DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/04/2026 has been entered.
Claims 11-20 remain pending and are examined herein on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) have been fully considered and they are partially persuasive as follows:
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 15 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 15-16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 11-14 and 17-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, applicant begins by arguing regarding claims 11-12 and 17-19 that “Jansen fails to disclose each and every element of claim 11” (Remarks, p.5). This is allegedly because Jansen is characterized as describing a “conventional driver output stage” (Remarks, p.5) and “fails to disclose ‘the second time being a time at which a current build-up phase of a gate current generated by the gate driver for recharging the input capacitance has ended and at which a substantially constant gate current is present.’” (Remarks, p.5; quoting the end of instant claim 1). Applicant then characterizes Jansen (Remarks, end of p.5 and start of p.6) and concludes that “Jansen describes that the pulse generator partially charges or discharges the gate; it is not driving a constant gate current.” (Remarks, p.6, top of page; emphasis added).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., driving a constant gate current) are not recited in the rejected claims (the language claimed instead is “a current build-up phase of a gate current generated by the gate driver for recharging the input capacitance has ended and at which a substantially constant gate current is present” – claims 11 and 19). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Next applicant argues that the gate voltage maintained above the Miller Plateau in the cited art is not the same as “a substantially constant gate current is present” (Remarks, p.6).
However, during the plateau, gate current (IG) is roughly determined by the difference between the driver voltage and the plateau voltage divided by the total gate resistance loop (IG = (Vdrive - Vplateau) / Rtotal). This is simply a representation of Ohms Law (V=IR :: I=V/R) which is a foundational principle of electrical engineering. As such when the gate voltage is maintained with the same resistance the current is constant.
Applicant further argues that “Jansen's brief measuring pulses are by definition transient and never reach a steady, substantially constant current state” (Remarks p.6).
However, as above applicant is importing limitations that are not present in the claimed language. Firstly, it is not granted that the pulses are transient (no definition of transient is provided either in the arguments or in the claims). Second, even if the pulses were considered transient there is still a substantially constant gate current present during such pulses.
If applicant intends for a specific period to be claimed such language must be recited in the claims (and supported by the disclosure).
Regarding claim 13 depending from claim 11 (Remarks, p.6). See response to claim 11 above.
Regarding claims 14-16 depending from claim 11 (Remarks, p.7). See response to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 20 depending from claim 19 (Remarks, p.9). See response to claim 11/19 above.
Further, applicant argues regarding claim 20 that “Fursin fails to disclose ‘the internal gate resistor of the semiconductor component includes a bidirectionally conductive, non-linear component, configured of two diodes connected in antiparallel,’” (Remarks, p.9). Applicant does note that Fursin teaches that “The optional external anti-parallel diode may nevertheless be implemented based on specific circuit requirements.” (Fursin at [0083]; Remarks, p. 9; cited in the OA.) Applicant argues that this citation does not meet the claimed limitation because Fursin has “no disclosure whatsoever of placing anti-parallel diodes inside the semiconductor device as part of the internal gate resistor for temperature sensing” (Remarks, p.9).
In response to applicant's argument that the cited anti-parallel diode structure does not teaches the internal placement of an anti-parallel diode structure, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In the instant case the teaching in Fursin that “external anti-parallel diode may nevertheless be implemented based on specific circuit requirements” (Remarks p.9; cited and underlined in the OA at p.10) suggests to one of ordinary skill that such an anti-parallel diode structure may be used in locations on the circuit as desired.
Therefore, the position of the office must remain that upon knowledge of the cited art one of ordinary skill in the art would have had all the information and motivation required to make the invention as claimed at the time it was made.
See rejections under 35 USC 102/103 reiterated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jansen (US 20090167414).
