DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim is dependent on itself which is construed as a typographic error. The claim is examined as being dependent on claim 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. Claims 2, 8 and 9 each include a limitation inside a parenthesis at the end of claim which render the claim indefinite. It is not known that the terms inside this parenthesis are part of the claim or not. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2015/0159082 A1).
Regarding claims 1-7 , Lee teaches a water soluble polymer film (for encapsulation of compounds such as laundry detergent or dishwashing: 81-82, 99) comprising carrageenan; [60, 66], and polyol plasticizers such as glycerol, ethylene glycol, triethylene glycol or propylene glycol (instant claim 6) in the amount of up to 50%; [54, 70-71], bittering agents such as denatonium benzoate and capsaicin (instant claims 2-5); [53]. Note that capsaicin and capsaicinoid are construed as being functional equivalent since; capsaicin is the pungent compound in hot peppers that causes heat, while capsinoids (like capsiate) are similar, non-pungent compounds found in sweet peppers having the same basic properties. Please consult any general Organic Chemistry textbook. The water soluble film (instant 7) is devoid of chitosan and furecellan.
Regarding claim 1, the amount of plasticizer taught by Lee is not anticipatory, but it renders the instant claim obvious by sharing a major overlap of 1-50% as already is stated above. Note that, In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed Cir. 1990), [MPEP 2144.05, R5].
Regarding claims 8-10, Lee does not teach the types of carrageenan. However, it is known from the structural types of carrageenans (iota, cappa and lambda) the lambda-carrageenan in spite of having thickening properties but it does not have a gelling effects, thus favored for adjusting the required viscosity of a composition without undesired gelling activity (please see a general chemistry textbook for further information). This is evidenced by the attached Google search on water solubility differences between Lambda carrageenan and other types of carrageenan which are much less soluble in cold water. This would render the amounts of less than 30% (non-lambda) and at least 20% for lambda carrageenan being included in the instantly claimed film obvious. Lee teaches (instant 10) a single layer film; [33, 77].
Regarding claims 12-13, Lee teaches a water soluble pouch (i.e. capsule, compartment) comprising a water soluble film; [60, 61, 64, 66, 78], wherein the internal space contains a laundry detergent (home care composition).
Regarding claims 14-15, Lee teaches a water soluble capsule and method of making the water soluble capsule comprising a first film thermoformed recesses wherein a composition, e.g. laundry composition, is placed on the molded film (Figure 2) and the second film is superimposed to cover the composition thus forming a water soluble pouch and finally sealed (i.e. water seal), to form the capsule which is identical to what is claimed instantly; [77-79, 82]. Note that, the amount of plasticizer taught by Lee is not anticipatory, but it renders the instant claim obvious by sharing a major overlap. Note that, In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed Cir. 1990), [MPEP 2144.05, R5].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2015/0159082 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Somerville Roberts et al. (2018/0037853 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not teach the thickness of the film. However, the analogous art of Somerville Roberts teaches a water soluble pouch (a polymer film) containing laundry detergent composition wherein the thickness of its film is 20-150 micron; [51-52, 55, 57]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to manufacture the material of film with a thickness in the above given micron range with the motivation of adjusting its dissolution time for proper delivery of detergent material on the laundry substrates as taught by Somerville Roberts above.
Double Patenting
I)- Claims 1, 6 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2-3, 6 and 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/683,806 in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0159082 A1.
Claim 1 corresponds to claim 1 of “806” in view of Lee. Claim 1 of “806” does not teach the bittering agent. However the analogous art of Lee teaches denatonium benzoate and capsaicin (bittering agents); [53], At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to add the bittering agent to claim 1 of “806” with the motivation of providing a proper household product safety specially for children and pets as taught by Lee et al.
Claim 6 corresponds to either one of claims 2, 3 and 6 wherein the instant claim 6 comprises the same plasticizing agents of copending claims 2, 3 and 6 of “806”.
Claims 12-15 correspond to claim 12-15 of copending “806” correspondingly, wherein they share the same limitations and scope of the claims.
II)- Claims 1 and 12-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/683,806.
Claim 1 corresponds to claims 1 and 11 (bittering agent) of copending “806” in view of Lee et al. which renders the similar in scope.
Claims 12-15 correspond to claim 12-15 of copending “806” correspondingly, wherein they share the same limitations and scope of the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection
III)- Claims 1, 6 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-9 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/683,800 which share the same limitations of; “a water soluble film”, lambda- carrageenan, plasticizer with a major overlap (1-99% for instant vs at least 20% for copending) and bittering agent.
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2025/12/19
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767