DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, ln. 9 should read ---[[a]] wherein the lid is configured to be removably attached---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the lid" in 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 13-15 and 17 are rejected due to dependency on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brooks et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0247968 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brooks discloses (fig. 1-4) a liner assembly configured to be disposed within a urine collection container (rigid canister 12 for a medical suction device, ¶ 0001), the liner assembly comprising:
A lid (16) configured to be removably attached to the urine collection container (¶ 0019), the lid including a vacuum port (58a, ¶ 0028) and a collection port (port 58b, ¶ 0032); and
A liner (14) configured to extend from the lid into the urine collection container (fig. 4, ¶ 0016), the liner defining an interior of the liner assembly (fig. 4), wherein the lid further includes a dispensing spout (port 58d, ¶ 0029) and a vent spout (port 58c) in fluid communication with the interior of the liner (¶ 0023), and wherein the vacuum port and the collection port are configured to be in direct fluid communication with the interior of the liner assembly (¶ 0023).
Regarding claim 4, Brooks discloses wherein at least one of the liner or the lid is configured to be connected to the urine collection container (¶ 0019).
Regarding claim 6, Brooks discloses wherein the lid further includes a first cap (64d) configured to cover the dispensing spout and a second cap (64c) configured to cover the vent spout (fig. 1, ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 11, Brooks discloses wherein the liner is configured to be disposable (¶ 0016).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tippet et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0215187 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Brooks fails to disclose that the liner is configured to be non-collapsible under a vacuum pressure of up to about 300 mmHg.
Tippet teaches (fig. 4) a liner assembly (¶ 0001) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a liner (42) wherein the liner is configured to be non-collapsible under a vacuum pressure of up 29 inches Hg (¶ 0025) or 736.6 mmHg, which encompasses the claimed range of up to about 300 mmHg, in order to provide a liner that retains its structural integrity during and after repeated subjection to vacuum pressures (¶ 0025).
In this case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed in the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05 I.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner of Brooks such that it is configured to be non-collapsible under a vacuum pressure of up to about 300 mmHg, as taught by Tippet, in order to configure the liner to retain its structural integrity during and after repeated subjection to vacuum pressures (Tippet ¶ 0025).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tazoe et al. (Pub. No.: US 2005/0070862 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Brooks fails to disclose wherein the liner includes at least one of a polyethylene, a cardstock, or cardboard.
Tazoe teaches (fig. 5) a liner assembly (urine bag 34) configured to be disposed within a urine collection container (urine tank 30) and thus in the same field of endeavor, wherein the liner includes at least one of polyethylene (¶ 0048), cardstock, or cardboard.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner of Brooks such that it includes at least one of a polyethylene, a cardstock, or cardboard, as taught by Tazoe, as such material is suitable for holding urine (Tazoe, ¶ 0048).
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wormser et al (Pub. No.: US 2022/0287691 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Brooks fails to disclose a urine-solidifying agent.
Wormser teaches (fig. 1) a liner assembly (urine container 100) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a urine-solidifying agent (water-absorbent resin, ¶ 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner assembly of Brooks such that it comprises a urine-solidifying agent, as taught by Wormser, in order to aid in easier disposal of urine such that urine does not spill or splash.
Regarding claim 9, Brooks in view of Wormser disclose wherein the urine-solidifying agent includes a film coated on an interior surface of the liner (Wormser, ¶ 0020).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Wormser, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Bryant et al. (Pat. No.: 5,234,419).
Regarding claim 8, Brooks in view of Wormser fails to disclose wherein the urine-solidifying agent includes a packet included in the interior of the liner.
Bryant teaches (fig. 1-2) a liner assembly (liner 14, abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a solidifying agent (reservoir 40 and germicide and/or absorbent 44), wherein the solidifying agent includes a packet (reservoir 40) included in the interior of the liner (col. 3, ln. 62-col. 4, ln. 2) in order to allow for the capture and transfer of waste in a solid or semi-solid state (col. 2, ln. 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the urine-solidifying agent of Brooks in view of Wormser such that it includes a packet included in the interior of the liner, as taught by Bryant, in order to allow for the capture and transfer of waste in a solid or semi-solid state (Bryant col. 2, ln. 27-30) which can aid in easier disposal.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks.
Regarding claim 10, Brooks fails to disclose wherein the liner is configured to be reusable. However, such limitation relates to the intended use of the system, which, in this case, imparts no further limitations on the structure of the device. The liner of Brooks is capable of being reusable and using the device for this purpose requires only routine skill in the art (See § MPEP 2114 II).
Further, Brooks discloses that the dispensing spout can be used to empty the liner (¶ 0029).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner such that it is configured to be reusable in order to allow the liner to be emptied via the dispensing spout and reused to reduce environmental waste.
Claim(s) 12-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks in view of Tazoe.
