Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“positioning mechanism” includes the generic/nonce term “mechanism” coupled with the function of “positioning”. A return to the specification provides a guide rail and follower (30A and 30B; [0033]). Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
“elevating device” includes the generic/nonce term “device” coupled with the function of “elevating”. A return to the specification provides hoist, winch, or the like ([0036]). Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 15, and 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Auchter et al (US 4,174,791).
Regarding claim 1, Auchter discloses a power feeding apparatus for supplying electric power to a submersible pump used to deliver liquefied gas, comprising:
a first electrical contact (14) secured to the submersible pump (4) and electrically coupled to an electric motor of the submersible pump;
a second electrical contact (13) configured to contact the first electrical contact, at least a part of the second electrical contact being located in a pump column (2) in which the submersible pump is arranged; and
a power cable (15) electrically coupled to the second electrical contact.
Regarding claim 2, Auchter discloses the first electrical contact (14) and the second electrical contact (13) are movable relative to each other in a longitudinal direction of the pump column while the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact are in contact with each other (4:40-49).
Regarding claim 3, Auchter discloses an entirety of the second electrical contact (13) is located in the pump column, and at least a part of the power cable is located in the pump column.
Regarding claim 4, Auchter discloses a part of the second electrical contact is located outside the pump column, and an entirety of the power cable is located outside the pump column (the power cable 15 is outside of the column as shown in at the figures, the second electrical contact 13 is regarded as inclusive of connection to power cable 15 for the purposes of interpretation here, thus a portion of the second electrical contact is outside of the column).
Regarding claim 5, Auchter discloses a positioning mechanism (11 and 12)configured to determine relative positions of the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact in a circumferential direction of the submersible pump.
Regarding claim 6, Auchter discloses the power cable (15) is secured to an inner surface or an outer surface of the pump column (figures show power cable 15 secured to an outer surface of the pump column).
Regarding claim 7, Auchter discloses the power cable (15) has structural resistance to a low temperature below a boiling point of the liquefied gas (the power cable is submerged in cryogenic liquid as disclosed and thus has structural resistance to withstand the environment in which it is used).
Regarding claim 8, Auchter discloses a spring configured to press the first electrical contact against the second electrical contact (4:45); and a support structure that movably supports the first electrical contact (support structure for first contact 14 shown in figure 1c), a horizontal gap being formed between the first electrical contact and the support structure.
Regarding claim 11, Auchter discloses a spring configured to press the second electrical contact against the first electrical contact (4:45); and a support structure that movably supports the second electrical contact support structure for second contact 13) shown in figure 1c), a horizontal gap being formed between the second electrical contact and the support structure.
Regarding claim 15, Auchter discloses the power cable (15) comprises a metal interconnect embedded in an inner surface of the pump column, and a power feeding line electrically coupled to the metal interconnect (connection from 15 to 13 includes portion embedded within column).
Regarding claim 22, Auchter discloses: a submersible pump (4) for delivering liquefied gas; a pump column (2) in which the submersible pump is arranged; and the power feeding apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, Auchter discloses a liquefied-gas tank facility comprising: a liquefied-gas storage tank (1) for storing liquefied gas therein; a pump column (2) arranged in the liquefied-gas storage tank; a submersible pump (4) for delivering the liquefied gas, the submersible pump being arranged in the pump column; and the power feeding apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, Auchter discloses a power feeding method for supplying electric power to a submersible pump used to deliver liquefied gas, comprising:
lowering the submersible pump in a pump column by an elevating device (7);
bringing a first electrical contact (14) into contact with a second electrical contact (13), the first electrical contact being secured to the submersible pump and electrically coupled to an electric motor of the submersible pump, at least a part of the second electrical contact being located in the pump column (2); and
supplying electric power from a power cable to the electric motor via the second electrical contact and the first electrical contact, the power cable being electrically coupled to the second electrical contact.
Regarding claim 25, Auchter discloses the first electrical contact is brought into contact with the second electrical contact when the submersible pump is lowered to an operating position within the pump column (4:30-39).
Regarding claim 26, Auchter discloses the first electrical contact is separated from the second electrical contact when the submersible pump is elevated from the operating position by the elevating device (7; 3:68 “lifting and lowering device”).
Regarding claim 27, Auchter discloses the liquefied gas has an electrical insulating property (electrical insulation and conduction is a material property).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12, 13, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auchter et al (US 4,174,791).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Auchter discloses the power feeding apparatus according to claim 1, but lacks a taper and corresponding reverse taper connection. The examiner takes official notice that tapered electrical connections are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Auchter with a taper and corresponding reverse taper connection in order to aid in alignment.
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Auchter discloses a positioning mechanism (11 and 12) configured to determine relative positions of the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact in a circumferential direction of the submersible pump, the positioning mechanism including a combination of a guide rail and a guide follower. Auchter is silent concerning a relative horizontal gap size. The examiner takes official notice that it is known to have a small gap for alignment/guiding structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Auchter with a small gap between the guide and follower relative to the support structure in order to maintain the system within an acceptable alignment tolerance.
Regarding claims 19-21, Auchter discloses the power feeding apparatus of claim 1, but is silent concerning a specific shape of the electrodes. The examiner takes official notice that electrical rails and bars are old and well known electrical connection types. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Auchter with an electrical bar or rail in order to provide sufficient electrical contact to enable power transfer ensuring proper pump operation.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auchter et al (US 4,174,791) in view of Shaw et al (US 2002/0050361).
Regarding claim 16, Auchter discloses a suspension structure extending in a vertical direction along the pump column, the suspension structure being removably arranged, the second electrical contact being held by the suspension structure (Auchter discloses a suspension arrangement for the power cable and second electrical contact). Auchter lacks the suspension structure being within the column. Shaw discloses a submersible pump powering arrangement including a suspension structure (17) of a power cable (31) and second electrical contact (49) within the pump column (16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Auchter with a suspension structure within the pump column in order to protect the components from the bulk cryogenic fluid within the tank.
Regarding claim 17, Auchter and Shaw disclose the suspension structure (17 of Shaw) extends from an upper portion to a lower portion of the pump column.
Regarding claim 18, Auchter and Shaw disclose the suspension structure has a guide groove or a guide rail with which a guide follower is engaged, the guide follower being mounted to the submersible pump (11 and 12 of Auchter provided a guide and follower, in combination with Shaw it follows to apply that structure to the suspension structure in order to maintain rotational alignment, thus this structure is maintained in the modification above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 14 includes all features of preceding claim 1 as well as a plural pulley and an endless power cable arrangement. This arrangement is shown in instant figures 14-17.
Auchter as detailed above is regarded as the closest prior art of record. Auchter is directed to making electrical contact with an electrode permanently fixed within the bottom of a pump column.
No known reference, whether alone or in proper combination, would yield the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hall et al (US 7,201,240) downhole data transmission
Ricco et al (US 7,071,416) LPG fuel tank electrical connection
Meijer et al (US 7,510,003) downhole connection system
Carter (US 3,652,186) pump electrical cable
Chen (US 8,641,446) coaxial electrical probe
Semple et al (US 11,674,518) submersible pump power connection
Zebhauser (US 9,865,954) plug connection
Staley (US 2,082,986) protected terminal
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799