free form, and they may also be capped at one or both end groups (column 10, lines 59-61). Eggebert et al. teaches that the mean molecular weight Mw of the inventive graft polymers is from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (column 9, lines 17-19). Eggebert et al. teaches that the vinyl ester component (B) may consist advantageously of (B1) vinyl acetate or vinyl propionate or of mixtures of vinyl acetate and vinyl propionate (column 10, lines 24-28). Eggebert et al. teaches that the amphiphilic graft polymers have preferably (A) from 20% to 70 wt.-% of a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as a graft base and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30% to 80 wt.-% of a vinyl ester component, based on the total weight of the amphiphilic graft polymer––wherein the vinyl ester component (B) is composed of (B1) from 70% to 100 wt.-% of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate and (B2) from 0% to 30 wt.-% of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer, based on the total amount of the vinyl ester component (B) (column 9, lines 38-47). More preferably, they comprise from 25% to 60 wt.-% of the graft base (A) and from 40 to 75 wt.-% of the polyvinyl ester component (B) (column 9, 48-50). Eggebert et al. teaches that the agrochemical composition may include pesticides (column 1, lines 25-28), which is described to be an active ingredient (column 1, lines 42-43). Eggebert et al. teaches that the term “pesticide” refers to fungicides, insecticides, and herbicides (column 18, lines 4-7). Eggebert et al. teaches that the pesticide for the agrochemical composition can be selected from azoxystrobin, fluxapyroxad, chlorothalonil, and mefentrifluconazole (column 2, lines 52-56). Eggebert et al. teaches that the agrochemical composition can be formulated in the form of wettable powders, wettable dusts, or wettable granules (column 19, lines 23-26). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition can also be formulated in the form of all possible types of suspensions (column 19, lines 23-24). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition can be used as powder or granules, preferably the coated particles can be stored and applied as aqueous suspensions (dispersions), preferably suspension concentrates (column 19, lines 19-22). In a single embodiment (column 22, table 1, inventive example IE1), the Azoxystrobin was used as an active ingredient formulated with an example of the above dispersing component (composed of said graft polymer: Pluriol® E 6000 (40 wt.-%) (PEG 6000, BASF SE)/Vinyl Acetate (60 wt.-%)) ––with Azoxystrobin being at 25% w/w, and the dispersing component being at 2.5% w/w, which gives them a ratio of 10:1, and thus overlaps with the claimed drug-to-graft polymer weight ratio of 1:1 to 30:1. The above embodiment (column 22, table 1, inventive example IE1) also inherently possesses or be capable of the claimed biodegradation of the graft polymer to be at least 30 wt.-% by solids, within 28 days according to OECD 301 F, as it possesses all the limitation of its independent claim. Eggebert teaches various other species of pesticides, insecticides, fungicides, and herbicides (columns 17-19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrive at the claimed compositions solely in view of the teachings of Eggebert et al. This is because Eggebert teaches agrochemical compositions comprising a pesticide active ingredient and a dispersing component selected from amphiphilic graft polymers based on a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide backbone and vinyl ester side-chains––formed by free-radical polymerization in the presence of the backbone, with overlapping molecular weight ranges, backbone/sidechain weight ratios, monomer selections, and additional structural features that also overlap with the present claims. Eggebert further teaches that such compositions are directed to agrochemical uses, defines pesticides, fungicides, insecticides, and herbicides, lists overlapping active ingredients, and describes overlapping formulation types, which therefore establishes substantial characteristics that squarely overlap with all of the above claims. Any of the claimed limitation not expressly recited in Eggebert, including biodegradation property, is considered inherent to Egbert’s formulation example (IE1), as its elements possess all the limitations of the present independent claim. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the graft polymers disclosed by Eggebert in agrochemical compositions to achieve stable, effective dispersions of pesticide actives, as Eggebert explicitly teaches these polymers as dispersing agents for such compositions. Furthermore, because such graft polymers are taught as conventional dispersing agents for agrochemical applications, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention, as its use represents a predictable application of known materials for their intended use.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, and 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of US Patent 11540513: claims 1, 9, 10, and 14 (for present claim 1, 2, 7, 8); 2 (for present claim 3); 4, 5, and 6 (for present claim 5); 4 (for present claims 10); 4 (for present claim 11); 1 and 4 (for present claim 12); 4, 5, 6 (for claim 13); 9 and 10 (for present claim 14); claim 10 (for present claim 15). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the above claims (or claim groups) of co-pending ‘513 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, and are thus obvious variations of each other, which renders them patentably indistinct.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of US Patent 11540513: claims 1, 9, 10, and 14 (for present claim 1, 2, 7, 8); 2 (for present claim 3); 4, 5, and 6 (for present claim 5); 4 (for present claims 10); 4 (for present claim 11); 1 and 4 (for present claim 12); 4, 5, 6 (for claim 13); 9 and 10 (for present claim 14); claim 10 (for present claim 15) in view of Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2).
