DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-6 and 8-18 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa (JP 2005323520) in view of Roch (GB 2482654).
In regard to claim 1, Kitagawa discloses a substantially sphere shaped pot for holding one or more plants, the pot configured with an opening arranged for a plant of the one or more plants to stick out of or to grow out of the pot (Figs. 1-6 and Translated Specification Page 3 lines 18-31, where there is a substantially sphere shaped pot 1 configured with an opening 13 arranged for a plant of the one or more plants C/D to stick out of or to grow out of the pot 1), wherein the pot comprises an enclosure which comprises an upper bodyshell and a lower bodyshell which are arranged for being connected together at a circumferential section which traverses a circumference of the substantially sphere-shaped pot to form the enclosure for the plant, whereby: the upper bodyshell comprises the opening at a top surface of the upper bodyshell (Figs. 1-6 and Translated Specification Page 3 lines 18-31, where wherein the pot comprises an enclosure which comprises an upper bodyshell 11a and a lower bodyshell 11b which are arranged for being connected together at a circumferential section which traverses a circumference of the substantially sphere-shaped pot to form an enclosure for the plant C/D and where the upper bodyshell 11a comprises the opening 13 at a top surface of the upper bodyshell); wherein the lower bodyshell has a bottom flat surface such that the pot can be placed on a tabletop, wall or ceiling (Figs. 1-6, where the lower bodyshell 11b at least has a bottom flat surface 14/2 such that the pot can be placed on a tabletop). Kitagawa is silent on the bodyshells are arranged for being rotated in a circumferential direction relative to each other at the circumferential section around a rotational axis, and the opening is positioned off-centered of the rotational axis; wherein the circumferential section is oriented at an angle relative to the flat bottom surface of the lower bodyshell, thus allowing the orientation of the opening of the upper bodyshell to be changed by rotating the bodyshells at the circumferential section. Roch discloses on the bodyshells are arranged for being rotated in a circumferential direction relative to each other at the circumferential section around a rotational axis, and the opening is positioned off-centered of the rotational axis (Figs. 2-7, Abstract, and Attached Specification Page 4 lines 34-42, where the bodyshells 4/5 are arranged for being rotated in a circumferential direction (arranged for being rotated at least along a circumference) relative to each other at the circumferential section (circumference of joining section of bodyshells 4/5) around a rotational axis (at least arranged for being rotated to “a predetermined angle of rotation”) and where the opening is positioned off-centered (“the mouth of each container is itself formed at an oblique angle to the axis of the container”) of the rotational axis); wherein the circumferential section is oriented at an angle relative to the flat bottom surface of the lower bodyshell, thus allowing the orientation of the opening of the upper bodyshell to be changed by rotating the bodyshells at the circumferential section (Figs. 2-7, Abstract, and Attached Specification Page 4 lines 34-42, where the circumferential section (circumference of joining section of bodyshells 4/5) is oriented at an angle relative to the flat bottom surface (at least flat surface as shown in Fig. 7) of the lower bodyshell 5 which at least allows the orientation of the opening of the upper bodyshell 4 to be changed by rotating the bodyshells 4/5 at the circumferential section). Kitagawa and Roch are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include plant holding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Kitagawa such that the bodyshells are arranged for being rotated in a circumferential direction relative to each other at the circumferential section around a rotational axis, and the opening is positioned off-centered of the rotational axis; wherein the circumferential section is oriented at an angle relative to the flat bottom surface of the lower bodyshell, thus allowing the orientation of the opening of the upper bodyshell to be changed by rotating the bodyshells at the circumferential section in view of Roch. The motivation would have been to allow the plant to grow “at an angle to each of the containers so providing a denser and more even growth pattern to cover the surface against which the plating system is situated” (Roch, Attached Specification Page 4 lines 34-42).
In regard to claim 2, Kitagawa as modified by Roch discloses the pot according to claim 1, wherein the bodyshells are hemispheres and the enclosure is substantially spherical when the bodyshells are connected (Kitagawa, Figs. 1-6, where the bodyshells 11a/11b are at least hemispheres and the enclosure is substantially spherical when the bodyshells 11a/11b are connected).
In regard to claim 3, Kitagawa as modified by Roch discloses the pot according to claim 1, wherein the lower bodyshell comprises a bottom center point, whereby the lower body shell is arranged for being positioned with the bottom center point positioned substantially at the lower side of the lower body shell (Kitagawa, Figs. 1-6, where the lower body shell 11b is arranged for being positioned with a bottom center point 14 positioned substantially at the lower side of the lower bodyshell 11b; Roch, Figs. 2-7, where the lower bodyshell 5 at least has a bottom center point positioned substantially at the lower side of the lower bodyshell 5), in such a manner that the rotational axis is tilted relatively to the vertical axis of the enclosure (Roch, Figs. 2-7, Abstract, and Attached Specification Page 4 lines 34-42, where the rotational axis (relative rotation between bodyshells 4 and 5) is at least tilted relatively to the vertical axis of the enclosure (“The mouth 4a of the upper container 4 is held at an angle of rotation to the mouth 5a of the lower container 5 and the mouth of each container is itself formed at an oblique angle to the axis of the container”)).
In regard to claim 14, Kitagawa as modified by Roch discloses the pot according to claim 1, wherein the pot is arranged for holding soil, hydro granules or water (Roch, Figs. 2-7 and Attached Specification Page 5 lines 12-16, where the pot is at least arranged for holding soil (“planting medium could be soil”)).
In regard to claim 15, Kitagawa as modified by Roch discloses the pot according to claim 1, wherein the opening is configured as a circle, flower, or a configuration of multiple orifices (Kitagawa, Figs. 1-6, where the opening 13 is configured as a circle).
