DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner notes that the U.S. Patent Application Publication Cite No. 1, 20060017225, appears to have an incorrect publication number. Examiner notes that the correct publication number appears to be 20060172251 as in the Specification p. 2 line 27.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because two copies of Figures 5 and 6 have been provided. The copies of Figures 5 and 6 appear to be identical.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
34 in Figure 6 and Figure 7a.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner suggests amending claim 1 line 6 to “[[the]]a jawbone” and claim 1 line 12 to “[[the]]a splint”.
Examiner suggests amending claim 7 line 1 to “The system according to claim 1, wherein the splint is:”.
Examiner suggests amending claim 10 line 1 to “a method for producing”, claim 10 line 1 to “[[the]]a dental arch and palate area”, and claim 10 line 6 to “[[the]]a position”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means of a screw thread” in claim 1 line 9, which recites “means”, does not recite functional language, and recites the sufficient structure of a screw thread.
“means of printing, in particular 3D printing” in claim 7 line 2, which recites “means”, does not recite functional language, and recites the sufficient acts “in particular 3D printing”.
“means of a scan” in claim 10 lines 3-4, which recites “means”, does not recite functional language, and recites a sufficient act of a scan.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “splint” in claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10 is used by the claim to mean “aligner,” while the accepted meaning is “a material or a device used to protect and immobilize a body part” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/splint, definition 2c). The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation “splint” in claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10 as referring to an aligner, and suggests Applicant amend to clarify.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “at least two cup-shaped recesses or at least two openings” in lines 1-2. These limitations are unclear as claim 1 recites the limitations “at least one cup-shaped recess or an opening” in line 12, and it is unclear whether the “at least two cup-shaped recesses or at least two openings” is limiting the at least one cup-shaped recess or opening of claim 1, or are referring to other recesses or openings. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the limitation of claim 9 lines 1-2 as referring to the at least one cup-shaped recess or opening of claim 1 line 12, and suggests Applicant amend to clarify.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the intermediate stage” and “the current and the desired alignment” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations as the limitations “intermediate stage” and “current and desired alignment” are not recited in claim 10 or claim 1. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret claim 10 lines 4-5 as, and suggests amending to, “[[the]]an intermediate stage between [[the]]a current and [[the]]a desired alignment of the teeth”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "these data" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the limitation “data” is not recited in claim 10 or claim 1. Examiner notes that the limitation appears to be referring to data from a calculation of an intermediate state between the current and desired alignment of the teeth as recited in claim 10 lines 4-5. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret claim 10 line 6 as, and suggests amending to, “the basis of of the intermediate stage and the position of the fastening elements”.
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for their dependence on one or more rejected base and/or intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman et al (U.S. Patent No. 8,444,412 B2, hereinafter “Baughman”) in view of Schmid (DE 102018114830 A1, see translated PDF).
In regard to claim 1, Baughman discloses an orthodontic aligner system (Fig. 12 and see Figs. 6-8), for treating tooth misalignments in a patient (Abstract), the system comprising:
a. a fastening device (513 in Fig. 12, col. 3 lines 57-64) for fastening a splint to a temporary anchoring element (512 in Fig. 12, see Fig. 3, col. 3 lines 57-64) and, the temporary anchoring element can be anchored in a jawbone of the patient (col. 2 lines 3-6 and 18-20), and,
b. the fastening device has a head (head in annotated Fig. 12) and a stem (513a in Fig. 12), and the stem is connectable to the temporary anchoring element (col. 3 lines 57-64),
c. a splint (col. 3 lines 57-64, clear orthodontic appliance, see 310 in Fig. 8) has at least one cup-shaped recess (see 322 in Figs. 7 and 8, col. 1 lines 51-54, complementary female pocket) for receiving the head of the fastening device (col. 1 lines 51-54), and,
d. the head of the fastening device is shaped in such a manner that it can be inserted into the cup-shaped recess in the splint such that the fastening device can be releasably connected with a force fit to the splint (col. 1 lines 51-54, col. 3 lines 57-64).
Baughman does not disclose that the fastening device is helical shaped and that the stem is connectable by means of a screw thread.
Schmid teaches a helical shaped fastening device (38d in Fig. 10, para. 0043, 38d is screwed into 26d) for fastening an appliance to a temporary anchoring element (para. 0043), and the fastening device has a head and a stem (head and stem in annotated Fig. 10) and the stem is connectable to a temporary anchoring element (26d in Fig. 10, para. 0043) by means of a screw thread (para. 0043, 38d is screwed into 26d).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic appliances with temporary anchorage devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fastening device and temporary anchoring element of Baughman by replacing the tapered stem with a stem with a screw thread so that the fastening device is helical shaped, and make associated changes to the temporary anchorage device as taught by Schmid in order to allow improved adaptability and comfort (Schmid para. 0003).
In regard to claim 2, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 1. Baughman further discloses wherein the head of the fastening device is latchable to the splint (col. 1 lines 51-54, col. 3 lines 57-64).
In regard to claim 3, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 2. Baughman does not disclose wherein the head of the fastening device has an undercut.
The embodiment of Figs. 10a-10d of Baughman discloses wherein the head of the fastening device has an undercut (Figs. 10a-10d).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the head of the fastening device of the embodiment of Figs. 12 of Baughman in view of Schmid by modifying the head to have an undercut and adding complementary mating portions to the splint so that the head of the fastening device is latchable to the splint as taught by the embodiment of Figs. 10a-10d of Baughman in order to allow for accurate positioning of the splint, removably retaining the splint and heavier loading of the splint for improved orthodontic results (Baughman col. 1 lines 36-41).