Eggebert et al. discloses aqueous compositions comprising particles coated with at least one non-amphoteric, quaternizable polymer which is water soluble at 20°C, and at least one dispersing component, wherein the dispersing component comprises a dispersing agent selected from an amphiphilic graft polymer based on water-soluble polyalkylene oxides (A) as a graft base (or backbone) and side chains formed by polymerization of a vinyl ester component (B), said polymer having an average of ≤ 1 graft site per 50 alkylene oxide units and mean molar masses Mw of from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (abstract). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition relates to agrochemical compositions (column 3, lines 27 to 30). Eggebert et al. teaches that the amphiphilic graft polymer has (A) from 20 to 70 wt.-% of a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as a graft base, and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30 to 80 wt.-% of a vinyl ester component, composed of (B1) from 70 to 100 wt.-% of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate, and (B2) from 0 to 30 wt.-% of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer in the presence of (A) (column 2, lines 25-30). Eggebert et al. teaches that the inventive graft polymers feature a narrow molar mass distribution and hence a polydispersity Mw/Mn of generally ≤3 (column 9, lines 9-13). Eggebert et al. teaches that the polyalkylene oxide backbone preferably contains units of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide and/or butylene oxide, with polyethylene oxide (known as PEG) being the most preferred polyalkylene oxide (column 10, lines 64-68). Eggebert et al. teaches that the especially preferred are graft polymers derived from polyethylene oxide (backbone) having a molecular weight 2,000 to 50,000 g/mol (column 11, lines 5-7), which presents an overlapping range of backbone molecular weight. Eggebert et al. teaches that the polyalkylene oxides (A) may be the corresponding polyalkylene glycols in free form, and they may also be capped at one or both end groups (column 10, lines 59-61). Eggebert et al. teaches that the mean molecular weight Mw of the inventive graft polymers is from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (column 9, lines 17-19). Eggebert et al. teaches that the vinyl ester component (B) may consist advantageously of (B1) vinyl acetate or vinyl propionate or of mixtures of vinyl acetate and vinyl propionate (column 10, lines 24-28). Eggebert et al. teaches that the amphiphilic graft polymers have preferably (A) from 20% to 70 wt.-% of a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as a graft base and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30% to 80 wt.-% of a vinyl ester component, based on the total weight of the amphiphilic graft polymer––wherein the vinyl ester component (B) is composed of (B1) from 70% to 100 wt.-% of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate and (B2) from 0% to 30 wt.-% of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer, based on the total amount of the vinyl ester component (B) (column 9, lines 38-47). More preferably, they comprise from 25% to 60 wt.-% of the graft base (A) and from 40 to 75 wt.-% of the polyvinyl ester component (B) (column 9, 48-50). Eggebert et al. teaches that the agrochemical composition may include pesticides (column 1, lines 25-28), which is described to be an active ingredient (column 1, lines 42-43). Eggebert et al. teaches that the term “pesticide” refers to fungicides, insecticides, and herbicides (column 18, lines 4-7). Eggebert et al. teaches that the pesticide for the agrochemical composition can be selected from azoxystrobin, fluxapyroxad, chlorothalonil, and mefentrifluconazole (column 2, lines 52-56). Eggebert et al. teaches that the agrochemical composition can be formulated in the form of wettable powders, wettable dusts, or wettable granules (column 19, lines 23-26). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition can also be formulated in the form of all possible types of suspensions (column 19, lines 23-24). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition can be used as powder or granules, preferably the coated particles can be stored and applied as aqueous suspensions (dispersions), preferably suspension concentrates (column 19, lines 19-22). In a single embodiment (column 22, table 1, inventive example IE1), the Azoxystrobin was used as an active ingredient formulated with an example of the above dispersing component (composed of said graft polymer: Pluriol® E 6000 (40 wt.-%) (PEG 6000, BASF SE)/Vinyl Acetate (60 wt.-%)) ––with Azoxystrobin being at 25% w/w, and the dispersing component being at 2.5% w/w, which gives them a ratio of 10:1, and thus overlaps with the claimed drug-to-graft polymer weight ratio of 1:1 to 30:1. The above embodiment (column 22, table 1, inventive example IE1) also inherently possesses or be capable of the claimed biodegradation of the graft polymer to be at least 30 wt.-% by solids, within 28 days according to OECD 301 F, as it possesses all the limitation of its independent claim. Eggebert teaches various other species of pesticides, insecticides, fungicides, and herbicides (columns 17-19).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrive at the claimed compositions with’ 513 in view of the teachings of Eggebert et al. This is because Eggebert teaches agrochemical compositions comprising a pesticide active ingredient and a dispersing component selected from amphiphilic graft polymers based on a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide backbone and vinyl ester side-chains––formed by free-radical polymerization in the presence of the backbone, with overlapping molecular weight ranges, backbone/sidechain weight ratios, monomer selections, and additional structural features that also overlap with the present claims. Eggebert further teaches that such compositions are directed to agrochemical uses, defines pesticides, fungicides, insecticides, and herbicides, lists overlapping active ingredients, and describes overlapping formulation types, which therefore establishes substantial characteristics that squarely overlap with all of the above claims. Any of the claimed limitation not expressly recited in Eggebert, including biodegradation property, is considered inherent to Egbert’s formulation example (IE1), as its elements possess all the limitations of the present independent claim. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the graft polymers disclosed by Eggebert in agrochemical compositions to achieve stable, effective dispersions of pesticide actives, as Eggebert explicitly teaches these polymers as dispersing agents for such compositions. Furthermore, because such graft polymers are taught as conventional dispersing agents for agrochemical applications, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention, as its use represents a predictable application of known materials for their intended use.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the above claims (or claim groups) of co-pending ‘513 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, and are thus obvious variations of each other, which renders them patentably indistinct.
Claims 1-7, 9, and 10-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of co-pending U.S Application No. 18/682,592 (referred to as co-pending ‘592): 20, 32 and 34 (for present claims 1, 5, 6, 7); 22 (for present claim 3, 9); 25 (for present claim 4); and 23 (for present claim 10) ––In view of Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2).
