DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/07/2024, 03/03/2026, 03/31/2026, and 08/18/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 21306275.5 filled on 09/15/2021.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 19, 20, 25, 27, and 36-37 have been amended. Claims 29 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 06/18/2026, have been considered but are not persuasive / are moot in view of the new ground rejection.
Main Argument
… The combination of Bose, Nikopour, and Madine does not teach or suggest this amended limitation. Bose discloses broad synchronization possibilities, such as exchanging messages with current timestamps of internal clocks, using a common server, using GPS time, using NTP servers, or aligning motion and video frames. Bose 11 [0067], [0084]. Those disclosures concern general agreement on a common time base or post-acquisition alignment of different time bases; they do not disclose scan windows, a scan-window duration tied to another device's broadcasting period, or successively performing scan windows until another tied device is found. Nikopour is relied upon for periodic vehicular broadcast messages, such as CAM messages broadcast at 1-10 Hz. Nikopour I [0039]. But Nikopour's vehicular beaconing likewise does not disclose or suggest the claimed scan-window acquisition of timing data between tied timestamped-data acquisition devices. …
Reply, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Bose teaches each device comprises an internal clock, an identifier, a synchronization trigger, the synchronization trigger being a predetermined number of acquired sensor datapoints or a predetermined synchronization frequency, a memory, a wireless connection module and at least one sensor ([0067] … a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time. Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices after a previous synchronization).
…. Scanning through its wireless connection module to receive internal clock data and identifier broadcasted by at least one of the other devices...... ([0067] synchronization is accomplished by exchanging information between devices so that the devices can agree on a common measurement for time, location, or orientation. For example, a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time. Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices).
Bose does not explicitly teach the following limitations: a device scanning through its wireless connection module, wherein each scan window is at least as long as the other device’s broadcast period, and successive scan windows continue until another device is found.
Madine supplies the scan-window acquisition mechanism used to detect beacon devices and collect their identifiers ( [0003] Beacon devices with low-capability hardware—also referred to as low-capability devices ... [0167] If the scanning window is too long (significantly larger than the ID broadcast frequency), the BLE tag will appear on several gateway devices as it moves. There will be a strong signal detected at the start, middle and end of the corridor ... [0168] The determination of this window is a function of the broadcast frequency of the beacon device (e.g. low-capability device 140 of FIG. 1; BLE tag), wherein the window is typically around 1 broadcast per second, and the speed of movement of the item (BLE tag or attached to such a BLE tag to name but a few non-limiting examples) being tracked (highly use case dependent). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Bose’s synchronization technique could be implemented using Madine’s scan-based beacon discovery process in order to obtain timing data from nearby devices while also identifying those devices. This is KSR obvious predictable use of known techniques for their expected functions. Likewise, the claimed limitation that the scan windows are “successively performed until at least one other device is found” is obvious, where Madine teaches repeated calibration and adjustment of the scan window length until an acceptable result is achieved (Madine ¶¶ [0160]–[0163]). A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to repeat scan windows until a beacon is found in order to ensure successful detection, especially where the beacon broadcasts periodically and may not be detectable in a single scan window.
Accordingly, Bose and Madine collectively teach the amended limitations.
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim Objections
Claim 19, 24, 27-28, and 36-38 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 19,
“its” in “its wireless connection module” , “its internal clock” , “its identifier”, "its memory", and "its own internal clock" . “Its” could be understand as “at least two devices” or “one device only”. Please consider change it or amend it for more clarification .
Regarding to claim 19,24,27-28, and 36-38,
The phrase “Each device” in this claim is not necessary please consider changing to “one of the at least two devices”
Regarding claim 19, and 36-38,
“Tied” in “The devices are tied so that each device knows the identifier of other tied devices;” . Grammatical revision is required "insert limitation" for further clarification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19-28 and 30-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 19, 27 and 34 recite “at least one of the other devices” and “the devices”. Based on the language on the language of claim(s) 19, 27, and 34 are unclear to the Examiner what the “at least one of the other devices” and “the devices” correspond to. For example, is the devices mean “at least two devices” or one of the “ at least two devices” or a new device.
