DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to 2/8/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 2/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dalmia US Patent No. 11652585 B1, hereinafter Dalmia.
Regarding Claim 1, Dalmia discloses a method for configuring a plurality of nodes in a 10BASE-T1S Ethernet network, said nodes being configured to implement a physical layer collision avoidance (PLCA) process (Dalmia Fig. 2, Col. 1, lines 47-51 discloses PLCA mechanism as described in IEEE 802.3cg; further, Col. 8, lines 58-59 discloses It can be applied to any multi-drop Ethernet network) wherein the network comprises:
a first coordinator node being configured to periodically send a PLCA beacon to the network to initiate each respective transmission cycle of a PLCA process (Dalmia Col. 4, lines 47-50 discloses [operating] as a coordinator node, and transits a beacon that includes a special character set that allows for identification of each of the time slots; Col. 8, lines 34-36 discloses Node 0 sends a BEACON after the time equivalent to TOs of maximum allowed number of nodes has elapsed); and
a second coordinator node being configured to open a plurality of separate transmission opportunities (TO) each with a unique PLCA identifier (PLCA ID) from a pool (P) of PLCA identifiers provided by the second coordinator, each PLCA identifier being assignable by the second coordinator to a unique physical identifier (UID) each provided by a respective node, each transmission opportunity allowing only one of said nodes to send data to the network at any one time (Dalmia Col. 8, lines 34-40 discloses Node 0 sends a BEACON after the time equivalent to TOs of maximum allowed number of nodes has elapsed. For example, if 16 nodes is the maximum allowed on the network, Node 0 must wait for all corresponding 16 TOs to elapse even if only 10 nodes are actually on the network; Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking, by the Ethernet node, unique selected identifiers of other Ethernet nodes connected to the Ethernet bus, wherein the autonomously selecting of the unique node identifier of the Ethernet node is based on the monitored and tracked unique selected identifiers of the other Ethernet nodes. That is, Ethernet nodes connected to the Ethernet bus operate to monitor and track unique selected identifiers of other nodes connected to the Ethernet bus),
wherein the method comprises automatically selecting a selected coordinator node being at least one of the first coordinator node and the second coordinator node (Dalmia Col. 4, lines 1-2 discloses each of the Ethernet nodes is operative
to autonomously select a unique node identifier), wherein automatically selecting a selected coordinator node comprises, by each node of the network:
repeatedly listening for a selected coordinator broadcast to the network during one or more listening cycles, each listening cycle being at least as long as a transmission cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 502; Col. 8, lines 5-7 discloses Upon power on (501), a Node may stay in Listen Mode for at least one full Cycle time corresponding to Max Ethernet packet length for N number of nodes 502),
selecting a node as selected coordinator node if capable of being so selected and if said node has not detected said selected coordinator broadcast during a listening cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 503 to 513; Col. 8, lines 8-9 discloses If no BEACON is detected (at 503), Node assigns itself ID=0 513),
not selecting a node as selected coordinator node if said node has received said selected coordinator broadcast during at least one listening cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 503 to 504; Col. 8, lines 14-16 discloses If a BEACON is detected (at 503) during this time, the Node further stays in Listen only Mode for at least one full BEACON to BEACON cycle 504).
Regarding Claim 2, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein automatically selecting the first coordinator node as the selected coordinator node comprises, by each node of the network:
repeatedly listening for a selected coordinator broadcast comprising a PLCA beacon during one or more first listening cycles, each first listening cycle being at least as long as a transmission cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 502; Col. 8, lines 5-7 discloses Upon power on (501), a Node may stay in Listen Mode for at least one full Cycle time corresponding to Max Ethernet packet length for N number of nodes 502),
selecting a node as the first coordinator node if capable of being the first coordinator node and if said node has not detected said PLCA beacon during one first listening cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 503 to 513; Col. 8, lines 8-9 discloses If no BEACON is detected (at 503), Node assigns itself ID=0 513),
not selecting a node as the first coordinator node if said node has received said PLCA beacon during at least one first listening cycle, and upon selection of the first coordinator node, assigning an initial transmit opportunity to the newly selected first coordinator node (Dalmia Fig. 5: 503 to 504; Col. 8, lines 14-16 discloses If a BEACON is detected (at 503) during this time, the Node further stays in Listen only Mode for at least one full BEACON to BEACON cycle 504; Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking).
Regarding Claim 3, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein automatically selecting the second coordinator node as the selected coordinator node comprises, by each node of the network,
repeatedly listening for a selected coordinator broadcast comprising a second coordinator node presence signal during one or more second listening cycles, each second listening cycle being at least as long as a transmission cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 502; Col. 8, lines 5-7 discloses Upon power on (501), a Node may stay in Listen Mode for at least one full Cycle time corresponding to Max Ethernet packet length for N number of nodes 502),
selecting a node as the second coordinator node if capable of being the second coordinator node and if said node has not detected the second coordinator node presence signal during one second listening cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 503 to 513; Col. 8, lines 8-9 discloses If no BEACON is detected (at 503), Node assigns itself ID=0 513),
not designating a node as the second coordinator node if said node has received the second coordinator node presence signal during at least one second listening cycle (Dalmia Fig. 5: 503 to 504; Col. 8, lines 14-16 discloses If a BEACON is detected (at 503) during this time, the Node further stays in Listen only Mode for at least one full BEACON to BEACON cycle 504).