In regard to claim 16, Kitagawa as modified by Roch discloses the pot according to claim 1, wherein the upper or the lower bodyshell are arranged for being nested for storage or transport (Kitagawa, Figs. 1-6, where the upper bodyshell 11a is at least arranged for being nested in the lower bodyshell 11b, by vertically rotating either bodyshell 180 degrees).
Claims 4-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa (JP 2005323520) in view of Roch (GB 2482654) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Cho (KR 101877172).
In regard to claim 4, Kitagawa as modified by Roch discloses the pot according claim 1. Kitagawa as modified by Roch is silent on the lower bodyshell comprises an attachment means positioned at the bottom center point and arranged for attaching a rod and fixing said rod substantially in the vertical axis. Cho discloses the lower bodyshell comprises an attachment means positioned at the bottom center point and arranged for attaching a rod and fixing said rod substantially in the vertical axis (Figs. 13-15 and Translated Specification Page 5 lines 19-29, where the lower bodyshell has an attachment means 400 positioned at the bottom center point (near 120) and arranged for attaching a rod 200 and fixing said rod 200 substantially in the vertical axis (via threads)). Kitagawa and Cho are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include plant holding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Kitagawa as modified by Roch such that the lower bodyshell comprises an attachment means positioned at the bottom center point and arranged for attaching a rod and fixing said rod substantially in the vertical axis in view of Cho. The motivation would have been to hang the pot from a support structure, in order to facilitate drainage (Cho, Translated Abstract) or position the pot for desired aesthetics.
In regard to claim 5, Kitagawa as modified by Roch and Cho discloses the pot according to claim 4, wherein the rod is configured with a first fastening means at the top end, said fastening means arranged for suspending the enclosure (Cho, Figs. 13-15 and Translated Specification Page 5 lines 19-29, where the rod 200 is configured with a first fastening means 210 at the top end, said fastening means 210 arranged for suspending the enclosure).
In regard to claim 6, Kitagawa as modified by Roch and Cho discloses the pot according to claim 5, wherein the attachment means of the lower bodyshell comprises a hole configured for the rod to be inserted at least partly, whereby the rod is configured with a second fastening means at the lower end, said second fastening means arranged for suspending an object, such as a second enclosure below the pot (Cho, Figs. 13-15 and Translated Specification Page 5 lines 19-29, where the attachment means 400 of the lower bodyshell has a hole configured for the rod 200 to be inserted at least partly and where the rod 200 is configured with a second fastening means 310 at the lower end, said second fastening means 310 arranged for suspending an object 600).
In regard to claim 11, Kitagawa as modified by Roch and Cho discloses the pot according to claim 4, wherein the rod is configured with a thread, and the attachment means is configured with a matching thread for screwing the rod together (Cho, Figs. 13-15 and Translated Specification Page 5 lines 19-29, where the rod 200 is configured with a thread 220 and where the attachment means 400 is configured with at least a matching thread for screwing the rod 200 together).
In regard to claim 12, Kitagawa as modified by Roch and Cho discloses the pot according to claim 11, wherein the attachment means is configured for selectively attaching the rod (Cho, Figs. 13-15 and Translated Specification Page 5 lines 19-29, where the attachment means 400 is configured for at least selectively attaching the rod 200).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa (JP 2005323520) in view of Roch (GB 2482654) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of JP3138217.
In regard to claim 17, Kitagawa as modified by Roch discloses the pot according to claim 1. Kitagawa as modified by Roch is silent on the upper and lower bodyshell are provided with a thread configured for screwing the upper and the lower body shells together. JP3138217 discloses the upper and lower bodyshell are provided with a thread configured for screwing the upper and the lower body shells together (Figs. 1-4 and Translated Abstract, where the upper and lower bodyshell 10/20 are provided with a thread 12/21 configured for screwing the upper and the lower body shells 10/20 together). Kitagawa and JP3138217are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include plant holding devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Kitagawa as modified by Roch such that the upper and lower bodyshell are provided with a thread configured for screwing the upper and the lower body shells together in view of JP3138217. The motivation would have been to use a well known connection mechanism, which enables quick and reliable attachment and detachment of the two halves of the enclosure. This would allow for easier access to the roots of the plant for replanting or related horticultural purposes (JP3138217, Translated Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (filed 04/04/2026) with respect to the rejection of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Kitagawa (JP 2005323520) in view of Roch (GB 2482654) discloses the applicant’s claim 1 as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above.
Specifically, Kitagawa teaches, in Figs. 1-6, that the lower bodyshell 11b at least has a bottom flat surface 14/2 such that the pot can be placed on a tabletop and a circumferential section which traverses a circumference of the substantially sphere-shaped pot to form an enclosure for the plant C/D.
Furthermore, Roch teaches the bodyshells are arranged for being rotated in a circumferential direction relative to each other at the circumferential section around a rotational axis in Figs. 2-7, Abstract, and Attached Specification Page 4 lines 34-42, where the bodyshells 4/5 are arranged for being rotated in a circumferential direction (arranged for being rotated at least along a circumference) relative to each other at the circumferential section (circumference of joining section of bodyshells 4/5) around a rotational axis (at least arranged for being rotated to “a predetermined angle of rotation”). Roch also teaches, in Figs. 2-7, Abstract, and Attached Specification Page 4 lines 34-42, that the circumferential section (circumference of joining section of bodyshells 4/5) is oriented at an angle relative to the flat bottom surface (at least flat surface as shown in Fig. 7) of the lower bodyshell 5 which at least allows the orientation of the opening of the upper bodyshell 4 to be changed by rotating the bodyshells 4/5 at the circumferential section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited, for the full list of prior art made of record. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of plant care devices.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647