Claim 20-28, and 30-35 rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim(s) 19, 27 and 36 recite “at least one of the other devices” and “at least one other device”. Based on the language on the language of claim(s) 19, 27, and 34 are unclear to the Examiner what the “at least one of the other devices” correspond to. For example, in claim 19 is the “at least one of the other devices” referring the same “at least one of the other devices” or different “at least one of the other devices””
Claim 37-38 rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 21, 23-24, 30-31, and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose (US 20230260552 A1), hereinafter Bose in view of Madine (US 20190158202 A1), hereinafter Madine.
Regarding claim 19,
Bose teaches A method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data by at least two devices wherein: (fig. 1) and ([0067] the computer on the mobile device may determine a clock difference between the motion capture element and the mobile device and synchronize the motion analysis data with the video ... a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time. Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices after a previous synchronization)
Each device comprises an internal clock, an identifier, a synchronization trigger, the synchronization trigger being a predetermined number of acquired sensor datapoints or a predetermined synchronization frequency, a memory, a wireless connection module and at least one sensor ([0084] computer may compare its clock to an internal clock of the motion capture element and to an internal clock of a camera, by exchanging packets containing the current time as registered by each device. ... [0178] Each mobile device 101, 102, 102a, 102b may optionally include an internal identifier reader 190, for example an RFID reader, or may couple with an identifier reader or RFID reader (see mobile device 102) to obtain identifier 191 ... [0245] The motion capture elements may also include a memory, for storing capture data, and a microprocessor for analyzing this data…. [0067] devices may be embedded sensors, ... a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time. Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices after a previous synchronization. and [0357] system may be able to detect such events instantaneously by monitoring sensor values continuously).
Each of the at least two devices are tied so that each device of the at least two devices knows the identifier of each other device of the at least two devices ([0019] intelligent recognition of events within motion data including but not limited to motion capture data obtained from portable wireless motion capture elements such as visual markers and sensors, radio frequency identification tags and mobile device computer systems, or calculated based on analyzed movement associated with the same user);
Each device acquires sensor data and, through its wireless connection module, continuously broadcasts its internal clock data and its identifier ([0178] Each mobile device 101, 102, 102a, 102b may optionally include an internal identifier reader 190, for example an RFID reader, or may couple with an identifier reader or RFID reader (see mobile device 102) to obtain identifier 191. ... This enables team sports or locations with multiple players or users to be identified with respect to the app that may receive data associated with a particular player or user. and [0067] a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these ... Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices);
For each device of the at least two devices, when triggering by the synchronization trigger, said device acquires a timing data, said acquisition comprising ([0002] one or more embodiments enable a multi-sensor event detection and tagging system that enables intelligent analysis, synchronization)
Scanning through its wireless connection module to receive internal clock data and identifier broadcasted by at least one of the other devices...... ([0067] synchronization is accomplished by exchanging information between devices so that the devices can agree on a common measurement for time, location, or orientation. For example, a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time. Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices);
Storing in its memory the timing data comprising internal clock data for the respective device and the received internal clock data and identifier for at least one other device of the at least two devices (Fig. 40 and [0069] … When an event detection occurs, the recording device may store some configured amount of data prior to the start of the event, and some configured amount of data after the end of the event, in addition to storing the data captured during the event itself. ... [0179] The motion capture data from motion capture element 111, any data associated with the piece of equipment 110, such as identifier 191 and any data associated with user 150, or any number of such users 150, such as second user 152 may be stored in locally in memory, or in a database local to the computer or in a remote database, for example database 172 for example that may be coupled with a server... [0232] mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages across link 1802, e.g., wirelessly, with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time).
