DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groote et al (US 20170218192 A1) in view of Eiji et al (JP 2004210933 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 1-8, Groote teaches dynamic cross-linked polymer compositions (or DCNs) by curing pre-dynamic cross-linked polymer compositions [0036, 0045]. The pre-dynamic cross-linked polymer composition comprises polyesters including poly(butylene terephthalate) (PBT) [0055], which is art recognized as a polycondensate of terephthalic acid and 1,4-butanediol.
The examiner submits that the PBT reads on the claimed polyester unit as specified in claim 3: terephthalic acid reading on the claimed polyvalent carboxylic acid component (A); 1,4-butanediol reading on the claimed polyhydric alcohol component (B).
The polyesters also includes aliphatic polyester prepared from the polycondensation of glycol and aliphatic dicarboxylic acids such as sebacic acid [0063]. Sebacic acid reads on the recited saturated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid having 5 to 20 carbon atoms in claim 4, as evidence by the applicant [0066 spec.].
Groote teaches that the composition comprises silica powders as a filler [0096], which read on the claimed silica particles recited in claim 2.
Groote does not teach that the diol unit in the polyester further comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of neopentyl glycol, cyclohexanedimethanol, diethylene glycol, 2,2-diethyl-1,3-propanediol, 2-n-butyl-2-ethyl-1,3-propanediol, 2,2-isopropyl-1,3-propanediol, 2,2-di-n-butyl-1,3-propanediol, and hexanediol as specified in claim 5.
In the same field of endeavor, Eiji teaches a dynamically crosslinked thermoplastic resin composition comprising a thermoplastic polyester type polymer and a functionalized addition polymerization-based block copolymer [0009]. The thermoplastic polyester type polymer includes polybutylene terephthalate-based resin (PBT) [0033]. Besides 1,4-butanediol, the diol unit in the polyester can include neopentyl glycol and cyclohexanedimethanol [0037]. The functionalized addition polymerization-based block copolymer includes epoxy groups [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select neopentyl glycol and cyclohexanedimethanol as the diol unit in Groot’s polyester composition, as these are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Neopentyl glycol and cyclohexanedimethanol read on the claimed polyhydric alcohol component (B) in claim 5.
Groote teaches that the composition comprises a transesterification catalyst [0037], as recited in claim 6.
Thus, Groote in view of Eiji teaches the same product of a crosslinked polyester resin as specified in claims 2-6.
The recited “the crosslinked polyester resin having covalent bond exchange properties at a temperature of 150° C. or higher and having a gel fraction of 80% by mass or higher” in claim 1 is a property of the product. Similarly, the recited “having a Young's modulus of 50 MPa or higher, the Young's modulus being calculated from a gradient of a stress-strain curve at 2% elongation” in claim 7 and the recited “having a tensile strength of 10 MPa or higher” in claim 8 are properties of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited properties are expected to be present.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762