Regarding claim 11, Jansen teaches a method (abstract; [0009]) for ascertaining a junction temperature (abstract) of a semiconductor component (semiconductor component 3) including an insulated gate (abstract; [0024] teaching an IGBT specifically – IGBT is an insulated gate transistor; see also figs. 2 and 3), the method comprising the following steps:
recharging an input capacitance (C.sub.int; 7; see fig. 3) of the semiconductor component using a current-controlled gate driver at a predefined first time ([0049] teaches that the gate capacitance (7) is charged, discharged, recharged; this is via a pulse through the “pulse generator 14 connected to a driver output stage 11 of a driver circuit 10 which drives the control terminal 6” [0019]; “gate capacitor 7” / “intrinsic gate capacitance 7” [0040-41]; see fig. 3 and [0044] “The intrinsic gate capacitor C.sub.int is the differential capacitance between the gate and the emitter of an IGBT (or between the gate and the source of an MOSFET)”; see also [0026]; [0033]; and [0035] all teaching regarding this charging/recharging of the gate capacitor via actuation at times defined by pulsed 25 and 26); and
ascertaining a junction temperature of the semiconductor component (abstract; [0040] “the junction temperature of the semiconductor component 9 can also be monitored with the help of the temperature detection circuit 1”) based on information about a voltage-dependent behavior of the input capacitance of the semiconductor component and based on a level of an internal gate resistor of the semiconductor component (R.sub.Gint; see fig. 3) at a second time which follows the first time ([0030-33] teaches that the times are defined by exemplary pulses 25 and then 26 where the current across R.sub.Gint is measured as voltage U.sub.B), the second time being a time at which a current build-up phase of a gate current generated by the gate driver for recharging the input capacitance has ended and at which a substantially constant gate current is present ([0030] teaches that the measurement is while “the gate voltage is maintained above the Miller Plateau” which is when a substantially constant gate current is maintained).
Regarding claim 12, Jansen teaches that the second time is a predefined time (26), and the level of the internal gate resistor of the semiconductor component is ascertained based on an external gate voltage present at the second time and a gate current present at the second time (pulse 26 is predefined such that “The driver output stage 11 and the pulse generator 14 are employed for generating a measuring signal during brief measuring pulses 25, 26.” [0019]; [0024] “the measurement current to the internal gate resistor 5, the driver output stage 11 is sequenced off for a short period of time defined by the pulses 25, 26 of pulse generator 14 during the on-state of the semiconductor switch (e.g., IGBT, MOSFET, etc.)”; U.sub.B is evaluated during pulses 25 and 26 – see [0024-26]; see also [0033] “the IGBT slightly discharges through the resistors of the bridge circuit for the short time period of a pulse 25, 26. The high discharge current, which flows through the bridge circuit 4, generates a voltage signal U.sub.B”).
Regarding claim 17, Jansen teaches that ascertaining the junction temperature is carried out: (i) during a switching-on process and/or a switching-off process of the semiconductor component, and/or (ii) in a switched-on and/or a switched-off state of the semiconductor component ([0024]; [0025-26]; [0033]), wherein a predefined pulse-shaped alternating signal, is generated by the gate driver at the gate of the semiconductor component (via 14; [0034-35]; see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Jansen teaches that when ascertaining the junction temperature, an influence of an amount of charge that is recharged during the current build-up phase with respect to the input capacitance of the semiconductor component is taken into account as well ([0033]; [0042-45] teaches regarding the calculation using the input capacitance and reference capacitance both being used in the evaluation).
Regarding claim 19, Jansen teaches a circuit arrangement (fig. 3) for ascertaining a junction temperature of a semiconductor component (abstract; see figs. 2 and 3), comprising:
a semiconductor component (3) including an insulated gate (see [0024] teaching an IGBT specifically – IGBT is an insulated gate transistor; see also figs. 2 and 3);
a current-controlled gate driver ([0019] “driver circuit 10 which drives the control terminal 6” with at least components gate circuit 15 and driver output-stage 11 – see [0024]; see figs. 2 and 3);
a voltage measuring unit (bridge circuit 4 measuring voltage U.sub.B; [0019-20]); and
an evaluation unit (evaluation circuit 8; see fig. 2 and 3; see [0025] “For the temperature detection the resulting voltage U.sub.B is evaluated at the bridge diagonal”; see also [0033] “The bridge diagonal signal U.sub.B is supplied to an evaluation circuit 8”);
wherein
the current-controlled gate driver is configured to recharge an input capacitance of the semiconductor component at a first predefined time via an actuation of the gate of the semiconductor component ([0049] teaches that the gate capacitance (7) is charged, discharged, recharged; this is via a pulse through the “pulse generator 14 connected to a driver output stage 11 of a driver circuit 10 which drives the control terminal 6” [0019]; “gate capacitor 7” / “intrinsic gate capacitance 7” [0040-41]; see fig. 3 and [0044] “The intrinsic gate capacitor C.sub.int is the differential capacitance between the gate and the emitter of an IGBT (or between the gate and the source of an MOSFET)”; see also [0026]; [0033]; and [0035] all teaching regarding this charging/recharging of the gate capacitor via actuation),
the voltage measuring unit is configured to acquire an external gate voltage of the semiconductor component (U.sub.B; [0025]; [0042-45]), and
the evaluation unit is configured to ascertain a junction temperature of the semiconductor component (abstract; [0040] “the junction temperature of the semiconductor component 9 can also be monitored with the help of the temperature detection circuit 1”) based on information about a voltage-dependent behavior of the input capacitance of the semiconductor component and based on a level of an internal gate resistor (R.sub.Gint; see fig. 3) of the semiconductor component at a second time which follows the first time ([0030-33] teaches that the times are defined by exemplary pulses 25 and then 26 where the current across R.sub.Gint is measured as voltage U.sub.B), the second time being a time at which a current build-up phase of a gate current generated by the gate driver for recharging the input capacitance has ended and at which a substantially constant gate current present ([0030] teaches that the measurement is while “the gate voltage is maintained above the Miller Plateau” which is when a substantially constant gate current is maintained).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (US 20090167414) in view of Schuler (DE 102011083679 – of record in IDS of 02/07/2024).