Bose does not explicitly teach wherein the scanning comprises at least one scan window, a duration of each scan window being larger than or equal to a period of broadcasting of at least one of the other devices, and each scan window being successively performed until at least one of the other devices is found
Madine teaches wherein the scanning comprises at least one scan window, a duration of each scan window being larger than or equal to a period of broadcasting of at least one of the other devices, and each scan window being successively performed until at least one of the other devices is found ([0003] Beacon devices with low-capability hardware—also referred to as low-capability devices ... [0167] If the scanning window is too long (significantly larger than the ID broadcast frequency), the BLE tag will appear on several gateway devices as it moves. There will be a strong signal detected at the start, middle and end of the corridor ... [0168] The determination of this window is a function of the broadcast frequency of the beacon device (e.g. low-capability device 140 of FIG. 1; BLE tag), wherein the window is typically around 1 broadcast per second, and the speed of movement of the item (BLE tag or attached to such a BLE tag to name but a few non-limiting examples) being tracked (highly use case dependent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Madine to the teaching of Bose. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Bose’s synchronization technique could be implemented using Madine’s scan-based beacon discovery process in order to obtain timing data from nearby devices while also identifying those devices. This is KSR obvious predictable use of known techniques for their expected functions. Likewise, the claimed limitation that the scan windows are “successively performed until at least one other device is found” is obvious, where Madine teaches repeated calibration and adjustment of the scan window length until an acceptable result is achieved (Madine ¶¶ [0160]–[0163]). A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to repeat scan windows until a beacon is found in order to ensure successful detection, especially where the beacon broadcasts periodically and may not be detectable in a single scan window).
Regarding claim 21, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose further teaches wherein the sensor data are acquired continuously ([0357] system may be able to detect such events instantaneously by monitoring sensor values continuously).
Regarding claim 23, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose further teaches wherein the synchronization trigger is a predetermined synchronization frequency ([0357] system may be able to detect such events instantaneously by monitoring sensor values continuously).
Regarding claim 24, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 23,
Bose further teaches wherein each device comprises the same predetermined synchronization frequency, the timing data being acquired asynchronously by each device ([0084] ... techniques include clock synchronization methods well-known in the art, such as the network time protocol, that ensure that all devices—motion capture elements, computer, and cameras—use a common time base. In another technique the computer may compare its clock to an internal clock of the motion capture element and to an internal clock of a camera, by exchanging packets containing the current time as registered by each device. Other techniques analyze motion data and video data to align their different time bases for synchronization. For instance, a particular video frame showing a contact with a ball may be aligned with a particular data frame from motion data showing a shock in an accelerometer; these frames can then be used effectively as key frames, to synchronize the motion data and the video data. The combined video data and motion data forms a synchronized event video with an integrated record of an event).
Regarding claim 30, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose further teaches wherein the wireless connection module is a Bluetooth low energy system ([0245] the communication interface may be wired or wireless. It may include for example, without limitation: a radio for a wireless network such as for example Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy).
Regarding claim 31, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose further teaches wherein the at least two devices comprise at least one of: an accelerometer, a pressure sensor, a magnetometer, a gyroscope, an electrocardiogram sensor, an oximeter, an electroencephalogram sensor, a temperature sensor, a force sensor, an arterial blood flow sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, a plantar pressure sensor, a glucose level sensor, a posture sensor, a balance sensor, a heartbeat sensor and/or a telemetry sensor.([ 0339] motion sensors may include an accelerometer).
Regarding claim 34, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose further teaches wherein the devices are wearable devices ([0054] enable RFID or passive RFID tags to be placed on items that a user moves wherein embodiments of the system keep track of the motion. For example, by placing passive RFID tags on a particular helmet or cap, or protective mouthpiece for boxing, football, soccer or other contact sport, particular dumbbells at a gym).
Regarding claim 35, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose further teach wherein the at least two devices comprise two insoles ([0062] sensors coupled to equipment, such as .... shoes).
Claim(s) 20, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose and Madine in view of Nikopour (US 20160295589 A1), hereinafter Nikopour.
Regarding claim 20, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose and Madine do not explicitly teach wherein continuous broadcasting is periodic and a frequency of broadcasting is ranging from 1 Hz to 25 Hz.