Regarding claim 12, Brooks discloses (fig. 1-4) a urine collection system (medical suction system 10), comprising:
A collection line configured to collect a substance discharged from a user (¶ 0029);
A pump configured to draw the substance from the collection line by applying at least a partial suction force to the collection line (¶ 0028, ¶ 0033);
A urine collection container (rigid canister 12) in fluid communication with the collection line (see port 58b, ¶ 0033);
A liner assembly configured to be disposed within the urine collection container, wherein the liner assembly includes a liner (14) configured to extend from a lid (16) to a closed bottom portion (bottom 40) (fig. 4) and defining an interior of the liner assembly (fig. 3); and
Wherein the lid is configured to be removably attached to an upper portion of the urine collection container (¶ 0019), wherein the lid includes a dispensing spout (port 58d, ¶ 0029) and a vent spout (port 58c) in fluid communication with the interior of the liner (¶ 0023).
Brooks fails to disclose wherein the system comprises a urine collection device configured to collect urine discharged from a user; and the pump configured to draw urine from the urine collection device by applying at least a partial suction force to a reservoir within the urine collection device.
Tazoe teaches (fig. 1-2) a urine collection system (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising:
A urine collection device (urine receptacle 1) configured to collect urine discharged from a user (¶ 0021); and a pump (51) configured to draw urine from the urine collection device by applying at least a partial suction force to a reservoir within the urine collection device (¶ 0037), wherein the urine collection device is able to provide an improved urine collection efficiency and reduce the amount of residual urine (¶ 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Brooks such that it comprises the urine collection device of Tazoe connected to the collection line in order to configure the system to collect urine with a urine collection device that is able to provide an improved urine collection efficiency and reduce the amount of residual urine (Tazoe ¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 13, Brooks discloses wherein the liner is configured to be removable and replaceable (¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 14, Brooks in view of Tazoe fail to disclose wherein the liner assembly includes a urine-solidifying agent.
Tazoe teaches (fig. 5) a liner assembly comprising a liner (urine bag 34), wherein the liner assembly includes a urine-solidifying agent (superabsorbent polymers 37, ¶ 0049) in order to prevent the swaying of the collected urine and prevent leaking of urine (¶ 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner assembly of Brooks in view of Tazoe such that it includes a urine-solidifying agent, as taught by Tazoe, in order to prevent the swaying of the collected urine and prevent leaking of urine (Tazoe ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 15, Brooks in view of Tazoe fail to disclose wherein the urine collection container includes a rectangular shape.
Tazoe teaches wherein the system comprises a urine collection container (urine tank 30), wherein the urine collection container includes a rectangular shape (fig. 1, ¶ 0025), wherein the urine collection container is shaped to be portable (¶ 0026).
Changes in shape are a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious (In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47, see MPEP § 2144.04 IV. B.) as the applicant has not demonstrated the criticality of this limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the urine collection container of Brooks in view of Tazoe such that it includes a rectangular shape, as taught by Tazoe, in order to configure the urine collection container to be portable (Tazoe ¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 17, Brooks discloses wherein the lid further includes a vacuum port (58a, ¶ 0028) configured to be in fluid communication with the pump (¶ 0028) and a collection port (port 58b, ¶ 0032) configured to be in fluid communication with a collection line (¶ 0029).
As discussed in claim 12 above, Brooks in view of Tazoe disclose wherein the collection port is configured to be in fluid communication with the fluid collection device via the collection line.
Claim(s) 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff et al. (Pub. No.: US 2002/0087131 A1) in view of Simiele et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0160949 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Wolff discloses (fig. 1a) a method of collecting urine (abstract), the method comprising:
Inserting a liner (bag 2) within a urine collection container (storage container 1, ¶ 0027);
Placing a urine collection device (layered female interface 27) at least proximate to a urethra of a user (¶ 0045);
Receiving urine discharged from the user in the urine collection device (¶ 0045);
Receiving the urine from the urine collection device in the liner disposed within the urine collection container (¶ 0029); and
Emptying the urine from the liner (¶ 0034), wherein the urine collection container comprises a lid (11) configured to be removably attached to an upper portion of the urine collection container (¶ 0027), wherein the lid includes a dispensing spout (tap 19) in fluid communication with the interior of the liner (¶ 0034).
Wolff fails to disclose wherein the lid includes a vent spout in fluid communication with the interior of the liner.
Simiele teaches (fig. 1A) a method of collecting urine (¶ 0009) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising:
Inserting a liner (collection bag 170) within a urine collection container (collection container 130) (¶ 0035);
Wherein the urine collection container comprises a lid, wherein the lid includes a vent spout (outlet vent 136) in fluid communication with the interior of the liner (¶ 0037, fig. 1A) in order to allow air or similar gas to be released (¶ 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wolff such that the lid includes a vent spout in fluid communication with the interior of the liner, as taught by Simiele, in order to allow air or similar gas to be released (¶ 0037).
Regarding claim 21, Wolff discloses disposing of the liner (¶ 0027).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff in view of Simiele, as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Tazoe.
Regarding claim 20, Wolff in view of Simiele fail to disclose solidifying the urine and disposing of the urine.
Tazoe teaches (fig. 5) a method of collecting urine (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising solidifying the urine (¶ 0038) and disposing of the urine (¶ 0050) in order to prevent the swaying of the collected urine and prevent leaking of urine (¶ 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wolff in view of Simiele such that it comprises solidifying the urine and disposing of the urine, as taught by Tazoe, in order to prevent the swaying of the collected urine and prevent leaking of urine (Tazoe ¶ 0038).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wightman (Pub. No.: US 2006/0155214 A1) discloses a liner assembly.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781