DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 2, 3, 5, 8, 16, 19 and 22-34 prior to first office action.
Applicant canceled claims 20 and 21 prior to first office action.
Status of the claims;
Claims 1-19 and 22-24 are pending in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1, 2, 4, 6-13 ,15-19 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US20230017853) (hereinafter Xu)
Per claim 1, Xu discloses a method for power saving, applied in a terminal, the method comprising: receiving a paging early indication comprising a set of downlink monitoring occasions (paragraph 0129, i.e. For example, if the downlink signaling 225 collides with a first two of four PEI 205 in the set 210, UE 115-a may monitor for PEI 205 during the last two PEI occasions in the set 210 which do not collide with the downlink signaling 225) , wherein a search space corresponding to the set of downlink monitoring occasions in the paging early indication is associated with a paging search space of a paging occasion corresponding to the paging early indication (paragraphs 0086 and 0163, i.e. a control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115, Search space sets may include common search space sets configured for sending control information to multiple UEs 115 and UE-specific search space sets for sending control information to a specific UE 115 and additionally, or alternatively, the PEI configuration may include an indication of a number of actually transmitted PEI repetitions for a paging occasion. In some cases, base station 105-b may transmit an indication of the PEI configuration via control signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), system information (e.g., a SIB), paging signaling (e.g., paging PDCCH, PEI signaling),. the set of downlink monitoring occasions corresponding to at least two transmission beams (paragraph 0148, i.e. the base station 105 may indicate the number of actually transmitted PEI repetitions via PEI signaling or paging PDCCH signaling, or both. Indicating the number of PEI repetitions through PEI signaling or paging PDCCH signaling may indicate a PEI repetition number of a group or sub-group of UEs 115 configured to receive common PEI signaling and paragraph 0107, i.e. For example, a receiving device may try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays, by processing received signals according to different antenna subarrays, by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets (e.g., different directional listening weight sets) applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, examiner interprets as multiple beams as different antenna subarrays for receiving different beamforming weight sets) ; and monitoring the paging occasion based on the paging early indication (paragraph 0118, i.e. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 115 may be configured with a PEI window. The base station may transmit PEI signaling in PEI occasions within the PEI window, and the UE 115 may monitor for the PEI signaling within the PEI window) .
Per claim 2, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the paging early indication comprises a first number of downlink monitoring occasions, the first number being determined by a number of transmission beams of a Synchronization Signal (SSB) and a number of repeated transmissions of the downlink monitoring occasions for each transmission beam of the SSB (paragraph 0115, i.e. PEI repetitions may be transmitted at multiple occasions or multiple locations to account for different UE implementations and SNR conditions. Different UEs 115 may process different quantities of SSBs to perform a tracking loop update. For example, a first UE 115 may process one SSB to perform a tracking loop update, while other UEs 115 may process two or more SSBs to perform a tracking loop update, see paragraph 0107, i.e. transmission beams, For example, a receiving device may try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays, by processing received signals according to different antenna subarrays, by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets).
Per claim 4, Xu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the number of repeated transmissions is: preconfigured, predefined, or default (paragraph 0161 and 0174, i.e. . For example, in some cases, the PEI monitoring window 510 may be configured via system information (e.g., a SIB [ or SSB]), control signaling, or paging signaling, or any combination thereof. Additionally, or alternatively, the PEI monitoring window 510 may be preconfigured for a UE 115 for a wireless communications system and the threshold number of PEI occasions may be indicated in paging signaling (e.g., a PEI signal or paging PDCCH signaling) or may be configured (e.g., preconfigured) as part of the PEI configuration).
Per claim 6, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving configuration information for indicating an association relationship between the search space corresponding to the set of downlink monitoring occasions and the paging search space(paragraph 0068, i.e. In some examples, the network may indicate a number of PEI repetitions associated with a paging occasion to a UE. For example, the network may indicate a maximum number of repetitions for PEI for a paging occasion via a SIB and the network may indicate a number of PEI occasions or transmitted PEI repetitions (e.g., actually transmitted PEI repetitions), or both, to the UE. Some additional techniques are described herein, such as configuring subsets of blind detection hypotheses for PEI repetitions, configuring a PEI monitoring window for transmitting PEI repetitions, and PEI signaling monitoring determinations, among others, also see paragraph 0086, for search space sets).
Per claim 7, Xu discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the configuration information comprises one of: a first indication field for indicating an offset value between the search space corresponding to the set of downlink monitoring occasions and the paging search space (paragraph 0158, i.e. the PEI monitoring window 510 may be configured with respect to a gap 525 or offset to a paging occasion 515. In some cases, the gap 525 may be configured such that a UE 115 may process the PEI 505 before a start of the paging occasion 515. For example, a PEI monitoring window 510 may be configured with a length of one slot, and the PEI monitoring window 510 may be configured to be offset [e.g., in the time domain] by a gap 525 of a configured number of slots or symbol periods from the paging occasion 515); or a second indication field for indicating a search space identifier corresponding to the set of downlink monitoring occasions, the search space identifier corresponding to the paging search space.
Per claim 8, Xu discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the downlink monitoring occasions is at least two for each transmission beam of the SSB (paragraph 0115, i.e. In some cases, PEI repetitions may be transmitted at multiple occasions or multiple locations to account for different UE implementations and SNR conditions. Different UEs 115 may process different quantities of SSBs to perform a tracking loop update. For example, a first UE 115 may process one SSB to perform a tracking loop update, while other UEs 115 may process two or more SSBs to perform a tracking loop update and paragraph 0081, i.e. a wireless communications resource may refer to a combination of a radio frequency spectrum resource, a time resource, and a spatial resource [e.g., spatial layers or beams], and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate or data integrity for communications with a UE 115).