Nikopour teaches, wherein continuous broadcasting is periodic and a frequency of broadcasting is ranging from 1 Hz to 25 Hz ([0039] A CAM may be a periodic short message in the form of a beacon or heartbeat message. Thus in this sense, a CAM is a time driven message. For example, a CAM message may be broadcasted at a frequency in the range of 1-10 Hz ... However, these values are merely examples... and [0053] processing system or for receiving timing signals for time synchronization of the system with other systems).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Nikopour to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to deliver information quickly ([0035] Nikopour).
Regarding claim 27, Bose and Nikopour teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 20,
Bose does not explicitly teach wherein duration of the scanning of each device is larger than or equal to a period of broadcasting of at least one of the other devices.
Madine teaches wherein duration of the scanning of each device is larger than or equal to a period of broadcasting of at least one of the other devices ([0167] If the scanning window is too long (significantly larger than the ID broadcast frequency), the BLE tag will appear on several gateway devices as it moves. There will be a strong signal detected at the start, middle and end of the corridor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Madine to the teaching of Bose. The motivation for such an addition would be to achieve low precision position determination ([0167] Madine).
Regarding claim 28, Bose and Nikopour and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 27,
Bose does not explicitly teach wherein the duration of the scanning of each device is 30 seconds.
Madine teaches wherein the duration of the scanning of each device is 30 seconds ([0060] According to an exemplary embodiment of all aspects of the present invention, the scanning is performed for the duration of a pre-defined or determined according to pre-defined rule time interval).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Madine to the teaching of Bose. The motivation for such an addition would be to achieve low precision position determination ([0167] Madine).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose and Madine in view of Jeon (US 20210382978 A1), hereinafter Jeon.
Regarding claim 22, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose and Madine do not explicitly teach wherein the synchronization trigger is a predetermined number of acquired sensor datapoints.
Jeon teaches wherein the synchronization trigger is a predetermined number of acquired sensor datapoints ([0023] power consumed in performing implicit continuous authentication may be reduced using an authentication period determined on the basis of sensor data, rather than using a fixed authentication period).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jeon to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to reduce power consumed ([0023] Jeon).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose and Madine in view of Praveen (US 20110299472 A1), hereinafter Praveen.
Regarding claim 25, Bose and Madine teaches the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 23,
Bose and Madine do not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined synchronization frequency is larger than or equal to A/20, where A is the largest internal clock drifting rate of the at least two devices.
Praveen teaches wherein the predetermined synchronization frequency is larger than or equal to A/20, where A is the largest internal clock drifting rate of the at least two devices (fig. 2, and [0018] Synchronization activity period (SAP) 202 is the period in which synchronization activity (SA) shall happen .... The duration of SAP depends on multiple factors such as synchronization periodicity, maximum relative clock drift rate with respect to its coordinator).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Praveen to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to give maximum power efficiency ([0004] Praveen).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose and Madine in view of Praveen (US20090161653A1), hereinafter Praveen653.
Regarding claim 26, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 23,
Bose and Madine do not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined synchronization frequency ranges between 1 to 6
h
o
u
r
-
1
.
Praveen653 teaches wherein the predetermined synchronization frequency ranges between 1 to 6
h
o
u
r
-
1
([0019] Synchronization Frame (SF) ... [0024] The duration of the SF 300 can be either increased or decreased to support the synchronization periodicity ranging from few seconds to a few hours).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Praveen653 to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to have efficient synchronization ([0024] Praveen653).
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose and Madine and Geiser (US 20130215712 A1), hereinafter Geiser.
Regarding claim 32, Bose and Madine teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 19,
Bose and Madine do not explicitly teach wherein the acquisition of sensor data lasts at least 10 hours.
Geiser teaches wherein the acquisition of sensor data lasts at least 10 hours ([0084] Data recorded by data acquisition and recording system 10 is ... in the form of digitally sampled time series referred to as ... for each sensor 12 or 22. Each value in the time series is recorded at a known time and represents the value of the seismic energy sensed by sensors 12 and 22 at that time. The data are recorded over a period of time referred to as the data acquisition time period. The data acquisition time period ... depending on the objective.... When the objective of the survey is to monitor a fracturing operation, for example, the data acquisition time period may be in hours or even days).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Geiser to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to monitor operation ([0084] Geiser).
