DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, and the species in the reply filed on 09/23/2026 is acknowledged. The election was made with traverse.
Pursuant to Applicant’s arguments, previously withdrawn species of catalyst species are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Because all species previously withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142 have been rejoined, the election of species requirement for Group I as set forth in the Office action mailed on 07/23/2026 is hereby withdrawn.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions as grouped have unity of invention and special technical features. This is not found persuasive as there is no unity of invention or special technical feature. Please see the rejection as set forth below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Please note that after a final requirement for restriction, the Applicants, in addition to making any response due on the remainder of the action, may petition the Commissioner to review the requirement. Petition may be deferred until after final action on or allowance of claims to the invention elected, but must be filed not later than appeal. A petition will not be considered if reconsideration of the requirement was not requested. (See § 1.181.).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-11 are under current examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 11are objected to because these Claims recite abbreviations, such as FAU FER etc. and these needs to be spelled out in their entirety because this is the first time these abbreviations appear in the claim and must be defined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosan (JP H01 242541 A; as provided by the applicant on IDS dated 02/07/2024) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Kosan teaches a process for producing glycol ethers characterized by reacting glycol esters with hydrogen in the presence of a heterogeneous catalyst capable of hydrogenating a bond to an ether bond (entire document). The catalyst according to the cited prior art contains one or more kinds of elements belonging to the periodic table such as iron, cobalt, nickel, ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, iridium, platinum and the like. Ruthenium, palladium, platinum and nickel are used in the examples on a catalyst carrier, such as alumina, silica gel, silica, silica alumina, diatomaceous earth, carbon, zeolite, titania, zirconia or heteropoly acid and the like (entire document). Kosan further teaches ether with an alkyl (methyl) group, preferred reaction temperature and pressure for the process are in the range of 50 to 350 °C (about 323-623 K) and in the range of 10-300 kg/cm²G (about 1 to 30 MPa (abs)) (entire document). Kosan also teaches that the ether may be unsymmetrical, and reaction may be carried out in any of a liquid phase, a gas phase, and a gas-liquid phase (entire document).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Kosan teaches a process for producing glycol ethers characterized by reacting glycol esters with hydrogen in the presence of a heterogeneous catalyst capable of hydrogenating a bond to an ether bond. The catalyst according to the cited prior art contains one or more kinds of elements belonging to the periodic table such as iron, cobalt, nickel, ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, iridium, platinum and the like. Ruthenium, palladium, platinum and nickel are used in the examples on a catalyst carrier, such as alumina, silica gel, silica, silica alumina, diatomaceous earth, carbon, zeolite, titania, zirconia or heteropoly acid and the like, but fails to teach the process with example of zeolite, specific zeolite and amount of metal on zeolite.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference of providing an example with zeolite-Kosan teaches that the catalyst may contain one or more kinds of elements belonging to the periodic table such as iron, cobalt, nickel, ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, iridium, platinum and the like. Ruthenium, palladium, platinum and nickel are used in the examples on a catalyst carrier, such as alumina, silica gel, silica, silica alumina, diatomaceous earth, carbon, zeolite, titania, zirconia or heteropoly acid and the like. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that transition metal supported on zeolite maybe used in hydrogenation of ester to ether as taught by the cited prior art.
With regards to the above difference of using specific zeolite and amount of metal deposited on zeolite- The cited prior art teaches that transition metal supported on zeolite maybe used in hydrogenation of ester to ether. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that any commercially available zeolite with catalytic amount of metal may be useful in hydrogenation of ester to ether.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Kosan teaches a process for producing glycol ethers characterized by reacting glycol esters with hydrogen in the presence of a heterogeneous catalyst capable of hydrogenating a bond to an ether bond. The catalyst according to the cited prior art contains one or more kinds of elements belonging to the periodic table such as iron, cobalt, nickel, ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, iridium, platinum and the like. Ruthenium, palladium, platinum and nickel are used in the examples on a catalyst carrier, such as alumina, silica gel, silica, silica alumina, diatomaceous earth, carbon, zeolite, titania, zirconia or heteropoly acid and the like.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is with a reasonable expectation of success that transition metal supported on zeolite may be used in hydrogenation of ester to ether and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying such parameters is prima facie obvious because an ordinary artisan would be motivated to develop an alternative process for economic reasons or convenient purposes from a known individual reaction steps, and to arrive at applicants’ process with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is within the scope to modify the process through a routine experimentation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 in the instant application are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims 1-11 of co-pending US application 19111526. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims of instant application and co-pending application are drawn to a process of making same compound using same reactant, and reaction conditions with a difference in wording.
The difference in wording, however, does not constitute a patentable distinction, because the claims in the present invention simply fall within the scope of co-pending application. For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed process is made obvious.
This is provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not been patented yet.
Conclusion
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623