DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/681999 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remarks date 02/07/24
Oath/Declaration
2. The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Drawings
3. The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 5 and 11 disclose “….and the first message is used for the first base station to request the second base station to perform handover preparation …..”
It is unclear what the handover preparation consist of. Leaves one guessing what is being done previously to the handover or what is different from the handover.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-12,14-16, 18-22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over WU (WO2021160091A1) in view of Hong (WO22036610A1 /US12317145B2)
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a method for multi-modal service-based cell handover, comprising: transmitting, by a first base station, a first message to a second base station, wherein the first message comprises device identifier information of a plurality of terminals and service identifier information, the plurality of terminals are terminals in a source cell of the first base station that carry data, and the first message is used for the first base station to request the second base station to perform handover preparation; (see WU Fig.3 and 4 page 15 paragraphs[0001] and [0002] explains …The terminal device can also be a cellular phone, a cordless phone, a session initiation protocol (session initiation protocol, SIP) phone, a wireless local loop (WLL) station, a personal digital assistant (personal digital assistant, PDA), with wireless communication Functional handheld devices, computing devices or other processing devices connected to wireless modems, in-vehicle devices, wearable devices, terminal devices in the future 5G network, or future evolution of the public land mobile network (PLMN) Terminal equipment, etc. Terminal equipment represented by satellite phones and vehicle-mounted satellite systems can communicate directly with satellites. The fixed terminal represented by the ground communication station needs to be relayed by the ground station before it can communicate with the satellite. The terminal device realizes the setting and acquisition of the communication state by installing a wireless transceiver antenna, and completes the communication…. page 16 paragraph [0007] explains… FIG. 3 takes two terminal devices, namely terminal device A and terminal device B, as examples for description. The cell handover of a terminal device. S310: The network device #1 (ie, an example of the first network device) determines to switch the terminal device A and the terminal device B to the cell of the network device #2 (ie, an example of the second network device…. Page 20 last paragraph explains…FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met..)
receiving, by the first base station, a second message from the second base station, wherein the second message indicates that the second base station completes the handover preparation;(see WU page 20 last paragraph explains…the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met. In S330, the message #2 sent by the network device #2 to the network device #1 is a response to the conditional switching request.…. )and transmitting, by the first base station, a third message to the plurality of terminals, wherein the third message indicates a target cell for handover. (see WU page 23 paragraph [0007] explains…..S420: The network device #1 determines to instruct the terminal device A and the terminal device B to switch to the cell of the network device #2. s430 : The network device #1 sends information B (ie, an example of the first information), and the information B is used to indicate the resource #1 (ie, an example of the first resource). explains…. page 27 paragraph [0006] S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell.)
WU does not explicitly disclose multi-modal service
However Hong column 3 line 52 explains… FIG. 1, the UE sends measurement information to a source base station, the source base station determines, based on the measurement information reported by the terminal, the information about a multi-modal service that is being performed and sends the determined information of the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE to a target base station, and the target base station determines whether to support the multi-modal communication that is being performed by the UE according to the received information of the multi-modal communication and sends to the source base station the information indicating that the target base station supports the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE or the information indicating that the target base station does not support the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE… The multi-modal service response information further at least includes: handover request acknowledge information (HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE) configured to indicate that the target base station supports the multi-modal service, and the multi-modal service response information also includes information configured to indicate one or more types of one or more multi-modal services performed by the UE and supported by the target base station.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve handover with multi-modal service (See background and summary first paragraph)
Regarding claim 2, the modified WU taught the method of claim 1, as described above. The modified WU further teaches the first message comprises at least one of: a terminal identifier set, a first service identifier, a first data flow identifier set, a first admission identifier, and a second admission identifier, the terminal identifier set indicates the plurality of terminals, the first service identifier indicates the first multi-modal service, the first data flow identifier set indicates data flows of the first multi-modal service, the first admission identifier comprises an entire admission identifier or a partial admission identifier, the entire admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits all of the data flows of the first multi-modal service, the partial admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits part of the data flows of the first multi-modal service, and the second admission identifier indicates whether any of the data flows should be admitted when the first multi-modal service is admitted, and transmitting, by the first base station, the first message to the second base station comprises: transmitting, by the first base station, the first message to the second base station in a predefined manner, wherein the predefined manner comprises HANDOVER REQUEST and HANDOVER REQUIRED. (see WU page 16 paragraph [0007] explains… FIG. 3 takes two terminal devices, namely terminal device A and terminal device B, as examples for description. The cell handover of a terminal device. S310: The network device #1 (ie, an example of the first network device) determines to switch the terminal device A and the terminal device B to the cell of the network device #2 (ie, an example of the second network device..see WU page 20 paragraph [0009] explains….The identity of the cell of network device #2 (that is, the target cell to which terminal device A and terminal device B are handed over), a set of random access resources, and the correspondence between random access resources and synchronization signal block (synchronization signal block, SSB), Channel state information reference signal (channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS) configuration information or system information of the target cell.… Hong column 3 line 52 ……..)
