THIS WAY UPDETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of membrane structures each include the top plate having a different thickness of claim 9, at least two membrane structures out of the plurality of membrane structures have mutually different internal pressures of claim 10, the plurality of membrane structures has a plurality of hermetically sealed spaces filled with different fillers inside of claim 11, and at least two membrane structures out of the plurality of membrane structures have mutually different thicknesses as measured in a vibration propagation direction of the vibration propagation member of claim 12, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 12 states at least two membrane structures have mutually different thickness as measured in the propagation direction. The Applicant defines a membrane structure by a top plate and at least one vertical partition. If this is the case, then two membrane structures would share a top plate and therefore, the shared top plate would have a thickness. Thus at least two membrane structures can’t have different thicknesses in a propagation direction. This feature is not in the specification nor shown in the figures as filed. It doesn’t appear that the Applicant had possession of the invention as claimed at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1-9, 13, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguchi (Japanese Patent Document Number JP 2004343263).
With respect to claim 1, Taguchi discloses and illustrates a vibration propagation member configured to operate by being bonded to one surface of a vibration means (ultrasonic transducer 100), the vibration propagation member comprising: a top plate (resin plate 3, see at least Figure 1); a sidewall (see at least Figure 1); and at least one vertical partition disposed perpendicularly to the top plate (see at least Figure 1), the vibration propagation member being configured to use vibration produced by a plurality of membrane structures defined by the top plate and the at least one vertical partition (see at least Figure 4).
With respect to claim 2, the vibration propagation member of claim 1, wherein the vibration propagation member has a plurality of spaces defined by the top plate (see at least Figure 1), the at least one vertical partition (see at least Figure 1), and the vibration means, and at least one of the plurality of spaces is a hermetically sealed space (see at least Figure 1).
With respect to claim 3, a vibration propagation member configured to operate by being bonded to one surface of a vibration means (transducer 100), the vibration propagation member comprising: a top plate (see at least Figure 1); a bottom plate (see at least Figure 1); a sidewall (see at least Figure 1); at least one vertical partition disposed perpendicularly to the top plate and the bottom plate (see at least Figure 1), the vibration propagation member being configured to use vibration produced by a plurality of membrane structures defined by the top plate and the at least one vertical partition (see at least Figure 4).
With respect to claim 4, the vibration propagation member of claim 3, wherein the vibration propagation member has a plurality of spaces defined by the top plate (see at least Figure 1), the bottom plate (see at least Figure 1), and the at least one vertical partition (see at least Figure 1), and at least one of the plurality of spaces is a hermetically sealed space (see at least Figure 1).
With respect to claim 5, a vibration propagation member configured to operate by being bonded to one surface of a vibration means (see at least Figure 4), the vibration propagation member comprising: a top plate (see at least Figure 1); a bottom plate (see at least Figure 1); a sidewall of the vibration propagation member (see at least Figure 1); at least one vertical partition disposed perpendicularly to the top plate and the bottom plate (see at least Figure 1); and at least one horizontal partition disposed horizontally to the top plate and the bottom plate(see at least Figure 1), the vibration propagation member being configured to use vibration produced by a plurality of membrane structures defined by the top plate and the at least one vertical partition (see at least Figure 4).
With respect to claim 6, the vibration propagation member of claim 5, wherein the vibration propagation member has a plurality of spaces defined by the top plate (see at least Figure 1), the at least one vertical partition (see at least Figure 1), and any one surface of the at least one horizontal partition (see at least Figure 1), and at least one of the plurality of spaces is a hermetically sealed space (see at least Figure 1).
With respect to claim 7, the vibration propagation member of claims 1, wherein the at least one vertical partition includes a plurality of vertical partitions (see at least Figure 1), and the plurality of membrane structures are defined by multiple different gap distances between the plurality of vertical partitions (see at least Figure 1).
With respect to claim 8, the vibration propagation member of claim 1, wherein the at least one vertical partition includes a plurality of vertical partitions (see at least Figure 1), and the plurality of membrane structures are defined by the plurality of vertical partitions having multiple different shapes in a cross section taken perpendicularly to a vibration propagation direction (see at least Figure 1).
With respect to claim 9, the vibration propagation member of claims 1, wherein the plurality of membrane structures each include the top plate having a different thickness (see translated paragraph [0021] “ In manufacturing the acoustic matching member 1, a plurality of resin plates 3 having a predetermined thickness by lamination, for example, an appropriate thickness for realizing a quarter wavelength of transmitted / received ultrasonic waves are obtained.”, thus thickness is dependent on the acoustic matching to be obtained and adjusted or different dependent on the quarter wavelength.).
With respect to claim 13, the vibration propagation member of claim 1, wherein the at least one vertical partition includes a plurality of vertical partitions, and the plurality of vertical partitions includes some vertical partitions that are out of contact with the sidewall (see at least Figure 1).
With respect to claim 18, the vibration propagation member of claim 1, wherein the vibration propagation member includes a plurality of plate members stacked one on top of another and directly joined together (see at least Figure 1), each of the plurality of plate members having a plurality members of patterned elements formed thereon out of an identical material (see at least Figure 1 ).
With respect to claim 19, the vibration propagation member of claim 1, wherein the vibration propagation member includes a plurality of plate members stacked one on top of another and bonded together via a bonding material (see at least Figure 1), each of the plurality of plate having a plurality of patterned elements formed thereon (see at least Figure 3).