Per claim 9, Xu discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: selecting, among the set of downlink monitoring occasions, a downlink monitoring occasion for paging indication monitoring based on terminal implementation(paragraph 0105 and 0106, i.e. For example, a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality and the UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback[e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook]).
Per claim 10, Xu discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: in response to a paging indication signal being detected by the terminal on a downlink monitoring occasion of the set of downlink monitoring occasions, stopping monitoring subsequent downlink monitoring occasions of the downlink monitoring occasion in the paging early indication(paragraph 0137, i.e. UE 115-a may cease PEI detection when UE 115-a has one remaining segment or after UE 115-a detects the PEI 205 within one of the segments. In some examples, base station 105-a may include an indicator (e.g., a one bit indicator) in a PEI 205 or in paging PDCCH signaling to indicate for UE 115-a to refrain from monitoring PEI occasions for paging in the paging occasion 215).
Per claim 11, Xu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein monitoring the paging occasion based on the paging early indication comprises: when a downlink monitoring occasion indicates a presence of a paging transmission, receiving a paging message on the paging occasion corresponding to the downlink monitoring occasion( paragraph 0110 and 0111, i.e. the UE 115 may monitor for paging according to the DRX cycle while operating in the inactive state to reduce power consumption, and a paging message may indicate whether the UE 115 is to transition to an active state to receive data and In some cases, the network may transmit a PEI to the UE 115 to indicate whether a subsequent paging occasion includes a scheduled paging message for the UE 115. For example, a base station 105 may transmit a PEI to indicate whether the UE 115 is paged before the paging opportunity) or when a downlink monitoring occasion does not indicate a presence of a paging transmission, skipping monitoring of the paging occasion corresponding to the downlink monitoring occasion
Per claim 12, Xu discloses the method of claim 11, wherein receiving the paging message on the paging occasion corresponding to the downlink monitoring occasion comprises: monitoring, according to a transmission beam of a Synchronization Signal (SSB) corresponding to the downlink monitoring occasion, a monitoring position of a transmission beam of a SSB corresponding to the paging occasion and receiving the paging message (paragraph 0115, i.e. Providing different instances and locations of PEI within time-frequency resources may enable different UEs 115 to process different quantities of SSBs. For example, decoding an earlier PEI may enable a first UE 115 to determine whether the first UE 115 should process multiple SSBs, where decoding a later PEI may enable a second UE 115 to remain in a lower power state for longer).
Per claim 13, refer to the same rationale as explained in claims 1 and 2, however from a network device perspective.
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 16, Xu discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: offsetting, in response to that the search space corresponding to the downlink monitoring occasion is overlapped with an uplink resource, the downlink monitoring occasion to a next search space (paragraph 0146, i.e. For example, at least a portion of the set of PEI occasions 410 may be scheduled to collide with other signaling or channels, such as downlink signaling 425. In some cases, the scheduling conflict may be based on a collision with other signaling, or the PEI occasions 410 may overlap or be scheduled during uplink-configured symbol periods in a slot).
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 6.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 7.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 8.
Per claim 22, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1, see paragraph 0031, processor and memory).
Per claim 23, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 13, see paragraph 0039 and 0077, processor and transmitter /receiver).
Per claim 24, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1,see paragraph 0008, non transitory readable medium
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of view of Bala et al. (US20230189147) (hereinafter Bala, see provisional Application 63/025,055).
Per claim 3, Xu discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the paging early indication comprises SxX continuous downlink monitoring occasions, S representing the number of transmission beams of the SSB, X representing [[the]] a number of [[the]] repeated transmissions of each transmission beam of the SSB; and a (xxS+K)th downlinkmonitoring occasion corresponds to a Kth transmission beam of the SSB, wherein x = 0, 1,...,X-1, and K=1,2,....,S.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Bala discloses wherein the paging early indication comprises SxX continuous downlink monitoring occasions, S representing the number of transmission beams of the SSB, X representing [[the]] a number of [[the]] repeated transmissions of each transmission beam of the SSB; and a (xxS+K)th downlinkmonitoring occasion corresponds to a Kth transmission beam of the SSB, wherein x = 0, 1,...,X-1, and K=1,2,....,S.(paragraph 0100, i.e. A PO may be a set of ‘S*X’ (e.g., consecutive) PDCCH monitoring occasions, where ‘S’ may be, for example, the number of (e.g., actual transmitted) SSBs determined according to ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 and where X may be, for example, the nrofPDCCH-MonitoringOccasionPerSSB-InPO (e.g., if configured) or equal to 1 (e.g., if not configured). The [x*S+K].sup.th PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the PO may correspond to the Kth transmitted SSB, where, for example, x=0, 1, . . . , X−1, K=1, 2, . . . , S. PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging that do not overlap with UL symbols (e.g., determined according to tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon) may be (e.g., sequentially) numbered from zero (e.g., starting from the first PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging in the PF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Bala into the invention of Xu, Xu provides Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. A base station may transmit multiple repetitions of a paging early indication (PEI) signal to a user equipment (UE) to indicate that the UE is to receive paging signaling in a paging occasion. In some cases, a PEI occasion for transmitting a PEI repetition may have a scheduling conflict and Bala provides the WTRU may receive system information blocks (SIBs) if a wake up indication for the WTRU is received in a single paging indication and the paging indicator is the first paging indicator. The WTRU may monitor for a paging PDCCH at a monitoring occasion of a PO in a paging frame if the second paging indicator is received and includes an indication for the WTRU to wake up in order to provide a better quality of service for saving power where Paging indicator’s to wakes up WRTU, see Bala , paragraph 0003 and 0004 and 0100.
Per claim 5, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3, see paragraph 0100.
Per claim14, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647