Regarding claim 3, the modified WU taught the method of claim 1, wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a plurality of terminal identifiers, a plurality of first service identifiers, a plurality of data flow identifiers, a plurality of first admission identifiers, and a plurality of second admission identifiers, each terminal identifier indicates a corresponding terminal, each data flow identifier indicates one data flow of the first multi-modal service transmitted by a corresponding terminal, each first admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits all of data flows of the first multi-modal service transmitted by a corresponding terminal or indicates that the second base station can only admit part of the data flows of the first multi-modal service transmitted by the corresponding terminal, and each second admission identifier indicates whether any of data flows should be admitted when the first multi-modal service is admitted, and transmitting, by the first base station, the first message to the second base station comprises: transmitting, by the first base station, a plurality of first messages to the second base station of a second cell in a predefined manner, wherein each first message comprises at least one of: one terminal identifier, one first service identifier, one data flow identifier, one first admission identifier, and one second admission identifier, and the predefined manner comprises HANDOVER REQUEST and HANDOVER REQUIRED. (see WU page 20 last paragraph explains…the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met. In S330, the message #2 sent by the network device #2 to the network device #1 is a response to the conditional switching request.….See WU page 16 paragraph [0007] explains… FIG. 3 takes two terminal devices, namely terminal device A and terminal device B, as examples for description. The cell handover of a terminal device. S310: The network device #1 (ie, an example of the first network device) determines to switch the terminal device A and the terminal device B to the cell of the network device #2 (ie, an example of the second network device…..… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 4, the modified WU taught the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting, by the first base station, the third message to the plurality of terminals comprises: transmitting, by the first base station, a handover command to the plurality of terminals, wherein the handover command indicates the plurality of terminals to hand over to the target cell. (see WU page 23 paragraph [0007] explains…..S420: The network device #1 determines to instruct the terminal device A and the terminal device B to switch to the cell of the network device #2. s430 : The network device #1 sends information B (ie, an example of the first information), and the information B is used to indicate the resesource #1 (ie, an example of the first resource). explains…. page 27 paragraph [0006] S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 5, the modified WU taught the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting, by the first base station, the third message to the plurality of terminals comprises: transmitting, by the first base station, a conditional handover command to the plurality of terminals, wherein the conditional handover command comprises handover conditions of candidate cells, and the target cell is any of the candidate cells. ((see WU page 23 paragraph [0007] explains…..S420: The network device #1 determines to instruct the terminal device A and the terminal device B to switch to the cell of the network device #2. s430 : The network device #1 sends information B (ie, an example of the first information), and the information B is used to indicate the resource #1 (ie, an example of the first resource). explains…. page 27 paragraph [0006] S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell. see WU page 20 paragraph [0009] explains….The identity of the cell of network device #2 (that is, the target cell to which terminal device A and terminal device B are handed over), a set of random access resources, and the correspondence between random access resources and synchronization signal block (synchronization signal block, SSB), Channel state information reference signal (channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS) configuration information or system information of the target cell.… .… Hong column 3 line 52 ……. )
Regarding claim 6, the modified WU taught the method of claim 1, wherein after transmitting, by the first base station, a conditional handover command to the plurality of terminals, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first base station, a fourth message from the second base station, wherein the fourth message comprises a first service identifier, a target cell identifier, and a terminal access state identifier, and the terminal access state identifier comprises a terminal identifier corresponding to a terminal that has not accessed the target cell in a plurality of terminal identifiers or a terminal identifier set and a terminal identifier corresponding to a terminal that has accessed the target cell in the plurality of terminal identifiers or the terminal identifier set; and transmitting, by the first base station, a handover command to a terminal that is to access but has not accessed the target cell, wherein the handover command indicates the terminal to hand over to the target cell. (see WU page 23 paragraph [0007] explains…..S420: The network device #1 determines to instruct the terminal device A and the terminal device B to switch to the cell of the network device #2. s430 : The network device #1 sends information B (ie, an example of the first