DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, Applicant’s arguments are directed to Dunn and Govindaraj not teaching or suggesting “wherein the web application is communicatively connected to the API to communicate the messages to and from the engineering module hosted within the industrial system, wherein the API intervenes between the web application and the engineering module”, as recited in independent claim 1. Independent claim 9 recites substantially similar limitations. Claims 2-8 and 10-17 depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claims 1 and 9. In the current rejection, Hofmann is utilized to teach these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0089278 (Dunn) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0131840 (Govindaraj) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0082636 (Hofman).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a method performed within an industrial system that comprises (Dunn: “The subject matter disclosed herein relates generally to industrial automation systems, and, for example, to industrial programming development platforms.” Paragraph 0001)
a plurality of machines that define respective hardware and automation functions associated with the hardware, the method comprising: (Dunn: see the industrial controllers 118 and the industrial devices 120 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraphs 0031, 0032; “Industrial controllers 118 typically execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial assets or systems (e.g., industrial machines). One or more industrial controllers 118 may also comprise a soft controller executed on a personal computer or other hardware platform, or on a cloud platform.” Paragraph 0031)
accessing, by a computing device, (Dunn: see the IDE system 202 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraphs 0045, 0046)
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application or an API intervening between a web application and an engineering module as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application and Hofmann describes the API intervening between the web application and the engineering module as described below.
an engineering module via a web application and (Dunn: see the user interface component 204 in the IDE system 202 as illustrated in figures 2, 3, 5, 7, 8; “As noted above, some embodiments of IDE system 202 can be embodied on a cloud platform. FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating an example architecture in which cloud-based IDE services 802 are used to develop and deploy industrial applications to a plant environment.” Paragraph 0080) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036) (Hofmann: see the PC with a web browser 406 communicating with the device manager 412 and configuration gateway 414 to the automation network 404 as illustrated in figure 4; see the configuration gateway 210 between the web browser 206 and the automation network 204 as illustrated in figure 2)
an application programming interface (API), (Dunn: “In some embodiments, the IDE system's IDE editor 224 and associated user interface 204 can comprise open application programming interfaces (APIs) that allow third parties—such as OEMs, system integrators, industrial asset owners, or other such users—to build upon the IDE's development platform by creating custom views of the development environment, customize programming syntax, coding custom IDE functionality, or otherwise customizing the IDE's interface. FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating customization of the IDE system's development interface according to one or more embodiments. In this example, user interface component 204 and/or the associated IDE editor 224 include open APIs that afford authorized users programmatic access to a selected subset of the IDE system's low-level services and data models that would otherwise remain proprietary to the IDE system's provider, allowing end users to alter or customize the IDE's development environment.” Paragraph 0083)
the engineering module hosted within the industrial system; and (Dunn: see the user interface component 204 in the IDE system 202 as illustrated in figures 2, 3, 5, 7, 8)
based on instructions in messages received by the web application, configuring, by the engineering module, the plurality of machines, (Dunn: “Cloud-based implementations of IDE system 202 can facilitate collaborative development by multiple remote developers who are authorized to access the IDE services 802. When a system project 302 is ready for deployment, the project 302 can be commissioned to the plant facility via a secure connection between the office network 108 or the plant network 116 and the cloud platform 806. As discussed above, the industrial IDE services 802 can translate system project 302 to one or more appropriate executable files—control program files 702, visualization applications 704, device configuration files 708, system configuration files 812—and deploy these files to the appropriate devices in the plant facility to facilitate implementation of the automation project.” Paragraph 0082; “Based on design and programming input from one or more developers 304, IDE system 202 generates a system project 302 comprising one or more project files. The system project 302 encodes one or more of control programming; HMI, AR, and/or VR visualizations; device or sub-system configuration data (e.g., drive parameters, vision system configurations, telemetry device parameters, safety zone definitions, etc.); or other such aspects of an industrial automation system being designed.” Paragraph 0053) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036)
wherein the web application is communicatively connected to the API to communicate the messages to and from the engineering module hosted within the industrial system, (Hofmann: see the software application via a web browser 804 and interaction 806 as illustrated in figure 8; see the PC with a web browser 406 communicating with the device manager 412 and configuration gateway 414 to the automation network 404 as illustrated in figure 4; see the configuration gateway 210 between the web browser 206 and the automation network 204 as illustrated in figure 2)
wherein the API intervenes between the web application and the engineering module. (Hofmann: see the PC with a web browser 406 communicating with the device manager 412 and configuration gateway 414 to the automation network 404 as illustrated in figure 4; see the configuration gateway 210 between the web browser 206 and the automation network 204 as illustrated in figure 2)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Dunn, namely, an integrated development environment for industrial systems, with the known techniques of Govindaraj, namely, a scalable automation system for industrial systems, and the known techniques of Hofmann, namely, web based configuration server for automation systems. would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Dunn to provide programming development for industrial systems with the teachings of Govindaraj to use a framework to provide for operation of industrial automation devices and the teachings of Hofmann to utilize various components for communication in the industrial automation system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved industrial control system (i.e., the combination of references provides for configuring an industrial control system using various communication mechanisms based on the teachings of using various tools for industrial automation configuration in Dunn and the teachings of using web services for industrial automation configuration in Govindaraj and the teachings of using a web browser and configuration gateway to communication with an automation network in Hofmann).