Each of the above claims of co-pending ‘592 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, except for the following difference: Claim 1 of the present application lists the addition of an agrochemical active ingredient, which is not taught by co-pending ‘592. Eggebert et al. remedies this deficiency by teaching that agrochemical ingredients such as azoxystrobin, fluxapyroxad, chlorothalonil, and mefentrifluconazole can be added to such compositions for pesticidal effects (column 2, lines 52-56), thus making such additions to the claimed composition conventional. Eggebert et al. discloses aqueous compositions comprising particles coated with at least one non-amphoteric, quaternizable polymer which is water soluble at 20°C, and at least one dispersing component, wherein the dispersing component comprises a dispersing agent selected from an amphiphilic graft polymer based on water-soluble polyalkylene oxides (A) as a graft base (or backbone) and side chains formed by polymerization of a vinyl ester component (B), said polymer having an average of ≤ 1 graft site per 50 alkylene oxide units and mean molar masses Mw of from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (abstract). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition relates to agrochemical compositions (column 3, lines 27 to 30). The selection, inclusion, or exclusion of agrochemical active ingredients to agrochemical compositions is a routine formulation choice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention, since agrochemical active ingredients are well-known to be interchangeable based on many factors such as pesticidal purpose. Thus, adjusting an agrochemical composition by adding or omitting a conventional active agent represents no more than a routine and predictable variation using known components for their established functions, made with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the present claims differ from the claims of co-pending ‘592 only by an obvious variation that does not impart a patentable distinction.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct co-pending ‘592 claims have not yet in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of co-pending U.S Application No. 18/682,540 (referred to as co-pending ‘540): 20, 34 and 35 (for present claims 1, 10, and 11); 22 (for present claims 3 and 9); 25 (for present claim 4); 20 and 24 (for present claims 5 and 6); 20 and 21 (for present claims 7 and 8); 20, 21, and 24 (for present claims 12 and 13)––In view of Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2). Each of the above claims (or claim groups) of co-pending ‘540 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, except for the following difference: Claim 1 of the present application lists the addition of an agrochemical active ingredient, which is not taught by co-pending ‘540. Eggebert et al. remedies this deficiency by teaching that agrochemical ingredients such as azoxystrobin, fluxapyroxad, chlorothalonil, and mefentrifluconazole can be added to such compositions for pesticidal effects (column 2, lines 52-56), thus making such additions to the claimed composition conventional. Eggebert et al. discloses aqueous compositions comprising particles coated with at least one non-amphoteric, quaternizable polymer which is water soluble at 20°C, and at least one dispersing component, wherein the dispersing component comprises a dispersing agent selected from an amphiphilic graft polymer based on water-soluble polyalkylene oxides (A) as a graft base (or backbone) and side chains formed by polymerization of a vinyl ester component (B), said polymer having an average of ≤ 1 graft site per 50 alkylene oxide units and mean molar masses Mw of from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (abstract). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition relates to agrochemical compositions (column 3, lines 27 to 30). The selection, inclusion, or exclusion of agrochemical active ingredients to agrochemical compositions is a routine formulation choice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention, since agrochemical active ingredients are well-known to be interchangeable based on many factors such as pesticidal purpose. Thus, adjusting an agrochemical composition by adding or omitting a conventional active agent represents no more than a routine and predictable variation using known components for their established functions, made with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the present claims differ from the claims of co-pending ‘540 only by an obvious variation that does not impart a patentable distinction.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct co-pending ‘540 claims have not yet in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10, and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of co-pending U.S Application No. 18/438,576 (referred to as co-pending ‘576): 1 (for present claims 1 and 7); 5 (for present claim 3); 10 (for present claim 4); 1 and 17 (for present claim 5); 14, 15, and 18 (for present claim 6); 1, 2, 3, and 9 (for present claim 8); 5 (for present claim 9); 6 and 7 (for present claim 10); 18 (for present claim 12); and 17 (for present claim 13)–In view of Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2).
Each of the above claims (or claim groups) of co-pending ‘576 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, except for the following difference: Claim 1 of the present application lists the addition of an agrochemical active ingredient, which is not taught by co-pending ‘576. Eggebert et al. remedies this deficiency by teaching that agrochemical ingredients such as azoxystrobin, fluxapyroxad, chlorothalonil, and mefentrifluconazole can be added to such compositions for pesticidal effects (column 2, lines 52-56), thus making such additions to the claimed composition conventional. Eggebert et al. discloses aqueous compositions comprising particles coated with at least one non-amphoteric, quaternizable polymer which is water soluble at 20°C, and at least one dispersing component, wherein the dispersing component comprises a dispersing agent selected from an amphiphilic graft polymer based on water-soluble polyalkylene oxides (A) as a graft base (or backbone) and side chains formed by polymerization of a vinyl ester component (B), said polymer having an average of ≤ 1 graft site per 50 alkylene oxide units and mean molar masses Mw of from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (abstract). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition relates to agrochemical compositions (column 3, lines 27 to 30). The selection, inclusion, or exclusion of agrochemical active ingredients to agrochemical compositions is a routine formulation choice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention, since agrochemical active ingredients are well-known to be interchangeable based on many factors such as pesticidal purpose. Thus, adjusting an agrochemical composition by adding or omitting a conventional active agent represents no more than a routine and predictable variation using known components for their established functions, made with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the present claims differ from the claims of co-pending ‘576 only by an obvious variation that does not impart a patentable distinction.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct co-pending ‘576 claims have not yet in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7, and 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of US Patent 12129453: 1 (for present claims 1, 5 6, 7, 11, 12, and 13); 3 (for present claim 3); 5 (for present claim 4); 3 (for present claim 9); 4 (for present claim 10)–In view of Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2).