information), and the information B is used to indicate the resource #1 (ie, an example of the first resource). explains…. page 27 paragraph [0006] S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 7, WU teaches a method for multi-modal service-based cell handover, comprising: reporting, by a first terminal, a first measurement report to a first base station, wherein the first terminal is any of a plurality of terminals, and the plurality of terminals are terminals in a source cell of the first base station that carry data; (see WU Fig.3 and 4 page 15 paragraphs[0001] and [0002] explains …The terminal device can also be a cellular phone, a cordless phone, a session initiation protocol (session initiation protocol, SIP) phone, a wireless local loop (WLL) station, a personal digital assistant (personal digital assistant, PDA), with wireless communication Functional handheld devices, computing devices or other processing devices connected to wireless modems, in-vehicle devices, wearable devices, terminal devices in the future 5G network, or future evolution of the public land mobile network (PLMN) Terminal equipment, etc. Terminal equipment represented by satellite phones and vehicle-mounted satellite systems can communicate directly with satellites. The fixed terminal represented by the ground communication station needs to be relayed by the ground station before it can communicate with the satellite. The terminal device realizes the setting and acquisition of the communication state by installing a wireless transceiver antenna, and completes the communication…. page 16 paragraph [0007] explains… FIG. 3 takes two terminal devices, namely terminal device A and terminal device B, as examples for description. The cell handover of a terminal device. S310: The network device #1 (ie, an example of the first network device) determines to switch the terminal device A and the terminal device B to the cell of the network device #2 (ie, an example of the second network device…. Page 20 last paragraph explains…FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met.. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
receiving, by the first terminal, a third message from the first base station, wherein the third message indicates a target cell for handover; (see WU page 27 paragraph [0006] S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell.)and accessing, by the first terminal, the target cell according to the third message. (see WU page 27 paragraph [0006] explains…S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell.)
WU does not explicitly disclose multi-modal service
However Hong column 3 line 52 explains FIG. 1, the UE sends measurement information to a source base station, the source base station determines, based on the measurement information reported by the terminal, the information about a multi-modal service that is being performed and sends the determined information of the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE to a target base station, and the target base station determines whether to support the multi-modal communication that is being performed by the UE according to the received information of the multi-modal communication and sends to the source base station the information indicating that the target base station supports the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE or the information indicating that the target base station does not support the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE…
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve handover with multi-modal service (See background and summary first paragraph)
Regarding claim 8, , the modified WU taught the method of claim 7, as described above. The modified Wu further teaches wherein the third message comprises a handover command, and receiving, by the first terminal, the third message from the first base station comprises: initiating, by the first terminal, access to the target cell according to the handover command. (see WU page 27 paragraph [0006] explains…S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell….Hong column 1 summary explains… According to a third aspect of the disclosure, a communication method performed by a target base station is provided. The method includes: receiving multi-modal service handover information sent by a source base station; in which the multi-modal service handover information is configured to determine a multi-modal service parameter of a multi-modal service performed by user equipment (UE) and associated with a target base station; and sending multi-modal service response information. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 9, the modified WU taught the method of claim 7, as described above. The modified WU further teaches wherein the third message comprises a conditional handover command, and receiving, by the first terminal, the third message from the first base station comprises: initiating, by the first terminal, access to the target cell in response to a handover condition of the target cell contained in the conditional handover command being satisfied. (. (see WU page 23 paragraph [0007] explains…..S420: The network device #1 determines to instruct the terminal device A and the terminal device B to switch to the cell of the network device #2. s430 : The network device #1 sends information B (ie, an example of the first information), and the information B is used to indicate the resource #1 (ie, an example of the first resource). explains…. page 27 paragraph [0006] S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell…see WU page 27 paragraph [0006] explains…The first threshold value, which is used to indicate the threshold value that the signal strength of the cell to which the terminal device is handed over needs to be met. For example, the signal strength of the terminal device in the cell of network device #2 is greater than or equal to the first threshold value. Initiate handover under the condition of a threshold value…S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell…;.Hong column 1 summary explains… According to a third aspect of the disclosure, a communication method performed by a target base station is provided. The method includes: receiving multi-modal service handover information sent by a source base station; in which the multi-modal service handover information is configured to determine a multi-modal service parameter of a multi-modal service performed by user equipment (UE) and associated with a target base station; and sending multi-modal service response information.. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 10, the modified WU taught the method of claim 9, as described above. The modified WU further teaches wherein after accessing, by the first terminal, the target cell, the method further comprises: determining, by the first terminal, a terminal that is to access but has not accessed the target cell among the plurality of terminals; and transmitting, by the first terminal, a fifth message to the terminal, wherein the fifth message comprises a target cell identifier and indicates the terminal to access the target cell. (see WU page 27 paragraph [0006] explains…The first threshold value, which is used to indicate the threshold value that the signal strength of the cell to which the terminal device is handed over needs to be met. For example, the signal strength of the terminal device in the cell of network device #2 is greater than or equal to the first threshold value. Initiate handover under the condition of a threshold value…S470: The terminal device A initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell, and/or the terminal device B initiates handover to the cell of the network device #2 according to the information used to switch the cell…;.Hong column 1 summary explains… According to a third aspect of the disclosure, a communication method performed by a target base station is provided. The method includes: receiving multi-modal service handover information sent by a source base station; in which the multi-modal service handover information is configured to determine a multi-modal service parameter of a multi-modal service performed by user equipment (UE) and associated with a target base station; and sending multi-modal service response information. .… Hong column 3 line 52 ……..)
Regarding claim 11, WU teaches a method for multi-modal service-based cell handover, comprising: receiving, by a second base station, a first message from a first base station, wherein the first message comprises device identifier information of a plurality of terminals and service identifier information, the plurality of terminals are terminals in a source cell of the first base station that carry data; (see WU Fig.3 and 4 page 15 paragraphs[0001] and [0002] explains …The terminal device can also be a cellular phone, a cordless phone, a session initiation protocol (session initiation protocol, SIP) phone, a wireless local loop (WLL) station, a personal digital assistant (personal digital assistant, PDA), with wireless communication Functional handheld devices, computing devices or other processing devices connected to wireless modems, in-vehicle devices, wearable devices, terminal devices in the future 5G network, or future evolution of the public land mobile network (PLMN) Terminal equipment, etc. Terminal equipment represented by satellite phones and vehicle-mounted satellite systems can communicate directly with satellites. The fixed terminal represented by the ground communication station needs to be relayed by the ground station before it can communicate with the satellite. The terminal device realizes the setting and acquisition of the communication state by installing a wireless transceiver antenna, and completes the communication…. page 16 paragraph [0007] explains… FIG. 3 takes two terminal devices, namely terminal device A and terminal device B, as examples for description. The cell handover of a terminal device. S310: The network device #1 (ie, an example of the first network device) determines to switch the terminal device A and the terminal device B to the cell of the network device #2 (ie, an example of the second network device…. Page 20 last paragraph explains…FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met..)
determining, by the second base station, a handover preparation state according to the first message, wherein the handover preparation state comprises handover preparation completion; ;(see WU Optionally, after the terminal device completes the random access procedure, it sends an RRC reconfiguration complete message to network device #2, and the terminal device completes the handover from the cell of network device #1 (source cell) to the cell of network device #2 (target cell). Cell), but this application is not limited to this.), but this application is not limited to this.) and transmitting, by the second base station, a second message to the first base station, wherein the second message indicates that the second base station completes handover preparation. ;(see WU Optionally, after the terminal device completes the random access procedure, it sends an RRC reconfiguration complete message to network device #2, and the terminal device completes the handover from the cell of network device #1 (source cell) to the cell of network device #2 (target cell). Cell), but this application is not limited to this.), but this application is not limited to this.)