Claim 2:
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 1, the method further comprising: based on the instructions, the API obtaining a plurality of templates associated with a project. (Dunn: “During development, project generation component 206 can select and apply a subset of guardrail templates 506 determined to be relevant to the project currently being developed, based on a determination of such aspects as the industrial vertical to which the project relates, the type of industrial application being programmed (e.g., flow control, web tension control, a certain batch process, etc.), or other such aspects.” Paragraph 0064)
Claim 3:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 2, the method further comprising: the web application displaying the plurality of templates via the computing device. (Govindaraj: “Cross-reference logic 536 may provide support for cross-referencing objects (e.g., tags, graphics, library templates to instances, etc.) used within a project and/or application or across projects and/or applications. For example, the designer client 506 may include a user interface to configure cross-reference options.” Paragraph 0129) (Dunn: “During development, project generation component 206 can select and apply a subset of guardrail templates 506 determined to be relevant to the project currently being developed, based on a determination of such aspects as the industrial vertical to which the project relates, the type of industrial application being programmed (e.g., flow control, web tension control, a certain batch process, etc.), or other such aspects.” Paragraph 0064)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 4:
Dunn does not explicitly describe receiving selections as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the receiving selections as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 3, the method further comprising:
receiving selections associated with the plurality of templates; and (Dunn: “IDE system 202 can also use guardrail templates 506 to guide user selection of equipment or devices for a given design goal; e.g., based on the industrial vertical, type of control application (e.g., sheet metal stamping, die casting, palletization, conveyor control, web tension control, batch processing, etc.), budgetary constraints for the project, physical constraints at the installation site (e.g., available floor, wall or cabinet space; dimensions of the installation space; etc.), equipment already existing at the site, etc. Some or all of these parameters and constraints can be provided as design input 512, and user interface component 204 can render the equipment recommendations as a subset of design feedback 518.” Paragraph 0068) (Govindaraj: “Cross-reference logic 536 may provide support for cross-referencing objects (e.g., tags, graphics, library templates to instances, etc.) used within a project and/or application or across projects and/or applications. For example, the designer client 506 may include a user interface to configure cross-reference options.” Paragraph 0129)
based on the selections, configuring the plurality of machines to perform the project. (Dunn: “At 1414, the industrial design data received at step 1408 (guided by design feedback received at step 1410) is compiled into a system project comprising one or more executable files that can be deployed and executed on at least one of an industrial control device (e.g., a PLC or another type of industrial control device), a human-machine interface terminal, or another type of industrial device.” Paragraph 0109)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 5:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a test as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the test as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 4, the method further comprising: responsive to user actuations on the computing device, the engineering module implementing a test on the plurality of machines performing the project. (Govindaraj: “Further, the functionality may allow users (or technical support engineers) to run diagnostic probes, which actively test the behavior of a system component (e.g., similar to the diagnostics tests that many network adapter vendors provide).” Paragraph 0134)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 6:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 1 the method further comprising: the web application displaying status information associated with the industrial system, such that the industrial system can be monitored from the computing device. (Dunn: “Industrial automation systems often include one or more human-machine interfaces (HMIs) 114 that allow plant personnel to view telemetry and status data associated with the automation systems, and to control some aspects of system operation.” Paragraph 0034) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 7:
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the computing device defines a mobile computing device that is unassociated with the industrial system. (Dunn: see the remote client devices 504 as illustrated in figure 11 and as described in paragraph 0081; “In this example, IDE system 202 resides on a cloud platform 806 and executes as a set of cloud-based IDE service 802 that are accessible to authorized remote client devices 504. Cloud platform 806 can be any infrastructure that allows shared computing services (such as IDE services 802) to be accessed and utilized by cloud-capable devices. Cloud platform 806 can be a public cloud accessible via the Internet by devices 504 having Internet connectivity and appropriate authorizations to utilize the IDE services 802.” Paragraph 0081)
Claim 8:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 1 the method further comprising: the web application displaying user options on the computing device, the user options defining a low code industrial engineering platform. (Dunn: “FIG. 15 illustrates an example methodology 1500 for generating and deploying industrial control software using an industrial IDE platform. Initially, at 1502, at least one of user input specifying a design goal for an industrial automation system, an engineering drawing of one or more aspects of the industrial automation system (e.g., P&ID drawings, electrical schematics, mechanical drawings, network drawings, etc.), or a digital model of a plant facility in which the industrial automation system is to be installed is received by an industrial IDE.” Paragraph 0110; “At 1506, industrial design data is extracted from at least one of the user input specifying the design goal, the engineering drawing, or the digital model of the plant facility.” Paragraph 0111) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 9:
The cited prior art describes an industrial system, the industrial system comprising: (Dunn: “The subject matter disclosed herein relates generally to industrial automation systems, and, for example, to industrial programming development platforms.” Paragraph 0001)
a plurality of machines that define respective hardware and automation functions associated with the hardware; (Dunn: see the industrial controllers 118 and the industrial devices 120 as illustrated in figure 1 and as described in paragraphs 0031, 0032; “Industrial controllers 118 typically execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial assets or systems (e.g., industrial machines). One or more industrial controllers 118 may also comprise a soft controller executed on a personal computer or other hardware platform, or on a cloud platform.” Paragraph 0031)
an engineering module hosted within the industrial system; (Dunn: see the user interface component 204 in the IDE system 202 as illustrated in figures 2, 3, 5, 7, 8)
an application programming interface (API) communicatively coupled to the engineering module; and (Dunn: “In some embodiments, the IDE system's IDE editor 224 and associated user interface 204 can comprise open application programming interfaces (APIs) that allow third parties—such as OEMs, system integrators, industrial asset owners, or other such users—to build upon the IDE's development platform by creating custom views of the development environment, customize programming syntax, coding custom IDE functionality, or otherwise customizing the IDE's interface. FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating customization of the IDE system's development interface according to one or more embodiments. In this example, user interface component 204 and/or the associated IDE editor 224 include open APIs that afford authorized users programmatic access to a selected subset of the IDE system's low-level services and data models that would otherwise remain proprietary to the IDE system's provider, allowing end users to alter or customize the IDE's development environment.” Paragraph 0083)
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application or an API intervening between a web application and an engineering module as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application and Hofmann describes the API intervening between the web application and the engineering module as described below.