Regarding claim 33, Bose and Madine and Geiser teach the method of acquiring timestamped data and timing data according to claim 32,
Bose and Madine do not explicitly teach wherein the acquisition of sensor data lasts at least 24 hours.
Geiser further teaches wherein the acquisition of sensor data lasts at least 24 hours ([0084] Data recorded by data acquisition and recording system 10 is ... in the form of digitally sampled time series referred to as ... for each sensor 12 or 22. Each value in the time series is recorded at a known time and represents the value of the seismic energy sensed by sensors 12 and 22 at that time. The data are recorded over a period of time referred to as the data acquisition time period. The data acquisition time period ... depending on the objective.... When the objective of the survey is to monitor a fracturing operation, for example, the data acquisition time period may be in hours or even days).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Geiser to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to monitor operation ([0084] Geiser).
Claim(s) 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose and Madine and Hariharan (US 11451931 B1), hereinafter Hariharan.
Regarding claim 36,
Bose teaches a method of synchronizing timestamped data, the method comprising:
tying at least two devices to each other, wherein each device knows the identifier of each other device, wherein each device comprises an internal clock, an identifier, a synchronization trigger, a memory, a wireless connection module, and at least one sensor ([0019] intelligent recognition of events within motion data including but not limited to motion capture data obtained from portable wireless motion capture elements such as visual markers and sensors, radio frequency identification tags and mobile device computer systems, or calculated based on analyzed movement associated with the same user) and ;([0084] computer may compare its clock to an internal clock of the motion capture element and to an internal clock of a camera, by exchanging packets containing the current time as registered by each device. ... [0178] Each mobile device 101, 102, 102a, 102b may optionally include an internal identifier reader 190, for example an RFID reader, or may couple with an identifier reader or RFID reader (see mobile device 102) to obtain identifier 191 ... [0245] The motion capture elements may also include a memory, for storing capture data, and a microprocessor for analyzing this data. ) and ([0067] devices may be embedded sensors, and [0357] system may be able to detect such events instantaneously by monitoring sensor values continuously).
For each device of the at least two devices, acquiring sensor data and, through the wireless connection module of the respective device, continuously broadcasting internal clock data and the identifier of the respective device, the broadcasting being periodic and defining a period of broadcasting ([0178] Each mobile device 101, 102, 102a, 102b may optionally include an internal identifier reader 190, for example an RFID reader, or may couple with an identifier reader or RFID reader (see mobile device 102) to obtain identifier 191. ... This enables team sports or locations with multiple players or users to be identified with respect to the app that may receive data associated with a particular player or user. and [0067] a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these ... Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices).
For each device of the at least two devices, when triggered by the synchronization trigger, acquiring timing data, said acquiring comprising ([0002] one or more embodiments enable a multi-sensor event detection and tagging system that enables intelligent analysis, synchronization)
scanning through the wireless connection module of the respective device to receive internal clock data and an identifier broadcast by at least one other device of the at least two devices ([0067] synchronization is accomplished by exchanging information between devices so that the devices can agree on a common measurement for time, location, or orientation. For example, a mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time. Such messages may be exchanged periodically as needed to account for clock drift or motion of the devices);
storing in the memory of the respective device the timing data comprising internal clock data for the respective device and the received internal clock data and identifier for the at least one other device (Fig. 40 and [0069] When an event detection occurs, the recording device may store some configured amount of data prior to the start of the event, and some configured amount of data after the end of the event, in addition to storing the data captured during the event itself. ... [0179] The motion capture data from motion capture element 111, any data associated with the piece of equipment 110, such as identifier 191 and any data associated with user 150, or any number of such users 150, such as second user 152 may be stored in locally in memory, or in a database local to the computer or in a remote database, for example database 172 for example that may be coupled with a server... [0232] mobile phone and an embedded sensor may exchange messages across link 1802, e.g., wirelessly, with the current timestamps of their internal clocks; these messages allow a negotiation to occur wherein the two devices agree on a common time).