WU does not explicitly disclose multi-modal service
However Hong column 3 line 52 explains FIG. 1, the UE sends measurement information to a source base station, the source base station determines, based on the measurement information reported by the terminal, the information about a multi-modal service that is being performed and sends the determined information of the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE to a target base station, and the target base station determines whether to support the multi-modal communication that is being performed by the UE according to the received information of the multi-modal communication and sends to the source base station the information indicating that the target base station supports the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE or the information indicating that the target base station does not support the multi-modal service that is being performed by the UE…
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve handover with multi-modal service (See background and summary first paragraph)
Regarding claim 12, the modified WU taught the method of claim 11, as described above. The modified WU further teaches as wherein the second message comprises HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE. (see WU page 20 last paragraph explains…the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met. In S330, the message #2 sent by the network device #2 to the network device #1 is a response to the conditional switching request.…. ... .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 14, the modified WU taught the method of claim 11, as described above. The modified WU further teaches wherein receiving, by the second base station, the first message from the first base station comprises: receiving, by the second base station, one first message from the first base station, wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a terminal identifier set, a first service identifier, a first data flow identifier set, a first admission identifier, and a second admission identifier, the terminal identifier set indicates the plurality of terminals, the first service identifier indicates the first multi-modal service, the first data flow identifier set indicates data flows of the first multi-modal service, the first admission identifier comprises an entire admission identifier or a partial admission identifier, the entire admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits all of the data flows of the first multi-modal service, the partial admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits part of the data flows of the first multi-modal service, and the second admission identifier indicates whether any of the data flows should be admitted when the first multi-modal service is admitted. (see WU page 20 last paragraph explains…the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met. In S330, the message #2 sent by the network device #2 to the network device #1 is a response to the conditional switching request.…. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 15, the modified WU taught the method of claim 11, as described above. The modified WU further teaches wherein receiving, by the second base station, the first message from the first base station comprises: receiving, by the second base station, a plurality of first messages from the first base station, wherein each first message comprises at least one of: one terminal identifier, one first service identifier, one data flow identifier, one first admission identifier, and one second admission identifier, each terminal identifier indicates a corresponding terminal, each data flow identifier indicates one data flow of a multi-modal service transmitted by a corresponding terminal, each first admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits all of data flows of the first multi-modal service transmitted by a corresponding terminal or indicates that the second base station can only admit part of the data flows of the first multi-modal service transmitted by the corresponding terminal, and each second admission identifier indicates whether any of data flows should be admitted when the first multi-modal service is admitted. (see WU page 20 last paragraph explains…the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met. In S330, the message #2 sent by the network device #2 to the network device #1 is a response to the conditional switching request.…. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 16, the modified WU taught the method of claim 11, as described above. The modified WU further teaches wherein determining, by the second base station, the handover preparation state according to the first message comprises: determining, by the second base station, the handover preparation state according to at least one of: a terminal identifier set, a first service identifier, a first data flow identifier set, a first admission identifier, and a second admission identifier comprised in one first message; or determining, by the second base station, the handover preparation state according to at least one of: one terminal identifier, one first service identifier, one data flow identifier, one first admission identifier, and one second admission identifier comprised in each of a plurality of first messages. ((see WU page 20 last paragraph explains…the embodiment shown in FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met. In S330, the message #2 sent by the network device #2 to the network device #1 is a response to the conditional switching request.…. see WU…..page 7 paragraph [0001]…. The second identifier, where the second identifier is the identifier of the first terminal device in the cell of the second network device, and the cell of the second network device is the cell to which the first terminal device will be handed over. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
17-19. (canceled)