a web application communicatively coupled to the engineering module via the API, (Dunn: see the user interface component 204 in the IDE system 202 as illustrated in figures 2, 3, 5, 7, 8; “As noted above, some embodiments of IDE system 202 can be embodied on a cloud platform. FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating an example architecture in which cloud-based IDE services 802 are used to develop and deploy industrial applications to a plant environment.” Paragraph 0080) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036)
wherein a computing device is configured to access the engineering module via the web application and the API, and the engineering module is configured to configure the plurality of machines based on instructions in messages received by the web application, (Dunn: “Cloud-based implementations of IDE system 202 can facilitate collaborative development by multiple remote developers who are authorized to access the IDE services 802. When a system project 302 is ready for deployment, the project 302 can be commissioned to the plant facility via a secure connection between the office network 108 or the plant network 116 and the cloud platform 806. As discussed above, the industrial IDE services 802 can translate system project 302 to one or more appropriate executable files—control program files 702, visualization applications 704, device configuration files 708, system configuration files 812—and deploy these files to the appropriate devices in the plant facility to facilitate implementation of the automation project.” Paragraph 0082; see the remote client devices 504 as illustrated in figure 11 and as described in paragraph 0081; “In this example, IDE system 202 resides on a cloud platform 806 and executes as a set of cloud-based IDE service 802 that are accessible to authorized remote client devices 504. Cloud platform 806 can be any infrastructure that allows shared computing services (such as IDE services 802) to be accessed and utilized by cloud-capable devices. Cloud platform 806 can be a public cloud accessible via the Internet by devices 504 having Internet connectivity and appropriate authorizations to utilize the IDE services 802.” Paragraph 0081; “Based on design and programming input from one or more developers 304, IDE system 202 generates a system project 302 comprising one or more project files. The system project 302 encodes one or more of control programming; HMI, AR, and/or VR visualizations; device or sub-system configuration data (e.g., drive parameters, vision system configurations, telemetry device parameters, safety zone definitions, etc.); or other such aspects of an industrial automation system being designed.” Paragraph 0053) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036) (Hofmann: see the PC with a web browser 406 communicating with the device manager 412 and configuration gateway 414 to the automation network 404 as illustrated in figure 4; see the configuration gateway 210 between the web browser 206 and the automation network 204 as illustrated in figure 2)
wherein the web application is communicatively connected to the API to communicate the messages to and from the engineering module hosted within the industrial system, (Hofmann: see the software application via a web browser 804 and interaction 806 as illustrated in figure 8; see the PC with a web browser 406 communicating with the device manager 412 and configuration gateway 414 to the automation network 404 as illustrated in figure 4; see the configuration gateway 210 between the web browser 206 and the automation network 204 as illustrated in figure 2)
wherein the API intervenes between the web application and the engineering module. (Hofmann: see the PC with a web browser 406 communicating with the device manager 412 and configuration gateway 414 to the automation network 404 as illustrated in figure 4; see the configuration gateway 210 between the web browser 206 and the automation network 204 as illustrated in figure 2)
Dunn, Govindaraj, and Hofmann are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 10:
The cited prior art describes the industrial system as recited in claim 9, wherein the API is configured to, based on the instructions, obtain a plurality of templates associated with a project. (Dunn: “During development, project generation component 206 can select and apply a subset of guardrail templates 506 determined to be relevant to the project currently being developed, based on a determination of such aspects as the industrial vertical to which the project relates, the type of industrial application being programmed (e.g., flow control, web tension control, a certain batch process, etc.), or other such aspects.” Paragraph 0064)
Claim 11:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application as described below.
The cited prior art describes the industrial system as recited in claim 10, wherein the web application is configured to the display the plurality of templates via the computing device. (Govindaraj: “Cross-reference logic 536 may provide support for cross-referencing objects (e.g., tags, graphics, library templates to instances, etc.) used within a project and/or application or across projects and/or applications. For example, the designer client 506 may include a user interface to configure cross-reference options.” Paragraph 0129) (Dunn: “During development, project generation component 206 can select and apply a subset of guardrail templates 506 determined to be relevant to the project currently being developed, based on a determination of such aspects as the industrial vertical to which the project relates, the type of industrial application being programmed (e.g., flow control, web tension control, a certain batch process, etc.), or other such aspects.” Paragraph 0064)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12:
Dunn does not explicitly describe receiving selections as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the receiving selections as described below.
The cited prior art describes the industrial system as recited in claim 11, wherein the web application further configured to:
receive selections associated with the plurality of templates; and (Dunn: “IDE system 202 can also use guardrail templates 506 to guide user selection of equipment or devices for a given design goal; e.g., based on the industrial vertical, type of control application (e.g., sheet metal stamping, die casting, palletization, conveyor control, web tension control, batch processing, etc.), budgetary constraints for the project, physical constraints at the installation site (e.g., available floor, wall or cabinet space; dimensions of the installation space; etc.), equipment already existing at the site, etc. Some or all of these parameters and constraints can be provided as design input 512, and user interface component 204 can render the equipment recommendations as a subset of design feedback 518.” Paragraph 0068) (Govindaraj: “Cross-reference logic 536 may provide support for cross-referencing objects (e.g., tags, graphics, library templates to instances, etc.) used within a project and/or application or across projects and/or applications. For example, the designer client 506 may include a user interface to configure cross-reference options.” Paragraph 0129)
based on the selections, configure the plurality of machines to perform the project. (Dunn: “At 1414, the industrial design data received at step 1408 (guided by design feedback received at step 1410) is compiled into a system project comprising one or more executable files that can be deployed and executed on at least one of an industrial control device (e.g., a PLC or another type of industrial control device), a human-machine interface terminal, or another type of industrial device.” Paragraph 0109)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 13:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a test as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the test as described below.
