Election/Restrictions
Applicant's reply to the Restriction Requirement, dated September 22, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has elected, without traverse, Group I: claims 1-16, drawn to bispecific antibodies.
Claims 1-18 are pending in the application. Claims 17 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 22, 2026.
Claims 1-16 are therefore under examination before the Office.
Priority
The Office acknowledges receipt of the Certified Copies of the Priority Documents with a date of August 19, 2021. However, the documents in question are all in Chinese.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Any showing of priority that relies on a non-English language application is prima facie insufficient if no certified translation of the application is on file. MPEP 2304.01(c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 recites a bispecific antibody that binds to SARS-CoV-2, comprising two single domain antibodies sdAb-1 and sdAb-2, wherein the sdAb-1 has an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1, and the sdAb-2 has an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 2. Claim 2, which depends from claim 1, permits only 90% identity to the above sequences. Claim 2 impermissibly broadens claim 1 by allowing variations in amino acid sequences that are already defined by claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (Cell Host Microbe. 2020 Jun 10;27(6):891-898.e5, cited in IDS).
Wu teaches single domain antibodies against SARS-CoV-2, identified as n3113 and n3130 (page 893, right column, first paragraph and Figure 2).
Wu further teaches that the small size of these antibodies makes them ideal for use in bispecific antibodies, and such modifications were within the skill of one of ordinary skill (page 896, right column, first paragraph: "Lastly, single-domain antibodies can be used alone or synergistically with other neutralizing antibodies. Their small size makes them ideal building blocks for generation of bispecific or multi-specific antibodies to prevent the appearance of viral escape mutants. They can also be easily engineered to further increase neutralization activity by increasing binding moieties.").
Wu further teaches combinations of n3113 and n3130 together to neutralize SARS-CoV-2 (Figure 3B).
While Wu does not teach antibodies with the claimed sequences, Applicant's specification at page 16 identifies SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 as n3113 and n3130, respectively. As Wu teaches the same antibodies, Wu therefore inherently teaches the sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2112(II).
While Wu does not teach every aspect of the claims in a single embodiment, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to follow the teachings of Wu to arrive at the claimed invention. Wu teaches the single-domain antibodies of the claim and suggests that they may be combined into a bispecific antibody, and that such engineering is within the grasp of the ordinary artisan. One of ordinary skill could follow the teachings of Wu to arrive at the claimed invention, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sevy (WO2023205239A2).
Sevy teaches antibodies n3113 and n3130, with sequences identical to those of Applicant's SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 (Table 17).
Sevy further teaches that such antibodies may be single domain antibodies or bispecific antibodies with two single chain fragments joined together by a glycine-serine linker (para. 0089).
Sevy further teaches that the antibodies are variable regions of a heavy chain (VHH) (para. 0006), which is pertinent to claim 5.
Sevy further teaches that the antibodies are human antibodies (para. 0080), which is pertinent to claim 6.
Sevy further teaches plasmids comprising a polynucleotide sequence encoding a heavy chain variable domain of the antibody (para. 0004), which is pertinent to claims 13 and 14.
While Sevy does not teach every aspect of the claims in a single embodiment, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to follow the teachings of Sevy to arrive at the claimed invention. Sevy teaches the single-domain antibodies of the invention, as well as guidance that such antibodies may be made bispecific by combining them with a glycine-serine linker. One of ordinary skill could follow the teachings of Sevy to arrive at the claimed invention, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Applicant is invited to file a certified translation of the foreign priority document in order to address this issue.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babb (U.S. patent 10,787,501) in view of Wu (Cell Host Microbe. 2020 Jun 10;27(6):891-898.e5, cited in IDS) and Glaven (Biosensors (Basel). 2012 Feb 1;2(1):43-56).
Babb teaches bispecific antibodies, comprising two antigen-binding domains that bind to different epitopes of SARS-CoV-2, and may also contain an IgG1 domain (col. 42, lines 27-55). Babb also teaches single domain antibodies (col. 16, lines 8-10).
Babb further teaches that the two antibodies may be joined by a linker such as (GGGGS)4 (col. 43, lines 27-30), which is pertinent to claim 4.
Babb further teaches that the above antibodies may comprise human IgG1 (col. 41, lines 25-30), which is pertinent to claims 7-9.
Babb further teaches conjugates of antibodies and detectable labels, such as fluorescent labels or radiolabels (col. 53, lines 2-16), which is pertinent to claims 10-12.
Babb further teaches that nucleic acids encoding the antibody may be introduced into host cells via a vector (col. 13, lines 35-57), which is pertinent to claims 13-15.
Babb further teaches pharmaceutical compositions, comprising the above antibody and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient (col. 45, lines 44-48), which is pertinent to claim 16. Babb also teaches that the above pharmaceutical composition may be in a suitable dose (para. col. 52, lines 50-62).
However, Babb does not teach the claimed sequences.
Wu teaches single domain antibodies against SARS-CoV-2, identified as n3113 and n3130 (page 893, right column, first paragraph and Figure 2).
Wu further teaches that the small size of these antibodies makes them ideal for use in bispecific antibodies, and such modifications were within the skill of one of ordinary skill (page 896, right column, first paragraph: "Lastly, single-domain antibodies can be used alone or synergistically with other neutralizing antibodies. Their small size makes them ideal building blocks for generation of bispecific or multi-specific antibodies to prevent the appearance of viral escape mutants. They can also be easily engineered to further increase neutralization activity by increasing binding moieties.").
Wu further teaches combinations of n3113 and n3130 together to neutralize SARS-CoV-2 (Figure 3B).
Glaven teaches a bispecific antibody, comprising two single domain antibodies that bind to different antigens on the same protein, wherein the C-terminus of the first sdAb is linked to the N-terminus of the second sdAb (page 52, last paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Wu, Babb, and Glaven to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since all of Wu, Babb, and Glaven teach bispecific single domain antibodies. Starting from the teachings of Babb, single domain antibodies that bind SARS-CoV-2 were known in the art. Wu teaches two suitable single domain antibodies that could be used in such a construct, as well as a suggestion to combine them together into a bispecific construct. Additional features of how the two antibodies are joined together are taught by Glaven. A person of ordinary skill in the art could apply the SARS-CoV-2 binding domains of Wu to the bispecific construct of Babb, in the arrangement taught by Glaven to arrive at the claimed invention, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
While Wu does not teach antibodies with the claimed sequences, Applicant's specification at page 16 identifies SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 as n3113 and n3130, respectively. As Wu teaches the same antibodies, Wu therefore inherently teaches the sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2112(II).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644