Bose does not explicitly teach wherein the scanning comprises at least one scan window, a duration of each scan window being larger than or equal to the period of broadcasting of at least one other device of the at least two devices, and each scan window being successively performed until at least one other device of the at least two devices is found
Transmitting timestamped data and timing data from each device of the at least two devices to a collector device; and
Synchronizing the transmitted timestamped data from the at least two devices in the collector device, using timing data of the at least two devices.
Madine teaches wherein the scanning comprises at least one scan window, a duration of each scan window being larger than or equal to the period of broadcasting of at least one other device of the at least two devices, and each scan window being successively performed until at least one other device of the at least two devices is found ([0003] Beacon devices with low-capability hardware—also referred to as low-capability devices ... [0167] If the scanning window is too long (significantly larger than the ID broadcast frequency), the BLE tag will appear on several gateway devices as it moves. There will be a strong signal detected at the start, middle and end of the corridor ... [0168] The determination of this window is a function of the broadcast frequency of the beacon device (e.g. low-capability device 140 of FIG. 1; BLE tag), wherein the window is typically around 1 broadcast per second, and the speed of movement of the item (BLE tag or attached to such a BLE tag to name but a few non-limiting examples) being tracked (highly use case dependent).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Madine to the teaching of Bose. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Bose’s synchronization technique could be implemented using Madine’s scan-based beacon discovery process in order to obtain timing data from nearby devices while also identifying those devices. This is KSR obvious predictable use of known techniques for their expected functions. Likewise, the claimed limitation that the scan windows are “successively performed until at least one other device is found” is obvious, where Madine teaches repeated calibration and adjustment of the scan window length until an acceptable result is achieved (Madine ¶¶ [0160]–[0163]). A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to repeat scan windows until a beacon is found in order to ensure successful detection, especially where the beacon broadcasts periodically and may not be detectable in a single scan window).
Bose and Madine do not explicitly teaches Transmitting timestamped data and timing data from each device of the at least two devices to a collector device; and Synchronizing the transmitted timestamped data from the at least two devices in the collector device, using timing data of the at least two devices.
Hariharan teaches Transmitting timestamped data and timing data from each device of the at least two devices to a collector device; and Synchronizing the transmitted timestamped data from the at least two devices in the collector device, using timing data of the at least two devices (column 25, row 5- row 35, Example 1 .... receiving first sensor data ... receiving second sensor data... synchronizing the second sensor data and the first sensor data using the timing offset to generate a set of synchronized sensor data)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hariharan to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to synchronize sensor data across multiple device (column 1 row 20-25, Hariharan).
Regarding claim 37, Bose and Madine and Hariharan teach the method of synchronizing timestamped data according to claim 36,
Bose does not explicitly teach wherein tying the at least two devices to each other is performed by sending, to each device, an identifier corresponding to each of the other devices, the identifier uniquely identifying each device
Hariharan teaches wherein tying the at least two devices to each other is performed by sending, to each device, an identifier corresponding to each of the other device, the identifier uniquely identifying each device (column 23 row 15-30, gathering and use of motion data, such as data indicative of movements of computing devices and/or accessory devices. The present disclosure contemplates that in some instances, this gathered data may include personal information data that uniquely identifies or can be used to contact or locate a specific person. Such personal information data can include demographic data, location-based data, telephone numbers, email addresses, twitter handles, home addresses, data or records relating to a user's health or level of fitness (e.g., vital signs measurements, medication information, exercise information), date of birth, or any other identifying or personal information).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Hariharan to the teaching of Bose and Madine. The motivation for such an addition would be to synchronize sensor data across multiple device (column 1 row 20-25, Hariharan).
Regarding claim 38, Bose and Madine and Hariharan teach the method of synchronizing timestamped data according to claim 36,
Bose further teaches further comprising, before tying the at least two devices to each other, assigning a unique identifier to each device ([0043] Embodiments of the invention may also include an identifier coupled with the at least one motion capture sensor or the user or the piece of equipment. In one or more embodiments, the identifier may include a team and jersey number or student identifier number or license number or any other identifier that enables relatively unique identification of a particular event from a particular user or piece of equipment).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465