Regarding Claim 4, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second coordinator node is the same node as the first coordinator node and is assigned the PLCA identifier of the initial transmit opportunity (Dalmia Col 6, lines 48-49 discloses that Node 0 is the first to get a TO following the BEACON sent by it; implicit, as Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking, by the Ethernet node, unique selected identifiers of other Ethernet nodes connected to the Ethernet bus, wherein the autonomously selecting of the unique node identifier of the Ethernet node is based on the monitored and tracked unique selected identifiers of the other Ethernet nodes. That is, Ethernet nodes connected to the Ethernet bus operate to monitor and track unique selected identifiers of other nodes connected to the Ethernet bus).
Regarding Claim 5, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second coordinator node is different from the first coordinator node and is assigned a PLCA identifier different to the PLCA identifier of the initial transmit opportunity (Dalmia Col 6, lines 48-49 discloses that Node 0 is the first to get a TO following the BEACON sent by it; implicit, as Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking, by the Ethernet node, unique selected identifiers of other Ethernet nodes connected to the Ethernet bus, wherein the autonomously selecting of the unique node identifier of the Ethernet node is based on the monitored and tracked unique selected identifiers of the other Ethernet nodes. That is, Ethernet nodes connected to the Ethernet bus operate to monitor and track unique selected identifiers of other nodes connected to the Ethernet bus).
Regarding Claim 6, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the method comprises automatically assigning a unique PLCA identifier to each node by means of:
a) each node broadcasting its presence, optionally broadcasting its presence periodically, to the network so that the second coordinator node may assign any unassigned PLCA identifiers to any unassigned nodes (Dalmia Col. 8, lines 17-18 and 22-23 discloses each node capable of performing as follows: Identify Nodes present on the Network via presence of PRESENT, COMMIT or DATA in assigned Tos … Transmit PRESENT (or any other special symbol or Data) during the Next TO for the Temp Node ID); and/or
b) each unassigned node deducing its PLCA identifier from a PLCA identifier message broadcast, optionally broadcast periodically, by the second coordinator node(Dalmia Col. 8, lines 24-29 discloses each node capable of performing as follows: If no Collison is detected (at 508) during the TO when PRESENT is transmitted, Node has secured that ID 509; If a Collison is detected (at 508) during the TO when PRESENT is transmitted, forego this ID and attempt a new ID in next cycle).
Regarding Claim 7, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 6 and further discloses wherein the second coordinator node periodically updates any PLCA identifier message with any changes in the pool of PLCA identifiers (Dalmia Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking).
Regarding Claim 8, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 6 and further discloses wherein each assigned node signals its presence and/or transmits data during its transmit opportunity, until said node is disconnected from or unavailable to the network (Dalmia Col. 4, lines 51-56 discloses when an Ethernet node of the plurality of Ethernet nodes disconnects from the Ethernet bus, a time slot corresponding with the unique node identifier autonomously by the Ethernet node becomes available for another Ethernet node to autonomously select. The result is a plug and play Ethernet network).
Regarding Claim 9, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 6 and further discloses wherein the second coordinator node is arranged to free a PLCA identifier of a node disconnected from, or unavailable to, the network and update the pool of PLCA identifiers accordingly (Dalmia Col. 4, lines 51-56 discloses a time slot corresponding with the unique node identifier autonomously by the Ethernet node becomes available for another Ethernet node to autonomously select; Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking).
Regarding Claim 10, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 6 and further discloses wherein the second coordinator node is arranged to assign a free PLCA identifier to a new node connected or available to the network and update the pool of PLCA identifiers accordingly (Dalmia Col. 4, lines 51-56 discloses a time slot corresponding with the unique node identifier autonomously by the Ethernet node becomes available for another Ethernet node to autonomously select; Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking).
Regarding Claim 11, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 6 and further discloses wherein the second coordinator node comprises a memory for storing the pool of PLCA identifiers (Dalmia Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking; implicit).
Regarding Claim 12, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 6 and further discloses wherein each node comprises a memory for storing a unique PLCA identifier (PLCA ID) assigned to said node (Dalmia Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking; implicit).
Regarding Claim 13, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 12 and further discloses wherein each node stores its unique physical identifier (UID) in its memory (Dalmia Col. 5, lines 9-18 discloses monitoring and tracking; implicit).
Regarding Claim 14, Dalmia discloses the method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the unique physical identifier (UID) of each node is programmable (Dalmia Col. 6, lines 24-28 discloses the PHY level Node IDs must be programmed offline into the network equipment prior to adding the Node to the network).
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Claim 15 recites similar features as in claim 1 for a system (see Dalmia Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zinner et al. US 20240297808 A1
Gollnick et al. US 20090247241 A1
Pannell et al. US 20190261420 A1
An et al. US 20210055963 A1
Krieger et al. US 20210006432 A1
Zinner et al. US 20240007325 A1
Huszak et al. US 20230029130 A1
Kim et al. US 11336470 B2
/Y.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465