Regarding claim 20, the modified WU further teaches a base station device comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store computer programs; and a processor configured to invoke and execute the computer programs stored in the memory to cause the transceiver to perform the method of claim 1.(see WU teaches page 8 paragraph [0003] explains….The communication device includes: a processing unit configured to generate first information, the first information is used to indicate a first resource, the first resource is used to carry fourth information, and the fourth information is used for handover of multiple terminal devices Information about the cell; the transceiver unit is used to send the first information…..In an implementation manner, the communication device of the sixth aspect or the seventh aspect is a first network device. When the communication device is the first network device, the communication interface may be a transceiver, or an input/output interface. Optionally, the transceiver may be a transceiver circuit. Optionally, the input/output interface may be an input/output circuit. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 21, the modified WU further teaches a terminal device comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store computer programs; and a processor configured to invoke and execute the computer programs stored in the memory to perform the method of claim 7. (see WU teaches page 8 paragraph [0003] explains….The communication device includes: a processing unit configured to generate first information, the first information is used to indicate a first resource, the first resource is used to carry fourth information, and the fourth information is used for handover of multiple terminal devices Information about the cell; the transceiver unit is used to send the first information…..In an implementation manner, the communication device of the sixth aspect or the seventh aspect is a first network device. When the communication device is the first network device, the communication interface may be a transceiver, or an input/output interface. Optionally, the transceiver may be a transceiver circuit. Optionally, the input/output interface may be an input/output circuit. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
Regarding claim 22, the modified WU further teaches base station device comprising: a transceiver; a memory configured to store computer programs; and a processor configured to invoke and execute the computer programs stored in the memory to perform the method of claim 11. .(see WU teaches page 8 paragraph [0003] explains….The communication device includes: a processing unit configured to generate first information, the first information is used to indicate a first resource, the first resource is used to carry fourth information, and the fourth information is used for handover of multiple terminal devices Information about the cell; the transceiver unit is used to send the first information…..In an implementation manner, the communication device of the sixth aspect or the seventh aspect is a first network device. When the communication device is the first network device, the communication interface may be a transceiver, or an input/output interface. Optionally, the transceiver may be a transceiver circuit. Optionally, the input/output interface may be an input/output circuit. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
23. (canceled)
Regarding claim 24, the modified WU further teaches a base station device of claim 20, as described above. The wherein the first message comprises at least one of: a terminal identifier set, a first service identifier, a first data flow identifier set, a first admission identifier, and a second admission identifier, the terminal identifier set indicates the plurality of terminals, the first service identifier indicates the first multi-modal service, the first data flow identifier set indicates data flows of the first multi-modal service, the first admission identifier comprises an entire admission identifier or a partial admission identifier, the entire admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits all of the data flows of the first multi-modal service, the partial admission identifier indicates that the second base station admits part of the data flows of the first multi-modal service, and the second admission identifier indicates whether any of the data flows should be admitted when the first multi-modal service is admitted, and the processor is configured to cause the transceiver to: transmit the first message to the second base station in a predefined manner, wherein the predefined manner comprises HANDOVER REQUEST and HANDOVER REQUIRED.( Fig. 3 and 4 page 16 paragraph [0007] explains… FIG. 3 takes two terminal devices, namely terminal device A and terminal device B, as examples for description. The cell handover of a terminal device. S310: The network device #1 (ie, an example of the first network device) determines to switch the terminal device A and the terminal device B to the cell of the network device #2 (ie, an example of the second network device…. Page 20 last paragraph explains…FIG. 3 can also be used for condition-based switching of a terminal device group, where the message #1 sent by network device #1 to network device #2 in S320 is a conditional switching request for Request terminal device A and terminal device B to switch to the cell of network device #2 when the handover conditions are met.. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
5. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over WU (WO2021160091A1) in view of Hong (WO22036610A1 /US12317145B2) in further view of LIU (CN112075093A)
Regarding claim 13, the modified WU taught the method of claim 11, as described above. The modified Wu alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however further combined with LIU further teaches wherein the handover preparation state further comprises handover preparation failure, and after determining, by the second base station, the handover preparation state according to the first message, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the second base station, a sixth message to the first base station, wherein the sixth message comprises HANDOVER PREPARATION FAILURE or HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE and indicates that the first multi-modal service fails to be admitted. (CN page 6 paragraph [0006] explains…under the condition that the target RAN node does not support the first service, the source RAN node receives the switching rejection message sent by the target RAN node. Further, the handover rejection message carries the first indication information, the first indication information for indicating the reason of the handover rejection is that the target RAN node does not support the first service. .… Hong column 3 line 52 …….)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve handover of services between different RAN nodes (i.e. reduce handover failure) (See background)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478