Regarding claim 13, Jansen lacks teaching that the second time is reached when the external gate voltage reaches a predefined threshold value, and the level of the internal gate resistor is ascertained based on a time difference between the second time and the first time.
However, Schuler teaches that the second time is reached when the external gate voltage reaches a predefined threshold value (U2; see abstract), and the level of the internal gate resistor is ascertained based on a time difference between the second time and the first time (dt; see at least abstract).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for ascertaining a junction temperature of Jansen with the specific knowledge of using the voltage threshold-based time difference for determining the temperature of a semiconductor switch of Schuler. This is because such a determining allows for the temperature of a semiconductor switch to be determined in a highly dynamic manner (Schuler at abstract). This is important in order to provide a responsive temperature measurement for an end user.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (US 20090167414) in view of Strzalkowski (US 20200132557).
Regarding claim 14, Jansen lacks teaching regarding a calibration procedure comprising: ascertaining deviations of temperature-related parameters of the semiconductor component from respective target values, including based on an additional temperature measurement by a temperature sensor, ascertaining compensation values for compensating for the deviations of the temperature-related parameters from respective target values.
However, Strzalkowski teaches regarding techniques for determining a temperature measurement of a junction of a power switch (abstract) with calibration ([0017-19]) using a temperature sensor (114; see fig. 1) for the calibration ([0019]; [0024]) and historical comparisons ([0032-33]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for ascertaining a junction temperature of Jansen with the specific knowledge of using the calibration for a technique for measuring a junction temperature of Strzalkowski. This is because such calibration with a temperature sensor allows for “any scattering of the internal gate resistance R.sub.GINT during power switch assembly can be erased” ([0024] of Strzalkowski). This is important in order to improve measurement accuracy.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (US 20090167414) in view of Fursin et al. (US 20170213908; hereinafter Fursin).
Regarding claim 20, Jansen lacks teaching that the internal gate resistor of the semiconductor component includes a bidirectionally conductive, non-linear component, configured of two diodes connected in antiparallel.
However, Fursin does disclose an IGBT device (abstract) for semiconductor-based power switching (abstract) and the knowledge that “As one skilled in the art would appreciate, the built-in body diode of a MOSFET can eliminate the need for an external anti-parallel diode in practical power conversion circuits. The optional external anti-parallel diode may nevertheless be implemented based on specific circuit requirements.” (emphasis added; [0083]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit arrangement of Jansen with the knowledge of anti-parallel diode structures in semiconductor-based power switching of Fursin. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have known to use anti-parallel diode structures in a design indicated manner because such structures are known to be a design choice to eliminate or reduce diode recovery related switching losses (see [0080] of Fursin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The best prior art of record Jansen (US 20090167414), Schuler (DE 102011083679), Strzalkowski (US 20200132557) and Fursin et al. (US 20170213908), fail to specifically teach the invention as claimed. The limitations in independent claim 11 when combined with the limitations regarding the specific calibration procedures as well as all additional limitations also in dependent claims 15 and 16 distinguish the present invention from the combined prior art.
Hence the prior art of record fails to teach the invention as set forth in claims 15 and 16. The examiner cannot find specific teaching of the invention, nor reasons within the cited art to combine the elements of these references other than applicant’s own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
In addition, see applicant’s reasoning in the remarks of 06/04/2026; pp.7-8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855