The cited prior art describes the industrial system as recited in claim 12, wherein the engineering module is further configured to, responsive to user actuations on the computing device, implement a test on the plurality of machines performing the project. (Govindaraj: “Further, the functionality may allow users (or technical support engineers) to run diagnostic probes, which actively test the behavior of a system component (e.g., similar to the diagnostics tests that many network adapter vendors provide).” Paragraph 0134)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 14:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application as described below.
The cited prior art describes the industrial system as recited in claim 9, wherein the web application is further configured to display status information associated with the industrial system, such that the industrial system can be monitored from the computing device. (Dunn: “Industrial automation systems often include one or more human-machine interfaces (HMIs) 114 that allow plant personnel to view telemetry and status data associated with the automation systems, and to control some aspects of system operation.” Paragraph 0034) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 15:
The cited prior art describes the industrial system as recited in claim 9, wherein the computing device defines a mobile computing device that is unassociated with the industrial system. (Dunn: see the remote client devices 504 as illustrated in figure 11 and as described in paragraph 0081; “In this example, IDE system 202 resides on a cloud platform 806 and executes as a set of cloud-based IDE service 802 that are accessible to authorized remote client devices 504. Cloud platform 806 can be any infrastructure that allows shared computing services (such as IDE services 802) to be accessed and utilized by cloud-capable devices. Cloud platform 806 can be a public cloud accessible via the Internet by devices 504 having Internet connectivity and appropriate authorizations to utilize the IDE services 802.” Paragraph 0081)
Claim 16:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application as described below.
The cited prior art describes the industrial system as recited in claim 9, wherein the web application is further configured to display user options on the computing device, the user options defining a low code industrial engineering platform. (Dunn: “FIG. 15 illustrates an example methodology 1500 for generating and deploying industrial control software using an industrial IDE platform. Initially, at 1502, at least one of user input specifying a design goal for an industrial automation system, an engineering drawing of one or more aspects of the industrial automation system (e.g., P&ID drawings, electrical schematics, mechanical drawings, network drawings, etc.), or a digital model of a plant facility in which the industrial automation system is to be installed is received by an industrial IDE.” Paragraph 0110; “At 1506, industrial design data is extracted from at least one of the user input specifying the design goal, the engineering drawing, or the digital model of the plant facility.” Paragraph 0111) (Govindaraj: “In current embodiments, the design-time environment 16 may be a product of combining Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language (DHTML) and an Active Server Page (ASP) server scripting to serve dynamic content to a browser. An ASP script is specially written code that includes one or more scripts (i.e., small embedded programs) that are processed on a server (e.g., Web server) before the page is sent to a user.” Paragraph 0036)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 17:
Dunn does not explicitly describe a web application as described below. However, Govindaraj teaches the web application as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the web application presents user selections for selecting automation functions, selecting settings, and adjusting values such that the engineering module performs the user selections. (Govindaraj: see the operator interface as described in paragraphs 0029, 0032, 0035, 0042, 0058, 0071, 0088, 0091; “For example, an HMI coupled to a laptop via a network may provide a user with configuration capabilities by serving up a specific design-time environment 16 to the laptop via the network.” Paragraph 0035; “The framework 10 includes two interrelated software environments that can reside on a single system (e.g., computer). Specifically, a run-time environment 14 enables an operator (e.g., a human user) to interact with an application, such as a process during run-time (e.g., during use of the interface, typically during interaction with or observance of a process in operation). A design-time environment 16 permits a designer to configure the interface and its components. For example, a system may graphically present run-time information to an operator via the run-time environment 14 on a display (e.g., computer or interface device screen). Further, the system may include means (e.g., a keypad and/or touch-screen display) for accepting operator input that can be detected and managed via the run-time environment 14. The environments interact as described in detail below, in innovative ways to provide greatly enhanced programming and use of the interface.” Paragraph 0029)
Dunn and Govindaraj are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0365020 describes an IIOT platform for configuring devices.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0096704 describes an industrial integrated development environment for editing a project.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0195934 describes a web services based communications for process control systems.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117