In regard to claim 4, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 1. Baughman further discloses wherein the head (head in annotated Fig. 12) of the fastening device (513 in Fig. 12) has a side wall (side wall in annotated Fig. 12) and an equator (equator in annotated Fig. 12), and, the sidewall is: c) has a convex shape on the equator of the head (Fig. 12). Examiner further notes that the embodiments of Figs. 6-8 and Figs. 10a-10d teach head shapes which are equivalent structures used based on the desired applied force with sidewalls that are a). cylindrical and circular (Fig. 6), b) tapered like a truncated cone in the direction of the stem (Fig. 10b) and c) has a convex shape (Figs. 10a and 10c).
In regard to claim 6, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 1. Baughman further discloses wherein the splint is: a) transparent (col. 3 lines 63-64, clear orthodontic appliance), for the application of forces for tooth movement in a jaw (Abstract, col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4, lines 1-3).
In regard to claim 7, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 1. Baughman further teaches that the splint is formed to the geometry of the teeth and is a clear orthodontic appliance (col. 1, ll. 51-54, col. 3, ll. 57-64), but is silent as to the method of producing. The claimed phrase “is produced by: a) vacuum or overpressure technology, or, b) by means of printing, in particular 3D printing, or, c) by additive manufacture, in particular additive 3D printing” is being treated as a product by process limitation, that is, that the splint is made by one of the listed methods. As set fourth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113. Thus, even though Baughman is silent as to the process used to make the splint, it appears that the product Baughman would be the same or similar as that claimed.
In regard to claim 9, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 1. Baughman further discloses wherein the splint comprises at least two cup-shaped recesses (see 322 in Figs. 7 and 8, col. 1 lines 51-54, complementary female pocket).
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman in view of Schmid and Riley et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,045,283 B2, hereinafter “Riley”).
In regard to claim 5, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 1. Baughman does not disclose wherein the cup-shaped recesses in the splint have constrictions.
Riley teaches a similar apparatus (Figs. 1A-8) wherein cup-shaped recesses (110 in Fig. 1C) in the splint (100 in Fig. 1A) have constrictions (sloped surfaces in annotated Fig. 1C, col. 11 lines 59-62).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic appliances with temporary anchorage devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the recesses of Baughman in view of Schmid by modifying the recesses to have constrictions as taught by Riley in order to allow for facilitation of insertion of the fastening device into the recesses (Riley col. 11 lines 59-62).
In regard to claim 10, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the system according to claim 1, which includes the fastening devices fastened to the implanted temporary anchoring elements (Fig. 12) and discloses wherein the splint is a transparent plastic material (col. 1 line 14, clear plastic orthodontic appliance), but does not disclose a method for producing the system, wherein a dental arch and palate area of the patient, including the implanted temporary anchoring elements, are molded or captured by means of a scan, a 3D model is produced therefrom, an intermediate stage between a current and a desired alignment of the teeth is calculated therefrom, and, on the basis of data of the intermediate stage and a position of the fastening elements, one or more splints with cup-shaped recesses are produced from a transparent plastic material having a selected elasticity.
Riley teaches a method (Figs. 7 and 8) for producing the system of a similar apparatus (col. 16 lines 9-10), wherein a dental arch and palate area of the patient, including the implanted temporary anchoring elements, are captured by means of a scan (700 in Fig. 7, col. 16 lines 13-20, imaging), a 3D model is produced therefrom (702 in Fig. 7, col. 16 lines 14-17), an intermediate stage between a current and a desired alignment of the teeth is calculated therefrom (704, 706, 708 in Fig. 7, Fig. 8, col. 16 lines 26-30, moving the teeth in a desired direction and amount), and, on the basis of data of the intermediate stage and a position of the fastening elements, one or more splints (100 in Fig. 1A) with cup-shaped recesses (110 in Fig. 1C) are produced from a material having a selected elasticity (Figs. 7 and 8, col. 16 lines 42-44, col. 12 lines 10-15).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic appliances with temporary anchorage devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baughman in view of Schmid by adding steps wherein a dental arch and palate area of the patient, including the implanted temporary anchoring elements, are molded or captured by means of a scan, a 3D model is produced therefrom, an intermediate stage between the current and the desired alignment of the teeth is calculated therefrom, and, on the basis of data of the intermediate stage and a position of the fastening elements, one or more splints with cup-shaped recesses are produced from a transparent plastic material having a selected elasticity as taught by Riley in order to allow for dynamic flexibility to change the locations, sizes, and shapes of the features of the splint at specified stages in the treatment (Riley col. 15 lines 63-66).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baughman in view of Schmid and Voudouris (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0172251 A1).
In regard to claim 8, Baughman in view of Schmid discloses the invention of claim 1. Baughman does not disclose wherein the fastening device is made of: a) a mouth-resistant medical steel, or, b) a hard plastic material approved for the oral cavity, in particular PMMA.
Voudouris teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-4) wherein a fastening device (48 in Fig. 4) is made of: a) a mouth-resistant medical steel (para. 0021, stainless steel).
The references and the claimed invention are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of orthodontic appliances with temporary anchorage devices. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fastening device of Baughman in view of Schmid by fabricating the fastening device out of steel as taught by Voudouris in order to allow for the fastening device to be made of a suitable material for stable anchorage (Voudouris paras. 0010 and 0021).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY N HUYNH/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
9/5/2025