DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/698,915 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘915 application claims differ only in that they do not recite the associated adapter in which the connector would be mated to. The inventive structure in the current case and the copending application relate to the misalignment adjustment structure in the connector. Remaining claims are structural obvious variations of the internal flanges and projections which are disclosed in both applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0004254 to Yoshino et al. in view of US 2025/0130374 to Kirkpatrick et al.
Yoshino discloses in the abstract and figures 1-6, an optical connection component comprising:
an optical connector (10) having an optical fiber that includes a glass fiber (2), a front end portion (towards 60 in figure 3), and a rear end portion (end towards 2 in figure 3) located on a side opposite to the front end portion (figure 3); and
an adapter (not pictured in the prior art but disclosed as the associated oppositely connected portion to the connector; paragraphs 35 and 40) having an opening that accommodates the front end portion of the optical connector, an alignment sleeve (19; figure 15), and a sleeve holder that holds the alignment sleeve in a predetermined position (figure 15 shows the sleeve held in position with the two end portions),
wherein the optical connector includes:
a ferrule assembly (60) having a ferrule fixed to a tip end portion (40) of the glass fiber exposed from the resin coating of the optical fiber (the very front tip of a fiber is exposed in the optical axis direction. Applicant’s intent appears to be for a coating to be stripped off a lengthwise direction and an amendment should be made to clarify this) and a holding portion (30; figure 7) to which a rear end portion of the ferrule is fixed and which is provided with a flange (53);
a housing having an inner wall surface that defines an internal space in which at least the holding portion of the ferrule assembly is accommodated, a flat surface that constitutes a part of the inner wall surface and is provided at a position facing a part of an outer peripheral surface of the flange, and a positioning portion that limits movement of the holding portion in the internal space (figures 7-12 show how the holding portion secures the ferrule in the housing); and
an elastic member (80) that biases the flange toward the positioning portion,
wherein, in a state in which a front end portion of the ferrule and the alignment sleeve or the sleeve holder in the adapter are not in contact with each other (paragraph 63 discloses coupling performed in a non-contact manner), the flange is biased toward the positioning portion to be rotatable about a first central axis of the ferrule (figures 7-12 show there is some allowance for rotation before fixing), and
wherein, in an axis misalignment state in which the front end portion of the ferrule and the alignment sleeve or the sleeve holder in the adapter are in contact with each other and the outer peripheral surface of the flange is in contact with the flat surface, the flange is biased toward the positioning portion (figures 7-12 disclose the alignment and misalignment with the connected and biased ferrule shown in figures 3 and 15).
As to claim 2, the claim recites a general “floating” terminology defined as the position changes as the ferrule is pushed through. Figure 8 shows some degree of movement and the spring allows for movement in the longitudinal direction.
As to claim 3, the outer shape of the flange is quadrangular (53; figure 6).
As to claim 4, an outer portion is curved (RD; figure 10).
As to claim 6, the housing is plastic (paragraph 30).
As to claim 7, the flange can be metal (paragraph 25).
As to claim 8, the flange can also be plastic (paragraph 25).
However, Yoshino fails to explicitly disclose a resin coated fiber where a portion of the “end” is removed. It is noted that independent claims 9-10 disclose this removal to secure an end in the ferrule.
As to claim 5, the type of fiber is not disclosed in Yoshino.
Kirkpatrick discloses a well known resin coated fiber which is common in the art (abstract and paragraph 100-101 and 121 describes the resin removal to allow for strength and proper mounting). Such fibers are also known as plastic optical fibers and are used for their bendability and resistance to damage. With regard to claim 5, fiber bundles are disclosed by Kirkpatrick.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that multiple types of fibers and fiber bundles may be used within a ferrule. Kirkpatrick teaches such bundles with resin portions removed for proper mounting within a ferrule.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2003/0215191.
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874