DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the RCE filed for application 18/681,917.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 9, on the final 2 lines, applicant claims that “the shoulder rests on an edge of an opening of the fastening sleeve.” In the specification, part 16 has been disclosed as being the shoulder:
Therefore, it is unclear how the shoulder (part 16) rests on a hole (part 12.1) of the fastening sleeve (part 12). The claim will be interpreted as “the shoulder rests on an edge of an opening of the longitudinal member.” This would be problematic with dependent claim 10, which introduces the first and second openings of the longitudinal member.
With regard to claims 15 and 21, the limitation of “the second end” is referencing an end of the fastening sleeve (see claim 9) and not the fastening flange, fastening tab, or cross member. The claims will be treated as best understood.
Claims 10-23 depend upon claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-14, 16-20, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chun (US 2020040692, see annotated drawings below for clarification).
With regard to claim 9, Chung teaches an arrangement comprising: a longitudinal member 10 having a hollow profile, a fastening sleeve 60, wherein the fastening sleeve comprises a base body 61 having a support plate 65 at a first end and a shoulder (Fig. 8) at a second end; and a cross member (Fig. 8) which has at least one fastening flange 6, wherein: the at least one fastening flange of the cross member extends at least in some sections parallel to the longitudinal member (Fig. 8) and is connected to the fastening sleeve 61, and the fastening sleeve is inserted into the longitudinal member and connected in a formfitting manner to the longitudinal member in such a way that the fastening sleeve extends parallel to the cross member (Fig. 8) and introduces acting tensile loads into the longitudinal member, wherein the shoulder (Fig. 8) rests on an edge of an opening 52 of the longitudinal member (Fig. 8). With regard to claim 10, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the fastening sleeve 61 passes through a first opening 51 in an inner wall 25 of the longitudinal member and a second opening 52 in an outer wall 41 of the longitudinal member. With regard to claim 11, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the support plate 65 rests on an edge of the first opening 51 and forms a first form fit with the inner wall 25 of the longitudinal member (Fig. 5). With regard to claim 12, Chung teaches the arrangement wherein the shoulder (Fig. 8) forms a second form fit with the outer wall 41 of the longitudinal member. With regard to claims 13 and 18-20, respectively, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the at least one fastening flange 6 further comprises a fastening tab (Fig. 6). With regard to claim 14, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the fastening tab is screwed (via 7) to the fastening sleeve at the first end. With regard to claim 16, Chung teaches
A vehicle (paragraph 2) comprising the arrangement according to claim 9. With regard to claim 17, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the shoulder (Fig. 8) forms a second form fit with the outer wall 41 of the longitudinal member. With regard to claim 22, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the base body further comprises an internal thread 81. With regard to claim 23, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein a threaded shaft of a screw 7 is configured to be screwed into the internal thread.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung as applied to claims 13 and 14 above, and further in view of Takii (US 10640154). With regard to claims 15 and 21, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the fastening tab 6 is secured to the cross member (Fig. 8) at one end (both parts integral). Chung lacks the specific teaching wherein the two parts are separable and the secured via a weld. Takii teaches a similar arrangement comprising a longitudinal member 20, a fastening sleeve 28, a cross member 54, a fastening tab 60, and welding T2 (and Col. 6, line 40) a means for securing two member together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Chung to employ a separable fastening tab and cross member and connect the two via welding as the means for securing the fastening tab to the cross member at one end in view of Takii with reasonable expectation for success in order to provide smaller and easier to produce parts as well as a permanent means for securing without additional parts (i.e. bolts). Also, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Suggestions for Applicant
It is suggested that applicant amend claim 9 to claim the details of the screw connection between the flange and the sleeve. This can be done by including claims 22 and 23 into claim 9, and claiming that the screw is driven through the the flange and second end [of the sleeve, where the shoulder is located] toward the first end [of the sleeve, where the support plate is located]. This would differentiate over the cited Chung reference, wherein the screw 7 is driven through the flange 6 and first end [of the sleeve, where the support plate is located] toward the second end [of the sleeve, where the shoulder is located].
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
June 2, 2026