DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the amendment filed for application 18/681,917 on August 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11-14, 16-20, and 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung (US 2020040692, see annotated drawings below for clarification).
With regard to claim 9, Chung teaches an arrangement comprising: a longitudinal member 10 having a hollow profile, an inner wall 25 having a first opening 51, and an outer wall 41 having a second opening 52, a fastening sleeve 60, wherein the fastening sleeve comprises a base body 61 having a support plate 65 at a first end and a shoulder (Fig. 8) at a second end; and a cross member (Fig. 8) which has at least one fastening flange 6, wherein: the at least one fastening flange of the cross member extends at least in some sections parallel to the longitudinal member (Fig. 8) and is connected to the fastening sleeve 61, and the fastening sleeve is configured to be inserted into the longitudinal member in an insertion direction from the first opening 51 in the inner wall toward the second opening 52 in the outer wall (paragraph 54), and connected in a formfitting manner to the longitudinal member in such a way that the fastening sleeve extends parallel to the cross member (Fig. 8) and introduces acting tensile loads into the longitudinal member, wherein the shoulder (Fig. 8) rests on an edge of the second opening 52 of the outer wall 41 (Fig. 8). With regard to claim 11, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the support plate 65 rests on an edge of the first opening 51 and forms a first form fit with the inner wall 25 of the longitudinal member (Fig. 5). With regard to claim 12, Chung teaches the arrangement wherein the shoulder (Fig. 8) forms a second form fit with the outer wall 41 of the longitudinal member. With regard to claims 13 and 18-20, respectively, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the at least one fastening flange 6 further comprises a fastening tab (Fig. 6). With regard to claim 14, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the fastening tab is screwed (via 7) to the fastening sleeve at the first end. With regard to claim 16, Chung teaches
A vehicle (paragraph 2) comprising the arrangement according to claim 9. With regard to claim 17, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the shoulder (Fig. 8) forms a second form fit with the outer wall 41 of the longitudinal member. With regard to claim 22, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the base body further comprises an internal thread 81. With regard to claim 23, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein a threaded shaft of a screw 7 is configured to be screwed into the internal thread. With regard to claim 24, Chung teaches the arrangement,
wherein an impact of the cross member on an obstacle is configured to cause a tensile load on the screw 7 corresponding to the insertion direction of the fastening sleeve. With regard to claim 25, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the tensile load is configured to be distributed into the inner wall of the longitudinal member (Fig. 8). With regard to claim 26, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the tensile load is configured to be distributed into the outer wall of the longitudinal member (Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung as applied to claims 13 and 14 above, and further in view of Takii (US 10640154). With regard to claims 15 and 21, Chung teaches the arrangement, wherein the fastening tab 6 is secured to the cross member (Fig. 8) at one end (both parts integral). Chung lacks the specific teaching wherein the two parts are separable and secured via a weld. Takii teaches a similar arrangement comprising a longitudinal member 20, a fastening sleeve 28, a cross member 54, a fastening tab 60, and welding T2 (and Col. 6, line 40) a means for securing two members together. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Chung to employ a separable fastening tab and cross member and connect the two via welding as the means for securing the fastening tab to the cross member at one end in view of Takii with reasonable expectation for success in order to provide smaller and easier to produce parts as well as a permanent means for securing without additional parts (i.e. bolts). Also, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the Chung ‘’982 reference, applicant argues the following:
Regarding the Examiner's admission, head portion 65 is "formed on the bottom end of the first cylindrical portion 61 of the mounting hardware 60." See paragraph [0052]. Moreover, "the bottom wall 25 of the inner portion 21 may support the head portion 65 of the mounting hardware 60" and "the head portion 65 of the mounting hardware 60 may be firmly fixed to the bottom wall 25." See paragraphs [0056] and [0063]. Hence, the subject matter related to the insertion direction SR distinguishes the amended claims from Chung's arrangement.
Based on applicant’s arguments, it appears as if applicant is arguing that the emphasized bottom wall does not read on the claimed limitation of “the inner wall” in claim 9. It can be shown, however, that applicant has not claimed any context of the location of “the inner wall” and “the outer wall.” In claim 9, the inner and outer walls are only labels with regard to individual walls of the longitudinal member. Therefore, a bottom wall 25 of the longitudinal member 10 has been interpreted as the “inner wall.” It is understood that in the present invention, a top wall 3.1 of the longitudinal member 3 is considered the inner wall. However, this has not been positively claimed.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are not persuasive.
Suggestions for Applicant
A suggestion would be for applicant to amend lines 10-11 of claim 9 as follows:
inserted into the longitudinal member in an insertion direction from the first opening in the inner wall towards the fastening flange and the second opening in the outer wall, and
This addition would differentiate over the Chung reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
September 8, 2026