Each of the above claims (or claim groups) of co-pending ‘606 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, except for the following difference: Claim 1 of the present application lists the addition of an agrochemical active ingredient, which is not taught by co-pending ‘606. Eggebert et al. remedies this deficiency by teaching that agrochemical ingredients such as azoxystrobin, fluxapyroxad, chlorothalonil, and mefentrifluconazole can be added to such compositions for pesticidal effects (column 2, lines 52-56), thus making such additions to the claimed composition conventional. Eggebert et al. discloses aqueous compositions comprising particles coated with at least one non-amphoteric, quaternizable polymer which is water soluble at 20°C, and at least one dispersing component, wherein the dispersing component comprises a dispersing agent selected from an amphiphilic graft polymer based on water-soluble polyalkylene oxides (A) as a graft base (or backbone) and side chains formed by polymerization of a vinyl ester component (B), said polymer having an average of ≤ 1 graft site per 50 alkylene oxide units and mean molar masses Mw of from 3,000 to 100,000 g/mol (abstract). Eggebert et al. teaches that the composition relates to agrochemical compositions (column 3, lines 27 to 30). The selection, inclusion, or exclusion of agrochemical active ingredients to agrochemical compositions is a routine formulation choice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention, since agrochemical active ingredients are well-known to be interchangeable based on many factors such as pesticidal purpose. Thus, adjusting an agrochemical composition by adding or omitting a conventional active agent represents no more than a routine and predictable variation using known components for their established functions, made with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the present claims differ from the claims of ‘453 only by an obvious variation that does not impart a patentable distinction.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following claims of co-pending U.S Application No. 17/886,561 (referred to as co-pending ‘561): 1, 15 and 16 (for present claim 1); 9 (for present claim 2, 3, and 9); 5 (for present claim 5); 6 and 7 (for present claim 7); 6 (for present claim 8); 12 (for present claim 10); 11 (for present claim 11)–In view of Eggebert et al. (USPGPub 20190313637A1 making citations from its corresponding Patent US11540513B2).
Each of the above claims (or claim groups) of co-pending ‘561 teach all limitations of their corresponding claim(s) listed in the present application, except for the following difference: Claim 1 of the present application lists the addition of an agrochemical active ingredient, which is not taught by co-pending ‘561. Eggebert et al. remedies this deficiency by teaching that agrochemical ingredients such as azoxystrobin, fluxapyroxad, chlorothalonil, and mefentrifluconazole can be added to such compositions for pesticidal effects (column 2, lines 52-56), thus making such additions to the claimed composition conventional. The selection, inclusion, or exclusion of agrochemical active ingredients to agrochemical compositions is a routine formulation choice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this claimed invention, since agrochemical active ingredients are well-known to be interchangeable based on many factors such as pesticidal purpose. Thus, adjusting an agrochemical composition by adding or omitting a conventional active agent represents no more than a routine and predictable variation using known components for their established functions, made with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, the present claims differ from the claims of co-pending ‘561 only by an obvious variation that does not impart a patentable distinction. Claims 15 and 16 of the copending contain calcium cation and bactericide which can be agrochemicals.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct co-pending ‘561 claims have not yet in fact been patented.
Conclusions
No claim is found allowable.
Arya A. Bazargani, Ph.D.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1613
/MARK V STEVENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613