With respect to claim 20, a vibration transceiver comprising: a vibration means (102, 100); and the vibration propagation member of claim 1bonded to one surface of the vibration means (see at least Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanka (Japanese Patent Document Number JP 2019213139)
With respect to claim 21, while Taguchi does disclose a vibration transceiver comprising: a bottomed metallic case; the vibration propagation member of claim 1 bonded onto a top outer wall surface of the bottomed metallic case; and a vibration means disposed on a top inner wall surface of the bottomed metallic case, Taguchi fails to disclose any specific shape for the case. Tanka, However, discloses that a that takes on various shapes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a cylindrical case with the system of Taguchi in order maintain some similar structure to the system as a whole. Tanka discloses that it’s better to have all shapes within the structure to be same in order to allow better matching between the structure and the propagation member as it’s easier to define the matching to the transceiver when the shapes are the same.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Nakano et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0143919; hereinafter referred to as Nakano).
With respect to claim 22, Taguchi discloses the vibration transceiver of claim 20, wherein the vibration means is configured as a piezoelectric member Taguchi fails to disclose the piezoelectric member has a groove extending parallel to a vibration propagation direction of the piezoelectric member, and the groove of the piezoelectric member and the at least one vertical partition of the vibration propagation member are parallel to each other. However, Nakano discloses a piezoelectric substrate with a groove (see Nakano paragraph [0109]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the piezoelectric substrate structure of Nakano with the system of Taguchi as Nakano discloses a benefit of the groove in that since the groove is formed in the piezoelectric substrate, an undesired vibration of the piezoelectric substrate can be suppressed, and an ultrasonic vibration can be transmitted to the target fluid more efficiently. So, using a groove on the substrate with Taguchi would provide a similar benefit of making the system more efficient.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baumgartner et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0099097; hereinafter referred to as Baumgartner).
With respect to claim 23, while Taguchi discloses a method for manufacturing the vibration propagation member of claim 1 by performing, in this order, the steps of: forming patterned elements on each of a plurality of plates; stacking the plurality of plates one on top of another, each of the plurality of plates having the patterned elements formed thereon; and directly joining the plurality of plates together by applying, load to the plurality of plates that have been stacked. However, Taguchi fails to disclose metal plates or the specific method of attaching the plates. However, Baumgartner discloses a method of using metal plates in a transducer structure and bonding them together to form the transducer (see at least paragraph [0011] of Baumgartner). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the metal plate structure and manufacturing method of Baumgartner in order to give improved acoustic matching impedance of the stack (see at least paragraph [0010] of Baumgartner).
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Ozawa et al. (Japanese Patent Document Number JP 2011257435).
With respect to claim 24, while Taguchi discloses the vibration transceiver of claim 20, Taguchi fails to disclose a flowmeter comprising: a flow channel configured to let a fluid under measurement pass through; arranged to face the channel; a timer configured to measure a time of appearance of a signal transmitted by any one the pair of the vibration transceivers; and a calculating means configured to calculate a flow rate based on the time of appearance measured by the timer. However, Ozawa discloses and illustrates a flowmeter comprising: a flow channel configured to let a fluid under measurement pass through; arranged to face the channel; a timer configured to measure a time of appearance of a signal transmitted by any one the pair of the vibration transceivers; and a calculating means configured to calculate a flow rate based on the time of appearance measured by the timer (see Figure 1 and the translation of the Technical Field Section discloses a measurement of flow rate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the transceivers of Taguchi with the system disclosed in Ozawa in order to give a more efficient transceiver structure for use with the Ozawa flow meter.
With respect to claim 25, while Taguchi discloses the vibration transceiver of claim 20, Taguchi fails to disclose a velocity meter comprising: a flow channel configured to let a fluid under measurement pass through; arranged to face the channel; a timer configured to measure a time of appearance of a signal transmitted by any one the pair of the vibration transceivers; and a calculating means configured to calculate a flow velocity based on the time of appearance measured by the timer. However, Ozawa discloses and illustrates a velocity meter comprising: a flow channel configured to let a fluid under measurement pass through; arranged to face the channel; a timer configured to measure a time of appearance of a signal transmitted by any one the pair of the vibration transceivers; and a calculating means configured to calculate a flow rate based on the time of appearance measured by the timer (see Figure 1 and the translation of the Technical Field Section discloses a measurement of flow velocity). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the transceivers of Taguchi with the system disclosed in Ozawa in order to give a more efficient transceiver structure for use with the Ozawa flow meter.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Noguchi et al. (U.S. Patent Number 4,662,212; hereinafter referred to as Noguchi).
With respect to claim 26, while Taguchi discloses the vibration transceiver of claim 20, Taguchi fails to disclose a concentration meter comprising: a housing having a vent hole configured to let a mixed gas as a fluid under pass through; a pair of the vibration transceivers arranged inside the housing to face each other with a predetermined distance left between the pair of the vibration transceivers themselves; a temperature sensor disposed inside the housing; a timer configured to measure a time of appearance of a signal transmitted by any one the pair of the vibration transceivers; and a calculating means configured to calculate a propagation velocity and an average molecular weight and gas concentration of the mixed gas based on the time of appearance measured by the timer. However, Noguchi discloses and illustrates such a device ( see at least Figure 2 and column 1 line 14 through column 2, line 63 of Noguchi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the transceivers of Taguchi with the system disclosed in Noguchi in order to give a more efficient transceiver structure for use with the Noguchi concentration meter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The partition of wall thickness varying in a vibration propagation direction in claim 14 is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in view of the prior art of record.
Conclusion
RODNEY T. FRANK
Examiner
Art Unit 2855
February 20, 2026